Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komoriya (U.S. 20030232940).
Komoriya teaches fluorine containing polymers made from a monomer (I) below. (Abstract)
This anticipates the General Formula I when R1-R3 = H, L1 = phenylene and Z1 = the fluorinated substituents off the benzene ring.
These are used to make resist compositions and anti-reflection films on surfaces. ¶[0125] and ¶[0126] which anticipates the composition of Claim 9, the optical film of Claim 11 and the hardcoat film of Claim 13 as the anti-reflective film is reasonably suggested to be capable of being a hardcoat film as Applicant does not further define a hardcoat film.
Claim 1-2, 8, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishio (WO2019026522; Nishio U.S. 20200159117 national stage entry used as English translation).
Nishio teaches a variety of fluorine containing polymers which anticipate Formula I. See below.
L in each case is the boxed in area on the left (or alternatively, the boxed in area on the right). Additionally, p-74 and p-75 anticipate Formula I (not reproduced) for similar reason as above. P-203, P-204, P-207 (page 31) also anticipate for similar reasons as above.
The above formulas anticipate Formula II of Claim 1 when L is a divalent linking group or a single bond.
P-208 anticipates Claim 2 due to the styrene additional monomer. Similar P-212 and P-213 and P-217 (page 32) also anticipate Claim 2 for similar reasons.
Claim 8 is anticipated by any of p-12 through p-18
With W being the circled trivalent group.
Additionally,
With the cyclohexane group being anticipating W.
Compositions of the above compounds are used to make resist patterns. See ¶[0006]. This anticipates Claim 9 and Claim 13 as the resist layer is reasonably suggested to must be hard enough to function as resist layer which anticipates a hard coat film.
Claim 1, 9-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosokawa (JP2007272185; reference made to included English translation).
Hosokawa teaches compositions comprising a liquid crystal compound (LC) (which may be a polymerizable LC compound or a LC compound) and a separate polymer for adjusting the average tilt of the LC compound. (¶[0009]) These compositions are part of retardation plates which are optical films that adjust the polarity of the light due to the LC compound present. ¶[0191-00194] The term “plate” and the films being taught to include a protective film reasonably suggest these retardation plates must possess a hardcoat film. These films anticipate Claim 11, Claim 12, Claim 13, Claim 14. Compositions comprising the polymerizable LC compound in an amount of preferably 50 to 99 wt% of the anisotropic layer are taught in ¶[0133]. This section and the above ¶[0009] anticipate the compositions of Claim 9 and Claim 10.
Hosokawa teaches multiple polymers (P-24 (¶[0038]), P-40 (¶[0039) and P-8(¶[0037]) which anticipate Formula (I) of Claim 1.
In these compounds, CF = L1 of the instant claims and x = 2, therefore L1 must be trivalent as it has three branches.
Note that while Hosokawa teaches multiples sections ¶[0061]-¶[0110](for the LC compound) and ¶[00158] (for a polymerizable B compound) that appear to read over Claims 5-7 and Claim 4, these compounds are not suggested to be polymerized with the fluorine containing polymer above while the instant claims required them to be part of the polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP2007272185; reference made to included English translation).
Hosokawa is applied as above. Hosokawa does not exemplify a combination of monomers in the fluorine containing polymer which further contains a monomer as recited by Claim 2. (i.e. a monomer with an aromatic unit).
In ¶[0026] teaches the polymer containing fluorine for adjusting the tilt angle can further comprises a unit A7 which may be styrene or contain an aromatic group such as those in P-69 or P-70 (¶[0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to practice the invention of Hosokawa, in particular that of P-24, P-8 or P-40, with an additional monomer unit from styrene or the aromatic units of P-69 and P-70 because Hosokawa suggests this as above.
Styrene reads over Claim 2 when L6 = single bond and P = phenyl, R8 = hydrogen.
P-69 reads over Claim 2 when L6 = -COO- and P = phenyl, R8 = methyl.
P-70 reads over Claim 2 when L6 = -COO- and P = naphthyl, R8 = hydrogen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Hosokawa (JP2007272185; reference made to included English translation) which teaches polarizing plates made from liquid crystal and fluorine containing polymers. However, the liquid crystal component is specifically taught as a separate component, not polymerized with the fluorine containing polymer (relevant to Claims 5-7). Additionally, the boron monomer of Claim 4 is also taught by Hosokawa however, as with the LC polymer of Hosokawa above, it is not meant to be polymerized into or part of the fluorine containing polymer. Finally, the polymerizable monomer of Claim 3 is also not reasonably suggested to be in the fluorine containing polymer.
Meiraku (JP 2012072287; reference made to the included English translation) teaches a fluorine containing polymer as a surfactant which contains a polymerizable monomer according to Claim 3. However, Claim 4 recites the polymer further comprises said monomer and, additionally, it is entirely unclear what the final structure of this polymer even looks like (Synthesis example 2, ¶[0072] refers to a fluorine containing oligomer being produce from a reaction which does not even appear to have any fluorine containing reagents used) and whether there are any polymerizable units left when the graft polymerization is completed as required by Claim 3.
To arrive at the claimed polymer in Claims 3-7 using Hosokawa would require hindsight especially in light of the function of this polymer (tuning the tilt angle of the LC) and what any of these modifications would do to that capability.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766