DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11, 13-15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cashdollar et al. US Pub 2020/0290474 (hereinafter Cashdollar).
Regarding claim 1, Cashdollar teaches a charging system, comprising:
a charger (fig. 1, elements 40, 60A to 60E; power control system [PCS] + charge dispensers);
a plurality of charging connectors (fig. 1, element 12; charge ports);
one or more electrical connections from the charger to one or more contact elements (fig. 1, element 62; connectors) of each of the plurality of charging connectors (¶ 0015; Connector 62 can be connected to a charge port 12 of an electric vehicle to charge EV 10);
one or more controllers, wherein each of the one or more controllers is communicatively coupled to one or more charging connectors of the plurality of charging connectors (¶¶ 0017-0018; PCS can include a control unit 22 configured to manage the delivery of power to the dispensers. Using communications system 26, PCS can communicate with the external source to transmit data of the EVs 10 being charged, and to receive information. When only one of the dispensers 60 has an EV connected to it, PDS will direct power to only dispenser); and
a communication controller (fig. 2, elements 48 and 65 and ¶ 0021) communicatively coupled to the one or more controllers (¶ 0022; each dispenser can include a control unit configured to communicate with the EV connected to that dispenser and control units 22, 48 (of PCS 20 and PDS 40) to control the charging process),
wherein the communication controller is configured to:
establish a communication connection with a controller of an electric vehicle of a plurality of electric vehicles (¶ 0022; control unit 65A of dispenser 60A can communicate with EV 10A to determine the current state of charge of EV 10A);
receive, from the controller and based on establishing the communication connection, a request for deployment of a charging connector of the plurality of charging connectors to charge the electric vehicle (¶¶ 0017, 0018, 0021; using communications system 26, PCS 20 can communicate with the external source to transmit data [e.g., current state of charge of EV 10, total energy consumed in charging EVS, identification number] of the EVs 10 being charged. Based on data/information received by communication system 48, control unit 46 can determine which of the dispensers 60A, 60B, 60C, or 60D to activate);
determine a deployment state of each of the plurality of charging connectors (¶¶ 0018, 0020, 0021; based on data/information received by communication system, control unit can determine which of the dispensers 60A, 60B, 60C or 60D to activate); and
perform one or more actions related to sequential charging of the plurality of electric vehicles based on the deployment state of the each of the plurality of charging connectors (¶¶ 0018, 0020, 0021; PDS 40 can direct power to dispensers 60 sequentially. Control unit 46 can selectively activate contactors based on a priority for charging the EVs 10 connected to dispensers).
Regarding claim 2, Cashdollar teaches wherein the one or more controllers are one or more position controllers (¶ 0020; control unit 46 is able to switch on/off position of the contactors).
Regarding claim 6, Cashdollar teaches wherein the communication controller is further configured to manage access to the plurality of charging connectors (¶ 0021; based on data/information received by communications system 48).
Regarding claim 7, Cashdollar teaches wherein the deployment state comprises a first state where a charging connector is in an extended position for charging the electric vehicle or a second state where the charging connector is in a retracted position (¶ 0016; pantograph).
Regarding claim 8, Cashdollar teaches wherein the one or more electrical connections comprise:
a negative direct current (DC-) electrical connection, and a positive direct current (DC+) electrical connection (¶ 0015; a standardized charge port [e.g., SAE J1772] including positive and negative terminals).
Regarding claim 9, Cashdollar teaches wherein the one or more electrical connections comprise: an alternating current (L1AC) electrical connection, and an alternating current (L2 or N AC) electrical connection (¶¶ 0017, 0024).
