DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination based on the application filed on 12/15/2022, with priority date of 12/21/2021.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over NPL by Lee et. Al, “Streamlining Digital Modeling and Building Information Modelling (BIM) Uses for the Oil and Gas Projects” (2018)
Claims 7, 10, 15, 18-19 are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
This action is made Non-Final.
---- This page is left blank after this line ----
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et. Al, “Streamlining Digital Modeling and Building Information Modelling (BIM) Uses for the Oil and Gas Projects” (2018).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over NPL by Lee et. al, “Streamlining Digital Modeling and Building Information Modelling (BIM) Uses for the Oil and Gas Projects” (2018)
Regarding Claim 1
Lee teaches a method for simulating a rig operation comprising: creating a digital twin of a rig based on a rig plan for assembling a rig; (Lee et al defines a Building Information Modeling (BIM) as a “digital representation of physical and functional characteristics of a facility.” [Lee et al P.349 Abstract]. “It has also impacted building project lifecycle management processes.” [Lee et al P.349 Abstract] [Lee teaches Digital Modeling and Associated Technologies (DMAT): In the oil and gas industry, DMAT is used to “realize its facility.” [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] It can consist of “high-level intelligence” organized as a “prototype of the facility to perform various functions.” [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] DMAT refers to 3D geometric models and/or geometric bedding models and associated technologies used by the oil and gas industry to realize their facilities. DMAT represents a simple 3D geometric model with minimal intelligence or a high-level intelligence organized as a facility prototype for various functions. [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] [Lee et al teaches the Facility Scope {Rig}: Lee et al addresses the “oil and gas industry” and the “exploration and production” domain. They identify Plant Lifecycle Management (PLM) as the technology adopted for the “design, construction, and operation of a facility.” [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] “DMAT used in oil and gas projects comprises three main domains: geometric bedding modeling for exploration and production, PLM for design, construction, and operation, and other digital modeling and associated technologies.” [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] The main aim of DMAT in the oil and gas industry is to provide a logical and realistic representation of the facility for better decision-making and collaboration among interdisciplinary teams. Both BIM and DMAT share common attributes, such as creating 3D virtual models and interoperating with other technologies to achieve project outcomes. [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] BIM is recognized as an emerging digital tool in the built environment sector that enables information sharing of resources for a facility, forming a reliable source for decision-making throughout the project lifecycle. [Lee P.350 §1 ¶2] DMAT also uses similar functionality and physical attributes to BIM, such as a unified information model of an oil loading station in Samara Oblast, Russia, which used a mobile device on-site for accessing information of the model and project planning. [Lee P.350 §1 ¶3] simulating, via the digital twin, the rig plan, wherein the rig plan comprises a list of tasks for assembly of rig components to assemble the rig; (Lee et al teaches a Simulation of Plans. Lee et al describe “Phase planning (4D modeling)/scheduling” as a process that uses a 4D model to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. This process involves early project phasing to compare strategies, detail phasing to sequence multi-trade installation, and scheduling for project control. Lee et al also teach a List of Tasks {Work Packages}. Lee et al mention that engineering data {3D models} is exported to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. The use of 4D modeling for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works in the oil and gas industry is also noticeable. A real-time pipe tracking system using RFID and 3D digital models in a handheld mobile device was developed for efficient task management. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control. Engineering data such as 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data were exported to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages. Another important function of BIM is design review, which is commonly used in the oil and gas industry. A design review tool was deployed to review plant design to reduce installation errors. Design authoring is widely used in oil and gas projects to enrich the oil and gas facility model. For instance, it integrates structure and piping design information into the model. Lee et al teaches Sequencing Assembly through a 4D process involving detail phasing to sequence multi-trade installation and scheduling for project control. Phase planning (4D modeling) involves effectively planning phased occupancy using a 4D model to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. It includes early project phasing, detail phasing to sequence multi-trade installation, and scheduling for project control. simulating, via the digital twin, assembly of the rig components at a rig site. . (Lee teaches Resolving constructability issues by teaching a practical BIM framework to resolve design and constructability issues before oil and gas plant fabrication and installation. A practical BIM framework integrating MEP layout from preliminary design to construction was formulated to resolve these issues. BIM and Augmented Reality (AR) can enhance project performance by providing immersive and interactive project visualization before fabrication and installation. Lee teaches an Assembly Sequence Analysis using 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of site implementations. Constructability review is crucial for oil and gas projects. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. Lee teaches Constructability Review as a primary DMAT use to assist project managers in assessing progress and detecting potential errors in assembly. Real-time data integration allows clients and team members to review construction progress and curb schedule overruns. Lee describes a Virtual Experience integrating models with AR to provide an immersive and interactive experience for owners and designers before site installation. “BIM and AR could enhance project performance in the oil and gas industry by allowing designers and owners to gain an immersive and interactive experience before oil and gas plant fabrication and installation.” [Lee P. 350 §1 ¶ 4])
Regarding Claim 2
Lee defines Digital Modeling and Associated Technologies (DMAT) as “3D geometric models and/or geometric bedding models” used in the oil and gas industry to realize facilities. DMAT enhances data management and collaboration among interdisciplinary teams. It refers to 3D geometric models and/or geometric bedding models and associated technologies adopted by the oil and gas industry. Lee et al teach a Virtual Prototype in DMAT, describing a “3D virtual model” that can be a simple geometric representation or a “high-level intelligence” organized as a “prototype of the facility” {a digital twin} to perform various functions. The main aim of DMAT in the oil and gas industry is to provide a logical and realistic representation of the facility for better decision-making and collaboration among interdisciplinary teams. Both BIM and DMAT share common attributes, such as creating 3D virtual models and interoperating with other technologies to achieve project outcomes. DMAT represents a simple 3D geometric model with minimal intelligence or a high-level intelligence organized as a prototype of the facility to perform various functions. Lee also teaches a Unified Model creating a “unified information model” used for project planning and decision-making throughout the facility’s lifecycle. Apart from geometry bedding modeling and PLM, other DMAT uses with similar functionality and physical attributes to BIM include a unified information model of an oil loading station created in Samara Oblast, Russia. This model used a mobile device on site for accessing information related to the model and project planning. wherein the 3D model comprises 3D models of the rig components of the rig. (Lee teaches Component-Based Modeling, describing the process of “Equipment modeling,” where individual “equipment models are created to indicate its location, sizes, and details.” [Lee et al P.358 Table 4 No. 8b] It also includes modeling for maintenance space and consideration of typical maintenance cycles, replacement paths, and continuity of operations to allow adjacent equipment to be serviced simultaneously. [Lee et al P.358 Table 4 No. 8b] Lee et al teaches System Integration, stating that each facility system should be organized as a separate model linked to a common origin point for efficient coordination. [Lee P.357 Table 4 No. 8] This includes an architectural model consisting of material and spatial design, structural, MEPF, interiors, and any other common models for building a facility. [Lee P.357 Table 4 No. 8] Lee et al teaches a Multi-trade Composition, where the overall 3D model of the facility {rig} is explicitly comprised of various component models, including mechanical, structural, piping, equipment, electrical, civil engineering, and any other engineering modeling necessary for a facility. [Lee et al P. 376 Table 5 No.13] Modeling, instrumentation, and diagrams include mechanical, structural, piping, equipment, electrical, civil engineering, and any other engineering modeling necessary for a facility. Concurrent design of different disciplines may exist under a collaboration platform. [Lee et al P. 376 Table 5 No.13] It also facilitates instrumentation and diagramming from various disciplines to support operational tasks like generating new as-built data, offering an interface for calibration, and using SAP (an ERP provider) for maintenance scheduling. All these tools ensure the information remains up-to-date. Lee et al identifies “Design authoring” as a tool that adds information richness to models, such as integrating structural and piping design information into the aggregate facility model. 4D modeling is also used in the oil and gas industry for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works. A real-time pipe tracking system using RFID and 3D digital models in handheld devices allows efficient task management. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects improves process planning and control. Engineering data like 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data are exported to scheduling tools to create field installation work packages from virtual construction models. Design review and design authoring are important functions of BIM in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools review plant designs to reduce installation errors, while design authoring tools add information richness to oil and gas facility models, such as integrating structure and piping design information.
