DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04 JUNE 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claim 1 has been acknowledged.
Pending Claims: 1-10, 12-13, and 21-28
Withdrawn Claims: 8-10 and 12-13
Cancelled Claims: 11 and 14-20
In view of the arguments against the rejection of instant claim 1, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed on 04 JUNE 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claim 1, that Kaneko teaches that each intake and exhaust side piping of the breather valve may be connected by piping but not that the sides may be connected by the same piping, which may be due to a translation error. As such, Kaneko does not teach the limitation of allowing external gas to enter the tank from the exhaust pipe and allowing the inert gas in the tank body to escape through the same exhaust pipe (Arguments filed 04 JUNE 2026, Page 10 to Page 12, Paragraph 3). Therefore, instant claim 1 is allowable. Applicant’s argument is persuasive because of the ambiguity regarding Kaneko’s meaning. However, the argument is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Myers has been brought in to teach pressure vacuum relief valves on each of multiple tanks and connected to a manifold together, which allow gas to move into tanks under vacuum and allow gas to escape tanks under pressure through the same exhaust piping. Therefore, instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable for the same reasons as instant claim 1 above (Arguments filed 04 JUNE 2026, Page 12, Paragraph 4). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because instant claim 1 is not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motomura Japanese Patent Application No. JP 2008086879 A (hereinafter Motomura) in view of Asahi et al US Patent Application No. 20210069647 A1 (hereinafter Asahi), in view of Compressed Gas Technologies, CGT Admin, “What is a Pressure Swing Adsorption (PSA) Generator?”, 08 May 2020, https://nitrogen-generators.com/what-is-a-psa-nitrogen-generator/ (hereinafter CGT), in view of Yamamoto International Patent Application No. WO 2022038897 A1 (hereinafter Yamamoto) with support from Myers et al, US Patent Application No. US 20150167857 A1 (hereinafter Myers), and in view of Hussein et al US Patent Application No. 20190226592 A1 (hereinafter Hussein).
Regarding Claim 1, the first two references, Motomura and Asahi, teach the fundamental system of the instant application, making obvious the alternating filters and tanks for ultrapure water systems with the tanks having nitrogen blanketing. The remaining prior art CGT, Yamamoto, Myers, and Hussein are used to demonstrate common equipment used in the art that may or may not be taught in every instance of a description of a system as complicated as an ultrapure water system, such as safety and maintenance systems involving variations of piping and valving.
Motomura teaches an ultrapure water production system (i.e., an ultrapure water supply apparatus)
composed of the following in series: an activated carbon tank (i.e., a first filtering device on an ultrapure water pipe; Fig. 1, #1),
an intermediate water tank (i.e., a first tank on the ultrapure water pipe and between and directly connected to each of the first filtering device and the second filtering device; Fig. 1, #2),
a reverse osmosis membrane device (i.e., a second filtering device on the ultrapure water pipe and connected to the first filtering device; Fig. 1, #3),
a degassing device (Fig. 1, #4), which is preferably a membrane degassing device with an ultrafiltration membrane (i.e., a third filtering device on the ultrapure water pipe and connected to the second filtering device; Paragraph 0025, Machine Translation),
a first ion exchange device (i.e., a fourth filtering device on the ultrapure water pipe and connected to the third filtering device; Fig. 1, #5),
a second ion exchange device (Fig. 1, #6), a primary pure water tank (i.e., a second tank on the ultrapure water pipe; Fig. 1, #7), and a secondary pure water tank (i.e., a third tank on the ultrapure water pipe; wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth filtering devices includes at least one selected from an activated carbon filter device, an ion exchange resin device, a reverse osmosis membrane device, and a hollow fiber membrane device; Fig. 1, #11; Paragraphs 0036-0037, Machine Translation).
Motomura further teaches that the primary pure water tank and the secondary pure water tank are sealed with nitrogen gas (i.e., a gas supply connected to each of the second tank, and the third tank; the gas supply configured to supply an inert gas; a gas supply pipe that connects the gas storage tank and the tank body; Paragraphs 0036-0037, Machine Translation) with the purpose being to prevent dissolution of gasses such as carbon dioxide and to prevent ultrapure water from coming into contact with air (Paragraph 0008, Machine Translation).