Regarding claim 10, Cashdollar teaches a method of sequentially charging a plurality of electric vehicles (¶¶ 0018, 0020, 0021 and claims 10-13) using an overhead charging system (¶ 0016),
the method comprising:
establishing, by a communication controller of the overhead charging system, a communication connection with a controller of an electric vehicle of the plurality of electric vehicles at the overhead charging system (¶ 0022; control unit 65A of dispenser 60A can communicate with EV 10A to determine the current state of charge of EV 10A);
receiving, from the controller and based on establishing the communication connection, a request for deployment of a charging connector of a plurality of charging connectors to charge the electric vehicle (¶¶ 0017, 0018, 0021; using communications system 26, PCS 20 can communicate with the external source to transmit data [e.g., current state of charge of EV 10, total energy consumed in charging EVS, identification number] of the EVs 10 being charged. Based on data/information received by communication system 48, control unit 46 can determine which of the dispensers 60A, 60B, 60C, or 60D to activate);
determining a deployment state of each of the plurality of charging connectors, wherein the deployment state of each of the plurality of charging connectors comprises a charging state or a non-charging state (¶¶ 0018, 0020, 0021; based on data/information received by communication system, control unit can determine which of the dispensers 60A, 60B, 60C or 60D to activate); and
performing one or more actions related to sequentially charging the electric vehicle and one or more other electric vehicles of the plurality of electric vehicles based on the deployment state of the each of the plurality of charging connectors (¶¶ 0018, 0020, 0021; PDS 40 can direct power to dispensers 60 sequentially. Control unit 46 can selectively activate contactors based on a priority for charging the EVs 10 connected to dispensers).
Regarding claim 11, Cashdollar teaches wherein the overhead charging system further comprises:
a charger (fig. 1, elements 40, 60A to 60E; power control system [PCS] + charge dispensers) configured to provide electrical power to the plurality of electric vehicles via the plurality of charging connectors (fig. 1, element 12; charge ports), and
one or more position controllers configured to deploy the each of the plurality of charging connectors to each of the plurality of electric vehicles (¶ 0020; control unit 46 is able to switch on/off position of the contactors).
Regarding claim 13, Cashdollar teaches wherein the establishing of the communication connection further comprises:
establishing the communication connection (¶ 0022; each dispenser can include a control unit configured to communicate with the EV connected to that dispenser and control units 22, 48 (of PCS 20 and PDS 40) to control the charging process) via an antenna communicatively coupled to the communication controller (¶ 0017); and
wherein the receiving of the request for deployment further comprises:
receiving the request for the deployment via the antenna (¶¶ 0017, 0018, 0021; using communications system 26, PCS 20 can communicate with the external source to transmit data [e.g., current state of charge of EV 10, total energy consumed in charging EVS, identification number] of the EVs 10 being charged. Based on data/information received by communication system 48, control unit 46 can determine which of the dispensers 60A, 60B, 60C, or 60D to activate).
Regarding claim 14, Cashdollar teaches a communication controller of a charging system including a plurality of pantographs (fig. 4a and 4b and ¶ 0016), comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (¶ 0023); and
at least one processor executing the instructions to perform a method of sequential charging of a plurality of electric vehicles using the charging system (¶¶ 0021-0023, 0026), the method comprising:
establishing a communication connection with a controller of an electric vehicle of the plurality of electric vehicles at the charging system (¶ 0022; each dispenser can include a control unit configured to communicate with the EV connected to that dispenser and control units 22, 48 (of PCS 20 and PDS 40) to control the charging process);
receiving, from the controller of the electric vehicle and based on establishing the communication connection, a request for deployment of a pantograph of the plurality of pantographs to charge the electric vehicle (¶¶ 0017, 0018, 0021; using communications system 26, PCS 20 can communicate with the external source to transmit data [e.g., current state of charge of EV 10, total energy consumed in charging EVS, identification number] of the EVs 10 being charged. Based on data/information received by communication system 48, control unit 46 can determine which of the dispensers 60A, 60B, 60C, or 60D to activate);
determining, based on information from one or more position controllers of the charging system, a state of each of the plurality of pantographs (¶¶ 0016-0018; control unit 22 can selectively direct power from utility grid or secondary power deliver system 24 to the dispensers based on power availability); and
performing one or more actions related to sequentially charging the electric vehicle and one or more other electric vehicles of the plurality of electric vehicles (¶¶ 0018, 0020, 0021; PDS 40 can direct power to dispensers 60 sequentially. Control unit 46 can selectively activate contactors based on a priority for charging the EVs 10 connected to dispensers) based on the state of the each of the plurality of pantographs (¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 15, Cashdollar teaches wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises:
sending a command to a first position controller to keep a first pantograph in a retracted state or in a non-charging state based on a second pantograph being in an extended state or a charging state (¶¶ 0016, 0026), and/or sending a command to the first position controller to move the first pantograph to the extended state or the charging state based on the second pantograph being in the retracted state or the non-charging state.
