1. Claims 1-2, 4-15 and 26-44 are presented for examination and claims 3 and 16-25 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment/Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) fails to disclose the amended limitation “feature that is selectively enableable and disableable”. However, Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) discloses in Fig. 4E, step W, column 6, lines 25, column 6, lines 38-40, During roll over, forward movement of the wheelchair is prohibited until it assumes its new angle, turned off (step W) so that the easy down is ready for the next deployment; in (Fig. 4A-4F, able the operation of the wheelchair to ascend or to descend the stairs; FIG. 4E Once the retract command is received, the air compressor and the bypass valve are activated (step U). Next, up sensor 70 is checked to make sure the easy down has been properly retracted (step V). The air compressor is then turned off (disable) so that the easy down is ready for the next deployment; and FIG. 4F, When the deployment command is issued, the air compressor is turned on (enable) to push the easy down up a little to provide a little play for latch 34 (step X). The air compressor is then turned off and solenoid 32 activates latch 34, which will release the easy down (step Y). Sensor 70 is then checked to determine that the easy down is no longer in the up position (step Z). The solenoid 32 for retracting the latch is then turned off (step AA). As claim 1, does not specifically disclose how the disable and enable select and to do what function, Littlejohn discloses the amended limitation as show above. Thereby the references rendering the instant limitations unpatentable.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-2, 4-15 and 26-44 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-2, 4-15 and 26-44 miss the article at the beginning of the sentence, claims 1 and 30, line 1, “Method” should be “A method”; claims 15 and 42, line 1, “System” should be “A system”; and claims 27 and 44, line 1, “Non-transient” should be “A non-transient”.
Claims 2, 4-14, 26, 29 and 31-41, line 1, “Method” should be “The method” and claims 28 and 43, line 1,”System” should be “The system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4.1 Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-15 and 27-29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)as being anticipated by Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A).
Regarding claim 1, Littlejohn discloses method of managing a device (Fig. 1, managing the staircase wheelchair) comprising:
determining a status of a feature (Abstract, column 1, lines 57-65, determine by a sensor for detecting the angle of an incline, such as a staircase, before it is reached by the wheelchair);
enabling feature based on trigger (Abstract, column 2, lines 26-33, a control signal is provided to a motor for tilting the seat to cause the seat to be tilted to a predetermined minimum safe angle before the wheelchair reaches the staircase); that is selectively enableable and disableable (Fig. Fig. 4A-4E, step W, column 6, lines 25, column 6, lines 38-40, The air compressor is then turned off (disable) so that the easy down is ready for the next deployment; and FIG. 4F, When the deployment command is issued, the air compressor is turned on (enable) to push the easy down up a little to provide a little play for latch 34 (step X). The air compressor is then turned off and solenoid 32 activates latch 34, which will release the easy down (step Y). Sensor 70 is then checked to determine that the easy down is no longer in the up position);
recognizing exercising the controlling (column 3, lines 50-54, opened by a controller 68 to allow the fluid to be pushed rapidly into reservoir); and
controlling the feature based on said recognizing (column 4, lines 30-35, Drivers 126 also control the position of the seat and the tilt of the seat. These drivers are controlled through a pulse width modulator generator 128 coupled to system bus 82);
wherein said enabling depends on the status and a condition and/or likelihood of the condition (Fig. 4A-Fig. 4E, column 4, lines 18-62, Upon detection of an upward vertical slope of sufficient incline, the wheelchair moves into the stairs or ramp mode D, shown in FIG. 4D. Upon detection of a vertical decline for a staircase or ramp, the wheelchair moves into state E in its program, shown in more detail in FIG. 4C).
Regarding claim 2, Littlejohn discloses correlating a mode of the device with the feature wherein the mode has a mode status based on the controlling (Fig. 4A-4E, column 5-column 6, lines 19, (20) After the easy down is deployed, the chair is moved forward and starts to roll over (step L). During roll over, the angle is detected by the inclinometer and the seat is adjusted accordingly to keep the user horizontal with respect to gravity. During roll over, forward movement of the wheelchair is prohibited until it assumes its new angle. After the chair has settled at the angle of the staircase, the easy down is retracted (step M). This is done by forcing air into the lower end of the piston and cylinder apparatus, and opening the bypass valve as shown in FIG. 2. Another bypass valve on the air compressor is also activated to prevent air release while the compressor is running. At other times, the air release valve in the air compressor allows the stored air pressure to vent).
Regarding claim 4, Littlejohn discloses the condition comprises an unsafe condition (column 5, lines 3-5, column 1, lines 60-66, If the ramp or steps are too steep, further forward movement is prohibited).
