DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-15 are presented for examination based on the amendment filed on 07/31/2026.
Following applicants’ amendment to the drawing, the objected to the drawing under 37 CFR 1.83(a). is Withdrawn.
Based on the newly amended claim, new 103 rejection is made.
Claims 1-2, 4,5, 7- 9, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Zhenhua, et al. "Terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the double-split ring resonator metasurface." SN Applied Sciences 3.9 (2021), in the view of Wang, Shen-Yun, et al. "Polarization insensitive cross-polarization converter." IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69.8 (2021): 4670-4680 in the view of Ejaz , Tahir. "Optimization of Spit-Ring and Split-Ball Resonators for Effective Permittivity and Volume Fraction Extraction." National University of Science & Technology: Islamabad, Pakistan (2017) further in the view of Algaba Brazalez;(US 12506275 B2).
Claims 3, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Zhenhua, et al. "Terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the double-split ring resonator metasurface." SN Applied Sciences 3.9 (2021), in the view of Wang, Shen-Yun, et al. "Polarization insensitive cross-polarization converter." IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69.8 (2021): 4670-4680 in the view of Ejaz, Tahir. "Optimization of Spit-Ring and Split-Ball Resonators for Effective Permittivity and Volume Fraction Extraction." National University of Science & Technology: Islamabad, Pakistan (2017) further in the view of Algaba Brazalez;(US 12506275 B2), further in the view of Al-Naib (US 20200371022 A1) further in the view of ZHONG, Ren-bin (CN 111929271 A).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Zhenhua, et al. "Terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the double-split ring resonator metasurface." SN Applied Sciences 3.9 (2021), in the view of Wang, Shen-Yun, et al. "Polarization insensitive cross-polarization converter." IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69.8 (2021): 4670-4680 in the view of Ejaz, Tahir. "Optimization of Spit-Ring and Split-Ball Resonators for Effective Permittivity and Volume Fraction Extraction." National University of Science & Technology: Islamabad, Pakistan (2017) further in the view of Algaba Brazalez;(US 12506275 B2) further in the view of Rohan, Cameron, Jacques Audet, and Adrian Keating. "Small split-ring resonators as efficient antennas for remote lora loT systems-A path to reduce physical interference." Sensors 21.23 (2021).
This action is final rejection.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.202221034377, filed on 06/16/2022.
Response to Arguments
Following applicants’ amendment to the drawing, the objected to the drawing under 37 CFR 1.83(a). is Withdrawn.
Applicants Argument: Applicant’s arguments directed the 103 rejections are based on newly amended subject matter.
Examiner’s Response: All arguments are addressed in the 103 rejections of the claims below.
Applicants’ argument: Regarding claim 1,8, and 15, Neither Xu nor Wang discloses or suggests such explicit parameter-to-parameter derivation within a sequential tuning framework and instead relies on general parameter selection or optimization through simulation. Further on Ejaz does not teach calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, based on the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer" and " obtaining a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer, and calculating successive value of the inner radius by subtracting the successive value of width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer.
Examinations response: The examiner disagrees, based on the amended claim , there is additional limitation of step V, is introduced, and based on this amendment and change in scope, Ejaz teaches computing of outer radius of the top layer as outer radius = inner radius + width, while this mathematical expression can also be written as width = outer radius – inner radius or inner radius = outer radius -width, so to support that Ejaz on page 35, as it is shown on fig. 3.1 and table 5.7 below ,
Page 67,
).
Outer radius can be computed by adding R0 and T, so on table 5.7, we can calculate the successive value of outer radius by adding the successive value of Ro and T. while T is interpreted as width and Ro is interpreted as outer radius, while based on the newly added limitation of claim step v, a new prior art of Algaba also teaches computing of width by subtracting inner radius from outer radius. Therefore, it is obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to compute the successive value of inner and outer radius based on Ejaz’s successive parameter values and Algaba’s simple mathematical formula. Generally, the newly combined model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz-Algaba makes obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform a step by step turning and See 103 rejection bellow for more.
Applicants’ argument: regarding claims 3 and 10: Al-Nab does not explicitly define sensitivity as a quantitative measure of resonance frequency shift per unit refractive index change, nor does it define figure-of-merit as a ratio of sensitivity to 3 -dB bandwidth.
