DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-43, 45-48 and 53-55 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Delfosse (US5292365) in view of Buri’142 (US2013/0197142).
Delfosse teaches mineral filler or pigment material having average particle size (i.e. D50) in the range of 0.4 to 1.5 µm (col. 7 lines 35-39, claim 1), the top cut between 4 and 7 µm (claim 8, col. 7 lines 40-43, col. 8 lines 6-15). Delfosse discloses such mineral material (natural calcium carbonate) can be natural calcite, limestone, white marble (col. 2 lines 7-11). Since Delfosse also teaches the top cut between 4 and 7 µm (claim 8), which means 100% of particle (apparently 98% of particles i.e. D98) having size in such range (col. 7 lines 40-43, col. 8 lines 6-15).
Delfosse disclosed average particle size and D98 particle size overlapping with those of instantly claimed, thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144. 05 I).
Delfosse also teaches average particle diameter and particle size distribution are particularly important for the properties of the paper fillers and coating pigments (col. 7 lines 25-39), hence it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a median particle diameter of 0.6 to 0.9 µm as that of instantly claimed via optimization (see MPEP §2144. 05 II) for help obtaining mineral filler or pigment material providing desired opacity and mechanic properties to paper fillers and coating pigments as suggested by Delfosse (col. 7 lines 25-39).
As for the claimed “ wherein the calcium carbonate after grinding in step a) and before optional treatment in step d) has a BET/N2 specific area being from 3 m2/g to 13 m2/g (or from 8m2/g to 13 m2/g in claim 37), it appears to one of ordinary skill in the art whether such BET/N2 specific area is only a BET/N2 specific area for one of the intermediate product during the process of forming such mineral material after grinding step a) and before step d), but it is not BET/N2 specific area for the instantly claimed miner material, hence, such limitation cannot render the claimed mineral material patent distinct. In arguendo about such BET/N2 specific area being the formed final mineral material’s BET/N2 specific area, Delfosse further teaches the calcium carbonate having specific surface area 6 to 13 m2/g (claim 6, 7), wherein such BET specific surface area range overlapping with or close enough to that of instantly claimed thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 32, Delfosse does not expressly teach surface treating the mineral material obtained with at least one aliphatic carboxylic acid comprises decanoic acid, undecanoic acid, lauric acid, tridecanoic acid, myristic acid, pentadecanoic acid, palmitic acid, heptadecanoic acid, stearic acid, nonadecanoic acid, arachidic acid, heneicosytic acid, behertic acid, lignoceric acid, or any mixtures thereof.
Buri’142 teaches treating a calcium carbonate filler material with at least one aliphatic carboxylic acid selected from stearic acid, behenic acid, palmitic acid, isostearic acid, montanic acid, capric acid, lauric acid, myristic acid and mixtures thereof, preferably a mixture of two saturated aliphatic carboxylic acids, e.g. stearic acid and palmitic acid is used according to the present invention, the weight ratio of stearic acid and palmitic acid is from 3:1 to 1:3, or 1:1 (para. [0028], [0041], [0056], [0060], [0078]-[0080], [0111]-[0117]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such aliphatic carboxylic acid as shown by Buri’142 to surface treatment the calcium carbonate material because by doing so can help provide a treated filler material comprising calcium carbonate with improved surface characteristics, e.g. a high volatile onset temperature etc. for intended application in plastic as suggested by Buri’142 (para. [0001], [0027], [0028]). Furthermore, adopting such well-known aliphatic carboxylic acid to surface treat a well-known calcium carbonate for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
As for the claimed process steps a), b), c), d) and e), these are product by process limitations, “even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process” (See MPEP § 2113). In this case, Delfosse in view of Buri’142 already discloses a carboxylic acid treated mineral material which is same or substantially the same as that of instantly claimed as discussed above. Furthermore, as for the recited step e) of de-agglomerating, such de-agglomerating is a well-known step used to obtain desired particle size while Delfosse already teaches certain particle size distribution is desired for calcium carbonate intended applications (see col. 8 lines 1-34) and Buri’142 teaches grinding, milling is well-known for obtaining desired particle size as well (para. [0079]-[0080]), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a de-agglomerating or grinding step after surface treatment for help obtaining treated calcium carbonate with desired particle size for intended applications because applying a known technique of de-agglomerating to a known method of obtaining carboxylic acid treated calcium carbonate for improvement (e.g. desired particle size for intended application) would yield predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 33-37 and 45, Delfosse in view of Buri’142 already teaches such limitation as discussed above.