Regarding claim 5, Littlejohn discloses controlling comprises disabling the feature(Fig. 4E, step W, column 6, lines 25, column 6, lines 38-40, During roll over, forward movement of the wheelchair is prohibited until it assumes its new angle, turned off (step W) so that the easy down is ready for the next deployment).
Regarding claim 6, Littlejohn discloses enabling the feature (Fig. 4A-4F, able the operation of the wheelchair to ascend or to descend the stairs).
Regarding claim 8, Littlejohn discloses the status comprises active (column 4, lines 18-26, the wheelchair moves along horizontal ground. An interface 110 couple bus 82 through drivers 112 to actuators and solenoids 114. Included in the actuators and solenoids are the solenoid latches for releasing for the easy downs 30 and 32. Other actuators include the actuator for the air compressor 42 and an actuator for the bypass valve 66. Motor drivers 116 are coupled to motors 118 and 120 for driving the wheels).
Regarding claim 11, Littlejohn discloses the device comprises a wheelchair (Fig. 1, a wheelchair 10).
Regarding claim 12, Littlejohn discloses adjusting a speed of the wheelchair based on the trigger (column 2, lines 40-42,Fig.4a, speed up or slower speed to easy-down mechanism which simplifies operation of the wheelchair during stair climbing or descending).
Regarding claim 13, Littlejohn discloses the feature comprises stair-climbing (column 4, lines 10-11, column 4, line 34, Fig. 1, The operation of the stair-climbing wheelchair. An inclinometer for detecting the degree of inclination of the wheelchair frame).
Regarding claim 14, Littlejohn discloses correlating the feature with a second feature (column 4, lines 24-47, Fig. 4A-4F, transition between a wheel mode A and a track mode B); and modifying the feature based on changes to the second feature (Fig. 4A-Fig. 4F, column 4, lines 24-74, In the wheel mode, the wheelchair moves with four wheels and does not have the capability to ascend or descend stairs. In the track mode, the tracks are lowered upon detection of an incline of sufficient steepness by the ultrasonic transducers).
Regarding claims 15 and 27, Littlejohn discloses system for managing a feature comprising a processor, non-transient computer-readable media configured for executing (Fig. 3, Fig. 1, column 4, lines 1-11, wheelchair of FIG. 1. A serial interface 80 provides a link to a command module (not shown) which processes user inputs and controls the display. The user inputs can be in the form of push-buttons on a keypad or movements of a joystick. Interface 80 is coupled to an internal bus 82, which in turn is coupled to a microprocessor 84, a RAM 86 and a PROM 88), the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Littlejohn discloses processor comprises a management component configured for determining the trigger (Fig. 1-Fig. 4E, column 3, lines 64-column 6, lines 19, the electronics of the wheelchair of FIG. 1. A serial interface 80 provides a link to a command module processes user inputs and controls the display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.1 Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) in view of further in view of Bielby (US 20210403017 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Littlejohn discloses method of managing a device (Fig. 1, managing the staircase wheelchair) comprising:
determining a status of a feature (Abstract, column 1, lines 57-65, determine by a sensor for detecting the angle of an incline, such as a staircase, before it is reached by the wheelchair);
enabling feature based on trigger (Abstract, column 2, lines 26-33, a control signal is provided to a motor for tilting the seat to cause the seat to be tilted to a predetermined minimum safe angle before the wheelchair reaches the staircase);
recognizing exercising the controlling (column 3, lines 50-54, opened by a controller 68 to allow the fluid to be pushed rapidly into reservoir); and
controlling the feature based on said recognizing (column 4, lines 30-35, Drivers 126 also control the position of the seat and the tilt of the seat. These drivers are controlled through a pulse width modulator generator 128 coupled to system bus 82);
wherein said enabling depends on the status and a condition and/or likelihood of the condition (Fig. 4A-Fig. 4E, column 4, lines 18-62, Upon detection of an upward vertical slope of sufficient incline, the wheelchair moves into the stairs or ramp mode D, shown in FIG. 4D. Upon detection of a vertical decline for a staircase or ramp, the wheelchair moves into state E in its program, shown in more detail in FIG. 4C).
Littlejohn fails to disclose determining a status of a feature selected from a plurality of features maintained in a database.