Examiners argument: examiner agree that Al-Nab does not explicitly define sensitivity and FoM as it is recited on the amended claim, but this newly introduced on the amended claim, so a new reference of Zhong is recited and it teaches sensitivity as change in resonance frequence / change in refractive index and FoM as FOM=S/FWHM on page 5-6 of Zhong. See 103 rejections below on claim 3 and 10 for more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4,5, 7, 8-9, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Zhenhua, et al. "Terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the double-split ring resonator metasurface." SN Applied Sciences 3.9 (2021), in the view of Wang, Shen-Yun, et al. "Polarization insensitive cross-polarization converter." IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69.8 (2021): 4670-4680 in the view of Ejaz , Tahir. "Optimization of Spit-Ring and Split-Ball Resonators for Effective Permittivity and Volume Fraction Extraction." National University of Science & Technology: Islamabad, Pakistan (2017) further in the view of Algaba Brazalez;(US 12506275 B2).
As of claim 1, Xu teaches a processor-implemented method for designing an optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, comprising the steps of (introduction, Our focus here is the polarization converter, which is a device that can alter the polarization state of an electromagnetic (EM) wave... section 2.2, The three dimensional EM simulation software, CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite, was used to simulate this structure)
designing, via one or more hardware processors, a circular split-ring resonator (SRR) as a unit cell, having initial values of one or more key design parameters of the SRR, using a simulation model, wherein the SRR comprises a substrate layer sandwiched between a top layer and a bottom layer, and wherein the top layer comprises two capacitive gaps;(abstract, A terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the metasurface of a double-split ring resonator is proposed section 2.1, The designed polarization converter consists of three layers (Fig. 1): the top layer is a resonant ring array structure made of gold, the intermediate dielectric layer is made of silicon dioxide, [27, 28] and the bottom layer is a metal plate. The geometric parameters of the unit structure are: p = 100 µm, d1 = 0.2 µm, d2 = 44.5 µm, r1 = 34.5 µm, and r2 = 29.5 µm.
).
aligning, via the one or more hardware processors, the two capacitive gaps of the top layer, at 180 degrees with respect to each other and at 45 degrees with respect to X-axis and Y-axis (as shown on the figure 1, gap 1 and gap 2 are 180 degrees with respect to each other and at 45 degrees with respect to X-axis and Y-axis
).
step-by-step tuning, via the one or more hardware processors, the initial values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR, until an optimum frequency response is satisfied, to obtain the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter with optimal values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR (Abstract, The structural parameters of this device have been optimized in numerical simulations Section 2.1 The geometric parameters of the unit structure are: p = 100 µm, d1 = 0.2 µm, d2 = 44.5 µm, r1 = 34.5 µm, and r2 = 29.5 µm. The electric field of the incident terahertz Section 2.2 The three-dimensional EM simulation software, CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite, was used to simulate this structure).
Xu does not explicitly teach enable a cross-polarization conversion independent of a polarization direction of an incoming electromagnetic wave, wherein step by step tuning the initial values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR comprises.
randomly adjusting an initial value of the width of the top layer, to obtain a successive value of the width of the top layer, by fixing the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, by adding the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer
iteratively changing the thickness of the substrate layer
iteratively changing the width of each of two capacitive gaps of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer.
While Wang teaches enable a cross-polarization conversion independent of a polarization direction of an incoming electromagnetic wave (section iii (a), "Simulation results", As indicated in the figure, both the cross-polar transmission and co polar reflection curves are fully overlapped with various linear polarization azimuth, which indicates that the performance of both the signal filtering and cross-polarization conversion is also independent of the polarization azimuth of the incident wave).
Xu and Wang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since they focus on polarization convertor. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Xu teaching of optimal dual band metamaterial polarization converter of SRR design with Wang to make SRR design to enable a cross-polarization conversion independent of a polarization direction of an incoming electromagnetic wave.
The motivation would have been Simulating the surface current distribution of the polarization converter has enabled the polarization conversion mechanism of the converter to be analyzed so that its function can be understood better (Xu, conclusion), and the filtering and linear cross-polarization conversion performance keeps stable with an oblique incidence (Wang, conclusion).
The modified model of Xu and Wang does not explicitly teach step by step tuning the initial values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR comprises.
randomly adjusting an initial value of the width of the top layer, to obtain a successive value of the width of the top layer, by fixing the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, by adding the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer
iteratively changing the thickness of the substrate layer
iteratively changing the width of each of two capacitive gaps of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer.
While Ejaz teaches (i), randomly adjusting an initial value of the width of the top layer, to obtain a successive value of the width of the top layer, by fixing the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer (page 35,
Page 67,
).
