DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 04/29/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 01/30/2026, Applicant has amended claim 1 and added new claim 16.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claim 1, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 01/30/2026 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (JP 2020-026506 A) (refer to online translation as provided) in view of Amano (JP 2007-227717 A) (refer to online translation as provided).
Regarding claims, 1, 6 and 8, Yamada discloses an organic light-emitting device (paragraphs [0049], [0063] -[0064], [0066], [0080], [0083], [0091] - [0092], [0096] - [0097], [0118] - [0120], [0122], [0173] - [0178], [0180] - [0181], and Fig. 1), comprising, in sequence:
at least an anode 21 (" anode "),
a first light emitting layer ("first light emitting layer "),
a second light emitting layer (" second light emitting layer"), and
a cathode 23 (" cathode ") in this order,
wherein the first light emitting layer includes only a first host ("first host”) made of EM11, a first guest ("first guest that emits fluorescent light ") made of C2, which is a red light emitting material, and a third guest made of GD9, which is a green light emitting material, and
wherein the second light emitting layer includes a second host ("second host") made of EM11. Only a second guest ("second guest that emits fluorescent light") made of BD6, which is a blue light-emitting material, is included, the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer do not include an amine compound, the first host and the second host are hydrocarbon compounds composed only of SP2 carbon.
However, Yamada does not disclose each of the first and second hosts has any of the claimed structures represented by formula [1] to [6].
Amano discloses an organic light emitting device (see paragraphs [0006] and [0054]- [0055]) wherein a host material is represented by General Formula [2]. Amano further discloses the host material represented by general formula (2). Amano further discloses an example of a compound (compound 69) that can be represented by general formula 1. Compound 69
reads on instant claimed formula 1 in which A is a phenanthrene residue, and C is an anthracene residue with A is further substituted with phenyl groups.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used host material of Amano to form the form the light emitting layer of Yamada such that allow for a device with superior stability, as taught by Amano (see Abstract).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used host material of Amano to form the form the light emitting layer of Yamada because The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 7, Yamada further discloses that D1 is used as a guest material that emits red light and has a higher sublimation property than C2 ([0063] - [0064], [0068], [0074], and [0181]). Thus, a person skilled in the art could have easily conceived of obtaining the configuration of the invention according to Claim 2 by using D1 instead of C2 in consideration of the sublimability of the guest material that emits red light.
Regarding claim 4, Yamada further discloses that the film thickness of the first light emitting layer is the same as the film thickness of the second light emitting layer ([0178] and [0180]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada further discloses that
Regarding claim 5, Yamada further discloses that the concentration of the guest is 0.01 wt% or more and 20 wt% or less with respect to the entire light emitting layer ([0081]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada further discloses that the emission color of the organic
light emitting element may be white ([0084]).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada discloses the organic light emitting element is used as a pixel and the display device 10 is configured by using a switching element using a transistor further discloses that ([0101], [0109], [0118] - [0123] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yamada discloses an organic light emitting element is used in a display unit of an imaging device having an optical unit having a plurality of lenses, an imaging
element that receives light passing through the optical unit, and a display unit that displays information acquired by the imaging element ([0118], [0127] - [0128] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada further discloses that an organic light emitting element is used for a display unit of an electronic device having a display unit, a housing provided with the display unit, and a communication unit ([0118], [0134] and Fig. 3 (b))
Regarding claim 13, Yamada further discloses that an organic light emitting element is used as a light source of a lighting device having a light source and an optical filter that transmits light emitted from the light source ([0139] and Fig. 5 (a)).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada further discloses that an organic light emitting element is used for a tail lamp of an automobile provided with a tail lamp ([0142] - [0143] and Fig. 5 (b)).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada further discloses that an organic light emitting element is used in a viewfinder of a digital camera having a viewfinder ([0128] - [0129] and Fig. 3 (a)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Amano discloses the host compound is represented by formula 2
(see also compounds 41-88), and thus one of A and C will always be an anthracene residue. However, claims 16 precludes A or C being anthracene residues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
Applicant argues that Yamada as modified by Amano fails to disclose the host compound represented by a compound having a structure represented by claimed formula 1 to 6.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Amano discloses an organic light emitting device (see paragraphs [0006] and [0054]- [0055]) wherein a host material is represented by General Formula [2]. Amano further discloses the host material represented by general formula (2). Amano further discloses an example of a compound (compound 69) that can be represented by general formula 1. Compound 69
reads on instant claimed formula 1 in which A is a phenanthrene residue, and C is an anthracene residue with A is further substituted with phenyl groups.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721