Motomura does not teach the explicit ordering of four filtering devices with three interposing holding tanks, a second tank between and directly connected to each of the second filtering device and the third filtering device and a third tank between and directly connected to each of the third filtering device and the fourth filtering device, wherein the first to fourth filtering devices and the first to third tanks are alternately connected to the ultrapure water pipe.
However, Asahi teaches in Fig. 11 below a configuration of four filtering devices with interposing tanks for the purpose of providing stable separation with constant flow-rate filtration (i.e., wherein the first to fourth filtering devices and the first to third tanks are alternately connected to the ultrapure water pipe; Paragraph 0006).
Asahi is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a membrane filtration device for water treatment (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the ultrapure water production system as taught by Motomura with the alternating filters and tanks as taught by Asahi because the tanks would provide stability to the constant flow-rate filtration.
Motomura in view of Asahi does not explicitly teach a gas supply device connected to each of the first tank, the second tank, and the third tank, the gas supply configured to supply an inert gas.
However, CGT teaches a pressure swing adsorption generator (i.e., a gas supply device), a nitrogen buffer tank (i.e., a gas storage tank that stores the inert gas; Fig., #3), and a particulate filter (i.e., a parallel filter device; a first filter positioned on the gas supply pipe; Fig., #4) which supplies on-site nitrogen generation with a savings of 80-90% of costs (Page 1, Paragraph 1).
CGT is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to industrial nitrogen production at high purity (Page 1, Paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the ultrapure water production system made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi with the nitrogen generator as taught by CGT because the nitrogen generator would reduce nitrogen costs by 80-90%.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT does not teach (1) a breather valve coupled to the tank body and connected to a storage space in the tank body, (2) an exhaust pipe connected to the breather valve and extending away from the breather valve to an external space, (3) wherein the breather valve of each of the first, second, and the third tank is configured to allow an external gas to enter the tank body from the exhaust pipe when a relative pressure of the inert gas in the storage space is less than about -30 mmAq, and (4) allow the inert gas in the tank body to escape from the tank body through the exhaust pipe when a relative pressure of the inert gas in the storage space is greater than about 50 mmAq.
However, Yamamoto teaches a seal gas exhaust device (i.e., a breather valve; Fig. 1A, #12) for the purpose of preventing the pressure in the storage container from becoming excessively high (i.e., coupled to the tank body and connected to a storage space in the tank body; Paragraph 0028, Machine Translation), where the seal exhaust device can be a breather valve (Paragraph 0029, Machine Translation) and a valve (Fig. 1A, #13c) for controlling the flow of the seal gas that opens when the pressure in the gas phase section (Fig. 1A, #60) of the storage vessel becomes lower than a predetermined supply start pressure (i.e., a pressure control valve on the gas supply pipe; Paragraph 0032, Machine Translation),
and wherein the exhaust start pressure is 0.5 to 5 kPa, or 50.99 to 509.8 mmAq (i.e., allow the inert gas in the tank body to escape from the tank body through the exhaust pipe when a relative pressure of the inert gas in the storage space is greater than about 50 mmAq; Paragraph 0070, Machine Translation)
Yamamoto further teaches where the seal gas exhaust device exhausts the seal gas to the outside of the storage container and any known seal gas exhaust device can be used (Paragraphs 0028-0029, Machine Translation).
Myers further teaches a pressure vacuum relief valve (PVRV) for storage tanks (Paragraph 0002),
wherein the in-line PVRV can be located on a manifold to equalize pressure across multiple tanks and to connect the connect the interior of the storage tanks to a flow line or component external to the storage tanks (i.e., an exhaust pipe connected to the breather valve and extending away from the breather valve to an external space; Paragraphs 0034-0035) it is known to use multiple PVRV’s directly coupled to each storage tank and the manifold may or may not be included (i.e., wherein the breather valve of each of the first, second, and the third tank; Paragraph 0037),
and wherein the PVRV relieves pressure when the interior of a storage tank falls below a minimum pressure, such as atmospheric pressure and also relieves pressure when the internal pressure of the interior of the storage tank exceeds a maximum pressure threshold (i.e., is configured to allow an external gas to enter the tank body from the exhaust pipe when a relative pressure of the inert gas in the storage space is less than about -30 mmAq; Paragraphs 0027-0028).