Regarding Claim 3
Lee teaches wherein the list of tasks includes operations performed by rig equipment, one or more individuals, or combinations thereof to assemble the rig at a rig site. (Lee teaches a List of Tasks as Work Packages. Engineering data from the digital model is exported to scheduling tools to create “field installation work packages” derived from a virtual construction model. 4D modeling is also used for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works in the oil and gas industry. A real-time pipe tracking system using RFID and 3D digital models in a handheld mobile device allows efficient task management. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects improves process planning and control. Engineering data like 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data are exported to scheduling tools to create field installation work packages. BIM also has design review and design authoring functions commonly used in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools review plant designs to reduce installation errors. Design authoring adds richness to oil and gas facility models, integrating structure and piping design information. Lee describes using 4D modeling and mobile tools to manage and schedule equipment for new facility construction. Lee et al discuss “Equipment management” as a process supported by the digital model to produce maintenance schedules and work arrangements. 4D modeling and mobile tools were deployed to manage and schedule equipment for a new facility connecting to an existing oil and gas facility.
Equipment management involves deploying BIM to support construction equipment management, such as scheduling downtime to fit project workload, producing maintenance schedules, completing service history, and arranging work. Lee et al teach that digital models allow multi-disciplinary teams, such as piping, electrical, mechanical, and structural, to work concurrently under a collaboration platform. Lee et al also propose using immersive virtual reality (IVR) with the plant model to train control-room operators (CROPs) and field operators (FOPs) on operational tasks. PLM was deployed for design, construction, and operation of oil and gas facilities, allowing multi-disciplinary teams to work concurrently under a collaboration platform. IVR, deployed with a 3D plant model, enables simultaneous training of CROPs and FOPs and assesses performance by eliminating subjectivity. Lee teaches Sequencing Assembly at Site, describing “Phase planning (4D modeling)” as a process to visualize and communicate construction plans and sequence multi-trade installation and project milestones. Specifically, the reference cites a case where 4D modeling analyzed the execution and concreting sequence of site implementations. Phase planning (4D modeling) involves effectively planning phased occupancy using a 4D model to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. It includes early project phasing for strategy comparison, detail phasing for multi-trade installation sequencing, and project control scheduling. Constructability review is crucial for oil and gas project design and construction. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. Lee et al teach the Combinations of Equipment and Individuals because the synergy of DMAT and BIM uses includes “Realise” functions that facilitate assembly by controlling the operation of executing equipment and regulating the operation of facility elements by project participants. Robotic total stations translate layout points from the digital model to the physical site for installation, demonstrating equipment and site personnel coordination. “Realise” facilitates facility information for fabrication, assembles separate facility elements, controls executing equipment operation, and regulates facility element operation. 3D control and planning {digital layout} involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout. Conversely, layout points captured in the field during construction are round-tripped back to the model for proactive quality control.
Regarding Claim 4
Lee teaches further comprising: performing an actual assembly of the rig(Lee et al. describe “progress tracking” as a process integrating 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to assist project managers in effectively assessing construction progress and making timely decisions about schedule delays. They emphasize real-time data integration on project development, allowing clients and team members to review construction progress periodically to curb schedule overruns. Lee et al. also teach “on-site monitoring,” explicitly mentioning the integration of digital tools for real-time progress monitoring to detect issues such as low productivity and errors in assembly. comparing the actual assembly of the rig to a simulated assembly of the digital twin; (Lee et al describes laser scanning as “verification tools at fabrication and construction processes.” They note its growing adoption in oil and gas projects due to the increasing need for facility alterations and refurbishments. Laser scan data is easily imported into design software, allowing designers to view and make informed decisions about noncompliant piping components. Lee et al also teach checking against the model, where laser scan data is imported to verify design model deviations and inform decisions to reject or accept noncompliant components. Additionally, Lee et al describe round-tripping field data, a process where layout points captured in the field during construction are returned to the model for proactive quality control. This involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout, or capturing them in the field and returning them to the model. identifying a difference between the actual assembly and the simulated assembly; modifying the rig plan based on the difference. Lee teaches Detecting Deviations, importing site data to identify design model deviations and inform component decisions. Laser scan data in fabrication shops was imported to check against design model deviations and inform decisions on noncompliant piping components. Lee teaches Identifying Errors in Assembly, identifying BIM tool integration to detect assembly error tendencies before completion. Lee et al. teach Timely Decision Making through progress tracking, assisting managers in making timely decisions based on plan-to-site reality differences. Progress tracking integrates 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to effectively assess construction progress and make timely decisions on schedule delays.
Regarding Claim 5Lee teaches wherein the difference is an unplanned event, and wherein the
modifying the rig plan comprises simulating, via the digital twin, alternative rig plan tasks to manage the unplanned event, and modifying the rig plan to include the alternative rig plan tasks. (Lee teaches Timely decision-making based on progress deviations is described as a process that integrates 4D models with laser scanning to assist project managers in assessing construction progress effectively and making timely decisions if schedule delays occur. This process involves modifying the plan in response to identified delays, such as differences between actual and simulated assembly. Real-time data integration allows team members to review construction progress and curb schedule overruns. This involves adjusting the sequence or schedule once deviations from the original plan are detected. Improving planning and control is proposed by using 4D models for scheduling in mega-construction projects. This involves exporting engineering data, such as 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data, to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. BIM also has design review and design authoring functions commonly used in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools were deployed to review plant designs and reduce installation errors. Lee et al teach assessing changes and modifications, mentioning that BIM can trace the cost effects of design changes and manage cost overruns caused by project modifications. Cost estimation involves using BIM to establish accurate cost estimates and trace the cost effects of design changes, enabling designers to curb excessive cost overruns. Cost estimation includes cost planning, quantity take-off, and cost tracking. Lee et al also teach stakeholder decision support, where digital models serve as a reliable source for decision-making throughout the project lifecycle, allowing project participants to communicate the value of applications and adjust their goals and deployment strategies as needed. In the built environment sector, BIM is recognized as an emerging digital tool that enables information sharing of resources for a facility, forming a reliable source for decision-making throughout the project lifecycle.
