In the amendment filed on 12/17/25, applicants have amended claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 14-16 and 19.
Election/Restrictions
A petition traversing the Final determination of the Restriction requirement granting for the withdrawal of restriction/election requirement mailed on 02/28/25 has been considered by the examiner. A second non-Final action, in view of the petition decision and the amendment filed on 12/17/25, is herein enclosed.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 14, line 1 the word “reversible” with the phrase “reversible extruder assembly” is interpreted as an assembly that can be changed/interchanged or undone and capable of returning to a previous state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, line 2, the phrase “the extruder assembly” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the reversible extruder assembly” is assumed.
In claims 15-20, line 1 each, the phrase “The extruder assembly” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “The reversible extruder assembly” is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lessley et al (US 2017/0266687).
As to claim 14, Lessley et al teaches (see Fig 10, Title and para [0069]) a reversible extruder assembly (changeover slot die assembly or interchangeable assembly 12) for a hot melt adhesive fluid applicator system, the extruder assembly comprising: an entry die (12) including one or more first openings and one or more first internal channels (see Fig 10); an exit die (20) including one or more second openings and one or more second internal channels (see Fig 10); and one or more shims (18) having one or more third internal channels (see Fig 10), the one or more shims (18) configured to be positioned between the entry die and the exit die with the one or more third internal channels of the one or more shims (18) fluidly coupled with the one or more first internal channels of the entry die and the one or more second internal channels of the exit die (see para [0059]).
As to claim 17, in Lessley et al the entry die (16) and the exit die (20) are coupled with each other such that the one or more first openings in the entry die are coaxial with the one or more second openings in the exit die (see Fig 10 and para [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Lessley et al teaches one or more plug fasteners (see Figs 3 and 10 for fasteners 22) capable of being inserted into one or more third openings (see Fig 3) in the entry die to secure the one or more plugs to the entry die, the one or more plug fasteners(see Figs 3 and 10 for fasteners 22) also configured to be inserted into one or more fourth openings in the exit die to secure the one or more plugs to the exit die.
As to claim 19, in Lessley (see Figs 3 and 10) each of the one or more plugs (22) is elongated from plug head to an open-ended plug end, the open-ended plug end configured to be inserted into the one or more first openings (see Fig 3) in the entry die and positioned to receive a hot melt adhesive into the one or more third internal channels (see Fig 10) of the one or more plugs via the open-ended plug end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ayes (US 10,081,022) in view of Ayers (US 20190299240A1) or Pekurovsky et al (US 2005/0155549A1).
As to claim 1, Ayes discloses (Figs 3-5) an extruder assembly (12) comprising:
an entry die (16) including one or more first openings; an exit die (20) including one or more second openings; one or more shims (18) disposed between the entry die and the
exit die, the one or more shims including one or more channels (slot 30); and wherein
the exit die (20) is configured to be coupled with a body of a fluid applicator system (14)
with the entry die facing away from the body of the fluid applicator system (14) to direct
a fluid adhesive flowing into the exit die, through the one or more channels in the one or
more shims (18), and out of the exit die, the entry die, and the one or more shims onto a
first web or strand of material (substrate) capable of moving in a first direction
relative to the entry die and the exit die, wherein the entry die (16) also is configured to
be coupled with the body of the fluid applicator system (14) with the exit die facing away
from the body of the fluid applicator system to direct the fluid adhesive flowing into the entry die, through the one or more channels in the one or more shims (shim plates see column 3, lines 17-24, 29-37), and out of the entry die, the exit die, and the one or more shims onto a second web or strand of material (substrate) capable of moving in a second direction (wherein the first and the second direction can be the same direction in using the extruder assembly for different runs of application of fluid) relative to the entry die and the exit die (see Figs 4-5 and 10). Ayers’022 does not specifically teach a moving substrate relative to the extruder assembly. However, in using an extruder die assembly a substrate moving in a direction relative to the die assembly is well known in the art, for instance as taught by Ayers’240 (see para [0013]) and Pekurovsky et al teaches a web moving in a direction relative to the die (see Fig 1 and para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to move the substrate in a direction (first or second) relative to the die assembly in Ayers’022 to continuously apply a coating material onto a moving substrate.
As to claim 2, Ayers teaches the entry die (16) includes one or more channels
(see Fig 3) that are fluidly coupled with the one or more channels (slot 24) of the one or more shims and through which the fluid adhesive flows.
Regarding claim 3, Ayers teaches exit die (20) includes one or more channels
that are fluidly coupled with the one or more channels (see claims 1 and 3) of the one or more shims and through which the fluid adhesive flows.