Myers is analogous to the instant invention because it pertains to a pressure vacuum relief valve (PVRV) for storage tanks (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with the PVRV as taught by Myers because Yamamoto teaches that any known seal gas exhaust device may be used.
Yamamoto is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a gas seal tank for use in an ultrapure water production apparatus (Paragraph 0001, Machine Translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the ultrapure water production apparatus as made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT with the seal gas exhaust device as taught by Yamamoto because the seal gas exhaust would prevent the pressure in the storage container from becoming excessively high.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers does not explicitly teach a bypass filter pipe connected to the gas supply pipe so as to bypass the first filter.
However, Hussein teaches that bypasses are typically installed around targeted equipment in order to avoid shutdowns (i.e., a bypass filter pipe connected to the gas supply pipe so as to bypass the first filter; Paragraph 0003).
Hussein is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to gas valve assemblies (Paragraph 0001). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the seal gas line made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Kaneko with the bypass line as taught by Hussein because the bypass would allow the filter to be maintained or replaced without shutting down the entire process.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach the supply of inert gas to all tanks and does not explicitly teach that all tanks have a breather valve. However, Motomura teaches multiple tanks with a nitrogen seal with a reason of preventing air and carbon dioxide contamination for the pure water and Yamamoto teaches a seal gas exhaust device on a tank with a nitrogen seal. Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply the nitrogen seal to all tanks and to apply the seal gas exhaust device to all sealed tanks because one would want to prevent contamination of the purified water and also prevent pressure build-up in the sealed tanks.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly a second filter positioned on the bypass filter pipe. However, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to duplicate the filters on the gas supply pipe because filters need to be regularly changed and/or maintained and then one could perform the maintenance without shutting down the process.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not teach the explicit range of relative pressure of less than about -30 mmAq and greater than about 50 mmAq for the opening and closing of the breather valve in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the pressure ranges for the breather valve operation that correspond to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein.
Regarding Claim 2, CGT further teaches a pressure swing adsorption generator with a nitrogen buffer tank (Fig., #3) located just before the particulate filter where the particulate filter is located before the going to the rest of the process (i.e., wherein the parallel filter device is between the gas storage tank and the pressure control device; Fig., #4).
Yamamoto further teaches a valve which is located in proximity to the storage vessel (i.e., wherein the parallel filter device is between the gas storage tank and the pressure control device; Fig. 1A, #13c) for controlling the flow of the seal gas that opens when the pressure in the gas phase section (Fig. 1A, #60) of the storage vessel becomes lower than a predetermined supply start pressure (i.e., a pressure control valve on the gas supply pipe; Paragraph 0032, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 3, Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach wherein the pressure control valve comprises a plurality of pressure control valves, and the plurality of pressure control valves are disposed in parallel to each other. However, Motomura teaches multiple tanks with a nitrogen seal with a reason of preventing air and carbon dioxide contamination for the pure water and Yamamoto teaches a valve (Fig. 1A, #13c) for controlling the flow of the seal gas that opens when the pressure in the gas phase section (Fig. 1A, #60) of the storage vessel becomes lower than a predetermined supply start pressure (Paragraph 0032, Machine Translation). Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply the pressure control valve to all sealed tanks because one would want to prevent contamination of the purified water and also control the pressure of each tank individually.
Regarding Claim 4, Hussein further teaches that industrial fluid delivery systems routinely include one or more fluid valves, such as a control valve (i.e., a main valve on the gas supply pipe; Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025), configured to completely terminate fluid flow through the system so that fluid from upstream of the valve does not reach other components of the system that are downstream (Paragraph 0002) and that bypasses are typically installed around targeted equipment in order to avoid shutdowns (i.e., wherein the gas supply device further includes a bypass device on the gas supply pipe, wherein the bypass device includes: a bypass pipe that bypasses the gas supply pipe; a bypass valve on the bypass pipe; and a main valve on the gas supply pipe so as to be disposed in parallel to the bypass valve; Paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the seal gas line made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein with the main valve as taught by Hussein because the main valve would terminate fluid flow downstream for performing work on the equipment.
