DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response, filed 8 June 2026, to the last office action has been entered and made of record.
In response to the amendments to the claims, they are acknowledged, supported by the original disclosure, and no new matter is added.
In response to the filed replacement drawings, the replacement drawings have overcome the objection to the drawings of the previous Office action, and the respective objections have been withdrawn.
Amendments to the independent claims 1, 10, and 16 have necessitated a new ground of rejection over the applied prior art. Please see below for the updated interpretations and rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claims 1, 10, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “re-binning unit”, “reconstruction unit”, “movement module”, “positioning module”, “mapping module”, “adoption module”, “beam simulation module”, “movement simulation module”, and “simulation adoption module” in claims 10-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Brendel et al. (US 2016/0210741), herein Brendel in view of Dang et al. (US 11,386,591, effectively filed 5 Sept. 2019), herein Dang, and Shecter (US 2008/0247507).
Regarding claim 1, Brendel discloses a method for movement compensation during CT reconstruction, the method comprising:
providing projection images of a CT scan (see Brendel [0017], [0026], and [0036], where measured projection data is received from an imaging system such as a computed tomography (CT) scanner);
creating intermediate projection images (see Brendel [0026] and [0037], where initial and current image data is determined and stored; see Brendel [0027] and [0039], where each of the plurality of sets of image data are forward projected, creating a plurality of sets of forward projected data); and
calculating slice images via back projection of the intermediate projection images onto voxels of the slice images (see Brendel [0027]-[0033] and [0036]-[0047], where final image data is calculated based on iterative resampling, in which updated projection data are back projected to generate partial update image data to be resampled to be added to current image data and produce new current image data), wherein
for each intermediate projection image and for each voxel, and based on a movement profile of the voxels during acquisition of the projection images (see Brendel [0019]-[0020], where motion signal is generated based on detected motion during an imaging acquisition, and a set of motion vector fields based on the motion signal is determined for a set of motion states; see Brendel [0027]-[0033] and [0036]-[0047], where initial and current image data and the set of MVFs for corresponding set of motion states obtained during image acquisition are used in a motion compensated iterative reconstruction based on the created plurality of sets of forward projected data), the method includes
ascertaining a changed movement state of the voxel based on the projection image position (see Brendel [0029] and [0041]-[0042], where a difference signal between concatenated projection data and measured projection data is determined; and update projection data is generated based on the difference signal),
calculating a changed voxel position of the voxel from the original voxel position and the movement profile relative to the changed movement state in the intermediate projection image (see Brendel [0029] and [0042]-[0043], where update projection data is generated based on the difference signal, and update projection data are grouped based on the set of motion states),
calculating a changed projection image position at which the voxel would be mapped in the intermediate projection image at the changed voxel position (see Brendel [0029] and [0042]-[0044], where update projection data is grouped based on the set of motion states), and
using an image value of the intermediate projection image at the changed projection image position for the back projection (see Brendel [0030] and [0042]-[0044], where the updated projection data is back projected).
While Brendel teaches that a motion signal is generated based on detected motion during an imaging acquisition, and a set of motion vector fields (MVFs) based on the motion signal is determined for a set of motion states (see Brendel [0019]-[0020]), and in a motion compensated iterative reconstruction, initial and current image data and a set of MVFs for corresponding set of motion states are obtained and images are resampled and represented on a regular grid of voxels, where the current image data is resampled into sets of image data corresponding to one of the motion states, and resulting voxels have a geometry and position on a regular grid as that of the initial image data (see Brendel [0027] and [0037]-[0038]), each of the plurality of sets of image data is forward projected creating a set of forward projected data corresponding to a particular motion state and the forward projected data are concatenated, a difference signal between concatenated projection data and measured projection data is determined, update projection data is generated based on the difference signal and grouped based on the set of motion states, and the updated projection data is back projected to produce new current image data (see Brendel [0029] and [0039]-[0046]);
Brendel does not explicitly disclose for each intermediate projection image and for each voxel, and based on a movement profile of the voxels during acquisition of the projection images, the method includes
selecting an initial movement state based on the intermediate projection image,
calculating a reference voxel position of the voxel from an original voxel position of the voxel and from the movement profile relative to the initial movement state in the intermediate projection image.