Based on figure 3.1, inner radius is interpreted as Ro and width is interpreted as T, so on table 5.7, Ro kept fixed at for example 18mm while the width(T) is changing in the range of 8-12.
ii), calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, by adding the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer (page 35,
Page 67,
).
As is shown on Fig. 3.1, outer radius can be computed by adding R0 and T, so on table 5.7, we can calculate the successive value of outer radius by adding the successive value of Ro and T. while T is interpreted as width and Ro is interpreted as outer radius.
(iii), iteratively changing the thickness of the substrate layer (page 66,
), as it is shown on table 5.6, the shield height is considered as substrate thickness, and it is changing in each level.
iteratively changing the width of each of two capacitive gaps of the top layer; (page 43-44, For simulations shield height 𝐻 and thickness 𝑇were kept constant at 𝐻 = 42 mm and 𝑇 = 10 mm. In these simulations shield radius 𝑅0 was varied from 18 to 22 mm (1 mm increment), ball radius 𝑟0was varied from 13.5 to 15.5 mm (0.5 mm increment) and split gap 𝑡 had values form 1 to 3 mm (1 mm increment)
). As is shown in table 4.1, the value of the gap (t) is also changed by the range on 1-3.
Ejaz is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it focusses on SRR Modeling, Optimization and Designing. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply Ejaz's teaching iterative optimization on the modified model to optimize parameters.
The motivation would have been to create optimized parameters and design to design/develop SRR/SBR which can yield large variation in resonant frequency for small change in volume fraction of liquid mixture besides providing enough variation in Q factor. In order to obtain this goal, simulations and statistical tools have been utilized. Simulations provided identification of parameters which effect resonant frequency and Q factor (Ejaz, page 109).
The modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz does not explicitly teach (v), calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer.
While Algaba teaches calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer (Col.7 line 56-59 (31) FIG. 3 illustrates an example CSRR unit-cell 300. The CSRR unit-cell comprises an arcuate form aperture 310 with outer and inner radii R and r, respectively, i.e., the CSRR aperture width is R-r.
)
Algaba is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it teaches polarizing screen for altering a polarization state of a radio frequency waveform and SRR. Therefore, it would be obvious to try by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to calculate inner radius based on outer radius and width, since Algaba teaches computing of width from outer and inner radius as width = outer radius – inner radius, so based on this inner radius can also computed as, inner radius = outer radius -width , and the modified model teaches a successive value of SRR design parameters as it is cited above.
The motivation would have been by forming a unit-cells as complementary split ring resonators (CSRRs), with dimensions determined in dependence of the center frequency and/or the bandwidth of the radio frequency waveform, CSRRs helps to yield good performance and are also possible to manufacture in a cost-efficient manner for polarizing screen (Algaba, col.4 line 4-10).
Claim 8, is also in the same scope as claim 1 with additional elements which Xu also teaches a memory storing instructions; one or more input/output (I/O) interfaces; and one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory via the one or more I/O interfaces, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured by the instructions to(section 2.2, The three-dimensional EM simulation software, CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite, was used to simulate this structure). The simulation process is performed by CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite software, so it is obvious that this simulation is performed on a computer and a computer inherits a memory, an output interface like a display screen.
Therefore claim 8 is also rejected under the same rational as claim 1
As of claim 2, the modified model teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Xu also teaches checking, via the one or more hardware processors, a stability of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter using a parametric study, by varying the one or more key design parameters, within a predefined range.( Introduction: In this paper, a terahertz polarization converter based on the hyper surface of a double open resonant ring is described that achieves an efficient polarization conversion over a wide band in the terahertz region of frequencies. When both incidence and polarization angles change in a certain frequency range, the converter maintains a high polarization transformation that offers a certain value in applications).
Claim 9 is also in the same scope as claim 2, therefore claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2
As of claim 4, the modified model teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Xu also teaches
the substrate layer is made up of a di-electric material with a predefined dielectric constant;(section 2.1 intermediate dielectric layer is s made of silicon dioxide), the dielectric constant for silicon dioxide is a well-known value and it is listed at table 2 on (Robertson, John. "High dielectric constant oxides." The European Physical Journal-Applied Physics 28.3 (2004)).
the top layer and the bottom layer are made up of a metal; and (section 2.1 the top layer is a resonant ring array structure made of gold)
the bottom layer is a reflective layer (abstract, The coefficient of reflection for cross polarization is greater than 90% with a transmission loss of 1 dB. Section 2.1, bottom layer is a metal plate).
