DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 15-18, 21 and 23-25 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claims 5-8, 16-18, 21 and 23-25 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the limitation of original claim 4 and further specify “the cutwater is a monolithic cam, wherein the cutwater is capable of moving and rotatable about an axis”. Applicant asserts Yuan fails to teach the above limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since at least a portion of the cutwater 4 is a monolithic cam (portion 1 is a monolithic cam) which is capable of moving and rotatable about an axis(rotational axis of 1 which is coaxial with motor shaft 5), at least a portion of the cutwater is a monolithic cam, which meets the claimed limitation. Furthermore, it appears Applicant’s disclosure fails to provide sufficient written description of the cutwater being “a monolithic cam”, which is considered new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 and 15 recite the limitation, “wherein the cutwater is a monolithic cam”. The specification, however, is silent regarding the cutwater being a monolithic cam or a non-monolithic cam, and does not explicitly state the cam is constructed of one-piece. Therefore, the specification does not sufficiently support the limitation. Furthermore, while the drawings may be relied upon for what they fairly teach, it is not apparent from the drawings the cam is limited to monolithic construction. Therefore, the above amended limitations add new matter and fail to comply with the written description requirement, because there is no support in the disclosure as originally filed for the amended limitations. Claims 2-3 and 15 also contain new matter by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (CN 108240354), hereinafter: “Yuan”. The English translation of Yuan provided is referenced hereinafter.
In Regard to Claim 1
Yuan teaches:
An apparatus(centrifugal fan of Fig 6-7), comprising:
an impeller(8) capable of rotating(8 is at least structurally capable of rotating);
a housing(91,92,93) defining an internal volume(9) and an exhaust, the impeller located within the internal volume(Fig 5-7); and
a cutwater(4) to divide a flow of air within the internal volume between the exhaust(opening adjacent 4 at top of Fig 5-6) and a region of the internal volume between the cutwater and the impeller(spiral portion of volute; Fig 5-7), wherein the cutwater is a monolithic cam(at least portion 1 of cutwater 4 is a monolithic cam; P[0036], Fig 2-4), wherein the cutwater is capable of moving and rotatable about an axis(rotational axis of 1 which is coaxial with motor shaft 5; P[0037], P[0038]), wherein a minimum distance between the cutwater and the impeller is a first distance when the cutwater is in a first cutwater placement(Fig 9 depicts a minimum/first distance between the cutwater and the impeller in a first cutwater placement) and a second distance when the cutwater is in a second cutwater placement(Fig 8 depicts a second distance between the cutwater and the impeller), and wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance(as is visually apparent from Fig 8-9, the first distance is greater than the second distance; P[0037], P[0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Johnson et al. (US 2016/0258438), hereinafter: “Johnson”.
In Regard to Claim 2
Yuan teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above) further comprising an actuator(5) that causes the cutwater to move between the first cutwater placement and the second cutwater placement(P[0036]-P[0038])
Yuan fails to teach:
the actuator comprising one or more shape memory alloy wires, wherein heating or cooling of the one or more shape memory alloy wires causes the cutwater to move between the first cutwater placement and the second cutwater placement.
Johnson teaches:
A blower assembly(310) having a moveable wall(338) and a motion device(322) configured to move the moveable wall between a first position and a second position(P[0076]), wherein the motion device includes a shape memory alloy wire(313; P[0077]), where heating or cooling the shape memory alloy wire cause the moveable wall to move between a first position and a second position(heating occurs when exposed to electric current, cooling occurs when not exposed to electric current; P[0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan to incorporate the teachings of Johnson to replace the actuator of Yuan with the actuator of Johnson in an effort to increase efficiency while reducing the size of the apparatus(P[0136]).
Additionally, it is obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(B). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach a device (method) which differs from the claimed device (method) by the substitution of some component or step with another component (step), (2) teach that the substituted components and their functions were known, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill could have substituted one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(B).
In this case, Yuan teaches a base actuator for moving the cutwater between a first position and a second position. Johnson teaches an actuator for moving a wall between a first position and a second position. Both actuators perform the function of moving a component of an fan from a first position to a second position. One of ordinary skill could have replaced the actuator of Yuan with the shape memory alloy wire of Johnson to achieve predictable results because both references deal with moving a component of an fan from a first position to a second position that function in the same manner in the environment of a fan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Yuan by replacing the actuator with a shape memory alloy wire because the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Wang et al. (CN 114198321), hereinafter: “Wang”. The English translation of Wang provided is referenced hereinafter.
In Regard to Claim 3
Yuan teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above) further comprising an actuator(5) that causes the cutwater to move between the first cutwater placement and the second cutwater placement(P[0036]-P[0038])
Yuan fails to teach:
a spring attached to the cutwater, wherein a spring force of the spring is to hold the cutwater in the first cutwater placement when the spring force is greater than aerodynamic forces pushing against the cutwater, and wherein the cutwater is to move toward the second cutwater placement when the aerodynamic forces pushing against the cutwater are greater than the spring force holding the cutwater in the first cutwater placement
Wang teaches:
A centrifugal fan(Fig 1) having a moveable cutwater(tongue 8,9) including a spring(5) attached to the cutwater(at 10), wherein a spring force of the spring is to hold the cutwater in the first cutwater placement when the spring force is greater than aerodynamic forces pushing against the cutwater(P[0025,P[0030]-P[0032]), and wherein the cutwater is to move toward the second cutwater placement when the aerodynamic forces pushing against the cutwater are greater than the spring force holding the cutwater in the first cutwater placement(P[0025,P[0030]-P[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan to incorporate the teachings of Wang to replace the movable cutwater of Yuan with the moveable cutwater of Wang in an effort to increase efficiency while reducing noise(P[0015]-P[0018], P[0031]-P[0032]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Sen et al. (US 20220322569), hereinafter: “Sen”.
In Regard to Claim 15
Yuan teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the housing is an air mover housing(“centrifugal fan”; P[0037])
Yuan fails to teach:
a printed circuit board; one or more processing units attached to the printed circuit board; a heat transfer device located on the one or more processing units; and a system housing enclosing the one or more processing units, the heat transfer device, the air mover housing and the printed circuit board.
Sen teaches:
An apparatus(100) comprising an air mover(102,104) and a printed circuit board(122; Fig 1, 2A-2D; P[0024]-P[0025]); one or more processing units attached to the printed circuit board(CPU, GPU, etc..P[0024]); a heat transfer device located on the one or more processing units(124,126; P[0024]); and a system housing(101) enclosing the one or more processing units, the heat transfer device, the air mover housing and the printed circuit board(P[0011], P[0022]-P[0025]).
It is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A). The MPEP states the prior art must: (1) teach each claimed element (a method or apparatus that will be modified), (2) show that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and that the combination doesn’t change the function of the elements, and (3) show that one of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base device would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(A).
In this case, Yuan teaches all elements except a printed circuit board; one or more processing units attached to the printed circuit board; a heat transfer device located on the one or more processing units; and a system housing enclosing the one or more processing units, the heat transfer device, the air mover housing and the printed circuit board. Sen teaches a printed circuit board; one or more processing units attached to the printed circuit board; a heat transfer device located on the one or more processing units; and a system housing enclosing the one or more processing units, the heat transfer device, the air mover housing and the printed circuit board, which has the function of cooling an electronic device. When combined with Yuan by utilizing the centrifugal fan of Yuan in the apparatus of Sen, it maintains its function of moving air to cool the electronic device. One of ordinary skill would expect predictable results because both references pertain to centrifugal fans that function in the same manner in the environment of electronic device cooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the centrifugal fan of Yuan by utilizing it in the apparatus of Sen because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P WOLCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711