DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "said every one of the current collector tabs" and “said any other ones of the current collector tabs” in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-3 are rejected as being dependent upon above rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka JP2014022116A (cited in IDS filed 25 July 2024; using machine English translation provided) in view of Okuda JP2013196959A (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a battery (Tanaka, [0023], Fig. 1, battery 1) comprising:
a power generating element (Tanaka, [0027], Fig. 1, group 3) provided with plural current collector tabs aligning in a thickness direction (Tanaka, [0029], Figs. 1-2, tabs 37, 39, 47 and 49)
and a current collector terminal connected to the current collector tabs (Tanaka, [0047]),
wherein at least one of the current collector tabs has at least one slit by which an end portion of said at least one current collector tab is divided in a width direction (Tanaka, [0029], [0031], Fig. 1, tabs 37, 39, 47 and 49, slit S),
and portions into which the end portion of said at least one current collector tab is divided by said at least one slit therebetween are each electrically connected to another one of the current collector tabs that are adjacent to said at least one current collector tab in the thickness directions (Tanaka, [0024], [0027], [0047], Figs. 1 and 2, group 3, plates 20 and 40, tabs 37, 39, 47 and 49, slit S, terminals 11 and 13)
wherein the portions of the end portion of every one of the current collector tabs are electrically connected to the portions of the end portions of any other ones of the current collector tabs, respectively, by bending the portions of said every and any other ones of the current collector tabs inward together to be in contact with each other (Tanaka, [0044], [0047], Figs. 1 and 2, group 3, plates 20 and 40, tabs 37, 39, 47 and 49, slit S, terminals 11 and 13). Tanaka however does not disclose such that tip ends of the end portions are bent towards the power generating element.
Okuda teaches wherein the portions of the end portion of every one of the current collector tabs are electrically connected to the portions of the end portions of any other ones of the current collector tabs (Okuda, [0019], Figs. 1a-b, tab portions 12, current collector terminal 13 and 18), respectively, by bending the portions of said every and any other ones of the current collector tabs inward together to be in contact with each other (Okuda, Fig. 1b, tab portions 12) such that tip ends of the end portions are bent towards the power generating element (Okuda, [0020], Figs. 1a-b, electrode 11, tab portions 12). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the current collector tabs of Tanaka with the teaching of Okuda wherein such that tip ends of the end portions are bent towards the power generating element, thereby improving current collection efficiency and increasing power density (Okuda, [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka also discloses wherein the portions are electrically connected to other ones of the current collector tabs, the other ones being arranged at different positions, respectively, in the thickness direction (Tanaka, [0024], [0027], [0047], Figs. 1 and 2, group 3, plates 20 and 40, tabs 37, 39, 47 and 49, slit S, terminals 11 and 13).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka additionally discloses wherein the current collector tabs each have at least one slit by which an end portion of each of the current collector tabs is divided in the width direction, and portions into which the end portion of every one of the current collector tabs is divided by said at least one slit therebetween are electrically connected to portions of end portions of any other ones of the current collector tabs, respectively, said any other ones being adjacent to said every one of the current collector tabs in the thickness direction (Tanaka, [0024], [0027], [0047], Figs. 1 and 2, group 3, plates 20 and 40, tabs 37, 39, 47 and 49, slit S, terminals 11 and 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Noh US6387567B1 (discloses wherein the portions of the end portion of said every one of the current collector tabs are electrically connected to the portions of the end portions of said any other ones of the current collector tabs, respectively, by bending the portions of said every and any other ones of the current collector tabs inward together to be in contact with each other, and such that tip ends of the end portions are bent towards the power generating element, as “bent towards”, given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation does not require the end to be pointed directed at the power generating element, such as in Instant Fig. 1B).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723