DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 02/04/2026.
Claims 21-40 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27 & 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20230379815A1) in further view of Fard et al (US20200314701A1) in view of Lee et al (US20190059067A1).
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches an apparatus, wherein the apparatus is an access network device or included in an access network device, and wherein the apparatus comprises:
at least one processor ([0007]-[0010], processor, memory); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor (([0007]-[0010], processor, memory), wherein the memory store a computer program;
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving first uplink data from a terminal device that is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0036]-[0037], [0046]-[0048], [0062], [0083]-[0086], [0107]-[0109], teaches that a terminal device in an RRC inactive state may perform small data transmission (SDT) and transmit UL data without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED; teaches that when a terminal device is in an inactive state and has UL data to transmit, the terminal device determines whether the UL data is to be transmitted in the inactive state, resumes radio bearers for transmission of the UL data in the inactive state and transmits the UL data while remaining in the inactive state; further teaches that the network device receives the UL data transmitted by the terminal device in the inactive state));
in response to receiving the first uplink data, analyzing the first uplink data ([0040]-[0041]-[0077]-[0083], [0107]-[0108], discloses that SDT eligibility and transmission are determined based on traffic characteristics including QoS flows/5QI and DRB information, and that the network device receives the UL data transmitted in the inactive state);
However, Wang does not fully teach but Fard teaches sending a request message to a core network device, wherein the request message requests path switching of user plane data of the terminal device, the request message comprises first information, and the first information indicates a first protocol data unit (PDU) session corresponding to the first uplink data ([0229], discloses Path Switch Request procedure in which the NG-RAN node sends a PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF requesting of the user-plane path, further teaches that the AMF processes the request for each PDU session indicated in the PDU Session ID information element (IE) and transfers the Path Switch Request information to the SMF associated with the corresponding PDU session).
Wang and Fard are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang and Fard to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But Fard fails to teach in response to receiving the first uplink data, analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first uplink data was transmitted through and determining a first protocol data unit (PDU) session corresponding to the first uplink data based on the analyzing.
However Wang and Fard do not fully teach but Lee teaches to determine which PDU session the first uplink data was transmitted through and determining a first protocol data unit (PDU) session corresponding to the first uplink data based on the analyzing ([0015], [0020], [0033], discloses that, upon receiving UL data, the network analyzes the received UL traffic using session-specific information, including UL core network tunnel information and UL classification, to identify the PDU session associated with the UL data; further teaches that the identified PDU session is then used for subsequent user-plane processing and forwarding, thereby determining the PDU session corresponding to the received UL data)).
Wang, Fard and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of 3Wang, Fard, and Lee to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Lastly, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Regarding claim 30, Fard teaches an apparatus, wherein the apparatus is a core network device or is included in a core network device, and wherein the apparatus comprises:
at least one processor ([0007]-[0010], processor, memory); and
memory ([0007]-[0010], processor, memory), wherein the memory is coupled to the at least one processor and store a computer program; and
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory ([0007]-[0010], processor, memory), to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving a request message from an access network device, wherein the request message requests path switching of user plane data of a terminal device that is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, the request message comprises first information, and the first information indicates a first protocol data unit (PDU) session ([0036]-[0037], [0046]-[0048], [0062], [0083]-[0086], [0107]-[0109], teaches that a terminal device in an RRC inactive state may perform small data transmission (SDT) and transmit UL data without first transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED; teaches that when a terminal device is in an inactive state and has UL data to transmit, the terminal device determines whether the UL data is to be transmitted in the inactive state, resumes radio bearers for transmission of the UL data in the inactive state and transmits the UL data while remaining in the inactive state; further teaches that the network device receives the UL data transmitted by the terminal device in the inactive state));
However, Wang does not fully teach but Fard teaches determining an admitted PDU session or a rejected PDU session based on the request message ([0229], discloses Path Switch Request procedure in which the NG-RAN node sends a PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF requesting of the user-plane path, further teaches that the AMF processes the request for each PDU session indicated in the PDU Session ID information element (IE) and transfers the Path Switch Request information to the SMF associated with the corresponding PDU session).