Regarding claim 17, Cashdollar teaches the communication controller further comprising: receiving, via an antenna of the controller, the request to establish the communication connection (¶ 0017); and
wherein the establishing of the communication connection further comprises: establishing the communication connection after receiving the request via the antenna (¶¶ 0021-0022).
Regarding claim 18, Cashdollar teaches wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises: charging the electric vehicle using a first pantograph (¶ 0016) based on one or more safety limitations (¶ 0021; first-in, first-out order); and charging another electric vehicle using a second pantograph after charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0016) and based on the one or more safety limitations (¶ 0021; first-in, first-out order).
Regarding claim 20, Cashdollar teaches wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises: operating the plurality of pantographs (fig. 4A and 4B) based on one or more safety limitations (¶ 0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cashdollar et al. US Pub 2020/0290474 (hereinafter Cashdollar).
Regarding claim 3, Cashdollar teaches the claimed invention as stated above except for the one or more position controllers and the communication controller are subcontrollers of a single integrated controller. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of claimed invention to provide one or more position controllers and the communication controller are subcontrollers of a single integrated controller, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893) and MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 4-5, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cashdollar in view of Zhu (US 2019/0389314).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Cashdollar fails to teach wherein the communication controller is further configured to manage the sequential charging based on one or more safety limitations.
Zhu further discloses wherein the communication controller is further configured to manage the sequential charging based on one or more safety limitations (¶¶ 0034, 0047, 0058, 0065; the usage on these circuit have higher priority relative to electric vehicle charging and/or are not dynamically adjusted based on other electricity needs at the electricity demand center).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cashdollar to incorporate with the teaching of Zhu by managing the sequential charging based on safety limitations, because it would be advantageous to better utilize reserved grid resources and further reduce operational costs of the electricity demand centers and the charging facilities.
Regarding claim 5, Cashdollar fails to teach wherein the one or more safety limitations comprise a voltage limitation for a height of the plurality of charging connectors off of a working surface, and wherein where access is controlled to a plurality of charging connectors.
Zhu further discloses wherein the one or more safety limitations comprise a voltage limitation for a height of the plurality of charging connectors off of a working surface (¶¶ 0034, 0047-0048, 0058), and wherein where access is controlled to a plurality of charging connectors (¶¶ 0047-0048; automatically adjust the output voltage).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Cashdollar to incorporate with the teaching of Zhu by adjusting the output voltage and/or current of the charging stations based on the load demand, because it would be advantageous to better utilize reserved grid resources and further reduce operational costs of the electricity demand centers and the charging facilities.
Claim(s) 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cashdollar in view of Choi et al. EP3878684A1 (hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 16, Cashdollar fails to teach wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises: requesting the information from each of the one or more position controllers, wherein the information indicates the state is a deployment state; and wherein the determining of the state further comprises: determining the deployment state of the each of the plurality of pantographs after requesting the information.
Choi further discloses wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises:
requesting the information from each of the one or more position controllers, wherein the information indicates the state is a deployment state (¶ 0036; receiving movement information through a communication module…and based on the movement information); and
wherein the determining of the state further comprises:
determining the deployment state of the each of the plurality of pantographs after requesting the information (¶¶ 0015, 0033, 0037, 0048; determining and providing accurate position information of vehicles).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cashdollar to incorporate with the teaching of Choi by determining the deployment state of the each of the plurality of pantographs, because it would be advantageous to provide economical and effective power supply of transportation devices.
Regarding claim 19, Cashdollar fails to teach wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises: sending a command to retract the pantograph of the plurality of pantographs that is in an extended state or a charging state for charging the electric vehicle; and disconnecting the communication connection after charging the electric vehicle.
However, Choi further discloses wherein the performing of the one or more actions further comprises: sending a command to retract the pantograph of the plurality of pantographs that is in an extended state or a charging state for charging the electric vehicle (¶ 0055); and disconnecting the communication connection after charging the electric vehicle (claim 4; disconnect the pantograph serving).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cashdollar to incorporate with the teaching of Choi by disconnecting the pantograph serving and communication connection after charging operation, because it would be advantageous to reduce power consumption and further prolong service life of the charging station.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 09/20/2025