As to claim 4, in Ayers the entry die (16) and the exit die (20) are coupled with
each other such that the one or more first openings in the entry die are coaxial with the one or more second openings in the exit die (see Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Ayers teaches (see Figs 3 and 9), each of the entry die and
the exit die includes one or more fastener openings have internal threads (fasteners and studs), and further comprising: one or more threaded fasteners configured to be
inserted into the one or more fastener openings of one of the entry die or the exit die,
the one or more threaded fasteners are capable of extending through the one of the
entry die or the exit die into which the one or more threaded fasteners are inserted and
to engage the internal threads of the one or more fastener openings of another of the
entry die or the exit die to clamp the entry die, the one or more shims, and the exit die
together in a rapid change-out configuration (see Fig 3 for the die assembly 12).
As to claim 6, Ayers teaches one or more plugs (see Figs 3 and 9 for studs 32)
are capable of being placed into at least one of the one or more first openings or at least
one of the one or more second openings (see Fig 3), the one or more plugs including an
internal conduit (one or more channels or slot) through which the fluid adhesive flows
from the entry die or the exit die, through the one or more plugs, and into the one or
more channels of the one or more shims (see Fig 3 and claims 1 and 3).
As to claim 7, Ayers teaches (see Figs 3 and 9) each of the one or more plugs is
elongated from a plug head to an entry end, the plug head configured to engage an
exterior surface of the entry die or the exit die, the entry end configured to receive the
fluid adhesive from the fluid applicator system (14).
Regarding claim 8, in Ayers one or more plug fasteners are capable of being
coupled with the entry dire or the exit de and securing the one or more plugs to the entry die or the exit die (see Figs 3 and 9).
Claim(s) 1-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lessley et al (US 2017/0266687) in view of Ayers (US 20190299240A1) or Pekurovsky et al (US 2005/0155549A1).
As to claim 1, Lessley et al discloses (Figs 1-8, 10 and 31) an extruder assembly
(12) comprising: an entry die (16) including one or more first openings; an exit die (20) including one or more second openings; one or more shims (18, see Fig 10) disposed between the entry die and the exit die, the one or more shims including one or more channels (conduits and slots); and wherein the exit die (20) is configured to be coupled with a body of a fluid applicator system (14) with the entry die facing away from the body of the fluid applicator system (14) to direct a fluid adhesive flowing into the exit die, through the one or more channels in the one or more shims (18), and out of the exit die, the entry die, and the one or more shims onto a first web or strand of material (para [0059] [0123]) capable of moving in a first direction relative to the entry die and the exit die, wherein the entry die (16) also is configured to be coupled with the body of the fluid applicator system (14) with the exit die facing away from the body of the fluid applicator system to direct the fluid adhesive flowing into the entry die, through the one or more channels in the one or more shims(shim 18, see para [0059]), and out of the entry die, the exit die, and the one or more shims onto a second web or strand of
material (strand) capable of moving in a second direction relative to the entry die and the exit die (wherein the first and the second direction can be the same direction in using the extruder assembly for different runs of application of fluid). Lessley does not specifically teach a moving substrate relative to the extruder assembly. However, in using an extruder die assembly a substrate moving in a direction relative to the die assembly is well known in the art, for instance as taught by Ayers’240 (see para [0013]) and Pekurovsky et al teaches a web moving in a direction relative to the die (see Fig 1 and para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the substrate in a direction (first or second) relative to the die assembly in Lessley et al to continuously apply a coating material onto a moving substrate.
As to claim 2, Lessley et al teaches the entry die (16) includes one or more
channels (see Fig 3 and para [0059]) that are fluidly coupled with the one or more
channels (conduits) of the one or more shims and through which the fluid adhesive
flows.
Regarding claim 3, Lessley et al teaches exit die (20) includes one or more
channels that are fluidly coupled with the one or more channels (see Fig 10) of the one
or more shims and through which the fluid adhesive flows.
As to claim 4, in Lessley et al the entry die (16) and the exit die (20) are coupled
with each other such that the one or more first openings (discharge slots) in the entry
die are coaxial with the one or more second openings in the exit die (see Fig 3 and para
[0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Lessley et al teaches (see Figs 3 and 10), each of the entry
die and the exit die includes one or more fastener openings have internal threads
(fasteners 22), and further comprising: one or more threaded fasteners configured to be
inserted into the one or more fastener openings of one of the entry die or the exit die,
the one or more threaded fasteners are capable of extending through the one of the entry die or the exit die into which the one or more threaded fasteners are inserted and
to engage the internal threads of the one or more fastener openings of another of the entry die or the exit die to clamp the entry die, the one or more shims, and the exit die
together in a rapid change-out configuration (see Fig 10 and the title for the rapid
changeover slot die assembly).
As to claim 6, Lessley et al teaches one or more plugs (see Figs 3 and 10 for
fasteners 22) are capable of being placed into at least one of the one or more first
openings or at least one of the one or more second openings (see Fig 3), the one or
more plugs including an internal conduit (ports 34) through which the fluid adhesive
flows from the entry die or the exit die, through the one or more plugs, and into the one
or more channels of the one or more shims (18 see Figs 3 and 10 and para [0059]).