Regarding Claim 6
Lee teaches further comprising: simulating, via the digital twin, unpacking one or more of the rig components from one or more conveyance vehicles according to a sequence, wherein the sequence is based on the rig plan. (Lee teaches Sequencing and Scheduling via the Digital Twin. Lee et al. teach “Phase planning (4D modeling)/scheduling,” where a project team uses a virtual model to visualize and communicate for better understanding of construction plans. This process involves detail phasing to sequence multi-trade installation and scheduling for project control. “Phase planning (4D modeling)/scheduling” effectively plans phased occupancy through 4D modeling, allowing project teams to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. It involves early project phasing for strategy comparison, detail phasing for multi-trade installation sequencing, and scheduling for project control. Lee et al also teach Material and Logistic Planning, describing “Site utilization planning/site and logistic planning.” This involves modeling detailed “logistic objects” in the virtual model and linking them to the “construction schedule (4D).” This integration allows for the virtual simulation of site logistics based on the master project plan. A process in which detailed logistic objects are modeled in BIM and linked to a construction schedule (4D) for permanent and temporary facilities on site. Lee et al teach Receiving and Tracking Components (Unpacking), defining “material management” as a process using a digital model to receive, track, and control all project deliverables, including prefabrication components, to ensure timely delivery and quality. They also teach Conveyance and Shipment Plans, including a “Transportation/logistic management system” where digital tools support the entire transportation lifecycle. This includes creating least-cost shipment plans, maximizing loading capacity, streamlining freight financial administration, and leveraging end-to-end visibility for proactive monitoring and intelligent exception management. Lee et al teaches Simulated Work Packages, exporting engineering data like the 3D model to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages. These dictate the order of component handling and installation on-site. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control, exporting engineering data such as the 3D model, piping isometrics, and structural steel data to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. Lee teaches Sequencing at the Site, highlighting the synergy of these tools for controlling equipment operation and regulating facility element operations during the realization phase. This includes simulating and performing site implementations like analyzing the execution sequence. “Realise” facilitates facility information for fabrication, assembles separate facility elements, controls executing equipment operation, and regulates facility element operation. Constructability review is crucial for oil and gas project design and construction, with 4D modeling used by Abreu e Lima refinery to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation.
Regarding Claim 7
Lee teaches further comprising: identifying an efficiency of the sequence; (Lee et al teaches Operational Efficiency Analysis, describing the use of digital modeling for operational efficiency and drilling performance optimization by continuously monitoring and analyzing rig site operations. Drilling operations involve utilizing software and services for drilling engineers and the rig site to monitor and analyze drilling operations for performance optimization, wellbore assurance, risk mitigation, and operational efficiency. The results of drilling data analysis can be visualized through 3D models. Lee et al also teaches Logistics Efficiency, designing a transportation/logistic management system to create the least cost shipment plans and maximize loading capacity. Identifying the least cost or maximum capacity for a distribution network corresponds to identifying the efficiency of the transport and offloading sequence. A transportation/logistic management system deploys BIM transportation management tools to support the entire transportation lifecycle, from creating cost-effective shipment plans and maximizing loading capacity to streamlining freight financial administration for match- and auto-pay or self-invoicing processes. It also provides end-to-end visibility for proactive monitoring and intelligent exception management for the entire distribution network. Lee et al teach progress and performance metrics, including “progress tracking,” as a means to assist managers in effectively assessing construction progress. This process identifies if the actual sequence meets the planned milestones or if there are deviations impacting efficiency. Lee et al also teach workflow evaluation, mentioning the development of a “total constraint management (TCM) framework” to evaluate and improve oil and gas construction workflow. This framework incorporated BIM and other related technologies to improve oil and gas construction workflow and productivity.) adjusting the rig plan to improve the efficiency of the sequence. (Lee teaches Timely Decisions for Plan Adjustment. Lee et al. teach that integrating 4D BIM with site data allows project managers to make timely decisions if schedule delays occur and curb schedule overruns. Adjusting the schedule in response to a delay identifies functional modifications to the rig plan to restore or improve efficiency. Progress tracking involves integrating 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to assess construction progress effectively and make timely decisions if schedule delays occur. Constructability review allows clients and team members to review construction progress in real-time to curb schedule overruns. Lee et al teach Optimizing Scheduling, specifically identifying “optimizing scheduling” as a core function of model-based coordination between contractors and trades prior to site installation. Subcontractor/trade coordination involves deploying a coordinated model for contractors to coordinate with subcontractors for reviewing design, optimizing scheduling, and field installation prior to installation. Lee teaches Intelligent Exception Management using digital visibility for proactive monitoring and intelligent exception management for the entire distribution network. This involves adjusting logistics and conveyance plans when exceptions, such as unplanned events or inefficiencies, are identified. “Transportation/logistic management system: A process deploying BIM transportation management tools to support the entire transportation lifecycle, from creating cost-effective shipment plans and maximizing loading capacity to streamlining freight financial administration for match- and auto-pay or self-invoicing processes, and leveraging end-to-end visibility for proactive monitoring and intelligent exception management for the entire distribution network.” [Lee P. 367, Table 4, No. 35] Lee et al teach Refining Workflows using the TCM framework to improve oil and gas construction workflow and productivity by incorporating BIM data into project delivery strategies, which requires adjusting task sequences. Lee et al teach Strategy Comparison using 4D modeling to compare different strategies and early project phasing to determine the most effective way to sequence multi-trade installations. Phase planning (4D modeling)/scheduling involves effectively planning phased occupancy using a 4D model to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. It includes early project phasing for strategy comparison, detail phasing for multi-trade installation sequencing, and scheduling for project control. [Lee P. 355, Table 4, No. 4]
Regarding Claim 8Lee teaches wherein the efficiency of the sequence comprises one of: an order of unpacking the rig components from the one or more conveyance vehicles; (Lee describes “Material management” in BIM as a process to receive, track, and control all project deliverables, such as prefabrication components, to ensure timely delivery and quality standards [Lee P.362 Table 4 No. 14]. “Material management in BIM supports multiple-user access, manages project deliverables, and ensures timely delivery and quality of materials like prefabrication components [120]” [Lee P.362 Table 4 No. 14]. a number of the conveyance vehicles that transported the rig components; a type of conveyance vehicle that transported the rig components (Lee et al. teaches the use of a “Transportation/logistic management system” to support the entire transportation lifecycle. This system creates the least cost shipment plans and maximizes loading capacity for the distribution network, optimizing the number and type of vehicles used. It also streamlines freight financial administration for match- and auto-pay or self-invoicing processes and provides end-to-end visibility for proactive monitoring and intelligent exception management.) an assembly sequence of segments of one or more of the rig components; an assembly sequence of the rig components; Lee et al teaches Sequence of Components and Segments, identifying “Phase planning (4D modeling)” as a method to sequence multi-trade installation and project milestones. It involves effective phased occupancy planning using a 4D model to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. Early project phasing allows comparison of strategies, detail phasing sequences multi-trade installation, and scheduling for project control. Lee et al also teach Analysis of Execution, citing the use of 4D modeling to analyze the execution and sequence of implementations at the site. This analysis helps project teams visualize the assembly process, reducing errors and improving productivity. Constructability review is crucial for the design and construction of oil and gas projects. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. a number of individuals supporting the unpacking; an identity of each of the individuals supporting the unpacking. . (Lee teaches the identity and number of individuals proposing the simultaneous training of “control-room operator (CROP)” and “field operator (FOP)” using Immersive Virtual Reality (IVR) with a 3D plant model IVR training systems allow individual performance to be compared to expected performance, eliminating subjectivity in evaluating personnel support for operational tasks. Lee et al. teach Performance Metrics for Individuals and Synergy for Decision Making. The synergy between DMAT and BIM uses is insightful for managing efficient oil and gas projects, allowing stakeholders to recognize areas for future development in logistics, assembly, and training. This synergy can improve performance by providing a better understanding of planning, designing, developing, and operating facilities.