Dang teaches in a related and pertinent reconstruction method for motion compensated four-dimensional Cone Beam Computed Tomography (4D-CBCT) image (see Dang Abstract), where 4D-CBCT projections are collected, where a waveform of amplitudes and phases of respiratory motion of a patient over time during treatment is obtained and used to label each frame of collected CBCT projection images with corresponding time tag, where the 4D CBCT projections are obtained by 4D grouping of the projections according to the time tags of a respiratory motion curve (see Dang col. 5, ln. 10-40), in an iterative 4D- deformable vector field (DVF) optimization step, the DVF between a reference phase image and one of other 4D phases is generated by registration between measured projections of a target phase and the forward projection of a deformed phase image, where an initial deformed phase image is the reference phase image deformed to the target phase with an initial 4D-DVF, the DVF between two phases is adjusted by registration between projections at the target phase and the forward projection of the deformed reference phase and an iterative optimization estimation of DVF is carried out (see Dang col. 6, ln. 1- col. 7,ln. 20; see also Dang col. 2, ln. 1- col. 3, ln. 65), and a continuously iterative updating reconstruction is performed using an optimized 4D-DVF iteration, where the optimal estimation of 4D-DVF and the updating of the reference phase image are carried out alternatively, until the 4D-DVF optimization object function at each phase trends to converge and the overall 4D-DVF optimization and motion compensated reconstruction would be stopped, and a sequence of high quality 4D-CBCT images are obtained (see Dang col. 7,ln. 20-55; see also Dang col. 2, ln. 1- col. 3, ln. 65).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the motion compensated iterative reconstruction technique of Brendel for resampling current image data to sets of imaging data corresponding to one of the motion states and forward projecting the data to obtain the projection data to be compared with measured projection data with the motion compensated iterative CBCT image reconstruction techniques of Dang which performs an iterative DVF optimization to obtain a DVF for deforming a reference image phase to a target phase according to the registration of measured projections and forward projection of the deformed phase to obtain the projection data to be compared with measured projection data and predictably result in obtaining updated projection data for the motion compensated reconstruction based on motion vectors which have been iteratively optimized according to selected target motion state/phase of measured projection data.
This modification is rationalized as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In this instance, Brendel discloses a base method for acquiring projection data from a computed tomographic (CT) imaging system to be processed with a motion compensated iterative reconstruction algorithm, where a set of motion vector fields based on a motion signal generated during image acquisition is used with initial and current images to resample images into sets of image data corresponding to a motion state, and the resampled images are forward projected and compared to measured projection data to generate updated projection data, and the updated projection data is back projected to produce a new current image.
Dang teaches a related motion compensated iterative CBCT image reconstruction method, which collects CBCT projection images with a respiratory motion waveform to label the projection images with corresponding time tag of the motion phases, and deformable vector fields (DVF) to deform the reference phase image to a target phase are generated and iteratively optimized by calculating a difference between the measured projection and the forward projection of the deformed phase image, where the optimized DVF are used in the motion compensated reconstruction of the CBCT images.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the motion compensated iterative reconstruction technique of Brendel, which resamples current image data to sets of imaging data corresponding to one of the motion states and forward projecting the image data to obtain the projection data to be compared with measured projection data, with Dang’s motion compensated iterative CBCT image reconstruction techniques, which performs iterative DVF optimization to obtain a DVF for deforming a reference image phase to a target phase according to the registration of measured projections, where the selected target phase of the projection data provides for the broadest reasonable interpretation of “selecting an initial movement state based on the intermediate projection image”, and forward projection of the deformed phase to obtain the projection data to be compared with measured projection data, which provides for the broadest reasonable interpretation of “calculating a reference voxel position of the voxel from an original voxel position of the voxel and from the movement profile relative to the initial movement state in the intermediate projection image”, and the substitution predictably results in obtaining updated projection data for the motion compensated reconstruction based on motion vectors which have been iteratively optimized according to selected target motion state/phase of measured projection data.
Brendel and Dang do not explicitly disclose that creating intermediate projection images is from a re-binning of columns of the projection images,
calculating a column projection image position at which the voxel would be mapped in the intermediate projection image at the reference voxel position, and that
ascertaining a changed movement state of the voxel is based on the column projection image position.