Wang and Fard are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang and Fard to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But Fard fails to teach in response to receiving the first uplink data, analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first uplink data was transmitted through and determining a first protocol data unit (PDU) session corresponding to the first uplink data based on the analyzing.
But Fard fails to teach that was determined by the access network device by analyzing first uplink data received by the access network device from the terminal device to determine which PDU session the first uplink data was transmitted through.
However Lee teaches that was determined by the access network device by analyzing first uplink data ([0015], [0020], [0033], discloses that, upon receiving UL data, the network analyzes the received UL traffic using session-specific information, including UL core network tunnel information and UL classification, to identify the PDU session associated with the UL data; further teaches that the identified PDU session is then used for subsequent user-plane processing and forwarding, thereby determining the PDU session corresponding to the received UL data));
received by the access network device from the terminal device to determine which PDU session the first uplink data was transmitted through ([0015], [0020], [0033], discloses that, upon receiving UL data, the network analyzes the received UL traffic using session-specific information, including UL core network tunnel information and UL classification, to identify the PDU session associated with the UL data; further teaches that the identified PDU session is then used for subsequent user-plane processing and forwarding, thereby determining the PDU session corresponding to the received UL data));
Wang, Fard and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of 3Wang, Fard, and Lee to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Lastly, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Fard in view of Lee et al in further view of Futaki et al (EP3668262A1) in view of TP on RAN Inactive Assistant Information for 38.300, 3GPP DRAFT; R3-172272, 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), Mobile Competence Centre; Qingdao, China; 20170627 - 20170629, 26 June 2017 (2017-06-26), XP051302218 (hereinafter "3GPP")
Regarding claim 22, Wang and Fard does not fully teach but Lee teaches analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through ([0015], [0020], [0033], [0059]-[0060], [0090], teaches analyzing UL data to determine the PDU session through which it was transmitted, because UL data is received at a UPF via session-specific UL CN tunnel information and processed by an UL classifier, and the UPF sends and receives data only using an identified PDU session).
But Lee does not fully teach but Futaki teaches the apparatus wherein determining the first PDU session comprises:
obtaining indication information from a second access network device, wherein the indication information indicates that the logical channel corresponds to the first PDU session, or the indication information indicates a correspondence between the logical channel and the first PDU session (Fig 12, Fig 13A, [0046]-[0053] UE receiving indication from network (from master node (MN) or secondary node (SN)), regarding the establishment, modification, or release of a PDU session in a dual-connectivity scenario—indication information managing UEs connection to multiple cells);
Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But Futaki fails to teach—
determining a logical channel corresponding to the first uplink data;
and determining the first PDU session based on the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink data and the indication information.
However 3GPP teaches—
determining a logical channel corresponding to the first uplink data (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, determining of logical channel in initial context setup response message—if no UE-associated logical NG connection exits, the logical connection shall be established at reception of the initial context setup request message);
and determining the first PDU session based on the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink data and the indication information (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, determining of logical channel in initial context setup response message—if no UE-associated logical NG connection exits, the logical connection shall be established at reception of the initial context setup request message—this message contains subscriber profile ID pertinent information—PDU session correspondence).
Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 23, Wang, Fard, and Lee fails to teach but Futaki teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume request from the terminal device, wherein the first uplink data and the RRC connection resume request are carried in a same message ([0028] receive RRC connection reconfiguration/resume request –also indicated (first) PDU session/first uplink data).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
However, Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki fails to teach but 3GPP discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, but fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume request from the terminal device, wherein the first uplink data and the RRC connection resume request are carried in a same message (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, determining of logical channel in initial context setup response message—if no UE-associated logical NG connection exits, the logical connection shall be established at reception of the initial context setup request message—this message contains subscriber profile ID pertinent information—PDU session correspondence).
Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 24, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but Futaki teaches wherein the request message further comprises at least one of the following:
a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first uplink data (Fig 13A, [0050]-[0051] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows);
QoS parameter information corresponding to the first uplink data (Fig 13A, [0050]-[0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a data amount of the first uplink data 0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session (0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
second information indicating a second PDU session corresponding to uplink data that is expected to arrive (0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a QFI corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive 0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
QoS parameter information corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a remaining uplink data amount of a third PDU session ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information—remaining UL data);
or third information indicating an RRC state of the terminal device ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
However, Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki but 3GPP discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, but fails to teach wherein the request message further comprises at least one of the following:
a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first uplink data;
QoS parameter information corresponding to the first uplink data;
a data amount of the first uplink data; a remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session;
second information indicating a second PDU session corresponding to uplink data that is expected to arrive;
a QFI corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive;
QoS parameter information corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive;
a remaining uplink data amount of a third PDU session; or third information indicating an RRC state of the terminal device.
However,
Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 25, Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein the operations further comprise:
obtaining the second information from the terminal device, wherein the second information is determined by the terminal device based on historical data transmission information of the second PDU session (Section 8.4.2.1 obtaining information from terminal device, successful/unsuccessful operation); or
obtaining historical data transmission information of the second PDU session from a second access network device (Section 8.4.2.1 obtaining information from terminal device, successful/unsuccessful operation); and
determining the second information based on the historical data transmission information of the second PDU session (Section 8.4.2.1 determination of second information based on the historical data).
Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 26, Wang, Fard, Lee, and Futaki fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a buffer status report from the terminal device, wherein the buffer status report includes identifiers of one or more logical channel groups corresponding to the first PDU session or the third PDU session, and a remaining uplink data amount of each logical channel group, and wherein the remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session or the remaining uplink data amount of the third PDU session is determined based on a sum of remaining uplink data amounts of the one or more logical channel groups corresponding to the respective PDU session (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, receipt of the initial context setup request message, store the UE Aggregate maximum bit rate in the UE context, and use the received UE aggregate max bit rate—information on how much data is in UE buffer to be sent).
Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Claims 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20230379815A1) in further view of Fard et al (US20200314701A1) in view of Lee et al (US20190059067A1) in further view of 3GPP.
Regarding claim 27, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a response message of the request message from the core network device, wherein the response message comprises an identifier of an admitted PDU session or an identifier of a released PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 receipt of a message of the request message from the core network device comprising a response message with identifier of PDU session).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 28, Wang, Fard, and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein: the admitted PDU session comprises the first PDU session; or the released PDU session comprises the first PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 Path switch request, admitted PDU session comprises first PDU session).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 29, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein the first information comprises an identifier of the first PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 identifier for the first PDU session).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 31, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP discloses the apparatus according to claim 30, but fails to teach wherein the request message further comprises at least one of the following:
a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first uplink data;
QoS parameter information corresponding to the first uplink data;
a data amount of the first uplink data; a remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session;
second information indicating a second PDU session corresponding to uplink data that is expected to arrive;
a QFI corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive;
QoS parameter information corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive;
a remaining uplink data amount of a third PDU session; or third information indicating an RRC state of the terminal device.
However, Futaki teaches wherein the request message further comprises at least one of the following:
a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first uplink data (Fig 13A, [0050]-[0051] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows);
QoS parameter information corresponding to the first uplink data (Fig 13A, [0050]-[0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a data amount of the first uplink data 0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session (0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
second information indicating a second PDU session corresponding to uplink data that is expected to arrive (0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a QFI corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive 0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
QoS parameter information corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a remaining uplink data amount of a third PDU session ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information—remaining UL data);
or third information indicating an RRC state of the terminal device ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 32, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein the operations further comprise:
sending a response message of the request message to the access network device, wherein the response message comprises an identifier of the admitted PDU session or an identifier of the rejected PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 sending of a message of the request message from the core network device comprising a response message with identifier of PDU session).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 33, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein: the admitted PDU session comprises the first PDU session; or the rejected PDU session comprises the first PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 Path switch request, admitted PDU session comprises first PDU session).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Regarding claim 34, Wang, Fard and Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the apparatus wherein the first information comprises an identifier of the first PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 identifier for the first PDU session).
Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Claims 35 & 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US20190059067A1) in view of 3GPP.
Regarding claim 35, Lee teaches after receiving the first uplink data, analyze the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first uplink data was transmitted through and determine a first protocol data unit (PDU) session corresponding to the first uplink data based on the analyzing ([0015], [0020], [0033], [0059]-[0060], [0090]-[0091], teaches that upon receiving uplink data at a UPF, the UPF analyzes the uplink data using uplink core network tunnel information and uplink classification to identify the PDU session through which the uplink data was transmitted, thereby determining the PDU session corresponding to the received uplink data).
However, Lee does not fully teach but 3GPP teaches a system, comprising:
an access network device (Fig 8.4.4.2-1 and section 8.4.4.2, the gNB initiates the procedure by sending the PATH Switch Request message to the AMF, network device, after all necessary updates including the UP path switch have been successfully completed in the 5GC for at least one of the PDU Session Resources included in the PATH SWITCH REQUEST); and a core network device; wherein the access network device is configured to:
receive first uplink data from a terminal device (Section 8.3.1 Initial Context Setup, receiving UL data from terminal device); and
send a request message to the core network device (Fig 8.4.4.2-1 and section 8.4.4.2, the gNB initiates the procedure by sending the PATH Switch Request message to the AMF, network device, after all necessary updates including the UP path switch have been successfully completed in the 5GC for at least one of the PDU Session Resources included in the PATH SWITCH REQUEST), wherein the request message requests path switching of user plane data of the terminal device that is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, the request message comprises first information, and the first information indicates the determined first PDU session (Fig 8.4.4.2-1 and section 8.4.4.2, the gNB initiates the procedure by sending the PATH Switch Request message to the AMF, network device, after all necessary updates including the UP path switch have been successfully completed in the 5GC for at least one of the PDU Session Resources included in the PATH SWITCH REQUEST); wherein the core network device is configured to:
receive the request message from the access network device; and determine an admitted PDU session or a rejected PDU session based on the request message Fig 8.4.4.2-1 and Section 8.4.4.2 Successful Operation, the gNB (access network device) initiates the procedure by sending the PATH SWITCH REQUEST message to the AMF or core network device…at least one of the PDU Session Resources included in the PATH SWITCH REQUEST).
Lee and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Regarding claim 38, Lee fails to teach but 3GPP discloses the system according to claim 35, but fails to teach wherein the request message further comprises at least one of the following:
a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first uplink data;
QoS parameter information corresponding to the first uplink data;
a data amount of the first uplink data; a remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session;
second information indicating a second PDU session corresponding to uplink data that is expected to arrive;
a QFI corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive;
QoS parameter information corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive;
a remaining uplink data amount of a third PDU session; or third information indicating an RRC state of the terminal device.
However, Futaki teaches wherein the request message further comprises at least one of the following:
a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) corresponding to the first uplink data (Fig 13A, [0050]-[0051] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows);
QoS parameter information corresponding to the first uplink data (Fig 13A, [0050]-[0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a data amount of the first uplink data 0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a remaining uplink data amount of the first PDU session (0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
second information indicating a second PDU session corresponding to uplink data that is expected to arrive (0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a QFI corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive 0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
QoS parameter information corresponding to the uplink data that is expected to arrive ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information);
a remaining uplink data amount of a third PDU session ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information—remaining UL data);
or third information indicating an RRC state of the terminal device ([0051], [0046], [0028] includes identifiers (i.e. QoS Flow indicators (QFIs)) of respective QoS flows, QoS parameter information).
Lee and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Regarding claim 39, Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the system wherein the core network device is configured to:
send a response message of the request message to the access network device, wherein the response message comprises an identifier of the admitted PDU session or an identifier of the rejected PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 sending of a message of the request message from the core network device comprising a response message with identifier of PDU session); and
wherein the access network device is further configured to:
receive a response message of the request message from the core network device (Section 8.4.4.2 sending of a message of the request message from the core network device comprising a response message with identifier of PDU session).