Regarding Claim 9Lee teaches further comprising: adjusting the rig plan, based on the digital twin, thereby determining primary activities, secondary operations, or combinations thereof of the rig plan that can be performed simultaneously during assembly of the rig. (Lee et al. teaches Concurrent Multi-Disciplinary Work, deploying technologies like Plant Lifecycle Management (PLM) to enable multi-disciplinary teams {e.g., piping, electrical, mechanical, and structural} to collaborate concurrently. They also teach Sequencing Multi-Trade Installation, describing the use of “Phase planning (4D modeling)/scheduling” to visualize and communicate construction plans. This process includes detail phasing to sequence multi-trade installation for project control. Lee et al. also teach Creating Integrated Work Packages, exporting 3D engineering data to scheduling tools to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model, allowing project teams to sequence the work packages effectively. Additionally, a 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control. The engineering data, including 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data, were exported to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. [Lee P. 388 §5.2 ¶2] Lee et al. propose using 4D models for scheduling activities and operations to improve process planning and control in mega-construction projects. This capability allows stakeholders to analyze the execution sequence. [Lee P. 389 §5.4 ¶ 1] The oil and gas industry also uses 4D modeling for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works. A real-time pipe tracking system utilizing RFID and 3D digital models in handheld mobile devices was developed for efficient task management. A 4D model for scheduling activities and operations in mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control. BIM also has design review and design authoring functions commonly used in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools review plant designs to reduce installation errors. Design authoring adds richness to the oil and gas facility model, integrating structure and piping design information. Constructability review is crucial for the design and construction of oil and gas projects. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. Lee et al emphasize the importance of subcontractor and design coordination to resolve constructability issues between trades. By using the digital model, project participants can identify overlapping tasks during facility assembly. Subcontractor coordination is crucial for effective model coordination and resolving constructability issues.
Regarding Claim 10Lee teaches further comprising: adjusting the rig plan, based on the digital twin, thereby optimizing a performance criterion, (Lee defines BIM uses as tools deployed to coordinate the specific purposes for realizing project objectives. While some BIM guidelines refer to BIM uses as “BIM deliverables” or “BIM applications,” these terms are synonymous. The nature of BIM technology allows different stakeholders to use it in multiple ways based on their specific needs.
BIM tools deployed to coordinate project objectives are defined as such. Lee et al teach Timely Decisions, integrating 4D BIM with site data to make timely decisions on schedule delays and curb schedule overruns. This involves adjusting the rig plan based on model data to maintain performance. Progress tracking integrates 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to assess construction progress and make timely decisions on schedule delays. Constructability review uses real-time data integration to review construction progress and curb schedule overruns. Lee et al teach Automated Optimization, integrating models with algorithms like the Firefly Algorithm to develop optimal tower crane layout plans for construction. BIM and the Firefly Algorithm can be integrated to automatically develop optimal tower crane layout plans for oil and gas projects. Lee et al teach Process Improvement, proposing using 4D models for scheduling to improve process planning and control and optimize scheduling prior to site installation. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control, with engineering data exported to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. A coordinated model is deployed for contractors to coordinate with subcontractors for reviewing design, optimizing scheduling, and field installation before installation. wherein the performance criterion comprises speed, efficiency, risk, or combinations thereof. (Lee teaches Optimizing for Speed, emphasizing the goal of delivering a facility on time. It discusses using digital tools to detect problems like low productivity and make decisions to curb schedule overruns, optimizing assembly speed. Similarly, the DMAT uses aim to deliver a facility on time, within budget, safely, compliant with environmental regulations, satisfied stakeholders, and optimize production. Lee et al teaches Optimizing for Efficiency, identifying digital modeling for operational efficiency and drilling performance optimization. They also teach a transportation/logistic management system to create least-cost shipment plans and maximize loading capacity, representing logistical efficiency. Productivity improvement is linked to a Total Constraint Management (TCM) framework incorporating BIM. Drilling operations involve using software and services for continuous monitoring and analysis of drilling performance, wellbore assurance, risk mitigation, and operational efficiency. The results of data analysis can be visualized through 3D models. Transportation/logistic management systems use BIM tools to support the entire transportation lifecycle, from creating cost-effective shipment plans and maximizing loading capacity to streamlining freight financial administration and leveraging end-to-end visibility for proactive monitoring and intelligent exception management. Lee et al teach optimizing for risk by designing 3D trajectories inside subsurface models with simulation software to understand and mitigate operational risks. They also use models for charge risk assessments and creating safety plans that reduce overall project risk. Well planning involves interpreting and assessing a well with well-planning software and reservoir modeling through various scenarios to quantify wellbore position and precision for safe operation and cost-effectiveness. A 3D drillable trajectory is designed inside a subsurface model with well control simulation software to understand and mitigate operational risks and meet drilling regulations. As drilling progresses, reservoir models are updated and coupled with simulation software to identify optimal drilling structures and provide realistic drilling scenarios. Reservoir modeling involves upscaling geological models to simulate fluid behaviors under various circumstances to identify optimal production techniques. It’s mainly used for charge risk assessments, prospect location, drilling target identification, completion optimization, and development acceleration. Safety planning and site safety reviews utilize BIM to develop safety plans for communication on and off-site, extracting information for emergency routes and public safety measures. BIM-based orientation provides safety training. Lee et al. teach that the synergy between DMAT and BIM uses allows stakeholders to manage projects effectively by balancing objectives like timeliness, budget adherence, and safety. This synergy enhances the oil and gas industry’s ability to plan, design, develop, and operate facilities while identifying key process areas for performance improvement. The ultimate goal of oil and gas owners and operators is to deliver facilities on time, within budgets, safely, compliant with environmental regulations, satisfying stakeholders, and optimizing production during operation.)Regarding Claim 11Lee teaches further comprising: performing an actual assembly of the rig at the rig site; (Lee et al teaches Physical Implementation, discussing the lifecycle of oil and gas projects, including the construction and fabrication of facilities. They also teach Site Installation and a practical framework to resolve design issues before fabrication and installation. BIM and Augmented Reality can be used for immersive and interactive project visualization. Lee et al teaches Site Implementation, specifically describing the use of digital tools to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of site implementations. Constructability review is crucial for oil and gas projects. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. Lee et al teaches Component Erection, mentioning that geometry from models can be sent to equipment for prefabrication and erected efficiently on site. Digital fabrication involves extracting geometry from the BIM for shop drawings and sending it to computer numerical control equipment for prefabrication and efficient on-site erection. monitoring an actual performance criterion during the actual assembly; (Lee et al defines “progress tracking” as a process integrating 4D models with laser scanning and mobile computing to assist project managers in assessing construction progress effectively and making timely decisions if schedule delays occur. They also teach “on-site monitoring,” which detects real problems like low productivity. Lee et al further notes that real-time data integration on project development allows clients and team members to review construction progress periodically to curb schedule overruns.) comparing the actual performance criterion to a simulated performance criterion of the digital twin; (Lee et al teaches laser scanning used as a verification tool in fabrication and construction processes. It’s gaining importance in oil and gas projects due to the increasing need for facility alterations and refurbishments. The data from laser scans can be easily imported into design software and viewed by designers, helping them make informed decisions about rejecting or accepting noncompliant piping components. Lee et al teaches checking deviations explicitly, stating that laser scan data is imported to compare a facility’s performance with design specifications. They assess how systems operate to identify any deviations. Lee et al also teach performance assessment, which involves comparing a facility’s performance with design specifications. Mechanical analysis, virtual testing and balancing, system analysis, and building disposal analysis are processes to compare a facility’s performance with design specifications. They assess mechanical system operation, energy usage, lighting, solar gain, and airflow using CFD. identifying differences between the actual performance criterion and the simulated performance criterion. (Lee teaches Detecting Errors and Inefficiencies. Lee et al. integrate digital tools to detect errors in assembly and low productivity. Lee et al. teach Identifying Schedule Deviations. The progress tracking process helps project managers make timely decisions if schedule delays occur by comparing simulated schedules with actual site progress. Lee et al. teach Quality Control Round-Tripping, a process where layout points captured in the field are sent back to the model for proactive quality control to identify non-compliant components. This involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout, or capturing layout points in the field and sending them back to the model for proactive quality control.
