DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2, 6-9, 15-22 and 26 (group 1) in the reply filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-5, 10-14, 23-25 (groups 2 and 3) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/14/2026.
Examiner requests the applicant to cancel the withdrawn claims.
Status of claims
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 15-22 received on 5/14/2026 have been examined, of which claims 1-2, 21-22 and 26 are independent.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification page 46 last para and page 47 first para describe fig 9, referring to the reference characters/elements 800-812, which are not shown in fig 9. The fig 9 shows elements 500-512.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-9, 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6-9 and 15-20 recite “Transceiver according to claim 1”. For proper antecedent basis in the claim for the terms, the examiner suggests to amend to “The transceiver according to claim 1”.
Further, claim 19 recites “strategy comprises a partial sensing or a periodic partial sensing or a periodic partial sensing”, wherein the third option as underlined is same as the second option and is redundant. The examiner suggests to remove the third option.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are directed to transceiver, configured to communicate in a sidelink communication, without reciting structural elements to perform the method steps. The specification at page 18 describes transceiver, e.g. VRU-UE, P-UE, V-UE, which are types of UE (devices). The device claim should recite structural elements (processor, memory, communication interface etc.) to perform the specific method steps of the claim.
Furter, Claim 1 and 2, in limitation “adapt a radio resource selection strategy dependent at least one parameter out of:”, recites “Load constraints, resource pool”, “usage, channel load” and “resource pool”. It is unclear if load constraints are of resource pool. If load constraints is another parameter than resource pool, it is unclear how is the resource pool in two recitations are different. It is unclear what is interpreted for usage, if usage and channel load are two separate parameter.
Dependent claims are rejected for same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 15-17, 20-21, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteleev et al. (US 20210127364) in view of Wengerter et al. (US 20090219870)
Regarding claim 1, Panteleev teaches transceiver of a wireless communication network, the transceiver being configured to communicate in a sidelink communication (abstract: an apparatus of a UE includes processing circuitry coupled to a memory, the UE for NR V2X sidelink communication);
wherein the transceiver is configured to select, for said sidelink communication, candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink communication (abstract: a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool is determined) by use of a radio resource selection strategy (abstract: the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; here, the strategy is considered as non-overlapping resource selection); and
characterized in that (i) the transceiver is instructed to use random resource selection in any type of resource pool (para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window so that UEs transmitting data at the same time may randomize collisions);
wherein in case of using of radio resource selection based on random resource selection the adaption of a radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption with regard to at least one parameter - resource pool (abstract: SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH, the SCI indicating sidelink resources from a sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE, a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool, the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window; fig 2 shows collision aware candidate resource selection).
Panteleev teaches non-overlapping, randomized resource selection by sidelink UE based on control information from the second UE indicating sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE. The reference teaches the radio resource selection adaptation based on resource pool parameter. However, the reference does not teach the resource selection strategy being adapted based on a parameter. Wengerter is directed to dynamic resource block selection (abstract, step 110, fig 8).
Wengerter further teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to adapt a radio resource selection strategy dependent at least one parameter out of: QoS or priority of the packet to be transmitted; usage, channel load (para 71: the transmitter receives feedback information from the receiver on the transmitted data packets, such as acknowledgements or non-acknowledgements messages or a quality of channel information, based on the feedback message, the transmitter may adapt or alter the selection strategy carried out in step 110 on the resource block candidates for the next transmission, in an ARQ system, the next transmission may be a retransmission step of at least a part of the previously transmitted data packet; here, the feedback for retransmission is considered as QoS or priority of packets to be transmitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev with adapting resource selection strategy based on feedback as taught by Wengerter for the benefit of providing improved communication system as taught by Wengerter in para 46.
Regarding claim 21, Panteleev teaches method for communicate in a sidelink communication using a transceiver of a wireless communication network (abstract describes method to configure the UE for NR V2X sidelink communication), the method comprising:
selecting, for said sidelink communication, candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink communication (abstract: a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool is determined) by use of a radio resource selection strategy (abstract: the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; here, the strategy is considered as non-overlapping resource selection); and
characterized in that (i) the transceiver is instructed to use random resource selection in any type of resource pool (para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window so that UEs transmitting data at the same time may randomize collisions); and
in that the wherein in case of using of radio resource selection based on random selection the adaption of a radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption with regard to at least out of resource pool (abstract: SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH, the SCI indicating sidelink resources from a sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE, a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool, the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window; fig 2 shows collision aware candidate resource selection).