Claim 11 is also in the same scope as claim 4, therefore claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4
As of claim 5, the modified model of Xu- Wang- Ejaz- Algaba teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Xu also teaches wherein the one or more key design parameters of the SRR comprises: an inner radius of the top layer, an outer radius of the top layer, a width of the top layer:
).
r1 and r2 are interpreted as inner radius of the top layer, and outer radius of the top layer, and the width can be calculated from r1and r2 as well, since from the figure width = r1-r2.
Ejaz also teaches a thickness of the substrate layer, and a width of each of the two capacitive gaps of the top layer (page 43, For simulations shield height 𝐻 and thickness 𝑇 were kept constant at 𝐻 = 42 mm and 𝑇 = 10 mm. In these simulations shield radius 𝑅0 was varied from 18 to 22 mm (1 mm increment), ball radius 𝑟0was varied from 13.5 to 15.5 mm (0.5 mm increment) and split gap 𝑡 had values form 1 to 3 mm (1 mm increment)
).
Claim 12 is also in the same scope as claim 5, therefore claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
As of claim 7, the modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz-Algaba teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Xu also teaches wherein the optimum frequency response comprises a co-polar reflection coefficient close to zero and a cross-polar reflection coefficient close to 1, at resonant frequencies (Section 2.2 The reflection characteristics of the double opening resonant ring were simulated, and both coefficients of reflection ryx and rxx and the polarization conversion rate (PCR) were obtained (Fig. 2)
).
As shown on the figure co-polar reflection is mapped to Txx and cross polar reflection is mapped to Gyx.
Claim 14 is also in the same scope as claim 7, therefore claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Claims 3, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Zhenhua, et al. "Terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the double-split ring resonator metasurface." SN Applied Sciences 3.9 (2021), in the view of Wang, Shen-Yun, et al. "Polarization insensitive cross-polarization converter." IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69.8 (2021): 4670-4680 in the view of Ejaz , Tahir. "Optimization of Spit-Ring and Split-Ball Resonators for Effective Permittivity and Volume Fraction Extraction." National University of Science & Technology: Islamabad, Pakistan (2017) further in the view of Algaba Brazalez;(US 12506275 B2), further in the view of Al-Naib (US 20200371022 A1) further in the view of ZHONG, Ren-bin (CN 111929271 A).
As of claim 3, the modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz-Algaba teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Wang also teaches using an equivalent circuit model of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter (section ii (b), To verify the validity of the equivalent circuit model for the MVM module, we simulated the reflection and Page 12 transmission coefficients using the equivalent circuit model and full-wave simulator
).
The modified model does not explicitly teach introducing, via the one or more hardware processors, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values; and validating, via the one or more hardware processors, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics, wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Al-Naib teaches introducing, via the one or more hardware processors, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, ([0039], The top surface of the metamaterial is covered with a thin layer of analyte in order to examine various sensing parameters. The sensitivity and corresponding figure of merit (FoM) of the odd and even resonant modes are analyzed with respect to coated analyte films. In a non-limiting example, the analyte may be a thin film with a coating of a cancer biomolecule. In a further non-limiting example, the analyte may be a film coated with blood containing AIDS biomolecules. Alternatively, the analyte may be a layer of biomolecule material placed upon the sensing domain of the sensor and does not need to be placed on a film carrier. [0040], Upon applying an analyte to the sensor surface, the resonant frequency is red shifted due to the dielectric environment alteration. This shift of the resonance frequency is considered as a measure of the refractive index, which is related to the analyte type and its thickness), wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values([0062] As the refractive index of different biomolecule analytes ranges from 1.4 to 1.6 in DNA and 1.6 to 2.0 in RNA, an average value of the analyte refractive index of 1.6 was chosen for the purpose of the analysis).
validating, via the one or more hardware processors, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics, wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), ([0039], The top surface of the metamaterial is covered with a thin layer of analyte in order to examine various sensing parameters. The sensitivity and corresponding figure of merit (FoM) of the odd and even resonant modes are analyzed with respect to coated analyte films… ([0060] FIG. 7A, 7B illustrate a simulation using both the conventional normalization method with the ATSR and the ADRT with the ATSR. FIG. 7A shows that the use of the ATSR provides a clearer frequency separation than the conventional normalization method. Further, it is evident from FIG. 7B that the peak-to-peak amplitude difference using the ATSR and the ADRT with only 20% of the meta structural surface covered is almost 34%, while it was 37% when using the ADRT with conventional probe (see FIG. 3B(g) with the entire meta structural surface structure was covered with the analyte. In summary, the asymmetric triple split rectangular (ATSR) metamaterial biosensor with only 20% of the surface area covered with analyte performs comparably to the conventional biosensor fully covered with analyte).
