DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 23 April 2026 is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 9-12 as amended are pending, with claim 12 withdrawn. All outstanding objections and rejections made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on 23 April 2026. For this reason, the present action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aleta T. Wilder, “Characterization of Insulation Aging with Power-Dense Environments,” 2018 Electrical Insulation Conference, San Antonio, TX, 17-20 June 2018 (“Wilder”) in view of KR 10-0776641 B1 (“Kang”).
This reference was made of record with applicant’s IDS.
As to claims 1, 2, and 4, Wilder teaches providing a polymeric material (epoxy or silicone, p. 280), and applying an alternating electrical field at 200 kHz and 1 KV/mm (1 MV/m), these latter conditions being within the ranges of claims 2 and 4 respectively. Wilder teaches inducing for 3 hours with electric field (p. 280).
Wilder does not explicitly teach inducing optical or acoustic phonons in the material. However, Wilder teaches the same method as provided by applicant for inducing optical or acoustic phonons, and it is therefore presumed that the method of Wilder produces the same effect.
Wilder does not discuss varying the frequency of the electric field. Kang teaches a similar treatment of polymer materials, and further teaches varying frequency of the electrical field treatment in order to determine effect of different modes of polarization of a material (translation, pp. 11-12). As such, varying electrical field is an obvious modification for observing the effect of alternating electrical field on insulating material as taught by Kang.
As to claim 5, Wilder in view of Kang teaches application of electric field; since a dynamic mechanical field is optional under claim 1, the further limitations of claim 5 is met.
As to claim 7, Wilder in view of Kang does not discuss induced phonon frequency. However, since Wilder teaches the same technique for inducing phonons under the same alternating electric field, it is presumed that the process of Wilder induces phonons of the recited frequency range.
As to claim 9, Wilder in view of Kang does not discuss nanophase separation. However, since Wilder teaches the same method and same material as recited and described in applicant’s specification, it is presumed to induce nanophase separation.
As to claim 10, Wilder in view of Kang does not discuss density. However, since Wilder teaches the same method and same material as recited and described in applicant’s specification, it is presumed to increase the density of the polymer.
As to claim 11, Wilder in view of Kang does not discuss voltage breakdown strength. However, since Wilder teaches the same method and same material as recited and described in applicant’s specification, it is presumed to increase voltage breakdown strength of the polymer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claims are now rejected over Wilder in view of Kang, for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764