Regarding Claim 12Lee teaches further comprising: modifying the digital twin, (Lee et al teaches Record and As-Built Modeling. Record modeling depicts an accurate representation of a facility’s physical conditions, environment, and assets. It’s the culmination of all BIM modeling throughout the project, linking construction and fabrication data to the model for an accurate record to the owner. Lee et al also teach Round-Tripping Field Data, a process where layout points are captured in the field during construction and returned to the model for proactive quality control. This involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout. Layout points are captured during construction and returned to the model for proactive quality control. Digital tools ensure information is always up-to-date by supporting changes throughout the process. Modeling, instrumentation, and diagrams include mechanical, structural, piping, equipment, electrical, civil engineering, and other engineering modeling necessary for a facility. Concurrent design of different disciplines may exist under a collaboration platform. Instrumentation and diagrams are facilitated from various disciplines to support operational tasks like generating new as-built data, offering an interface for calibration, and scheduling maintenance using SAP (one of the ERP providers). All these tools support changes to ensure information is always up-to-date. based on the differences, (Lee teaches Deviation Detection explicitly, importing laser scan data to check against design model deviations [Lee P. 389 §5.1 ¶ 3]. Laser scanning is gaining importance in oil and gas projects due to the need for facility alterations and refurbishments [18, pp. 3–5, 10–19, 26–30; 20, 28, p. 109; 30, p. 98; 84]. Laser scan data is easily imported into design software and viewed by designers [18, pp. 13–15]. For example, at a Bakersfield, California, process facility, laser scanning was used as a verification tool during fabrication and construction. Laser scan data in the fabrication shop was imported to check against design model deviations, informing decisions to reject or accept noncompliant piping components [18, p. 16–19]. Lee et al define Progress Assessment as a process integrating 4D models with laser scanning to assist managers in identifying schedule delays [Lee P. 363 Table 4 No. 21]. Progress tracking involves integrating 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to assess construction progress effectively and make timely decisions about schedule delays [Lee P. 363 Table 4 No. 21]. Lee et al teach Site Monitoring, integrating digital tools for on-site progress monitoring to detect real problems like low productivity and assembly errors [Lee P. 389 §5.4 ¶ 1]. to reduce errors between the actual performance criterion and the simulated performance criterion. (Lee teaches Improving Accuracy, which uses real-time data integration to prevent schedule overruns. The patent application notes that adjusting the digital twin improves future operation estimates. Constructability review allows clients and team members to review construction progress and prevent schedule overruns. Lee et al teaches Resolving Assembly Errors by detecting error tendencies in assembly through the model, enabling timely decisions to adjust plans and models. Progress tracking integrates 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to assist project managers in assessing progress and making timely decisions if schedule delays occur. Lee et al teach Quality Control by “round-tripping” the model for proactive quality control to ensure the as-built rig matches the simulated design specifications. “3D control and planning (digital layout) involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout. Conversely, layout points captured in the field during construction are round-tripped back to the model for proactive quality control.” [Lee P.362 Table 4 No. 17]
Regarding Claim 13
Lee teaches further comprising: determining, via the digital twin, locations of the rig components at the rig site; (Lee et al teaches Equipment Location Modeling, which involves creating equipment models to indicate their location, sizes, and details. This process also includes modeling for maintenance space and considering typical maintenance cycles, replacement paths, and continuity of operations to ensure adjacent equipment can be serviced simultaneously. Lee et al also teaches Digital Layout Planning, which involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout at the site. Conversely, layout points can be captured in the field during construction and round-tripped back to the model for proactive quality control. Additionally, Lee et al teaches Automated Layout Optimization, which integrates BIM with the Firefly Algorithm (FA) to automatically develop an optimal tower crane layout plan for oil and gas project construction. Finally, Lee et al teaches Site Layout Control, which involves planning and controlling the construction layout through the creation of digital layout to improve productivity. Apart from constructability reviews, progress tracking, safety planning, and field/management tracking, commonly used in oil and gas projects to improve performance, other BIM uses include planning and controlling construction layout through digital layout creation, detailed logistic objects linked to construction schedules {4D model}, lift planning models for communication between structure engineers and site personnel, and construction system design for modeling complex construction. These implementations can improve overall construction process productivity.) and installing the rig components at the rig site at the locations determined by the digital twin. (Lee teaches Coordinated Field Installation, describing “Subcontractor/trade coordination” [Lee et al, P.361, Table 4, No. 13]. A “coordinated model” is deployed for contractors to coordinate with subcontractors for reviewing design, optimizing scheduling, and field installation before installation. Lee et al also teach On-Site Erection, using geometry data from the digital model for prefabrication, allowing efficient on-site erection of components. Digital fabrication involves extracting geometry from the BIM for shop drawings and sending them to computer numerical control equipment for prefabrication and efficient on-site erection. Lee et al discuss Site Implementation Analysis, using digital tools to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of site implementations, ensuring the physical assembly follows the virtual plan. Constructability review is crucial for oil and gas projects, and 4D modeling was used by Abreu e Lima refinery to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. Lee et al teach Robotic-Guided Installation, using “robotic total stations” to translate layout points from the BIM to the physical site directly, facilitating the installation of components at the exact locations determined by the model. 3D control and planning {digital layout} involves taking layout points from the BIM and loading them into robotic total stations for layout in field construction. Layout points are captured during construction and returned to the model for proactive quality control. Lee et al teach the Fabrication and Installation Framework, a practical BIM framework designed to resolve design issues before oil and gas plant fabrication and installation. This framework integrates MEP layout from preliminary design to construction. BIM and Augmented Reality can enhance project performance by providing immersive and interactive project visualization before fabrication and installation.
Regarding Claim 14
Lee teaches further comprising: determining zones of the rig, wherein each zone comprises one or more of the rig components, (Lee et al teaches System-Based Zoning. In digital modeling (BIM), each facility system should be organized as a separate model linked to a common origin point for efficient coordination. These separate models include categories like “mechanical, structural, piping, equipment, electrical, and civil engineering.” Organizing a rig model by these functional disciplines corresponds to determining “zones” based on system components. “Modeling each facility system as a separate model linked to a common origin point for efficient coordination purposes. It includes an architectural model consisting of material and spatial design, structural, MEPF, interiors, and any other common models for building a facility.” “Modeling, instrumentation, and diagram include mechanical, structural, piping, equipment, electrical, civil engineering, and any other engineering modeling necessary for a facility. Concurrent design of different disciplines may exist under a collaboration platform. It also includes the process of facilitating instrumentation and diagram from various disciplines to support operational tasks such as generating new as-built data, offering an interface for calibration, and using SAP (one of the ERP providers) for maintenance scheduling.”