Shecter teaches in a related and pertinent tomographic apparatus which generates output signals indicative radiation received along a plurality of rays (see Shecter Abstract), where a multi-slice detector includes multiple rows or slices of detector elements extending in the z-direction and multiple columns of detector elements extending in the transverse direction (see Shecter [0034]), where the geometry of the x-ray beam in the y-z plane for central rays which pass through the isocenter and are received by a central column of the multi-row detector (see Shecter [0041]), and a height rebinner performs separate height interpolation for each focal spot and detector column so as to generate an output raster of one dimensionally interpolated values for each detector column (see Shecter [0041]-[0042] and [0047]), where the z-coordinate of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter (see Shecter [0043]-[0046]), and transverse rebinning is performed on the height interpolated readings to generate a plurality of equidistant parallel views (see Shecter [0049]-[0050]).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Shecter to the teachings of Brendel and Dang such that the received projection data are processed with height and transverse rebinning to generate plurality of projection images with equidistant parallel views, and that the coordinates of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter corresponding to a central column.
This modification is rationalized as a use of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way
In this instance, Brendel and Dang disclose a base method for acquiring projection data from a computed tomographic (CT) imaging system to be processed with a motion compensated iterative reconstruction algorithm.
Shecter teaches in a comparable tomographic apparatus, such as a CT scanner, which generates output signals indicative radiation received along a plurality of rays, the known technique of performing height and transverse rebinning of received projection data from the detector of the CT scanner, where the coordinates of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter corresponding to a central column.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied Shecter’s techniques in the same way to the received projection data of Brendel and Dang, and would have predictably resulted in the received projection data being processed with height and transverse rebinning to generate plurality of projection images with equidistant parallel views, and that the coordinates of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter corresponding to a central column.
Regarding claim 2, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the initial movement state corresponds to a column projection image position, which lies substantially at a center of the intermediate projection image (see Shecter [0041], where the geometry of the x-ray beam in the y-z plane for central rays which pass through the isocenter and are received by a central column of the multi-row detector; and see Shecter [0043]-[0046], where the coordinate of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter).
Regarding claim 3, please see the above rejection of claim 2. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein the center corresponds to a column at exactly the center of an image in one of the projection images (see Shecter [0041], where the geometry of the x-ray beam in the y-z plane for central rays which pass through the isocenter and are received by a central column of the multi-row detector; and see Shecter [0043]-[0046], where the coordinate of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter).
Regarding claim 5, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein for each intermediate projection image and for each voxel, the method comprises:
calculating a changed column image position at which the voxel would be mapped in the intermediate projection image at the changed voxel position (see Dang col. 2, ln. 1- col. 3, ln. 65, and col. 6, ln. 1- col. 7,ln. 20, where a forward projection of the deformed phase image is performed, implying a corresponding deformed projection image is obtained; see Brendel [0029] and [0042]-[0044], where update projection data is grouped based on the set of motion states; see Shecter [0041] and [0043]-[0046], where the coordinates of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter corresponding to a central column; where the combined teachings suggests that a column image corresponding to the deformed projection data is calculated);
wherein the ascertaining ascertains the changed movement state of the voxel based on the changed column image position (see Dang col. 2, ln. 1- col. 3, ln. 65, and col. 6, ln. 1- col. 7,ln. 20, where the measured projection is compared with the forward projection of the deformed phase image; see Brendel [0029] and [0041]-[0042], where a difference signal between concatenated projection data and measured projection data is determined; and update projection data is generated based on the difference signal; see Shecter [0041] and [0043]-[0046], where the coordinates of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter corresponding to a central column).
Regarding claim 6, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the creating the intermediate projection images comprises:
re-binning the columns of the projection images such that, for an intermediate projection image, columns of the projection images, which have been acquired with parallel X-ray beams respectively in a plane orthogonal to the columns, are used (see Shecter [0041]-[0042] and [0047], where a height rebinner performs separate height interpolation for each focal spot and detector column so as to generate an output raster of one dimensionally interpolated values for each detector column; and see Shecter [0049]-[0050], where transverse rebinning is performed on the height interpolated readings to generate a plurality of equidistant parallel views).