Al-Naib is considered to be analogues to the claimed invention since it focus on metamaterial biosensor, and a method for biomolecule identification by terahertz sensing. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply Al-Naib's teaching of a target layer (analyte) sensing performance metrics determination into the modified model in order to detect the type of biomolecule with a high degree of accuracy and requires only small analyte samples with sub-micron thicknesses( Al Naib, abstract).
The modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz-Algaba-Al Naib does not explicitly teach wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Zhong teaches wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth (page 5- 6, when the refractive index n of the analysis layer is increased, the resonant frequency of the sensor occurs larger red shift. This can be explained by the equivalent circuit theory, the theory indicates that the equivalent capacitance C sensor of the analyte will increase with the increase of the refractive index n, so as to cause the reduction of the resonance frequency. sensitivity of the sensor is generally defined as S= △f0/ △n0, wherein △f0 is the offset of the resonant frequency, △n0 is the change rate of the refractive index n, the sensor obtains the ultra-high sensitivity is 1800GHz/RIU In addition, the quality factor (FOM) comprehensively considers sensitivity and absorption bandwidth, is a common parameter for evaluating the comprehensive performance of the sensor, the formula is defined as FOM=S/FWHM, wherein S is the sensitivity of the sensor. Obviously, for a certain S value, the smaller the 3dB bandwidth FWHM of the resonant frequency band is, the higher the FOM value can be achieved).
Zhong is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it teaches a terahertz metamaterial sensor, sensitivity S, and quality factor FOM value. Therefore it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to integrate Zhong’s teaching of computing sensitivity as a a ratio of a resonance frequency shift to unit change in RI and FoM as sensitivity / 3-dB bandwidth into the modified model to validate the shift response of optimal dual band metamaterial polarization converter based on sensitivity and FoM.
The motivation would have been by computing sensitivity and FoM it helps to design terahertz sensor of meta-material by making the size smaller, which is more beneficial for the integration of the device; at the same time, the super-material sensor in the terahertz frequency band has better performance in the sensing aspect (Zhong, page 4).
Claim 10 is also in the same scope as claim 3, therefore claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
As of claim 15, Xu teaches One or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums comprising one or more instructions which when executed by one or more hardware processors cause: (section 2.2, The three-dimensional EM simulation software, CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite, was used to simulate this structure). The simulation process is performed by CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite software, so it is obvious that this simulation is performed on a computer and a computer inherits a memory.
designing, a circular split-ring resonator (SRR) as a unit cell, having initial values of one or more key design parameters of the SRR, using a simulation model, wherein the SRR comprises a substrate layer sandwiched between a top layer and a bottom layer, and wherein the top layer comprises two capacitive gaps;(abstract, A terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the metasurface of a double-split ring resonator is proposed section 2.1, The designed polarization converter consists of three layers (Fig. 1): the top layer is a resonant ring array structure made of gold, the intermediate dielectric layer is made of silicon dioxide, [27, 28] and the bottom layer is a metal plate. The geometric parameters of the unit structure are: p = 100 µm, d1 = 0.2 µm, d2 = 44.5 µm, M = 34.5 µm, and r2 = 29.5 µm
).
aligning, via the one or more hardware processors, the two capacitive gaps of the top layer, at 180 degrees with respect to each other and at 45 degrees with respect to X-axis and Y-axis (as shown on the figure 1, gap 1 and gap 2 are 180 degrees with respect to each other and at 45 degrees with respect to X-axis and Y-axis
).
step-by-step tuning, via the one or more hardware processors, the initial values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR, until an optimum frequency response is satisfied, to obtain the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter with optimal values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR (Abstract, The structural parameters of this device have been optimized in numerical simulations Section 2.1 The geometric parameters of the unit structure are: p = 100 µm, d1 = 0.2 µm, d2 = 44.5 µm, r1 = 34.5 µm, and r2 = 29.5 µm. The electric field of the incident terahertz Section 2.2 The three-dimensional EM simulation software, CST Micro- Wave Studio Suite, was used to simulate this structure).
checking, a stability of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter using a parametric study, by varying the one or more key design parameters, within a predefined range.( Introduction: In this paper, a terahertz polarization converter based on the hyper-surface of a double open resonant ring is described that achieves an efficient polarization conversion over a wide band in the terahertz region of frequencies. When both incidence and polarization angles change in a certain frequency range, the converter maintains a high polarization transformation that offers a certain value in applications).
