DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yosuke et al (JP 2015-191837) in view of Leeser (US 2019/0346838) and Natsuhara et al (US 2004/0188413).
Yosuke discloses the substrate holder claimed including a ceramic base member (3) having an upper surface and a lower surface, a plurality of electrodes (5/7; shown by a plurality of circular sections) embedded in the ceramic base member, at least one conductive member (X1/Y1; also, see Figure 8), a plurality of connecting parts (vias α/β) each of which has an end electrically connected to one of the electrodes, a land (AX/AY) electrically connected to the at least one conductive member, and a plurality of terminals (11/15) each of which has an end electrically connected to one of the land, the conductive member, or the electrodes, and Yosuke further shows the land that overlaps with one of the plurality of terminals at a first position and overlaps at a second position, different from the first position, with one of the plurality of connection parts, the plurality of electrodes as illustrated in Figure 8. But, Yosuke does not explicitly show that the reduced resistance value is smaller than the resistance of the plurality of electrodes with a number of terminals being smaller than two times the number of plurality of electrodes wherein an end of at least one of the plurality of terminals is connected to one of the plurality of electrodes without the at least one conductive member.
Yosuke discloses for a resistance value between the connecting part and the terminal where the conductive member is provided therebetween is made smaller (that is with a reduced electric resistance; para 0008) that suppresses heat generation/conduction. As the plurality of electrodes is used as a heater for generating heat while the conductive member between the connecting part and the terminal is made to reduce electric resistance to suppress heat generation, the resistance value between the connecting part and the terminal would be made smaller than that of the plurality of electrodes so that heat generation is predictably suppressed in the area where heat generation is not desired.
Leeser shows it is known to provide a plurality of electrodes/heaters wherein a number of terminals connected to the plurality of electrode is smaller (three) than two times the number of the plurality of electrodes (e.g., 4 = 2 x 2 electrodes) wherein there can be a common terminal C connected to both of the plurality of electrodes (also, see Figures 4 and 5).
Natsuhara discloses it is known to connect a plurality of electrodes/heaters (2 and 3) with a plurality of terminals (7) wherein one end of the terminals is connected to the electrode (2) without a conductive member (shown by a lead circuit 4) as illustrated in Figure 3.
In view of Leeser and Natsuhara, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Yosuke with a number of terminals that can be less than two times the number of electrodes that reduces a total number terminals while providing independent control of the plurality of electrodes/heaters as known in the art wherein one end of the plurality of terminals can be directly connected to one of the plurality of electrodes without a need of a conductive member (lead circuit) to make a simple electrical connection with one end of the plurality of electrodes/heaters.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yosuke in view of Leeser and Natsuhara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akatsuka et al (US 2011/0062144) and Yamaguchi (US 2002/0112820).
Yosuke in view of Leeser and Natsuhara discloses the substrate holder claimed including Yosuke disclosing the electrodes and the conductive member that can be made of tungsten W or molybdenum Mo but does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of electrodes and at least a part of the conductive member are a mesh of a wire selected from a group of consisting of tungsten, molybdenum, or an alloy thereof.
Akatsuka discloses it is known to provide an heater electrode that is made of a mesh of a wire selected from molybdenum (para 0058).
Yamaguchi discloses it is known to provide a conductive member that can be made of a net mesh selected from molybdenum (para 0036).
In view of Akatsuka and Yamaguchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Yosuke, as modified by Leeser and Natsuhara, with the plurality of electrodes and at least a part of the conductive member that are made of a mesh/net of wire selected from molybdenum, tungsten, or alloy thereof that can predictably provide and withstand high heating temperatures for processing or heat a substrate as known in the art.
With respect to claim 3, Akatsuka discloses that the molybdenum mesh wire has a diameter/thickness of 0.12 mm (para 0058) which overlaps the claimed range of .03 mm to .2 mm, and Yamaguchi also discloses for the molybdenum wire having a diameter of .2 mm (para 0036) which overlaps the claimed range.
With respect to claim 4, Yosuke discloses that the conductive member having the land is made of a metallization of W tungsten or Mo molybdenum wherein such material is of which melting point is not less than 2000 C, and Akatsuka and Yamaguchi discloses that a substrate holder made of a ceramic base can be made of aluminum nitride which is well known in the art.
With respect to claim 5, Akatsuka discloses for a tubular shaft (40) joined to a lower surface of a ceramic base member wherein a plurality of terminals is arranged within the tubular shaft, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Yosuke, as modified by Leeser and Natsuhara, with a tubular shaft that protects the terminals from being exposed to high heating temperatures as the terminals are safely and conveniently routed through the tubular shaft.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yosuke et al (JP 2015-191837) in view of Takemoto et al (US 2022/0157636) and Natsuhara et al (US 2004/0188413).
Yosuke discloses the method claimed including a plurality of ceramic bodies/green sheets (3; para 0015), arranging a plurality of electrodes (5/7) on one surface of the ceramic body/green sheet, at least one conductive member (e.g., X1) arranged on another ceramic body/green sheet with a connecting part (α), which is formed by vias, arranged between the plurality of electrodes and the conducive member, arranging a land (AX) that makes a contact with the conductive member (X1), and forming a stack body of the ceramic bodies/green sheets which are pressure bonded or laminated (para 0048). Also, see Figure 4. But, Yosuke does not disclose forming a cutout in one conductive member wherein one of the plurality of electrodes is exposed via the cutout, and Yosuke does not disclose performing an uniaxial hot press baking of the stacked body.
Takemoto discloses it is known to provide a plurality of electrodes (151; para 0046) along with at least one conductive member (e.g., 161) wherein the conductive member includes a cutout (161b; also see Figures 8 and 9) that exposes at least one of the plurality of electrodes form a stack body via the cutout as illustrated in Figure 9.
Natsuhara discloses it is known to provide a stacked body of a ceramic molded body wherein the stacked body is subjected to hot pressing (para 0064) for laminating and bonding a plurality of ceramic molded bodies/sheets. Also, see para 0065-0068.
In view of Takemoto and Natsuhara, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Yosuke with the conductive member that can be further provided with a cutout that exposes at least one of the plurality of electrodes so that an electrical connection can be made to the one of the plurality of electrodes via the cutout through the conductive member, and it would have been obvious to adapt the stacked body of Yosuke that is subjected to hot pressing heating or baking as taught by Natsuhara that is known to bond and laminate the ceramic mold bodies/sheets into an assembled substrate holder and that the land is further exposed for making a contact with the conductive member so that terminals can be predictably connected to the conducive member to supply electric power there through.
With respect to claim 7, Natsuhara discloses a ceramic shaft joined to a lower surface of the stacked ceramic body made of aluminum nitride (see Figure 7), and it would have been obvious to adapt Yusuke with the ceramic shaft for protection of the terminals (11/15) that is connected to the conductive member, which overlaps with the land, to supply electric power thereto.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the newly recited claim recitation in claim 1, it is noted that Natsuhara is further applied for the teaching of an end of at least one plurality of terminals that is connected to an end of one of the plurality of electrodes without at least one conductive member as stated in the ground of rejection.
For claim 6, it is noted that Takemoto is further applied for the teaching of forming a cutout in a conductive member which allows for electrical connection to the heater electrodes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761