However, Bielby discloses determining a status of a feature selected from a plurality of features maintained in a database [0010] The vehicle or the mobile device can then selectively enable or disable features of the vehicle based on the determined classification (store in the memory 210) of the user or driver. For example, when the driver is determined to be intoxicated or tired, a set of features can be activated or deactivated accordingly. Also, for example, features can be enabled or disabled based on the determined age of the user or driver. For example, if a user or driver is determined to be under a certain age, a set of features can be activated or deactivated accordingly).
Littlejohn and Bielby are analogous art. They relate to the device feature controlling. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify selectively enabling or disabling vehicle features based on user or driver classification, taught by Bielby, incorporated with a processes user input and controls the display, taught by Littlejohn by using advanced driver-assistance systems (ADAS) are electronic systems that help a driver of a vehicle while driving; in order to provide for increased car safety and road safety and reduce human error and road accidents.
Regarding claims 31 and 43, Littlejohn discloses processor comprises a management component configured for determining the trigger (Abstract, Fig. 1-Fig. 4E, column 1, lines 64-column 2, line 2; column 3, lines 64-column 6, lines 19, column 4, lines 45-48, . The minimum safe angle is determined by the position of the center of gravity of the wheelchair which is affected by the user’s weight. If the seat does not achieve this minimum tilt, the wheelchair is prevented from going over the stairs. The electronics of the wheelchair of FIG. 1. A serial interface 80 provides a link to a command module processes user inputs and controls the display).
Regarding claim 32, Littlejohn discloses correlating a mode of the device with the feature wherein the mode has a mode status based on the controlling (Fig. 4A-4E, column 5-column 6, lines 19, (20) After the easy down is deployed, the chair is moved forward and starts to roll over (step L). During roll over, the angle is detected by the inclinometer and the seat is adjusted accordingly to keep the user horizontal with respect to gravity. During roll over, forward movement of the wheelchair is prohibited until it assumes its new angle. After the chair has settled at the angle of the staircase, the easy down is retracted (step M). This is done by forcing air into the lower end of the piston and cylinder apparatus, and opening the bypass valve as shown in FIG. 2. Another bypass valve on the air compressor is also activated to prevent air release while the compressor is running. At other times, the air release valve in the air compressor allows the stored air pressure to vent).
Regarding claim 34, Littlejohn discloses the condition comprises an unsafe condition (column 5, lines 3-5, column 1, lines 60-66, If the ramp or steps are too steep, further forward movement is prohibited).
Regarding claim 35, Littlejohn discloses controlling comprises disabling and/or disabling the feature ( (Fig. Fig. 4A-4E, step W, column 6, lines 25, column 6, lines 38-40, The air compressor is then turned off (disable) so that the easy down is ready for the next deployment; and FIG. 4F, When the deployment command is issued, the air compressor is turned on (enable) to push the easy down up a little to provide a little play for latch 34 (step X). The air compressor is then turned off and solenoid 32 activates latch 34). During roll over, forward movement of the wheelchair is prohibited until it assumes its new angle, turned off (step W) so that the easy down is ready for the next deployment; and Fig. 4A-4F, able the operation of the wheelchair to ascend or to descend the stairs).
Regarding claim 38, Littlejohn discloses the device comprises a wheelchair (Fig. 1, a wheelchair 10).
Regarding claim 39, Littlejohn discloses adjusting a speed of the wheelchair based on the trigger (column 2, lines 40-42,Fig.4a, speed up or slower speed to easy-down mechanism which simplifies operation of the wheelchair during stair climbing or descending).
Regarding claim 40, Littlejohn discloses the feature comprises stair-climbing (column 4, lines 10-11, column 4, line 34, Fig. 1, The operation of the stair-climbing wheelchair. An inclinometer for detecting the degree of inclination of the wheelchair frame).
Regarding claim 41, Littlejohn discloses correlating the feature with a second feature (column 4, lines 24-47, Fig. 4A-4F, transition between a wheel mode A and a track mode B); and modifying the feature based on changes to the second feature (Fig. 4A-Fig. 4F, column 4, lines 24-74, In the wheel mode, the wheelchair moves with four wheels and does not have the capability to ascend or descend stairs. In the track mode, the tracks are lowered upon detection of an incline of sufficient steepness by the ultrasonic transducers).
Regarding claims 42 and 44, Littlejohn discloses system for managing a feature comprising a processor and non-transient computer-readable media configured for executing (Fig. 3, Fig. 1, column 4, lines 1-11, wheelchair of FIG. 1. A serial interface 80 provides a link to a command module (not shown) which processes user inputs and controls the display. The user inputs can be in the form of push-buttons on a keypad or movements of a joystick. Interface 80 is coupled to an internal bus 82, which in turn is coupled to a microprocessor 84, a RAM 86 and a PROM 88), the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
5.2 Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) in view of Schmidt et al. (US 20220051513 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Littlejohn discloses the limitations of claim 1, but fails to disclose the limitations of claim 7. However, Schmidt discloses the limitation of claim 7, as follow:
Regarding claim 7, Schmid discloses the status comprises available ([0082], displayed on the stroller available for rental).