Regarding Claim 5, Motomura further teaches nitrogen gas supply lines (i.e., wherein the gas supply pipe comprises a plurality of gas supply pipes, and each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is connected to a corresponding one of the second tank and the third tank; Fig. 1, #L8 and L13; Paragraphs 0039-0040, Machine Translation).
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is connected to a corresponding one of the first tank. However, Motomura teaches multiple tanks with a nitrogen seal with a reason of preventing air and carbon dioxide contamination for the pure water and Asahi teaches a configuration of four filtering devices with interposing tanks for the purpose of providing stable separation with constant flow-rate filtration (Paragraph 0006). Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply the nitrogen seal to all tanks because one would want to prevent contamination of the purified water.
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto further teaches that the seal gas supply device (Fig. 1A, #13) has a pressure detection unit (i.e., a pressure measurement device) that detects the pressure of the gas phase portion of the storage vessel (i.e., configured to measure a pressure of the storage space in the tank body; Paragraph 0032, Machine Translation).
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach wherein each of the first, second, and third tanks further includes a pressure measurement device. However, Motomura teaches multiple tanks with a nitrogen seal with a reason of preventing air and carbon dioxide contamination for the pure water and Yamamoto teaches the seal gas supply device (Fig. 1A, #13) has a pressure detection unit that detects the pressure of the gas phase portion of the storage vessel (Paragraph 0032, Machine Translation). Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply the nitrogen seal to all tanks and to apply the seal gas supply device to all sealed tanks because one would want to prevent contamination of the purified water.
Regarding Claim 7, Myers further teaches wherein the in-line PVRV can be located on a manifold to equalize pressure across multiple tanks and to connect the connect the interior of the storage tanks to a flow line or component external to the storage tanks (Paragraphs 0034-0035) it is known to use multiple PVRV’s directly coupled to each storage tank and the manifold may or may not be included (i.e., wherein the exhaust pipe of each of the first, second, and third tanks comprises a common exhaust pipe connected to the breather valve of each of the first, second, and third tanks; Paragraph 0037).
Regarding Claim 21, Hussein further teaches a valve apparatus (Fig. 3, #13) that has two sets of double block and bleed valves (i.e., wherein the bypass device includes at least one shutoff valve on the gas supply pipe) on either side of a control valve (Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025).
Regarding Claim 22, Hussein further teaches a valve apparatus (Fig. 3, #13) that has two sets of double block and bleed valves on either side of a control valve (i.e., wherein the at least one shutoff valve includes a first shutoff valve on a first side of the main valve and a second shutoff valve on a second, opposite side of the main valve; Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025).
Regarding Claim 23, Hussein further teaches a valve apparatus (Fig. 3, #13) that has two sets of double block and bleed valves on either side of a control valve (i.e., the main valve includes an automatic valve; Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025) and that an example bypass valve (Fig. 1, #35 or 36) may be actuated by a handle (i.e., wherein the bypass valve includes a manual valve; Fig. 1, #30 or 38).
Regarding Claim 24, Yamamoto further teaches a valve (Fig. 1A, #13c) for controlling the flow of the seal gas that opens when the pressure in the gas phase section (Fig. 1A, #60) of the storage vessel becomes lower than a predetermined supply start pressure (i.e., a pressure control valve on the gas supply pipe; Paragraph 0032, Machine Translation).
