Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 7/1/25, the Applicant amended claims 1, 10, canceled claims 21-24, added Claims 25-28 and argued previously rejected claims in the Office Actioned dated 12/4/24. Claims 1, 2, 7-11, 16-20 and 25-28 are pending examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/1/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 7-11, 16-20 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., United States Patent Publication 2017/0220619 (hereinafter “Zheng”), in view of Hao et al., United States Patent No 5742778 (hereinafter “Hao”), in further view of Lu et al., United States Patent Publication 2022/0417417 (hereinafter “Lu”).
Claim 1:
Zheng discloses:
An interface display method performed by an electronic device (see paragraphs [0039]-[0042]). Zheng teaches an interface display performed on an electronic device, comprising:
displaying a first interface of a first application (see paragraph [0039]-[0042]). Zheng teaches displaying a first interface of a first application such as booking airline tickets,
the first interface and the second interface each comprise a non-repeatable-read target operation transaction (see paragraphs [0039] and [0043]). Zheng teaches a non-repeatable-read target operations of the first and second interfaces of the online booking system;
receiving a first input by a user (see paragraph [0039]). Zheng teaches a user performing multiple transactions concurrently ; and
displaying the second interface in response to the first input (see paragraph [0043]). Zheng teaches displaying the interface in response to the user performing concurrent operations on online book system,
wherein the target operation transaction comprised in at least one of the first interface or the second interface is in a locked state (see paragraph [0045]). Zheng teaches the target operation transaction in one of the interfaces is in a locked state.
wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the second interface is closed, switching the target operation transaction on the first interface from the locked state to an active state; or in a case that a third input on the first sign is received, canceling the display of the first sign and switching the target operation transaction on the first interface from the locked state to an active state (see paragraphs [0047]-[0053]). Zheng teaches switching the target operation transaction on the interface from locked to active based on ending the lock.
receiving a fourth input for the target operation transaction; and in a case that the target operation transaction is in the active state, performing, in response to the fourth input, an operation corresponding to the target operation transaction; or in a case that the target operation transaction is in the locked state, skipping responding to the fourth input (see paragraph [0051]-[0053]). Zheng teaches an input is received from the user to interact with the target operation transaction. Zheng also teaches instances where the target operation transaction is in the active state and based on the input, the transaction can be completed.
Zheng fails to expressly disclose a first sign on a user interface of another user interface.
Hao discloses:
displaying a first interface of a first application and a first sign (see figure 6). Hao teaches displaying an interface of an application and a first sign such as the buttons;
wherein the first sign is used to indicate a second interface (see figure 6). Hao teaches the selectable buttons indicate other interfaces, and
receiving a first input by a user on the first sign (see figure 6; column 7 lines 55-67). Hao teaches receiving a first input by the user by selecting the sign;
displaying the second interface in response to the first input (see figure 6; column 7 lines 55-67). Hao teaches displaying other interfaces based on the selection;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng to include a first sign/toggle button to switch between interfaces/resources for the purpose of avoiding the duplication of resources between user interfaces (see column 2 lines 33-38), as taught by Hao.
Lu discloses:
receiving a specified input to the electronic device; updating the first sign to a third sign in response to the specified input (see paragraph [0094]). Lu teaches when the user clicks the setting entry, the user can enter the setting interface. In the setting interface, there are multiple candidate shortcut operation controls, the user may choose whether to display the shortcut operation controls on the perimeter of the target thumbnail. The user has options of updating the signs;
receiving a ninth input on the third sign (see paragraphs [0094] and [0095]). Lu teaches receiving an input to select the interface thumbnail and navigating to the target interface; and
updating the first interface to a fourth interface in response to the ninth input, wherein the fourth interface is an interface comprising a latest target operation transaction, and the interface comprising the latest target operation transaction is a last interface comprising the target operation transaction opened by the user (see paragraph [0095]). Lu teaches for different target content, the user may set different shortcut operation controls. For example, when the target content is a photo, the user may set the corresponding shortcut operation control as: sharing control, image identification control, image editing control, etc.; when the target content is a video, the user may set the corresponding shortcut operation control as: short video sharing applications, short video production controls, etc. This is the latest target operation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng and Hao to include a setting to set a thumbnail for the target interface for the purpose of efficiently creating interface shortcuts, as taught by Lu.
