Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13, 15-18, 20-21, 23-24, 26, 28, 30-31 and 33 and 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalsgaard et al. (US 2015/0009832) in view of Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793).
Regarding claim 1, Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising:
receiving configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration), wherein the configuration information configures the UE to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time);
transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending);
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window), initiating an active state of the UE and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, waiting for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window).
Although Dalsgaard discloses all of the claim limitations, in order to facilitate prosecution, the Examiner includes the Murray reference, which more explicitly discloses modifying the time when an active state (on-duration) is initiated.
Murray discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Murray, paragraph [0002], wireless communications system with UE; paragraph [0032], WTRU’s, base stations, wireless communications), comprising:
receiving configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time);
transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the UE is configured with a LCG, initiating an active state of the UE and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance), waiting for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modifying the time when an active state (on-duration) is initiated, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to receive an uplink grant sooner to reduce latency (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency).
Regarding claim 2, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein initiating the active state of the UE comprises switching from an inactive state of the UE to the active state of the UE (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time) (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time).
Regarding claim 3, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to initiate the active state of the UE and to perform the PDCCH monitoring based at least in part on transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time) (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time).
Regarding claim 5, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing the PDCCH monitoring is associated with the data flow (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements).
Regarding claim 6, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising waiting a time period to transmit data associated with another data flow based at least in part on the other data flow having a latency requirement that does not satisfy the latency threshold (Murray, paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission).
Regarding claim 7, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured with one or more logical channel groups (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)).
Regarding claim 8, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the buffer status report comprises transmitting the buffer status report while operating in a CDRX communication mode of the UE (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending).
Regarding claim 9, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the CDRX communications are reality communications (Murray, paragraph [0030], augmented reality, virtual reality).
Regarding claim 11, Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising:
transmitting configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration), wherein the configuration information configures the UE) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time);
receiving a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending);
transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication based at least in part on receiving the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters), wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to:
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window), initiate an active state of the UE and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, wait for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window).
Although Dalsgaard discloses all of the claim limitations, in order to facilitate prosecution, the Examiner includes the Murray reference, which more explicitly discloses modifying the time when an active state (on-duration) is initiated.
Murray discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Murray, paragraph [0002], wireless communications system with UE; paragraph [0032], WTRU’s, base stations, wireless communications), comprising:
transmitting configuration information associated with connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) communications (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time);
receiving a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and
transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication based at least in part on receiving the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0205], transmission of PDCCH), wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to:
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the UE is configured with a LCG, initiate an active state of the UE and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance), wait for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modifying the time when an active state (on-duration) is initiated, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to receive an uplink grant sooner to reduce latency (Murray, paragraph [0126], minimize impact on latency).
Claim 13 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving a buffer status report from another UE that is configured with one or more other logical channel groups that are not configured with configuration information that indicates to perform PDCCH monitoring based at least in part on transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time) (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0136], legacy DRX; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG); paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and
refraining from transmitting the PDCCH communication to the other UE based at least in part on the other UE being configured with the one or more other logical channel groups (Murray, paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission).
Regarding claim 16, Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising:
receiving configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time), wherein the configuration information configures the UE) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time);
transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending);
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window initiate an active state of the UE and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, waiting for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window).
Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose PDCCH skipping.
Murray discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Murray, paragraph [0002], wireless communications system with UE; paragraph [0032], WTRU’s, base stations, wireless communications), comprising:
receiving configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0140], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time);
transmitting a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the UE is configured with a LCG, initiate an active state of the UE and performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance), waiting for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use PDCCH skipping, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to reduce power consumption.
Claims 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 3, 3, 5 and 6, respectively.
Regarding claim 23, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 16, wherein transmitting the buffer status report comprises transmitting the buffer status report while operating in a PDCCH skipping mode of the UE (Murray, paragraph [0140], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping).
Claims 24 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 9, respectively.