Littlejohn and Schmid are analogous art. They relate to a user interface to interact with a user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify wheelchair rental transaction over the wireless communication network, taught by Schmid, incorporated with a processes user input and controls the display, taught by Littlejohn in order to improve for guest visitors to rent, access, and control storage lockers and mobility devices such as electric convenience vehicles (ECVs), wheelchairs and strollers, and related services, without compromising the park or venue experience.
5.3 Claim(s) 9-10 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) in view of Perkins (US 20210383483 A1).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 26, Littlejohn discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 2, but fails to disclose the limitations of claims 9-10 and 26. However, Perkins discloses the limitation of claims 9-10 and 26, as follow:
Regarding claim 9 and 10 discloses Perkins the trigger comprises non-payment for the feature and payment for the feature (0153], [0163]-[0165], The furniture screen may include furniture rental details and a furniture rental history including past and future rental payments. adjusted monthly rent, a checkbox to indicate whether the lease is billed monthly, a do not pay dropdown box, etc. The button for payable transactions, a non-payable button for non-payable transactions,).
Regarding claim 26, Perkins discloses the mode status is selected from: expired; current; and future ([0157], The rent screen 800 may include a rental history including past and future rental payments).
Littlejohn and Perkin are analogous art. They relate to a user interface to interact with a user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a user interface to control the rental device, taught by Perkin, incorporated with a processes user input and controls the display, taught by Littlejohn in order to track payments to the claims processing system made on invoices. The deposits screen may include a list of unpaid invoices, a new deposit form, and a deposit history. The list of unpaid invoices may include fields for the invoice date in real time.
5.4 Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) in view of Bielby (US 20210403017 A1) further in view of Schmidt et al. (US 20220051513 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Littlejohn discloses the limitations of claim 30, but fails to disclose the limitations of claim 36. However, Schmidt discloses the limitation of claim 36, as follow:
Regarding claims 36, Schmid discloses the status comprises available ([0082], displayed on the stroller available for rental).
Bielby, Littlejohn and Schmid are analogous art. They relate to a user interface to interact with a user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify wheelchair rental transaction over the wireless communication network, taught by Schmid, incorporated with teaching of Bielby and Littlejohn, as state above, in order to improve for guest visitors to rent, access, and control storage lockers and mobility devices such as electric convenience vehicles (ECVs), wheelchairs and strollers, and related services, without compromising the park or venue experience.
5.5 Claim(s) 33 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlejohn et al. (US 5123495 A) in view of Bielby (US 20210403017 A1) further in view of Perkins (US 20210383483 A1).
Regarding claims 33 and 37, Littlejohn discloses the limitations of claim 30, but fails to disclose the limitations of claims 33 and 37. However, Perkins discloses the limitation of claims 33 and 37, as follow:
Regarding claim 37 discloses Perkins the trigger comprises non-payment for the feature and payment for the feature (0153], [0163]-[0165], The furniture screen may include furniture rental details and a furniture rental history including past and future rental payments. adjusted monthly rent, a checkbox to indicate whether the lease is billed monthly, a do not pay dropdown box, etc. The button for payable transactions, a non-payable button for non-payable transactions,).
Regarding claim 33, Perkins discloses the mode status is selected from: expired; current; and future ([0157], The rent screen 800 may include a rental history including past and future rental payments).
Bielby, Littlejohn and Perkin are analogous art. They relate to a user interface to interact with a user. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a user interface to control the rental device, taught by Perkin, incorporated with the teaching of Bielby and Littlejohn, as show above, in order to track payments to the claims processing system made on invoices. The deposits screen may include a list of unpaid invoices, a new deposit form, and a deposit history. The list of unpaid invoices may include fields for the invoice date in real time.
Citation Pertinent prior art
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Casaletto (US 20180337794 A1) discloses collective feature status being associated with an interval of time during which feature statuses are unchanged. The feature status information obtained and persisted in the database.
Knight (US 20120226806 A1) discloses the feature set adjustment process is determine a user status of a particular application.
Wu (US 20170189249 A1) discloses sitter controlling the wheelchair to stop or operate according as the plurality of sensors are triggered or non-triggered.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIDEST WORKU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119