Regarding claim 38 and 40-43,46-47, Delfosse in view of Buri’142 already teaches a same or substantially the same mineral material as discussed above. As for the claimed process step limitations, please see similar remarks as stated above. As for the recited the process does not include dispersant, acrylic additives, polyphosphates or grinding aid additives, Delfosses does not require such material present in the mineral material at all.
Regarding claim 39, Delfosse also teaches the top cut between 4 and 7 µm (claim 8), which means 100% of particle (apparently 98% of particles i.e. D98) having size in such range (col. 7 lines 40-43, col. 8 lines 6-15). Delfosse also discloses top cut less than 7 µm is necessary to achieve perfect smoothness and good gloss in the coated paper (col. 8 lines 12-15). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a top cut D98 from about 2.5 to about 4 µm as that of instantly claimed via routine optimization (see MPEP §2144.05 II) for help obtaining a calcium carbonate material providing perfect smoothness and good gloss in the coated paper as suggested by Delfosse (col. 8 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 48 as for the claimed “a product being paper, paint, a coating etc.”, such recitation does not require any additional structural limitation except the mineral material in claim 1. Delfosse further discloses paper using such mineral fillers the natural calcium carbonate being used as paper coating and paint (col. 1 lines 12-31), hence, a product being paper is envisioned hereof.
Regarding claim 53, as for the claimed “product is incorporated into a window profile …”, such limitation is just an intended use for the instantly claimed product and such limitation does not render the instantly claimed product containing mineral material patentable distinct as compared to prior art disclosed mineral material paper coating and paint product.
Regarding claim 54-55, Buri’142 already teaches such limitations as discussed above, wherein palmitic and stearic mixture with weight ratio of 1:3 to 3:1 or 1:1(para [0117]).
Claims 49-52 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Delfosse (US5292365) in view of Buri’142 (US2013/0197142) as applied above, and further in view of Reedy (US2014/0343208).
Regarding claim 49-52, the recited thermoplastic polymer product does not have any additional structural limitation to make the mineral material patentable distinct, rather just conventional thermoplastic polymer material.
Reedy teaches calcium carbonate can be used as filler and such filler can be coated an adhesion promoting material comprised of one or more thermoplastic neutralized ethylene-acrylic acid copolymers (i.e., a type of copolymer of polyethylene) [0018], [0019], claim 5, 8). Reedy also discloses such filler material can be used together with polyvinyl chloride (PVC) wherein calcium carbonate loading amount is 70 parts per hundred parts of resin (70 phr) ([0033]). Reedy also teaches calcium carbonate filler can be used in polyolefin market including diaper film, synthetic paper etc. ([0033], [0039]) for providing a composition having desired rigidity and lower PVC resin demand.
Since such conventional resin/polymer such as ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer, PVC, polyolefin including calcium carbonate as filter being used in paper industry, hence, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a thermoplastic polymer/resin such as polypropylene, PVC, copolymer of ethylene-acrylic acid etc. comprising such calcium carbonate filler for providing desired properties for intended application in paper industry, coating composition etc. as suggested by Reedy ([0017]-[0019], [0033], [0039]).
As for the claimed properties in claim 52, Reedy already teaches a same or substantially the same thermoplastic product comprising miner filler, i.e. 70 phr mineral loaded into PVC, therefore, same or substantially the same properties, i.e. same or substantially the same charpy impact strength and same or substantially the same gloss as those of claimed would be expected.
Double Patenting
Claim 32-43 and 45-53 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11555122. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US’122 teaches a same or substantially the same mineral material as that of instantly claimed.
Claim 54 and 55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11555122 as applied above, and in view of Buri’142 (US2013/0197142). US’122 teaches a same or substantially the same mineral material obtained by a substantially the same process, except the aliphatic carboxylic acid being the claimed palmitic and stearic acid mixture, but such limitations have been taught by Buri’142 as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such palmitic and stearic mixture with weight ratio of 1:3 to 3:1 or 1:1 as shown by Buri’142 to surface treatment the calcium carbonate material of US’122 because by doing so can help provide a treated filler material comprising calcium carbonate with improved surface characteristics, e.g. a high volatile onset temperature etc. for intended application in plastic as suggested by Buri’142 (para. [0001], [0027], [0028]). Furthermore, adopting such well-known aliphatic carboxylic acid to surface treat a well-known calcium carbonate for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of current rejections. It is noted that previously applied Buri reference has been withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s arguments about double patenting rejection against U.S. Patent No. 11555122 with no explanation, it is noted that US’122 teaches a same or substantially the same mineral material as that of instantly claimed wherein such can be seen explicitly from the claims of US’122. Applicant has not explained how US’122 disclosed mineral material being non-obvious as compared to US’122 disclosed mineral material either.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732