Xu does not explicitly teach enable a cross-polarization conversion independent of a polarization direction of an incoming electromagnetic wave , wherein step by step tuning the initial values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR comprises.
randomly adjusting an initial value of the width of the top layer, to obtain a successive value of the width of the top layer, by fixing the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, by adding the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer
iteratively changing the thickness of the substrate layer
iteratively changing the width of each of two capacitive gaps of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer.
introducing, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values; and validating, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, using an equivalent circuit model of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics, wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Wang teaches enable a cross-polarization conversion independent of a polarization direction of an incoming electromagnetic wave (section iii (a), "Simulation results", As indicated in the figure, both the cross-polar transmission and CO polar reflection curves are fully overlapped with various linear polarization azimuth, which indicates that the performance of both the signal filtering and cross-polarization conversion is also independent of the polarization azimuth of the incident wave). Wang also teaches using an equivalent circuit model of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter (section ii (b), To verify the validity of the equivalent circuit model for the MVM module, we simulated the reflection and transmission coefficients using the equivalent circuit model and full-wave simulator
).
Xu and Wang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since they focus on polarization convertor. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Xu teaching of optimal dual band metamaterial polarization converter of SRR design with Wang to make SRR design to enable a cross-polarization conversion independent of a polarization direction of an incoming electromagnetic wave.
The motivation would have been Simulating the surface current distribution of the polarization converter has enabled the polarization conversion mechanism of the converter to be analyzed so that its function can be understood better (Xu, conclusion),and the filtering and linear cross-polarization conversion performance keeps stable with an oblique incidence (Wang, conclusion).
The modified model of Xu- Wang does not explicitly teach wherein step by step tuning the initial values of the one or more key design parameters of the SRR comprises.
randomly adjusting an initial value of the width of the top layer, to obtain a successive value of the width of the top layer, by fixing the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, by adding the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer
iteratively changing the thickness of the substrate layer
iteratively changing the width of each of two capacitive gaps of the top layer.
calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer.
introducing, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values; and validating, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics, wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Ejaz teaches (i), randomly adjusting an initial value of the width of the top layer, to obtain a successive value of the width of the top layer, by fixing the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer (page 35,
Page 67,
).
Based on figure 3.1, inner radius is interpreted as Ro and width is interpreted as T, so on table 5.7, Ro kept fixed at for example 18mm while the width(T) is changing in the range of 8-12.
ii), calculating a successive value of the outer radius of the top layer, by adding the initial value of the inner radius of the top layer and the successive value of the width of the top layer ( (page 35,
Page 67,
).
As it is shown on the Fig. 3.1, outer radius can be computed by adding R0 and T, so on table 5.7, we can calculate the successive value of outer radius by adding the successive value of Ro and T. while T is interpreted as width and Ro is interpreted as outer radius.
(iii), iteratively changing the thickness of the substrate layer (page 66,
), as it is shown on table 5.6, the shield height is considered as substrate thickness and it is changing in each level.
iteratively changing the width of each of two capacitive gaps of the top layer; (page 43-44, For simulations shield height 𝐻 and thickness 𝑇were kept constant at 𝐻 = 42 mm and 𝑇 = 10 mm. In these simulations shield radius 𝑅0 was varied from 18 to 22 mm (1 mm increment), ball radius 𝑟0was varied from 13.5 to 15.5 mm (0.5 mm increment) and split gap 𝑡 had values form 1 to 3 mm (1 mm increment)
). As it is shown on table 4.1, the value of the gap (t) is also changed on the range on 1-3.
Ejaz is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it focus on SRR Modeling, Optimization and Designing. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply Ejaz's teaching iterative optimization on the modified model to optimize parameters.
The motivation would have been to create optimized parameters and design to design/develop SRR/SBR which can yield large variation in resonant frequency for small change in volume fraction of liquid mixture besides providing enough variation in Q factor. In order to obtain this goal, simulations and statistical tools have been utilized. Simulations provided identification of parameters which effect resonant frequency and Q factor (Ejaz, page 109).
The modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz does not explicitly teach (v), calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer: introducing, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values; and validating, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics, wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Algaba teaches calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer by subtracting the successive value of the width of the top layer from the successive value of the outer radius of the top layer (Col.7 line 56-59 (31) FIG. 3 illustrates an example CSRR unit-cell 300. The CSRR unit-cell comprises an arcuate form aperture 310 with outer and inner radii R and r, respectively, i.e., the CSRR aperture width is R-r.