Claim 2:
Zheng discloses:
wherein the displaying a first interface of a first application comprises:
receiving a second input in a case that the second interface of the first application is displayed (see paragraph [0043]). Zheng teaches displaying the interface in response to the user performing concurrent operations on online book system; and
in response to the second input, buffering resources corresponding to the second interface, and displaying the first interface of the first application (see paragraphs [0045]-[0050]). Zheng teaches buffering resources such as prevent a user's transaction from being interfered by another transaction during an execution process, so as to avoid causing data inconsistency. According to locking, a transaction has a particular control capability over data to be operated upon by the transaction.; and the
displaying the second interface in response to the first input comprises (see paragraph [0043]). Zheng teaches displaying the interface in response to the user performing concurrent operations:
in response to the first input, displaying the second interface based on the buffered resources corresponding to the second interface (see paragraph [0044] and [0045]). Zheng teaches displaying the second transaction with buffered resources by prevent a user's transaction from being interfered by another transaction during an execution process.
Zheng fails to expressly disclose a first sign on a user interface of another user interface.
Hao discloses:
displaying a first interface of a first application and a first sign (see figure 6). Hao teaches displaying an interface of an application and a first sign such as the buttons;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng to include a first sign/toggle button to switch between interfaces/resources for the purpose of avoiding the duplication of resources between user interfaces (see column 2 lines 33-38), as taught by Hao.
Claim 7:
Zhen and Hao fail to expressly disclose setting an interface thumbnail to the interfaces.
Lu discloses:
wherein the first sign is used to indicate at least one target interface, the at least one target interface comprising the second interface (see paragraph [0094]). Lu teaches the sign will indicate a target interface which can be set to comprise a second interface; and
the displaying the second interface in response to the first input comprises: displaying a setting interface in response to the first input, the setting interface comprising an interface thumbnail of each target interface (see paragraph [0094]). Lu teaches displaying a setting interface to set an interface thumbnail for the target interface;
receiving a sixth input by the user on an interface thumbnail of the second interface; and displaying the second interface in response to the sixth input (see paragraphs [0094] and [0095]). Lu teaches receiving an input to select the interface thumbnail and navigating to the target interface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng and Hao to include a setting to set a thumbnail for the target interface for the purpose of efficiently creating interface shortcuts, as taught by Lu.
Claim 8:
Zhen and Hao fail to expressly disclose setting an interface thumbnail to the interfaces.
Lu discloses:
wherein the setting interface comprises a target control, and after the displaying a setting interface (see paragraph [0094]). Lu teaches displaying a setting interface to set an interface thumbnail for the target interface, the method further comprises:
receiving a seventh input by the user on the target control; and adding an interface thumbnail to the setting interface in response to the seventh input (see paragraphs [0094] and [0095]). Lu teaches receiving an input to select the interface thumbnail and adding the interface thumbnail to the display for selection.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng and Hao to include a setting to set a thumbnail for the target interface for the purpose of efficiently creating interface shortcuts, as taught by Lu.
Claim 9:
Hao discloses:
displaying a first interface of a first application and a first sign (see figure 6). Hao teaches displaying an interface of an application and a first sign such as the buttons;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng to include a first sign/toggle button to switch between interfaces/resources for the purpose of avoiding the duplication of resources between user interfaces (see column 2 lines 33-38), as taught by Hao.
Zhen and Hao fail to expressly disclose setting an interface thumbnail to the interfaces.
