DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Request for Continued Examination (R.C.E.)
The R.C.E. filed 7/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-42 are pending in the application with claims 21, 32 amended, claims 1-20 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 21-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wentz (US Patent No. 5,297,443).
In regard to claim 21, Wentz discloses a surgical instrument (Fig. 13), comprising:
an elongated shaft extending between a proximal end and a distal end and defining a longitudinal axis (Fig. 13, additionally a flexible sheath (142) can surround the arm as shown in Fig. 8);
a plurality of articulation cables (204,210) extending along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 13); and
a first bending section positioned between the proximal end and the distal end of the elongated shaft (the first bending segment extends from proximal segment (162) to distal segment (206), Fig. 13), the first bending section comprising links (66, Fig. 12 illustrates the links in detail) having a central channel (194) and having pairs of articulation holes extending longitudinally through the links to permit the plurality of articulation cables (204,210) to pass therethrough (Figs. 13), wherein the plurality of articulation cables (204,210) extend across gaps between the links (Fig. 13), and wherein each pair of articulation holes comprises first and second articulation holes that are spaced apart from the longitudinal axis (i) at different radii and (ii) at a same rotation angle about the longitudinal axis, and wherein each pair of articulation holes is spaced apart from the central channel (Fig. 12 illustrates the arrangement of first and second articulation holes).
In regard to claim 32, Wentz discloses a surgical instrument assembly (Fig. 13), comprising:
a surgical instrument (Fig. 13) comprising an elongated shaft extending between a proximal end and a distal end and defining a longitudinal axis (Fig. 13, additionally a flexible sheath (142) can surround the arm as shown in Fig. 8);
a plurality of articulation cables (204,210) extending along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 13);
a first bending section positioned between the proximal end and the distal end of the elongated shaft (the first bending segment extends from proximal segment (162) to distal segment (206), Fig. 13), the first bending section comprising links (66, Fig. 12 illustrates the links in detail) having a central channel (194) and having pairs of articulation holes extending longitudinally through the links to permit the plurality of articulation cables (204,210) to pass therethrough (Figs. 13), wherein the plurality of articulation cables (204,210) extend across gaps between the links (Fig. 13), and wherein each pair of articulation holes comprises first and second articulation holes that are spaced apart from the longitudinal axis (i) at different radii and (ii) at a same rotation angle about the longitudinal axis, and wherein each pair of articulation holes is spaced apart from the central channel (Fig. 12 illustrates the arrangement of first and second articulation holes),
an actuator mechanism (182) positioned at the proximal end of the surgical instrument (Fig. 13); and
one or more motors positioned within the actuator mechanism and configured to articulate the first bending section (Col. 10, Lines 5-9 teaches that motors can be used to actuate the articulation cables).
In regard to claims 22 and 34, Wentz teaches wherein the first bending section comprises a multi-link wrist comprising two or more links, each pair of consecutive links including one or more joints therebetween (Fig. 13, via flexible springs disposed between each pair of links (66)).
In regard to claims 23 and 35, Wentz teaches wherein each of the one or more joints comprise a rolling joint (via articulation of link (66) at the connection point to the spring, Fig. 13).
In regard to claims 24 and 36, Wentz teaches wherein:
the first bending section comprises a proximal pitch joint and a distal pitch joint configured to allow articulation of the first bending section in a pitch direction (via cables (204,210) enabling articulation in a pitch direction by bending springs enabling tilting of links (66)).
In regard to claim 25, Wentz teaches wherein:
the first bending section comprises a proximal yaw joint and a distal yaw joint configured to allow articulation of the first bending section in a yaw direction (via cables (204,210) enabling articulation in a yaw direction by bending springs enabling tilting of links (66)) .
In regard to claims 26 and 37, Wentz teaches wherein each of the links of the first bending section comprises four pairs of articulation holes configured to receive the plurality of articulation cables extending therethrough (Col. 10, Lines 37-47, wherein sets of cables (204,210) can include three or more cables each which would allow for four pairs of articulation holes within the links).
In regard to claims 27 and 38, Wentz teaches wherein:
the four pairs of articulation holes are each spaced apart from each other by 90 degrees and wherein for each of the four pairs, the first articulation hole and the second articulation hole are formed at a same angle relative to a central axis through the links and comprise different radii measured from the central axis (Col. 10, Lines 37-47, wherein sets of cables (204,210) can include three or more cables each which would allow for four pairs of articulation holes within the links, the articulation holes would be circumferentially spaced equidistant from each other as shown in Fig. 13).
In regard to claims 28 and 39, Wentz teaches wherein the first bending section comprises a proximal pitch joint, a proximal yaw joint, a distal pitch joint, and a distal yaw joint (Fig. 13 illustrates each joint can bend in both pitch and yaw with at least three joints shown).
In regard to claims 29 and 40, Wentz teaches wherein the surgical instrument comprises a second bending section distal to the first bending section (Fig. 13, the second bending section is defined by the section with segments (208)).
In regard to claims 30 and 41, Wentz teaches wherein a pair of articulation cables extends from a proximal portion of the surgical instrument, through the first bending section, and to the second bending section (Fig. 13 via cables (210)).
In regard to claims 31 and 42, Wentz teaches wherein the links each have four pairs of articulation holes extending therethrough, and wherein the first and second articulation holes of each pair are located at a same radial position and each of the four pairs of articulation holes are radially spaced apart from each other (Col. 10, Lines 37-47, wherein sets of cables (204,210) can include three or more cables each which would allow for four pairs of articulation holes within the links, the articulation holes would be circumferentially spaced equidistant from each other as shown in Fig. 13).
In regard to claim 33, Wentz teaches further comprising a linear actuator coupled to the surgical instrument, wherein the linear actuator is configured to cause translation of the surgical instrument (Fig. 11 illustrates motor (166), threaded shaft (168) and nut (170) enabling linear translation of the articulation cables of the surgical instrument).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 November 6, 2026