Hussein further teaches that industrial fluid delivery systems routinely include one or more fluid valves, such as a control valve (i.e., the pressure control valve; Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025), configured to control the rate of fluid flow through the system so that fluid from upstream of the valve does not reach other components of the system that are downstream (Paragraph 0002) and that bypasses are typically installed around targeted equipment in order to avoid shutdowns (i.e., a first pressure control pipe connected to the gas supply pipe and that bypasses a portion of the gas supply pipe; Paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the seal gas line made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein with bypass valve as taught by Hussein because the bypass would allow the main valve to be maintained or replaced without shutting down the entire process.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach a second pressure control pipe connected to the gas supply pipe and that bypasses a portion of the gas supply pipe; a first pressure control valve on the first pressure control pipe; a second pressure control valve on the second pressure control pipe; and a reserve valve on the gas supply pipe. However, Hussein teaches that bypasses are known in the art for preventing shutdown. Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply a duplicated control valve on the bypass line and to duplicate the bypass line again because the system would add redundancy and prevent shutdowns during maintenance and/or repair periods.
Regarding Claim 25, Hussein further teaches a valve apparatus (Fig. 3, #13) that has two sets of double block and bleed valves (i.e., wherein the pressure control valve includes: at least one shutoff valve on the first pressure control pipe) on either side of a control valve (Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025).
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach at least one shutoff valve on the second pressure control pipe. However, Hussein teaches that fluid valves are known in the art for the purpose of preventing fluid from upstream of the valve from reaching other components of the system that are downstream. Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply a duplicated shut off valve on the bypass line because the system would add redundancy and prevent shutdowns during maintenance and/or repair periods.
Regarding Claim 26, Hussein further teaches a valve apparatus (Fig. 3, #13) that has two sets of double block and bleed valves (i.e., wherein the at least one shutoff valve on the first pressure control pipe includes a first shutoff valve upstream the first pressure control valve and a second shutoff valve downstream the first pressure control valve) on either side of a control valve (Fig. 3, #55; Paragraph 0025).
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one shutoff valve on the second pressure control pipe includes a third shutoff valve upstream the second pressure control valve and a fourth shutoff valve downstream the second pressure control valve. However, Hussein teaches that fluid valves are known in the art for the purpose of preventing fluid from upstream of the valve from reaching other components of the system that are downstream. Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply a duplicated shut off valve on the bypass line because the system would add redundancy and prevent shutdowns during maintenance and/or repair periods.
Regarding Claim 27, Hussein further teaches that double block and bleed valves are a requirement for isolating equipment on pressurized systems (i.e., wherein the parallel filter device includes), bypasses are typically installed around targeted equipment in order to avoid shutdowns (Paragraph 0003), and such a valve apparatus (Fig. 3, #13) has two sets of double block and bleed valves (i.e., a first filter shutoff valve on the gas supply pipe upstream the first filter; a second filter shutoff valve on the gas supply pipe downstream the first filter) on either side of a piece of equipment (Paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to modify the seal gas line made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein with double block and bleed valve apparatus as taught by Hussein because the double block and bleed valve apparatus allow the filter to be maintained or replaced without shutting down the entire process.
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not explicitly teach a third filter shutoff valve on the bypass filter pipe upstream the second filter; and a fourth filter shutoff valve on the bypass filter pipe downstream the second filter. However, Hussein teaches that double block and bleed valves are known in the art for the purpose of preventing fluid from upstream of the valve from reaching other components of the system that are downstream and preventing shutdown of an entire process when performing work on a piece of equipment. Furthermore, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960))(See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant claimed invention to apply a duplicated shut off valve on the bypass line for the filter because the system would add redundancy and prevent shutdowns during maintenance and/or repair periods.
Regarding Claim 28, Yamamoto further teaches that the supply start pressure is set to 0.2 to 1 kPa, or 20.3 to 102 mmAq and the exhaust start pressure is set to 0.3 to 2 kPa higher than the supply start pressure, which means the tank pressure would be controlled from about 20 to 50 mmAq (i.e., wherein the pressure control valve is configured to allow the inert gas in the gas supply pipe to have a relative pressure of about 30 mmAq; Paragraphs 0069-0070).
Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein does not teach the explicit value of the relative pressure of the inert gas of the gas supply pipe of about 30 mmAq in the instant claim. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for claimed ranges that overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976))(See MPEP 2144.05(I)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the pressure ranges for the breather valve operation that correspond to the claimed range while experimenting with the range made obvious by Motomura in view of Asahi in view of CGT in view of Yamamoto with support from Myers in view of Hussein.
Conclusion
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772