Lu discloses:
the method further comprises: updating the first sign to a second sign (see paragraph [0094]). Lu teaches when the user clicks the setting entry, the user can enter the setting interface. In the setting interface, there are multiple candidate shortcut operation controls, the user may choose whether to display the shortcut operation controls on the perimeter of the target thumbnail. The user has options of updating the signs;
receiving an eighth input by the user on the second sign (see paragraphs [0094] and [0095]). Lu teaches receiving an input to select the interface thumbnail and navigating to the target interface; and
closing a third interface in response to the eighth input (it is well known in the art for the user to perform a closing action on an interface);
wherein the third interface is an interface other than the first interface in the at least one target interface (see paragraph [0095]). Lu teaches for different target content, the user may set different shortcut operation controls. For example, when the target content is a photo, the user may set the corresponding shortcut operation control as: sharing control, image identification control, image editing control, etc.; when the target content is a video, the user may set the corresponding shortcut operation control as: short video sharing applications, short video production controls, etc.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng and Hao to include a setting to set a thumbnail for the target interface for the purpose of efficiently creating interface shortcuts, as taught by Lu.
Claims 10, 11, 16-18, 27, 28:
Although Claims 10, 11, 16-18, 27, 28 are electronic device claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the methods of claims 1, 2, 6-8, 25, 26, respectively.
Claims 19, 20:
Although Claims 19, 20 are non-transitory readable storage medium claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as of the method of Claims 1 and 2, respectively.
Claim 25:
Zheng fails to expressly discloses displaying of the interface windows where they can overlap.
Hao discloses:
wherein the first sign is the second interface (see figure 6; column 7 lines 55-67). Hao teaches displaying other interfaces based on the selection; and
the displaying a first interface of a first application and a first sign comprises:
displaying the first interface and the second interface of the application (see figure 6; column 7 lines 55-67). Hao teaches displaying other interfaces based on the selection,
wherein a display area of the first interface partially overlaps a display area of the second interface, and the display area of the first interface is larger than the display area of the second interface (see figure 6). Hao teaches the display of user interface windows that can be overlapped or resized. This is a design choice of the user.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Zheng to include a first sign/toggle button to switch between interfaces/resources for the purpose of avoiding the duplication of resources between user interfaces (see column 2 lines 33-38), as taught by Hao.
Claim 26:
Zheng discloses:
wherein after the displaying the first interface and the second interface of the first application (see paragraphs [0039]-[0042]). Zheng teaches two interfaces of an online booking system, the method further comprises:
receiving a fifth input by the user on target content in the first interface (see paragraphs [0039]-[0042]). Zheng teaches receiving input of the user interacting with an interface; and
adding, in response to the fifth input, resources corresponding to the target content to resources corresponding to the second interface (see paragraphs [0046]-[0053]). Zheng teaches since the first interface is locked, the resources are available to display/make the transaction are available on the other interface; and
the displaying the second interface in response to the first input comprises:
displaying the second interface in response to the first input, wherein the second interface comprises the target content (see paragraphs [0046]-[0053]). Zheng teaches displaying and having access to the resources on the active interface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1:
Applicant argues Optionally, in this embodiment of the present disclosure, in a case that the displayed content in the first interface does not include the latest target operation transaction, after step 201, the interface display method further includes the
following steps I to 13. Step 11: The electronic device updates the first sign to the third sign. Step 12: The electronic device receives a ninth input by the user on the third sign.
Step 13: The electronic device updates the first interface to a fourth interface in response to the ninth input. The fourth interface includes the latest target operation transaction.
The Examiner disagrees.
The Claims are confusing because the steps do not follow a sequential order. There is a “ninth input” but the claims does not include inputs 1-8. If this is a iterative method, it would be most clear if the claim provides limitations that claim an iterative method of inputs and updates. The remarks do not provide a clear arguments for the Examiner to respond. Therefore, the claims remain rejected (see the above rejection of the claims).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 10/2/25
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178