Regarding claim 8, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein after calculating the slice images, the method comprises:
reconstructing comparison intermediate projection images from the slice images based on the movement profile (see Brendel [0027] and [0038]-[0039], where current image data is re-sampled into a plurality of sets of image data, each corresponding to one of the motion states, and the re-sample images are forward projected and concatenated);
comparing the comparison intermediate projection images with the intermediate projection images (see Brendel [0029] and [0041], where the concatenated projection data is compared with the measured projection data and a difference signal is determined);
creating revised slice images based on the comparing (see Brendel [0029]-[0030] and [0042]-[0046], where the update projection data is generated based on the difference signal and used to form sets of updated projection data that are back projected to generate partial update image data and re-sampled into the reference motion state to be added to the current image data to produce new current image data); and
iteratively repeating the reconstructing, the comparing, and the creating revised slice images with last-created slice images (see Brendel [0033] and [0047], where the acts for the motion compensated iterative reconstruction are repeated until a stopping criteria is satisfied).
Regarding claim 9, please see the above rejection of claim 8. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein during reconstructing of the comparison intermediate projection images, for each image point of each comparison intermediate projection image, the image point of the comparison projection intermediate image is ascertained by
calculating a beam through image voxels starting from the image point of the comparison intermediate projection image (see Brendel [0027] and [0038]-[0039], where current image data are resampled into sets of image data corresponding to one of the motion states, where the resulting voxels have a geometry and position on a regular grid of the initial image, and are forward projected to create a plurality of sets of forward projected data, each set corresponding to a particular motion state, where the forward projection of the current image data is understood to be equivalent to simulating and capturing the projection data of an x-ray beam from the current image data),
ascertaining movement data for a movement state corresponding to a column image position in the comparison intermediate projection image from the movement profile (see Brendel [0027] and [0038]-[0039], where current image data are resampled into sets of image data corresponding to one of the motion states, where the resulting voxels have a geometry and position on a regular grid of the initial image, and are forward projected to create a plurality of sets of forward projected data, each set corresponding to a particular motion state; see Shecter [0041] and [0043]-[0046], where the coordinates of interpolated readings is defined as the location at which the reading intersects the isocenter corresponding to a central column; where the combined teachings suggest that the MVF for the motion states are determined and applied to the column positions of the current image data when resampling the current image data to the motion states),
displacing positions of the beam and the image voxels relative to each other according to the movement data of the movement profile relating to the movement state (see Brendel [0027] and [0038]-[0039], where current image data are resampled into sets of image data corresponding to one of the motion states, where the resulting voxels have a geometry and position on a regular grid of the initial image, and are forward projected to create a plurality of sets of forward projected data, each set corresponding to a particular motion state, where the forward projection of the resampled current image data corresponding to different motion states is understood to be equivalent to simulating and capturing the projection data of an x-ray beam from the current image data with the displacement according to the MVFs of the different motion states),
accumulating values of the image voxels along the beam with a relative displacement of the beam and the image voxels in an accumulated value (see Brendel [0028] and [0040], where the forward projected data are concatenated and combined resulting in concatenated projection data), and
adopting the accumulated values for the column image position in the comparison intermediate projection image (see Brendel [0028]-[0029] and [0040]-[0041], where the concatenated projection data is compared with the measured projection data).
Regarding claim 10, it recites a system performing the method of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter teach a system performing the method of claim 1 (see Brendel [0017]-[0024], where an imaging system is disclosed). Please see above for detailed claim analysis, with the exception to the following further limitations:
a data interface (see Brendel [0024] and [0026], the reconstructor includes one or more computer processors, and the reconstructor receives the measured projection data);
a re-binning unit, reconstruction unit, movement module, positioning module, mapping module, adoption module, beam simulation module, movement simulation module, and simulation adoption module (see Brendel Fig. 1, [0017]-[0024] and [0048], where the reconstructor includes one or more computer processors to perform the disclosed teachings, and that computer readable instructions, encoded or embedded on computer readable storage medium, which, when executed by a computer processors, cause the processors to carry out the described acts).
Please see the above rejection for claim 1, as the rationale to combine the teachings of Brendel, Dang, and Shecter are similar, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 11, see above rejection for claim 10. It is a system claim reciting similar subject matter as claim 9. Please see above claim 9 for detailed claim analysis as the limitations of claim 11 are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 12, Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose a control device to control a computed tomography system comprising the system as claimed in claim 10 (see Brendel Fig. 1 and [0024], where a computer system is disclosed to serve as an operator console).