All these tools are necessary to support changes and ensure the information is always up-to-date. Lee et al P. Lee et al explicitly teach Functional Security Zones, mentioning a process for using the digital twin to analyze circulation areas within defined security zones. They also teach Work Packages as Zones, describing the creation of field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. In practice, these packages represent specific areas or “zones” of assembly containing defined components within the digital model. The use of 4D modeling for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works in the oil and gas industry is also noticeable. A real-time pipe tracking system utilizing RFID and 3D digital models in handheld mobile devices was developed for efficient task management. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control. Engineering data such as 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data were exported to scheduling tools to create field installation work packages from virtual construction models. Design review and design authoring are also important functions of BIM in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools are deployed to review plant designs to reduce installation errors. Design authoring adds richness of information to the oil and gas facility model, such as integrating structure and piping design information wherein the one or more of the rig components are associated with one or more functions of the rig; and determining, via the digital twin, locations of the rig components at the rig site based on the zones. (Lee teaches Indicating Locations in the Model, describing “Equipment modeling” as a process where equipment models are created to indicate location, size, and details. This includes modeling for maintenance space and considering typical maintenance cycles, replacement paths, and continuity of operations to allow adjacent equipment to be serviced simultaneously. Lee also teaches Digital Layout Planning, a process for “3D control and planning {digital layout}” where layout points are taken from the BIM and loaded into robotic total stations for layout at the actual rig site. This demonstrates using the digital twin to determine the exact site locations for components based on the integrated model’s coordinate system. Lee also teaches Optimized Site Layout, where BIM can be integrated with algorithms like the Firefly Algorithm to automatically develop an optimal tower crane layout plan for facility construction. This illustrates determining the location of heavy equipment at the rig site based on operational requirements and construction zones. Lee et al. teach Coordinated Field Installation, describing “Subcontractor/trade coordination” using a coordinated model to optimize field installation before installation. This involves using a digital twin to determine the location of each trade’s components (their “zone”) relative to others to avoid clashes. “Subcontractor/trade coordination” is a process where a coordinated model is deployed for contractors to coordinate with subcontractors for reviewing design, optimizing scheduling, and field installation prior to installation.
Regarding Claim 15
Lee teaches further comprising: adjusting the rig plan, based on the digital twin, to optimize a performance criterion, (Lee et al teach the Performance Improvement Framework, aiming to streamline digital model usage and discover valuable practices for performance improvement in oil and gas projects. [Lee et al Abstract] The oil and gas industry heavily uses digital modeling and associated technologies (DMAT) to enhance its commercial capability. Building Information Modeling (BIM) has rapidly grown in the built environment sector, representing physical and functional characteristics of facilities and impacting project lifecycle management. BIM and DMAT share similarities in physical modeling and functionality. This study aims to streamline the usage of both DMAT and BIM while discovering valuable practices for performance improvement in oil and gas projects. [Lee et al Abstract] Lee et al teach Systematic Coordination, defining BIM uses as tools deployed to coordinate specific project objectives. [Lee P. 351 §2 ¶2] While some BIM guidelines refer to BIM uses as “BIM deliverables” or “BIM applications,” these terms are synonymous. The nature of BIM technology allows stakeholders to use it in various ways based on their specific needs, making BIM uses adaptable.
BIM tools deployed to coordinate project objectives are defined as follows:
4D Modeling (Phase Planning): Allows comparison of strategies and detail phasing for multi-trade installation.
Algorithmic Optimization: Integrates digital models with the Firefly Algorithm to develop optimal tower crane layout plans.
Timely Decisions: Assists project managers in assessing progress and making timely decisions if schedule delays occur.
These processes involve early project phasing, detail phasing, and scheduling for project control. They utilize 4D BIM, laser scanning, and mobile computing to effectively assess construction progress and make informed decisions. wherein the performance criterion comprises speed, efficiency, risk, or combinations thereof; (Lee et al identifies the ultimate goal of rig owners as delivering a facility on time, within budget, safely, and compliant with environmental regulations, while satisfying stakeholders and optimizing production. They describe using models for progress tracking to curb schedule overruns, integrating 4D BIM with laser scanning and mobile computing to assess construction progress effectively. Constructability review involves real-time data integration on project development, allowing clients and team members to review progress and curb schedule overruns. Lee et al focuses on managing efficient oil and gas projects using digital tools for operational efficiency and drilling performance optimization. Lee et al link BIM to improving workflow and productivity. The synergy between DMAT and BIM uses provides insightful references for managing efficient oil and gas projects and helps stakeholders recognize future investment or development areas. Drilling operations involve utilizing software and services for continuous monitoring and analysis of drilling performance, wellbore assurance, risk mitigation, and operational efficiency. The results of data analysis can be visualized through 3D models. A total constraint management (TCM) framework incorporating BIM and other technologies was developed to improve oil and gas construction workflow and productivity. Lee et al teach risk management and use 3D trajectories within subsurface models to understand and mitigate operational risks. They also identify model uses for charge risk assessments and developing safety plans. Well planning involves interpreting and assessing wells using well-planning software and reservoir modeling through various scenarios to quantify wellbore position and precision for safe and cost-effective operation. A 3D drillable trajectory is designed within a subsurface model with well control simulation software to mitigate operational risks and meet drilling regulations. As drilling progresses, the reservoir model is updated and coupled with simulation software to locate favorable structures and provide realistic drilling. Reservoir modeling involves upscaling geological models to simulate fluid behaviors under different circumstances to identify optimal production techniques. It is mainly used for charge risk assessments, locating new prospects, identifying drilling targets, optimizing completions, and accelerating developments. Safety/safety planning/site safety review involves deploying BIM to develop safety plans for communication on and off-site, such as emergency routes and public safety measures. BIM-based orientation can provide safety training. Lee et al conclude that the synergy of these models ensures projects are delivered on time, within budgets, and safely. Similarly, the ultimate goal of oil and gas owners and operators is to deliver a facility on time, within budgets, safely, compliant with environmental regulations, satisfying stakeholders, and optimizing production during operation. and approving, via an individual or rig controller, an approved version of the rig plan (Lee et al teaches Decision Making Source, stating that the virtual model enables information sharing to form a reliable source for decision making throughout the project lifecycle. In the built environment sector, Building Information Modelling (BIM) is recognized as an emerging digital tool that facilitates information sharing of resources for a facility, enabling reliable decision-making throughout the project lifecycle. Lee et al also teach Stakeholder Validation, describing a process where stakeholders review the model and provide feedback on multiple design aspects. Design reviews and constructability reviews involve stakeholders viewing a 3D model through various presentations to validate design aspects. Design selection from BIM options and design communication through visualization and digital mock-ups are also part of this process. Approval for Implementation describes how digital models assist in well planning, drilling, and production optimization. The culmination of all BIM modeling leads to a “record model” {approved version} delivered to the owner or manager for operations. Subsurface model review involves stakeholders reviewing a 3D subsurface model and other necessary data through various presentations to assist in well planning, drilling, and production optimization. Record modeling depicts an accurate representation of the physical conditions, environment, and assets of a facility. It’s the culmination of all BIM modeling throughout the project, linking Operation, Maintenance, and Asset data to the As-Built model {created from Design, Construction, 4D Coordination, and Subcontractor Fabrication Models} to deliver a record model to the owner or facility manager.) after one or more simulations of the assembly of the rig via the digital twin. (Lee teaches Visualizing Plans. Lee et al teach that 4D modeling helps project teams visualize and communicate for better understanding of construction plans. Phase planning {4D modeling} involves effective phased occupancy planning using a 4D model to visualize and communicate project milestones and construction plans. It includes early project phasing for strategy comparison, detail phasing for multi-trade installation sequencing, and scheduling for project control. Lee et al teach Constructability Review, a key process used to resolve design and construction issues before oil and gas plant fabrication and installation. Real-time data integration allows clients and team members to review construction progress and curb schedule overruns. Some BIM uses can enhance project performance in the oil and gas industry. BIM and Augmented Reality (AR) can be used for project visualization, providing designers and owners with an immersive and interactive experience before fabrication and installation. Lee et al teach Sequence Analysis, citing a case where 4D modeling was used to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of site implementations. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation.
