CTFR 18/065,950 CTFR 88184 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because Dalsgaard does not discuss “if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring .” However, the Examiner looks to Murray to disclose that limitation. Murray discloses if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type , UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern based on which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type , traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX on-duration timer to shorten the DRX inactive time). Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Dalsgaard does not disclose initiating an active state prior to a next on duration associated with the CDRX communication. However, Dalsgaard discloses, in paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; and in paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; and in paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; and in paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; and in paragraph [0053]-[0054], monitoring a buffer status report, and monitoring the downlink channel only when the data buffer is not empty, and then following DRX on-duration after completing the monitoring . Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Dalsgaard does not disclose waiting for the next on duration based on a latency requirement. However, Dalsgaard discloses, for example in paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; and in paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; and in paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window. Data flow needs that are based on an amount of time available are a latency requirement. Determining DRX parameters based on a threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window is also a latency requirement. Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Dalsgaard does not disclose performing these actions after transmitting the buffer status report. However, Dalsgaard discloses, in paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; and in paragraph [0053]-[0054], monitoring a buffer status report, and monitoring the downlink channel only when the data buffer is not empty, and then following DRX on-duration after completing the monitoring. Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Murray allegedly does not condition initiating an active state or performing PDCCH monitoring based on whether the UE is configured with an LCG. However, this is incorrect. Murray discloses, for example in paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; and in paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; and in paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time. Accordingly, in Murray, if the UE is configured with an LCG that is associated with PDCCH monitoring pattern, the UE selects a PDCCH monitoring pattern and adapts the DRX active time to that PDCCH monitoring pattern based on the UE’s configuration with that LCG. This is the same scenario that is disclosed in paragraph [0115] of Applicant’s Specification, upon which the claim language is based . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13, 15-18, 20-21, 23-24, 26, 28, 30-31 and 33 and 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalsgaard et al. (US 2015/0009832) in view of Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793) . Regarding claim 1 , Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising: receiving configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration), wherein the configuration information configures the UE to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending); if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window) and if the buffer status report indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, initiating an active state of the UE prior to a next on duration associated with the CDRX communications and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0053]-[0054], monitoring a buffer status report, and monitoring the downlink channel only when the data buffer is not empty, and then following DRX on-duration after completing the monitoring; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, waiting for the next on duration to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0028], when buffers are empty the user equipment can revert to following the DRX on-durations; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window). Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ; and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report. Murray discloses receiving configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, initiating an active state of the UE prior to a next on duration associated with the CDRX communications and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern based on which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX on-duration timer to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for configuration information to be associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs); and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been reduce latency from reconfiguring DRX parameters (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency). Regarding claim 2 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein initiating the active state of the UE comprises switching from an inactive state of the UE to the active state of the UE (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time) (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time). Regarding claim 3 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to initiate the active state of the UE and to perform the PDCCH monitoring based at least in part on transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time). Regarding claim 5 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing the PDCCH monitoring is associated with the data flow (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements). Regarding claim 6 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising waiting a time period to transmit data associated with another data flow based at least in part on the other data flow having a latency requirement that does not satisfy the latency threshold (Murray, paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to wait a time period to transmit data associated with another data flow based at least in part on the other data flow having a latency requirement that does not satisfy the latency threshold, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to prioritize reducing latency for data that requires reduced latency. Regarding claim 8 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the buffer status report comprises transmitting the buffer status report while operating in a CDRX communication mode of the UE (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending). Regarding claim 9 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the CDRX communications are reality communications (Murray, paragraph [0030], augmented reality, virtual reality). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the CDRX communications are reality communications in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to reduce latency for reality communications that requires reduced latency. Regarding claim 11 , Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising: transmitting configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration), wherein the configuration information configures the UE) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); receiving a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending); transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication based at least in part on receiving the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters), wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to: if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window) and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, initiate an active state of the UE prior to a next on duration associated with the CDRX communications and perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0053]-[0054], monitoring a buffer status report, and monitoring the downlink channel only when the data buffer is not empty, and then following DRX on-duration after completing the monitoring; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, wait for the next on duration of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0028], when buffers are empty the user equipment can revert to following the DRX on-durations; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window). Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ; and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report. Murray discloses transmitting configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, initiate an active state of the UE prior to a next on duration associated with the CDRX communications and perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX on-duration timer to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for configuration information to be associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs); and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been reduce latency from reconfiguring DRX parameters (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency). Regarding claim 13 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the PDCCH communication is associated with the data flow (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements. Regarding claim 15 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving a buffer status report from another UE that is configured with one or more other logical channel groups that are not configured with configuration information that indicates to perform PDCCH monitoring based at least in part on transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and refraining from transmitting the PDCCH communication to the other UE based at least in part on the other UE being configured with the one or more other logical channel groups (Murray, paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to refrain from transmitting the PDCCH communication to the other UE based at least in part on the other UE being configured with the one or more other logical channel groups, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been reduce latency from reconfiguring DRX parameters (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency). Regarding claim 16 , Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising: receiving configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time), wherein the configuration information configures the UE) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending); if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window) and if the buffer status report indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring prior to a next on duration and after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0053]-[0054], monitoring a buffer status report, and monitoring the downlink channel only when the data buffer is not empty, and then following DRX on-duration after completing the monitoring; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, waiting for the next on duration of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0028], when buffers are empty the user equipment can revert to following the DRX on-durations; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window). Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose PDCCH skipping, and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ; and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report. Murray discloses receiving configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0140], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, performing PDCCH monitoring prior to a next on duration and after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX on-duration timer to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use PDCCH skipping and for configuration information to be associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs); and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been reduce latency from reconfiguring DRX parameters (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency), and to reduce power consumption. Regarding claim 17 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 16, wherein performing the PDCCH monitoring comprises monitoring for one or more PDCCH communications from a network node (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN). Claim 18 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 3. Claim 20 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 5. Claim 21 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 6. Regarding claim 23 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 16, wherein transmitting the buffer status report comprises transmitting the buffer status report while operating in a PDCCH skipping mode of the UE (Murray, paragraph [0140], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping). Claims 24 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 9, respectively. Regarding claim 26 , Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising: transmitting configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time), wherein the configuration information configures the UE) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); receiving a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending); transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication based at least in part on receiving the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters;, wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to: if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window) and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, initiate an active state of the UE prior to a next on duration and perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect ; paragraph [0053]-[0054], monitoring a buffer status report, and monitoring the downlink channel only when the data buffer is not empty, and then following DRX on-duration after completing the monitoring; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, waiting for the next on duration of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0028], when buffers are empty the user equipment can revert to following the DRX on-durations; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window). Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose PDCCH skipping , and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) ; and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report. Murray discloses transmitting configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0140], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, initiate an active state of the UE prior to a next on duration and perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX on-duration timer to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use PDCCH skipping and for configuration information to be associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications, wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs); and if the buffer status report corresponds to an LCG of the one or more LCGs indicating that the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been reduce latency from reconfiguring DRX parameters (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency), and to reduce power consumption. Claim 28 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 13. Claim 30 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 15. Claim 31 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 9. Claim 33 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 9. Claim 35 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 3. Claim 36 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 8. Claim 37 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 3. Claim 38 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 8 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 10, 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalsgaard et al. (US 2015/0009832) in view of Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2022/0078881) . Regarding claim 10 , Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the CDRX communications are associated with a configured grant (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0039], uplink or downlink grant) (Murray, paragraph [0121], uplink grant) that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer (a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have known that a HARQ timer is not required for all wireless communications). Dalsgaard in view of Murray does not explicitly disclose CDRX communications are associated with a configured grant that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer. Tsai discloses that CDRX communications (Tsai, paragraph [0082], RRC connected DRX) are associated with a configured grant (Tsai, paragraph [0039], uplink or downlink grant) that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer (Tsai, paragraph [0009], no timer for HARQ process in a case that HARQ retransmissions for the HARQ process is disabled). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a configured grant that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve wireless resources. Claims 25, 32 and 34 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 10 . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee at al. (US 20230111565) discloses when using DRX operation, the MAC entity shall also monitor PDCCH according to requirements found in other clauses. When in RRC_CONNECTED, if DRX is configured, for all the activated Serving Cells, the MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH discontinuously using DRX operation. Operation Shrestha et al. (US 20220038243 A1) discloses to report a truncated buffer status report (BSR) of at least one logical channel group based on a plurality of logical channel groups. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALAN LOUIS LINDENBAUM whose telephone number is (571)270-3858. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday 11:00 AM to 7:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Un Cho can be reached at (571) 272-7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.L.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413 /UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 2 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 3 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 4 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 5 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 6 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 7 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 8 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 9 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 10 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 11 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 12 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 13 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 14 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 15 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 16 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 17 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 18 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 19 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 20 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 21 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 22 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 23 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 24 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 25 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 26 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 27 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 28 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 29 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 30 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 31 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/065,950 Page 32 Art Unit: 2413