Regarding claim 13, Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose a computed tomography system comprising the control device as claimed in claim 12 (see Brendel Fig. 1 and [0017]-[0024], where a imaging system such as a computed tomography scanner is disclosed to comprise the operating console).
Regarding claim 14, Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose a non-transitory computer program product, having a computer program, which is loadable into a storage device of a control device of a computed tomography system, the computer program having program segments that, when executed at the control device, cause the control device to perform the method as claimed in claim 1 (see Brendel Fig. 1, [0017]-[0024] and [0048], where the reconstructor includes one or more computer processors to perform the disclosed teachings, and that computer readable instructions, encoded or embedded on computer readable storage medium, which, when executed by a computer processors, cause the processors to carry out the described acts).
Regarding claim 15, Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium including program segments that, when executed by at least one processor at a system, cause the system to perform the method as claimed in claim 1 (see Brendel Fig. 1, [0017]-[0024] and [0048], where the reconstructor includes one or more computer processors to perform the disclosed teachings, and that computer readable instructions, encoded or embedded on computer readable storage medium, which, when executed by a computer processors, cause the processors to carry out the described acts).
Regarding claim 16, it recites a system performing the method of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter teach a system performing the method of claim 1 (see Brendel [0017]-[0024], where an imaging system is disclosed). Please see above for detailed claim analysis, with the exception to the following further limitations:
a data interface (see Brendel [0024] and [0026], the reconstructor includes one or more computer processors, and the reconstructor receives the measured projection data)
at least one processor configured to execute computer- readable instructions to cause the system to perform the disclosed teachings (see Brendel Fig. 1, [0017]-[0024] and [0048], where the reconstructor includes one or more computer processors to perform the disclosed teachings, and that computer readable instructions, encoded or embedded on computer readable storage medium, which, when executed by a computer processors, cause the processors to carry out the described acts)
Please see the above rejection for claim 1, as the rationale to combine the teachings of Brendel, Dang, and Shecter are similar, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 17, please see the above rejection of claim 2. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method of claim 2, wherein an initial movement state is selected for each intermediate projection image (see Dang col. 2, ln. 1- col. 3, ln. 65 and col. 6, ln. 1- col. 7,ln. 20, where target phases are selected in the iterative DVF optimization to obtain a DVF for deforming a reference image phase to a target phase according to the registration of measured projections).
Regarding claim 20, please see the above rejection of claim 9. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the beam is moved according to the movement data (see Brendel [0027] and [0038]-[0039], where current image data are resampled into sets of image data corresponding to one of the motion states, where the resulting voxels have a geometry and position on a regular grid of the initial image, and are forward projected to create a plurality of sets of forward projected data, each set corresponding to a particular motion state, where the forward projection of the resampled current image data corresponding to different motion states is understood to be equivalent to simulating and capturing the projection data of an x-ray beam from the current image data with the displacement according to the MVFs of the different motion states).
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel, Dang, and Shecter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (“A fully four-dimensional, iterative motion estimation and compensation method for cardiac CT”), herein Tang.
Regarding claim 4, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein
during the back projection of the intermediate projection images, for a number of the intermediate projection images, a selected movement data is selected from a movement profile for the initial movement state (see Brendel [0030] and [0042]-[0044], where updated projection data, corresponding to sets of motion states, is back projected; suggesting that a corresponding motion state of the sets of motion states is used in back projecting a corresponding updated projection data)
While Brendel teaches that the sets of motion vector fields (MVFs) are determined based on the motion signal for one or more subsets of motion states and maps a position of tissue between images or slices of the volumetric image data to describe the motion of the tissue from one image to another image, and correspond to motion states (see Brendel [0020])); Brendel, Dang, and Shecter do not explicitly disclose that movement data is selected from a movement profile at least for an earlier and at least one later movement state, and the method includes calculating interpolated movement data based on interpolating, from the selected movement data, the selected movement data relating to the changed movement state, and wherein the calculating a changed voxel position calculates the changed voxel position of the voxel based on the interpolated movement data relating to the changed movement state.