Regarding Claim 16
Lee teaches further comprising: assembling the rig components at the rig site (Lee et al teaches Fabrication and Installation, outlining a framework to resolve design and constructability issues before oil and gas plant fabrication and installation. BIM and Augmented Reality (AR) can enhance project performance by providing immersive and interactive project visualization. 3D engineering data can efficiently erect components like structural steel on site. Digital fabrication extracts geometry from BIM for shop drawings and sends them to computer numerical control equipment for prefabrication and efficient on-site erection. Site Implementation cites specific examples of digital tools used to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of site implementations. Constructability review is crucial for oil and gas projects. Abreu e Lima refinery used 4D modeling to analyze the execution and concreting sequence of the ramp and substation implementation. based on the approved version of the rig plan. (Lee teaches Field Installation Work Packages, describing exporting 3D engineering data and scheduling information to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. These packages serve as specific “rig plans” for site tasks. 4D modeling is also used in the oil and gas industry for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works. A real-time pipe tracking system using RFID and 3D digital models in handheld devices allows efficient task management. A 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects improves process planning and control. BIM’s design review and design authoring functions are commonly used in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools review plant designs to reduce installation errors. Design authoring adds richness to the oil and gas facility model, integrating structure and piping design information. Lee et al teaches On-site Process Controlling, highlighting the use of digital tools for onsite construction process controlling to ensure the physical work matches the planned digital sequence. Lee et al teaches Decision-Making Source, stating that the virtual model forms a reliable source for decision making throughout the project lifecycle. Stakeholders provide feedback for multiple design aspects validation, leading to a vetted and approved plan. Building Information Modeling (BIM) is recognized as an emerging digital tool for information sharing of resources in the built environment sector, forming a reliable source for decision-making throughout the project lifecycle. Design reviews and constructability reviews involve stakeholders viewing a 3D model through various presentations to provide feedback for design validation. Design selection from BIM options, design communication through visualization and digital mock-ups, and loading layout points from the BIM into robotic total stations for physical site layout are part of this process. 3D control and planning involve loading layout points from the BIM into robotic total stations for layout, while capturing layout points in the field during construction and round-tripping them back to the model for proactive quality control. These tools provide the means for managing efficient oil and gas projects, as taught by Lee et al in Managing Efficient Projects. The synergy between DMAT and BIM uses offers insightful references for managing efficient oil and gas projects and helps project stakeholders recognize future investment or development areas of BIM and DMAT uses in their projects.
Regarding Claim 17
Lee teaches further comprising: training, via the digital twin, an individual to perform at least a portion of the assembling of the rig at the rig site. (Lee teaches Training Individuals using a 3D Model explicitly for “Operation or maintenance training” {DMAT Use 31}. Lee et al teach Virtual Reality Training Environments, identifying the use of Immersive Virtual Reality (IVR) that deploys the “3D plant model” {digital twin} to train personnel. This immersive experience allows individuals to interact with the facility before actual “plant fabrication and installation.” For operation and maintenance training, IVR with the 3D plant model enables simultaneous training of control-room operators (CROPs) and field operators (FOPs). It also eliminates subjectivity in performance assessment and uses an experimental approach instead of a classical one. Lee et al teach Specific Individuals (Field Operators). They teach that IVR and the digital model enable field operators to be trained on operational tasks. Lee et al teaches Assembling and Maintenance Procedures, describing “maintenance training” where staff learn asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. These procedures cover tasks in assembling and implementing rig components. “Maintenance training - BIM can be used during commissioning, preoccupation, and post-occupation to train staff on asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. This information can be developed into a mobile package.” Lee et al also teach Safety and Orientation Training, using “BIM-based orientation” for safety training. “Safety/safety planning/site safety review - BIM can develop safety plans for communication on and off site, such as emergency routes. BIM-based orientation provides safety training.” Lee et al teach Experimental Learning for Site Assembly, using an “experimental approach” with a model to eliminate subjectivity and help project participants understand how to assemble facility elements. “For operation and maintenance training, immersive virtual reality (IVR) with a 3D plant model trains control-room operators and field operators simultaneously. IVR assesses performance objectively and trains trainees under an experimental approach instead of a classical approach.” 390 §5.5 ¶2] “Realize: It facilitates facility information for fabrication, assembles separate facility elements, controls executing equipment operation, and regulates facility element operation.” [Lee et al P.351 Table 1] Lee et al teaches instructional content for field work. They teach that model information can be developed into a mobile accessible package to assist field staff with procedures. “Maintenance training: BIM can be used during commissioning, preoccupation, and post-occupation to train staff on asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. This information can be developed into a mobile accessible package.” [Lee P.366 Table 4 No. 29]
Regarding Claim 18Lee teaches further comprising: performing, via the individual, the portion of the assembly of the rig; and comparing a performance of the individual to an expected performance level of the individual. (Lee teaches Training Individuals using a 3D Model explicitly for “Operation or maintenance training” (DMAT Use 31). Lee et al teach Virtual Reality Training Environments, identifying the use of Immersive Virtual Reality (IVR) that deploys the “3D plant model” (digital twin) to train personnel. This immersive experience allows individuals to interact with the facility before actual “plant fabrication and installation.” For operation and maintenance training, IVR with the 3D plant model enables simultaneous training of control-room operators (CROPs) and field operators (FOPs). It also eliminates subjectivity in performance assessment and uses an experimental approach instead of a classical one.