Panteleev teaches non-overlapping, randomized resource selection by sidelink UE based on control information from the second UE indicating sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE. The reference teaches the radio resource selection adaptation based on resource pool parameter. However, the reference does not teach the resource selection strategy being adapted based on a parameter. Wengerter is directed to dynamic resource block selection (abstract, step 110, fig 8).
Wengerter further teaches adapting a radio resource selection strategy dependent at least one parameter out of: QoS or priority of the packet to be transmitted (para 71: the transmitter receives feedback information from the receiver on the transmitted data packets, such as acknowledgements or non-acknowledgements messages or a quality of channel information, based on the feedback message, the transmitter may adapt or alter the selection strategy carried out in step 110 on the resource block candidates for the next transmission, in an ARQ system, the next transmission may be a retransmission step of at least a part of the previously transmitted data packet; here, the feedback for retransmission is considered as QoS or priority of packets to be transmitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev with adapting resource selection strategy based on feedback as taught by Wengerter for the benefit of providing improved communication system as taught by Wengerter in para 46.
Regarding claim 26, Panteleev teaches non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (fig 3, communication device-readable medium 322; para 115: the device-readable medium 322, on which is stored the one or more sets of data structures or instructions 324) to perform the method for communicate in a sidelink communication using a transceiver of a wireless communication network (abstract describes method to configure the UE for NR V2X sidelink communication), the method comprising:
selecting, for said sidelink communication, candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink communication (abstract: a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool is determined) by use of a radio resource selection strategy (abstract: the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; here, the strategy is considered as non-overlapping resource selection); and
characterized in that (i) the transceiver is instructed to use random resource selection in any type of resource pool (para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window so that UEs transmitting data at the same time may randomize collisions); and
in that the wherein in case of using of radio resource selection based on random selection the adaption of a radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption with regard to at least out of resource pool (abstract: SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH, the SCI indicating sidelink resources from a sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE, a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool, the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window; fig 2 shows collision aware candidate resource selection),
when said computer program is run by a computer (para 116: instructions 324 for execution by the communication device 300 and that cause the communication device 300 to perform any one or more of the techniques of the present disclosure).
Panteleev teaches non-overlapping, randomized resource selection by sidelink UE based on control information from the second UE indicating sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE. The reference teaches the radio resource selection adaptation based on resource pool parameter. However, the reference does not teach the resource selection strategy being adapted based on a parameter. Wengerter is directed to dynamic resource block selection (abstract, step 110, fig 8).
Wengerter further teaches adapting a radio resource selection strategy dependent at least one parameter out of QoS or priority of the packet to be transmitted (para 71: the transmitter receives feedback information from the receiver on the transmitted data packets, such as acknowledgements or non-acknowledgements messages or a quality of channel information. Based on the feedback message, the transmitter may adapt or alter the selection strategy carried out in step 110 on the resource block candidates for the next transmission, in an ARQ system, the next transmission may be a retransmission step of at least a part of the previously transmitted data packet; here, the feedback for retransmission is considered as QoS or priority of packets to be transmitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev with adapting resource selection strategy based on feedback as taught by Wengerter for the benefit of providing improved communication system as taught by Wengerter in para 46.
Regarding claim 6, Panteleev further teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to use random resource selection in any type of resource pool (para 79: resource selection for SFCI may be randomized in some window so that UEs transmitting data at the same time may randomize collisions).
Regarding claim 8, Panteleev further teaches wherein in case of using of random selection of candidate resources the adaption of the radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption performed with respect to a defined portion of pre-configured or configured resource pool (abstract: SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH, the SCI indicating sidelink resources from a sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE, a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool, the set is divided into multiple time slots and frequency sub-channels and is non-overlapping in time with the sidelink resources reserved by the second UE; here, the non-overlapping set of resources from the sidelink candidate resources are considered as defined portion of configured resource pool).
Regarding claim 15, Panteleev further teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to receive a control information (abstract: the UE is to decode SCI (sidelink control information) from a second UE via PSCCH).
Regarding claim 16, Panteleev further teaches wherein the sidelink communication is a new radio, NR, sidelink communication (abstract: the UE for NR (new radio) V2X sidelink communication).