Regarding claim 26, Dalsgaard discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0002], 3GPP communication systems, UE, E-UTRAN), comprising:
transmitting configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time), wherein the configuration information configures the UE) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time);
receiving a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0045], buffer status report can hold information concerning the amount of data pending);
transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication based at least in part on receiving the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0006], connected mode DRX configured by the network, DRX configuration; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters;, wherein the configuration information indicates for the UE to:
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact UE active time to adjust PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window), performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0039], monitor the PDCCH according to the selected set of DRX parameters; paragraph [0047], transition between PDCCH monitoring states can be based on updating the limit of the buffer size; paragraph [0048], buffer status report transmitted when the buffer changes so significantly that the change has impact on the PDCCH monitoring and the UE wants that change to take effect; paragraph [0055], instantaneous buffer status configured to permit the network device to determine monitoring of the downlink channel in active time); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold, waiting for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0025], data flow needs impact PDCCH monitoring requirements; paragraph [0032], status of the buffer status report influences the on-duration; paragraph [0038], determine whether to use DRX parameter set 1 or set 2 based on threshold for amount of data expected to be transmitted in a time window).
Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose PDCCH skipping.
Murray discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Murray, paragraph [0002], wireless communications system with UE; paragraph [0032], WTRU’s, base stations, wireless communications), comprising:
transmitting configuration information associated with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) skipping (Murray, paragraph [0005], receive DRX configurations; paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0140], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping), wherein the configuration information configures the UE with one or more logical channel groups (LCGs) (Murray, paragraph [0193], logical channel group (LCG)) to indicate whether the UE is to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting a buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time);
receiving a buffer status report having a buffer status value that is greater than zero (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time); and
transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication based at least in part on receiving the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to information the base station of the traffic pattern type; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0205], transmission of PDCCH);
if a latency requirement of data flow associated with the buffer status report satisfies a latency threshold and if the UE is configured with a LCG, performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance); and
if the latency requirement does not satisfy the latency threshold (Murray, paragraph [0030], requirements for data rate and latency; paragraph [0213], delay tolerance), waiting for a next active state of the UE to perform PDCCH monitoring after transmitting the buffer status report (Murray, paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of ] logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0210], for some UE traffic, the UE could wait until the next DRX cycle or until other high priority data becomes available for UL transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use PDCCH skipping, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to reduce power consumption.
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 16 and 15, respectively.
Claims 31 and 33 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 9.
Claims 35-36 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 3 and 8, respectively.
Claims 37-38 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 3 and 8, respectively.
Claim(s) 2, 10, 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalsgaard et al. (US 2015/0009832) in view of Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2022/0078881).
Regarding claim 10, Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the CDRX communications are associated with a configured grant (Dalsgaard, paragraph [0039], uplink or downlink grant) (Murray, paragraph [0121], uplink grant) that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer (a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have known that a HARQ timer is not required for all wireless communications).
Although Dalsgaard in view of Murray discloses all of the claim limitations; in order to facilitate prosecution, the Examiner includes the Tsai reference, which more explicitly discloses a configured grant that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer.
Tsai discloses that CDRX communications (Tsai, paragraph [0082], RRC connected DRX) are associated with a configured grant (Tsai, paragraph [0039], uplink or downlink grant) that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer (Tsai, paragraph [0009], no timer for HARQ process in a case that HARQ retransmissions for the HARQ process is disabled).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a configured grant that does not require a hybrid automatic repeat request retransmission timer, in the invention of Dalsgaard. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve wireless resources.
Claims 25, 32 and 34 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because Dalsgaard and Murray allegedly do not condition initiating an active state or performing PDCCH monitoring based on whether the UE is configured with an LCG. However, this is incorrect. Murray discloses, for example in paragraph [0127], for C-DRX, configuration is provided by the network via RRC signaling to control the UE’s PDCCH monitoring activity; and in paragraph [0159], tie BSR signaling to traffic pattern type, UE autonomously select a certain PDCCH monitoring pattern which traffic type/pattern is selected; and in paragraph [0193], use BSR to inform the base station of the traffic pattern type, link between BSR and traffic pattern/type through association of logical channel group (LCG) to traffic pattern/type, traffic pattern/type may be implicitly derived by the UE from the LCG configuration; paragraph [0195], UE may adapt the DRX active time to shorten the DRX inactive time. Accordingly, in Murray, if the UE is configured with an LCG that is associated with PDCCH monitoring pattern, the UE selects a PDCCH monitoring pattern and adapts the DRX active time to that PDCCH monitoring pattern based on the UE’s configuration with that LCG. This is the same scenario that is disclosed in paragraph [0115] of Applicant’s Specification, upon which the claim language is based.
Conclusion
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419