)
Algaba is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it teaches polarizing screen for altering a polarization state of a radio frequency waveform and SRR. Therefore, it would be obvious to try by a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to calculate inner radius based on outer radius and width, since Algaba teaches computing of width from outer and inner radius as width = outer radius – inner radius, so based on this inner radius can also computed as, inner radius = outer radius -width , and the modified model teaches a successive value of SRR design parameters as it is cited above.
The motivation would have been by forming a unit-cells as complementary split ring resonators (CSRRs), with dimensions determined in dependence of the center frequency and/or the bandwidth of the radio frequency waveform, CSRRs helps to yield good performance and are also possible to manufacture in a cost-efficient manner for polarizing screen (Algaba, col.4 line 4-10).
The modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz- Algaba does not explicitly teach : introducing, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values; and validating, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics, wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Al-Naib teaches introducing, a target layer on the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, to calculate one or more sensing performance metrics from a shifted response, ([0039], The top surface of the metamaterial is covered with a thin layer of analyte in order to examine various sensing parameters. The sensitivity and corresponding figure of merit (FoM) of the odd and even resonant modes are analyzed with respect to coated analyte films. In a non-limiting example, the analyte may be a thin film with a coating of a cancer biomolecule. In a further non-limiting example, the analyte may be a film coated with blood containing AIDS biomolecules. Alternatively, the analyte may be a layer of biomolecule material placed upon the sensing domain of the sensor and does not need to be placed on a film carrier [0040], upon applying an analyte to the sensor surface, the resonant frequency is red shifted due to the dielectric environment alteration. This shift of the resonance frequency is considered as a measure of the refractive index, which is related to the analyte type and its thickness), wherein the target layer comprises a plurality of samples with varying refractive index (RI) values([0062] As the refractive index of different biomolecule analytes ranges from 1.4 to 1.6 in DNA and 1.6 to 2.0 in RNA, an average value of the analyte refractive index of 1.6 was chosen for the purpose of the analysis).
validating, the shifted response of the optimal dual-band metamaterial polarization converter, based on the calculated one or more sensing performance metrics wherein the one or more sensing performance metrices includes a sensitivity and a figure of metric (FoM), ([0039], The top surface of the metamaterial is covered with a thin layer of analyte in order to examine various sensing parameters. The sensitivity and corresponding figure of merit (FoM) of the odd and even resonant modes are analyzed with respect to coated analyte films… ([0060] FIG. 7A, 7B illustrates a simulation using both the conventional normalization method with the ATSR and the ADRT with the ATSR. FIG. 7A shows that the use of the ATSR provides a clearer frequency separation than the conventional normalization method. Further, it is evident from FIG. 7B that the peak-to-peak amplitude difference using the ATSR and the ADRT with only 20% of the meta structural surface covered is almost 34%, while it was 37% when using the ADRT with conventional probe (see FIG. 3B(g) with the entire meta structural surface structure was covered with the analyte. In summary, the asymmetric triple split rectangular (ATSR) metamaterial biosensor with only 20% of the surface area covered with analyte performs comparably to the conventional biosensor fully covered with analyte).
Al-Naib is considered to be analogues to the claimed invention since it focusses on metamaterial biosensor, and a method for biomolecule identification by terahertz sensing. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply Al-Naib's teaching of a target layer (analyte) sensing performance metrics determination into the modified model in order to detect the type of biomolecule with a high degree of accuracy and requires only small analyte samples with sub-micron thicknesses( Al Naib, abstract).
The modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz-Algaba-Al Naib does not explicitly teach wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth.
While Zhong teaches wherein the sensitivity (S) is defined as a resonance frequency shift due to unit change in the RI of a surrounding medium, wherein the FoM is defined as ration of the sensitivity(s) to 3-dB bandwidth (page 5- 6, when the refractive index n of the analysis layer is increased, the resonant frequency of the sensor occurs larger red shift. This can be explained by the equivalent circuit theory, the theory indicates that the equivalent capacitance C sensor of the analyte will increase with the increase of the refractive index n, so as to cause the reduction of the resonance frequency. sensitivity of the sensor is generally defined as S= △f0/ △n0, wherein △f0 is the offset of the resonant frequency, △n0 is the change rate of the refractive index n, the sensor obtains the ultra-high sensitivity is 1800GHz/RIU In addition, the quality factor (FOM) comprehensively considers sensitivity and absorption bandwidth, is a common parameter for evaluating the comprehensive performance of the sensor, the formula is defined as FOM=S/FWHM, wherein S is the sensitivity of the sensor. Obviously, for a certain S value, the smaller the 3dB bandwidth FWHM of the resonant frequency band is, the higher the FOM value can be achieved).