Regarding claim 17, Panteleev further teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a new radio, NR, sidelink mode 1 or mode 2 (para 94: techniques discussed herein below relate to HARQ feedback in Mode-1, the HARQ feedback on sidelink follows a common procedure with Mode-2 UEs; abstract: to configure the UE for NR V2X sidelink communication, decode SCI received from a second UE via a PSCCH, the SCI indicating sidelink resources from a sidelink resource pool reserved by the second UE, a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool; here, the devices sharing and determining resources without base station is considered as NR sidelink mode 2).
Regarding claim 20, Panteleev in view of Wengerter teach the transceiver according to claim 1.
Panteleev further teaches vulnerable road user equipment, VRU-UE (abstract: the UE for NR V2X sidelink communication), comprising a transceiver according to claim 1 (abstract: a set of candidate sidelink resources is determined for reservation by the UE from the sidelink resource pool).
Claims 2, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belleschi et al. (US 20210219320) in view of Wengerter et al. (US 20090219870)
Regarding claim 2, Belleschi teaches transceiver of a wireless communication network (UE1-3, fig 3, D2D radio transmission and resource configuration), the transceiver being configured to communicate in a sidelink communication (D2D radio transmission as shown in fig 1-3);
wherein the transceiver is configured to select, for said sidelink communication, candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink communication (para 53: the selection of the second set of candidate resources by the third UE 40 may be accomplished in a similar manner as the selection of the first set of candidate resources by the first UE 20, e.g., based on sensing of the resource pool) by use of a radio resource selection strategy (para 35: for UEs with limited capabilities, a partial-sensing procedure and/or a random resource selection procedure may be used, in the partial-sensing procedure, the UE senses only a subset of the resources within the sensing time window, in the random resource selection procedure, the UE selects the resources in a random manner without using any sensing process); and
characterized in that (ii) partial sensing is performed (para 56: block 304, the second UE 30 performs sensing of the resource pool. At least a part of the sensing may be performed in response to receiving the SCI 302 and the SCI 303);
wherein in case of using of radio resource selection based on partial sensing the adaption of a radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption with regard to at least one parameter out of resource pool (as described with respect to fig 3 and para 49-60, the first UE performs sensing and selects first set of candidate resources, informs second UE, the third UE selects second set of candidate resources, informs second UE, and the second UE performs sensing based on received information and provides status of the candidate resources to the first and third UE; thus, the sensing based resource selection strategy is adapted with regards to resource pool).
Belleschi teaches sensing based resource selection by sidelink UE based on control information from the other UEs indicating sidelink resource pool reserved by the other UEs. The reference teaches the radio resource selection adaptation based on resource pool parameter. However, the reference does not teach the resource selection strategy being adapted based on a parameter. Wengerter is directed to dynamic resource block selection (abstract, step 110, fig 8).
Wengerter further teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to adapt a radio resource selection strategy dependent at least one parameter out of: QoS or priority of the packet to be transmitted (para 71: the transmitter receives feedback information from the receiver on the transmitted data packets, such as acknowledgements or non-acknowledgements messages or a quality of channel information, based on the feedback message, the transmitter may adapt or alter the selection strategy carried out in step 110 on the resource block candidates for the next transmission, in an ARQ system, the next transmission may be a retransmission step of at least a part of the previously transmitted data packet; here, the feedback for retransmission is considered as QoS or priority of packets to be transmitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensing based sidelink resource selection as taught by Belleschi with adapting resource selection strategy based on feedback as taught by Wengerter for the benefit of providing improved communication system as taught by Wengerter in para 46.
Regarding claim 22, Belleschi teaches method for communicate in a sidelink communication using a transceiver of a wireless communication network (fig 3, method for D2D radio transmission and resource configuration; UE1-3, fig 3), the method comprising:
selecting, for said sidelink communication, candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink communication (para 53: the selection of the second set of candidate resources by the third UE 40 may be accomplished in a similar manner as the selection of the first set of candidate resources by the first UE 20, e.g., based on sensing of the resource pool) by use of a radio resource selection strategy (para 35: for UEs with limited capabilities, a partial-sensing procedure and/or a random resource selection procedure may be used, in the partial-sensing procedure, the UE senses only a subset of the resources within the sensing time window, in the random resource selection procedure, the UE selects the resources in a random manner without using any sensing process); and
characterized in that (ii) partial sensing is performed (para 56: block 304, the second UE 30 performs sensing of the resource pool. At least a part of the sensing may be performed in response to receiving the SCI 302 and the SCI 303); and
in that the wherein in case of using of radio resource selection based on partial sensing the adaption of a radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption with regard to at least one parameter out of resource pool (as described with respect to fig 3 and para 49-60, the first UE performs sensing and selects first set of candidate resources, informs second UE, the third UE selects second set of candidate resources, informs second UE, and the second UE performs sensing based on received information and provides status of the candidate resources to the first and third UE; thus, the sensing based resource selection strategy is adapted with regards to resource pool).