Lee and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Regarding claim 40, Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches the system wherein: the admitted PDU session comprises the first PDU session; or the rejected PDU session comprises the first PDU session (Section 8.4.4.2 Path switch request, admitted PDU session comprises first PDU session).
Lee and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US20190059067A1) in view of 3GPP in further view of Futaki.
Regarding claim 36, Lee teaches analyze the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through ([0015], [0020], [0033], [0059]-[0060], [0090], teaches analyzing UL data to determine the PDU session through which it was transmitted, because UL data is received at a UPF via session-specific UL CN tunnel information and processed by an UL classifier, and the UPF sends and receives data only using an identified PDU session).
But Lee fails to teach but 3GPP teaches determine a logical channel corresponding to the first uplink data (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, determining of logical channel in initial context setup response message—if no UE-associated logical NG connection exits, the logical connection shall be established at reception of the initial context setup request message);
and determine, based on the logical channel corresponding to the first uplink data and the indication information, the first PDU session corresponding to the first uplink data session (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, determining of logical channel in initial context setup response message—if no UE-associated logical NG connection exits, the logical connection shall be established at reception of the initial context setup request message—this message contains subscriber profile ID pertinent information—PDU session correspondence).
Lee and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
However, Lee and 3GPP does not fully teach but Futaki teaches the system wherein determining the first PDU comprises:
obtain indication information from a second access network device, wherein the indication information indicates that the logical channel corresponds to the first PDU session, or the indication information indicates a correspondence between the logical channel and the first PDU session (Fig 12, Fig 13A, [0046]-[0053] UE receiving indication from network (from master node (MN) or secondary node (SN)), regarding the establishment, modification, or release of a PDU session in a dual-connectivity scenario—indication information managing UEs connection to multiple cells);
Lee, 3GPP, and Futaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because the references are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee, 3GPP, and Futaki to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Regarding claim 37, Lee fails to teach but 3GPP discloses the system according to claim 35, but fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume request from the terminal device, wherein the first uplink data and the RRC connection resume request are carried in a same message (Section 8.3.1.2 Successful Operation, determining of logical channel in initial context setup response message—if no UE-associated logical NG connection exits, the logical connection shall be established at reception of the initial context setup request message—this message contains subscriber profile ID pertinent information—PDU session correspondence).
Lee and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
However, Futaki teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) connection resume request from the terminal device, wherein the first uplink data and the RRC connection resume request are carried in a same message ([0028] receive RRC connection reconfiguration/resume request –also indicated (first) PDU session/first uplink data).
Lee, 3GPP, and Futaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because the references are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Lee, 3GPP, and Futaki to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field as wireless access network connectivity methods and apparatus. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaches of Wang, Fard, Lee, Futaki, and 3GPP to create an apparatus to improve appropriateness of performing admission control on PDU sessions by a core network device.
Wang teaches SDT in an RRC_INACTIVE state by allowing a terminal device with pending UL data to transmit the UL data while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state and allowing the network device to receive that UL data without first transitioning the terminal device to RRC-CONNECTED. Fard teaches managing PDU-session-based user-plane connectivity during UE mobility and inactive-state procedures by identifying affected PDU sessions, activating or resuming user-plane resources for UL data, and performing PATH SWITCH REQUEST procedures that carry PDU Session ID information to update user-plane paths through the core network. Further, Lee teaches service request and session management in a 5G system in which UL and DL user data are handled by a PDU-session-aware user plane function (UPF) using session-specific tunnel information and UL classification to associate received data with the correct PDU session during service requests and UPF relocation. Futaki provides for a apparatus and method that focuses on enabling UE to maintain simultaneous connections with multiple cells managed by different Radio Access Network nodes which improve data throughput, reliability, and seamless mobility for users by allowing the UE to aggregate resources from various cells, even when they are controlled by distinct RAN nodes. Lastly, 3GPP provides for a method and implicit hardware for context management procedures involving initial setup of context management. The motivation to combine both references to yield power efficiency comparable to an idle state while the device remains in a connected state.
But 3GPP fails to teach analyzing the first uplink data to determine which PDU session the first UL data was transmitted through.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419