Zhong is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since it teaches a terahertz metamaterial sensor, sensitivity S, and quality factor FOM value. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to integrate Zhong’s teaching of computing sensitivity as a ratio of a resonance frequency shift to unit change in RI and FoM as sensitivity / 3-dB bandwidth into the modified model to validate the shift response of optimal dual band metamaterial polarization converter based on sensitivity and FoM.
The motivation would have been by computing sensitivity and FoM helps to design terahertz sensors of meta-material by making the size smaller, which is more beneficial for the integration of the device; at the same time, the super-material sensor in the terahertz frequency band has better performance in the sensing aspect (Zhong, page 4).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Zhenhua, et al. "Terahertz broadband polarization converter based on the double-split ring resonator metasurface." SN Applied Sciences 3.9 (2021), in the view of Wang, Shen-Yun, et al. "Polarization insensitive cross-polarization converter." IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation 69.8 (2021): 4670-4680 in the view of Ejaz, Tahir. "Optimization of Spit-Ring and Split-Ball Resonators for Effective Permittivity and Volume Fraction Extraction." National University of Science & Technology: Islamabad, Pakistan (2017) further in the view of Algaba Brazalez;(US 12506275 B2) further in the view of Rohan, Cameron, Jacques Audet, and Adrian Keating. "Small split-ring resonators as efficient antennas for remote lora loT systems-A path to reduce physical interference." Sensors 21.23 (2021).
As of claim 6, the modified model of Xu-Wang-Ejaz-Algaba teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Algaba teaches calculating a successive value of the inner radius of the top layer as it is cited on claim 1, and Ejaz also teaches repeating the steps (i) through (v) (page 66, Furthermore, deviations in resonant frequency and Q factor for each of these designs had to be determined for ranges of real and imaginary parts of permittivity as discussed above. Solution therefore required a very large number of iterative simulations), and Xu also teaches design of the optimal dual band metamaterial polarization converter is obtained (section 5, A wide-band polarization converter based on a double open resonant ring was designed and simulated, and its
polarization conversion mechanism was analyzed both theoretically and numerically. The simulation results show that the polarization conversion rate is greater than 80% within the range 0.49–1.88 THz (bandwidth of 1.39 THz). The structure exhibits a good polarization conversion performance for incident angles between 0 and 20°; the polarization angle ranges from− 10 to 10°. Simulating the current distribution of the polarization converter has enabled the polarization conversion mechanism of the
converter to be analyzed so that its function can be understood better).
The modified model does not explicitly teach considering the successive value of the width of the top layer as the initial value and the successive value of the inner radius of the top layer as the initial value, until the optimum frequency response is satisfied.
While Rohan teaches considering the successive value of the width of the top layer as the initial value and the successive value of the inner radius of the to layer as the initial value, until the optimum frequency response is satisfied (
) The targeted frequency at each design was 433 and 915 MHz and it continuous the process until the frequency is satisfied, trace width and external radius are mapped to the width of the top layer, and used as initial value for the next design, mean radius is also mapped with inner radius.
Rohan is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, since it focusses on split ring resonator (SRR) design. Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before filling date to integrate Rohan's teaching of determining optimum frequency on the modified model by iteratively changing the parameters of SRR model.
The motivation would have been to create an improved SRR design by performing uncertainty analysis to identify the effect of various geometric and physical parameters on the resonant frequency (Rohan, conclusion)
Claim 13 is also in the same scope as claim 6, therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JIN, Biao-bing (CN 105870315 A, Date Published 2016-08-17) this application is also similar to the claimed invention since it teaches polarization sensitivity including silicon substrate, reflection layer, silicon dioxide medium in, NbN nano wire and coupled anti-symmetrical split ring resonator, comprising the following from bottom to top in turn for the silicon substrate, reflection layer, silicon dioxide medium in and coupled anti-symmetrical split ring resonator.
Dong: Liang (US 11011282 B1, Date Published, 2021-05-18) is similar to the claimed invention since it teaches meta-materials including SRR with design parameters including outer radius, inner radius and width. It also shows diagrammatic illustrations of simulations of resonance frequency change.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABRHAM ALEHEGN TAMIRU/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188