As to claim 7, Lessley et al teaches (see Fig10) each of the one or more plugs
(22) is elongated from a plug head to an entry end, the plug head configured to engage an exterior surface of the entry die or the exit die, the entry end configured to receive the fluid adhesive from the fluid applicator system (14).
Regarding claim 8, in Lessley et al one or more plug fasteners are capable of
being coupled with the entry dire or the exit de and securing the one or more plugs to
the entry die or the exit die (see Figs 3 and 9).
As to claims 15-16, Lessley et al teaches (see Fig 10 the entry die (12), the exit die (20), and the one or more shims (18) are capable of being coupled together in a first configuration to dispense a hot melt adhesive onto a first web or strand of material moving in a first direction beneath the entry die and the exit die; and the entry die(16), the exit die (20), and the one or more shims (18) are capable of being coupled together in a second configuration to dispense the hot melt adhesive onto a second web or strand of material moving in a second direction (where the first and second configurations can have same configuration in application of different runs, similarly the first and the second directions can be the same direction by using the same assembly for different runs of application of fluid) beneath the entry die and the exit die. Lessley does not specifically teach a moving substrate relative to the extruder assembly. However, in using an extruder die assembly a substrate moving in a direction relative to the die assembly is well known in the art, for instance as taught by Ayers’240 (see para [0013]) and Pekurovsky et al teaches a web moving in a direction relative to the die (see Fig 1 and para [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to move the substrate in a direction (first or second) relative to the die assembly in Lessley et al to continuously apply a coating material onto a moving substrate.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lessley et al (US 2017/0266687) in view of EP 3,643,411.
Lessley et al teaches the one or more third internal channels (see Fig 3 and para [0059]) of the one or more plugs (fasteners 22) that aligns the one or more third internal channels of the one or more plugs (22) with the one or more first internal channels (see Figs 3) of the entry die or the one or more second internal channels of the exit die (see Fig 10). However, Lessley et al lacks teaching the one or more channels having a bend portion. In a slot die coating apparatus with first and second die portion provided with internal channels having a bend shape is taught in EP’411 (see Fig 4 for segment 8x having a bent portion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bend portion for the one or more channels in Lessley et al to lower the overall pressure drop than is the case with a lateral distribution channel as taught by EP’411 (see column 9, lines 52-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 9-13 would be allowable because the closest prior arts of record Lessley et al and none of the cited closest prior arts of record teach nor suggest “switching positions of the entry die and the exit die relative to the applicator head; coupling the entry die, the one or more shims, and the exit die with the applicator head after switching positions of the entry die and the exit die” as recited in independent claim 9. As explained in para [0075] Lessley et al teaches removing or replacing the shim 18 or plate 20, but Lessley et al does not teach or suggest switching positions of the entry die and the exit die relative to the applicator head; coupling the entry die, the one or more shims, and the exit die with the applicator head after switching positions of the entry die and the exit die, wherein the one or more shims oriented to direct a fluid onto a first web or strand of material moving in a first direction beneath the entry die and the exit die; and the entry die, the one or more shims, and the exit die coupled with the applicator head to direct the fluid adhesive-onto a second web or strand of material moving in a second direction beneath the entry die and the exit die.
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/18/25 and 12/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicants argue “Applicant provides a system that includes two different dies (an entry die 312 and an exit die 314) that each may be configured to couple to a fluid applicator system (applicator head 102) and configured such that they may be interchanged with one another to provide fluid flow via a shim 316 onto a strand of material that moves in both a first direction 112 and a second direction 114. See Figs. 13 and 14 side-by-side below”.
Examiner disagrees with the argument above because two different dies interchanged with one another…is not claimed in the claims.
Applicant further contends “Claim 1 also recites that "the exit die is configured to be coupled with the entry die facing away from the body of the fluid applicator system to direct a fluid flowing into the exit die, through the one or more channels in the one or more shims, and out of the exit die, the entry die, and the one or more shims” and that "the entry die also is configured to be coupled with the exit die facing away from the body of the fluid applicator system to direct the fluid flowing into the entry die, through the one or more channels in the one or more shims, and out of the entry die, the exit die, and the one or more shims…" Thus, the recitations in claim 1 not only require each of the entry die and exit die be configured to couple to an applicator assembly, but also that such dies be oriented with respect to one another to allow the flow of fluid therethrough when coupled. Ayes simply provides no disclosure that the die plate 20 and adapter 16 orient in different ways to one another to provide different flow paths as claimed. As such claim 1 is not anticipated by Ayes for at least this reason as well.
Again, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above because parts of the extruder assembly entry die and exit die oriented in different ways is not claimed in claims 1-8 and 14-20.
With respect to the arguments regarding the rejections over the reference to Lessley et al have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For at least the reasons described above the examiner finds claims 1-8 and 14-20 rejectable over the references to Lessley et al and Ayes alone and/or in combination with others.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/