Tang teaches in a related and pertinent motion estimation and motion-compensated reconstruction method (see Tang Abstract), where the motion estimation obtains 4D motion vector fields (MVFs), where the deformation vector of the MVF is defined from a cardiac reference motion phase to another motion phase, based on a deformation model between reference images at a reference motion phase and images for another motion phase, in which the deformation parameters are estimated by minimizing a regularized weighted least-squared difference cost function (see Tang sect. II.A. ME algorithm), and in the motion compensated reconstruction process, MVFs are estimated from motion phases to arbitrary, continuous motion phases, and are obtained by the interpolation of existing MVFs for discrete motion phases (see Tang sect. II.B. MCR algorithm).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Tang to the teachings of Brendel, Dang, and Shecter, such that MVFs can be estimated for continuous motion states based on interpolation of the discrete MVFs, where the discrete MVFs are estimated based on a deformation model between reference images at a reference motion state and images for another motion state.
This modification is rationalized as an application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In this instance, Brendel, Dang, and Shecter discloses a base method for acquiring projection data from a computed tomographic (CT) imaging system to be processed with a motion compensated iterative reconstruction algorithm, where sets of MVFs are determined based on the motion signal for one or more subsets of motion states and maps a position of tissue between images or slices of the volumetric image data to describe the motion of the tissue from one image to another image, and correspond to motion states, and iteratively optimized according to target motion states / phases.
Tang teaches a known technique of estimating MVFs from motion phases to arbitrary, continuous motion phases by interpolating existing MVFs for discrete motion phases, which the existing MVFs are determined based on a deformation model between reference images at a reference motion phase and images for another motion phase, and the deformation parameters are estimated by minimizing a regularized weighted least-squared difference cost function.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by applying Tang’s techniques to teachings of Brendel, Dang, and Shecter would have allowed for motion vector fields for continuous motion states to be estimated based on the interpolation of discrete motion vector fields of corresponding motion states, where the discrete motion vector fields are estimated based on a deformation model between reference images at a reference motion state and images for another motion state, predictably leading to an improved method for estimating continuous motion vector fields for performing the motion compensated iterative reconstruction.
Regarding claim 18, please see the above rejection of claim 4. Brendel, Dang, Shecter, and Tang disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the interpolating is based on movement states closest to the changed movement state, and a distance of image positions of the movement states is incorporated by weighting (see Tang sect. II.A.2. Cost function, where the deformation parameters for the deformation model vectors are estimated by minimizing a regularized weighted cost function, which includes weighting factors for spatial smoothness terms).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bren Brendel, Dang, and Shecter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0012541), herein Lee.
Regarding claim 7, please see the above rejection of claim 1. Brendel, Dang, and Shecter disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
filtering the intermediate projection images via at least one of a convolution or a Fourier transform (see Shecter [0057], where a convolver convolves the rebinned readings using a conventional ramp filter),
Brendel, Dang, and Shecter do not explicitly disclose when filtering via the convolution, at least one of the filtered intermediate projection images is calculated via a kernel or an intermediate projection image is subjected to the Fourier transform in Fourier space and multiplied by an adjusted filter in the Fourier space.
Lee teaches in a related and pertinent method and apparatus is provided to improve the image quality of images generated by analytical reconstruction of a computed tomography (CT) image (see Lee Abstract), where image data can be filtered using the reconstruction kernel, and that reconstruction kernel often is a ramp filter but other variation can be used, such as a Shepp-Logan filter (see Lee [0043]-[0048]).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Lee to the teachings of Brendel, Dang, and Shecter, such that the rebinned projection data can be filtered by convolving the rebinned readings using a kernel of a Shepp-Logan filter.
This modification is rationalized as a use of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way.
In this instance, Brendel, Dang, and Shecter discloses a base method for acquiring projection data from a computed tomographic (CT) imaging system to be processed with a motion compensated iterative reconstruction algorithm.
Lee teaches in a comparable method and apparatus for improving the image quality of reconstructed images of a CT, the known technique filtering image data using the reconstruction kernel, and that reconstruction kernel often is a ramp filter but other variation can be used, such as a Shepp-Logan filter.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied Lee’s techniques in the same way to the rebinned projection data of Brendel, Dang, and Shecter, and would have predictably resulted in the rebinned projection data being filtered by convolving the rebinned readings using a kernel of a filter Shepp-Logan filter.
Regarding claim 19, please see the above rejection of claim 7. Brendel, Dang, Shecter, and Lee discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the kernel is a Shepp-Logan kernel (see Lee [0043]-[0048], where image data can be filtered using the reconstruction kernel including a Shepp-Logan filter).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2671
/VINCENT RUDOLPH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2671