Belleschi teaches sensing based resource selection by sidelink UE based on control information from the other UEs indicating sidelink resource pool reserved by the other UEs. The reference teaches the radio resource selection adaptation based on resource pool parameter. However, the reference does not teach the resource selection strategy being adapted based on a parameter. Wengerter is directed to dynamic resource block selection (abstract, step 110, fig 8).
Wengerter further teaches adapting a radio resource selection strategy dependent at least one parameter out of: QoS or priority of the packet to be transmitted (para 71: the transmitter receives feedback information from the receiver on the transmitted data packets, such as acknowledgements or non-acknowledgements messages or a quality of channel information, based on the feedback message, the transmitter may adapt or alter the selection strategy carried out in step 110 on the resource block candidates for the next transmission, in an ARQ system, the next transmission may be a retransmission step of at least a part of the previously transmitted data packet; here, the feedback for retransmission is considered as QoS or priority of packets to be transmitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sensing based sidelink resource selection as taught by Belleschi with adapting resource selection strategy based on feedback as taught by Wengerter for the benefit of providing improved communication system as taught by Wengerter in para 46.
Claims 7, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteleev et al. (US 20210127364) in view of Wengerter et al. (US 20090219870) in further view of Belleschi et al. (US 20210219320)
Regarding claim 7, Panteleev in view of Wengerter teach the limitations of the parent claim.
The references teach random sidelink resource selection, but does not specify the random selection without sensing. Belleschi is directed to sensing based radio resource selection and D2D transmission.
Belleschi further teaches wherein the selected and/or adapted resource selection strategy is out of the group comprising: Random selection of candidates resources without partial sensing or sensing (para 35: for UEs with limited capabilities, a random resource selection procedure may be used, in the random resource selection procedure, the UE selects the resources in a random manner without using any sensing process). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev in view of Wengerter with random resource selection without sensing as taught by Belleschi for the benefit of efficiently allocating radio resources for D2D radio communications as taught by Belleschi in para 5.
Regarding claim 9, Panteleev in view of Wengerter fails to teach, but Belleschi further teaches wherein in case of using of radio resource selection based on partial sensing the adaption of the radio resource selection strategy comprises an adaption with regard to resource pool (as described with respect to fig 3 and para 49-60, the first UE performs sensing and selects first set of candidate resources, informs second UE, the third UE selects second set of candidate resources, informs second UE, and the second UE performs sensing based on received information and provides status of the candidate resources to the first and third UE; thus, the sensing based resource selection strategy is adapted with regards to resource pool). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev in view of Wengerter with sensing based resource selection as taught by Belleschi for the benefit of efficiently allocating radio resources for D2D radio communications as taught by Belleschi in para 5.
Regarding claim 19, Panteleev in view of Wengerter fails to teach, but Belleschi further teaches wherein the radio resource selection strategy comprises a partial sensing, where sensing is performed during sensing occasions (para 35: for UEs with limited capabilities, a partial-sensing procedure and/or a random resource selection procedure may be used, in the partial-sensing procedure, the UE senses only a subset of the resources within the sensing time window). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev in view of Wengerter with sensing based resource selection as taught by Belleschi for the benefit of efficiently allocating radio resources for D2D radio communications as taught by Belleschi in para 5.
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteleev et al. (US 20210127364) in view of Wengerter et al. (US 20090219870) in further view of Lee et al. (US 20210168861)
Regarding claim 18, Panteleev in view of Wengerter teach the limitations of the parent claim.
The references teach UE in sidelink, but does not specify the device is battery operated. Lee is directed to occupying resources in NR V2X sidelink.
Lee further teaches wherein the transceiver is battery operated (fig 26, additional components 140 include power unit/ battery; para 247; fig 28, power supply units 140a/b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink resource selection as taught by Panteleev in view of Wengerter with resource allocation for battery operated device as taught by Lee for the benefit of a user equipment (UE) efficiently occupying resources in sidelink communication as taught by Lee in para 22.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 7/9/2026