Lee et al teach Specific Individuals (Field Operators). They teach that IVR and the digital model enable field operators to be trained on operational tasks. Lee et al teaches Assembling and Maintenance Procedures, describing “maintenance training” where staff learn asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. These procedures cover tasks in assembling and implementing rig components. “Maintenance training - BIM can be used during commissioning, preoccupation, and post-occupation to train staff on asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. This information can be developed into a mobile package.” Lee et al also teach Safety and Orientation Training, using “BIM-based orientation” for safety training. “Safety/safety planning/site safety review - BIM can develop safety plans for communication on and off site, such as emergency routes. BIM-based orientation provides safety training.” Lee et al teach Experimental Learning for Site Assembly, using an “experimental approach” with a model to eliminate subjectivity and help project participants understand how to assemble facility elements. “For operation and maintenance training, immersive virtual reality (IVR) with a 3D plant model trains control-room operators and field operators simultaneously. IVR assesses performance objectively and trains trainees under an experimental approach instead of a classical approach.” 390 §5.5 ¶2] “Realize: It facilitates facility information for fabrication, assembles separate facility elements, controls executing equipment operation, and regulates facility element operation.” [Lee et al P.351 Table 1] Lee et al teaches instructional content for field work. They teach that model information can be developed into a mobile accessible package to assist field staff with procedures. “Maintenance training: BIM can be used during commissioning, preoccupation, and post-occupation to train staff on asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. This information can be developed into a mobile accessible package.” [Lee P.366 Table 4 No. 29]
Regarding Claim 18Lee teaches further comprising: performing, via the individual, the portion of the assembly of the rig; and comparing a performance of the individual to an expected performance level of the individual. (Lee teaches Eliminating Subjectivity in Assessment that using Immersive Virtual Reality (IVR) with a 3D plant model {digital twin} eliminates subjectivity in performance assessment. For operation and maintenance training, IVR with the 3D plant model enables simultaneous training of control-room operators (CROPs) and field operators (FOPs). It also assesses performance objectively and uses an experimental approach instead of a classical one. This iterative approach focuses on performance improvement in oil and gas projects. The oil and gas industry, a technology-driven sector, has heavily utilized digital modeling and associated technologies (DMAT) to enhance its commercial capabilities over the past two decades. Meanwhile, the Building Information Modeling (BIM) has rapidly grown in the built environment sector. It’s a digital representation of a facility’s physical and functional characteristics, impacting building project lifecycle management. BIM and DMAT share similarities in physical modeling and functionality. Lee et al aims to streamline their usage and discover practices for performance improvement in oil and gas projects. Lee et al emphasizes the primary goal of digital applications: ensuring project objectives are met, such as safe and timely completion. Adjusting training via the model to reach these safety and time milestones corresponds to training until a performance level is “at or above the expected performance level.” Similarly, the ultimate goal of oil and gas owners and operators is to deliver a facility on time, within budget, safely, compliant with environmental regulations, satisfied stakeholders, and optimized production. Lee et al identifies the field operator (FOP) as the individual being trained via the model. For operation and maintenance training, immersive virtual reality (IVR) was proposed to enable simultaneous training of the control-room operator (CROP) and FOP. IVR eliminates subjectivity and allows trainees to be trained under an experimental approach. Training includes maintenance procedures and asset location. The model’s information can be developed into a “mobile accessible package” to support and refine individual performance during site implementation. “BIM can be used during commissioning, preoccupation, and post-occupation to train staff on asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. This information can be developed into a mobile accessible package.”
Regarding Claim 19Lee teaches further comprising one of: adjusting the training of the individual to improve the performance of the individual to a performance level at or above the expected performance level; continuing the training of the individual to improve the performance of the individual to a performance level at or above the expected performance level; and stopping the training fi the performance level of the individual is at or above the expected performance level. (Lee describes an “experimental approach” used in training to achieve “performance improvement” in oil and gas projects. This iterative process continues until the trainee’s performance meets the necessary standards. Immersive virtual reality (IVR) with a 3D plant model was proposed to train control-room operators and field operators simultaneously. It eliminates subjectivity and allows performance assessment. The oil and gas industry heavily uses digital modeling and associated technologies (DMAT) to enhance its commercial capability. Building Information Modeling (BIM) has grown rapidly in the built environment sector, representing physical and functional characteristics of a facility and impacting building project lifecycle management. BIM and DMAT share similarities in physical modeling and functionality. This study aims to streamline the usage of both DMAT and BIM while discovering valuable practices for performance improvement in oil and gas projects. Lee et al teaches Stopping Based on Reaching Benchmarks, emphasizing the primary goal of these digital training tools: ensuring project objectives, such as performing tasks “safely” and “on time,” are met. The system provides a clear benchmark to determine when a trainee has mastered a task, supporting the decision to stop training once the individual reaches the “expected performance” level. The rationale for this approach is similar to the DMAT uses, as the ultimate goal of oil and gas owners and operators is to deliver a facility on time, within budget, safely, compliant with environmental regulations, satisfied stakeholders, and optimized production. For operation and maintenance training, immersive virtual reality (IVR) with a 3D plant model was proposed to train control-room operators (CROPs) and field operators (FOPs) simultaneously. IVR eliminates subjectivity and allows trainees to be trained experimentally. Lee et al teach that information from the model can be developed into a “mobile accessible package” to support performance during actual site implementation after formal training. BIM can be used during commissioning, preoccupation, and post-occupation to train staff on asset location, maintenance access, and procedures. This information can also be developed into a mobile accessible package.
Regarding Claim 20Lee teaches further comprising: based on the rig plan, operating at least a portion of the rig during at least a portion of the assembling of the rig. (Lee teaches Integrated Scheduling of Activity and Operation explicitly using a “4D model for scheduling activity and operation” for mega-construction projects in the oil and gas industry. This integration allows project teams to coordinate construction tasks (assembly) with operational tasks in a single simulated timeline, improving process planning and control. The use of 4D modeling for planning, scheduling, and sequencing works in the oil and gas industry is also noticeable. A real-time pipe tracking system utilizing RFID and 3D digital models in a handheld mobile device was developed for efficient task management. Additionally, a 4D model for scheduling activity and operation of mega LNG construction projects was proposed to improve process planning and control. Engineering data such as 3D models, piping isometrics, and structural steel data were exported to a scheduling tool to create field installation work packages from a virtual construction model. BIM also has design review and design authoring functions commonly used in the oil and gas industry. Design review tools were deployed to review plant designs to reduce installation errors. Design authoring is used heavily to add richness of information to oil and gas facility models, such as integrating structure and piping design information. This teaching supports operational tasks during the rig’s assembly phase. “Realise” facilitates facility information for fabrication, assembles separate elements, controls equipment operation, and regulates facility element operation. [Lee et al P.351 Table 1] Lee et al describes “Commissioning” as a systematic process of verifying that all building systems perform interactively according to design specifications. In the oil and gas industry, a “real-time tracking system for project commissioning” ensures accurate delivery. Commissioning involves operating specific rig portions to verify functionality while the facility is being completed. “COBie/commissioning” verifies that building systems perform interactively according to design intent and owner needs. [Lee et al P.365 Table 4 No. 25] The oil and gas industry has its commissioning system, which differs from building systems. The facilities and data formats are large and complex, so a real-time tracking system is more appropriate for fast and accurate delivery. The tools carry similar functions to BIM use, such as field and management tracking and preparing for project completion and commissioning. Common CCMS systems in oil and gas projects include WinPCS, ContinuumEdge (CE), and qedi. [Lee P. 390 §5.4 ¶3] Lee et al teaches Concurrent Multi-Disciplinary Work, stating that technologies like Plant Lifecycle Management (PLM) allow multi-disciplinary teams. [Lee P. 350 §1 ¶2]
Mechanical, electrical, and piping systems can work concurrently under a collaboration platform. This platform supports coordinating operational tasks and changes during construction and implementation phases. PLM was deployed for multi-disciplinary teams like piping, electrical, mechanical, civil, structural, and architectural design to work concurrently. Modeling, instrumentation, and diagram include mechanical, structural, piping, equipment, electrical, civil engineering, and other engineering modeling necessary for a facility. Concurrent design of different disciplines may exist under a collaboration platform. It also facilitates instrumentation and diagram from various disciplines to support operational tasks like generating new as-built data, offering an interface for calibration, and using SAP for maintenance scheduling. Tools discussed are necessary to support changes and ensure up-to-date information. Lee et al teach Rig Work Readiness using tools like a “Well Planner” to streamline production scheduling and determine which well is ready for rig work. This coordination involves determining when a portion of the rig is ready for subterranean tasks while other components are being set up or assembled. Production management is a distinguished DMAT use not commonly applied in the built environment. An integrated system with an up-to-date 3D geological model, production management software like ERP, and a grid-based production management system was proposed for upstream oil and gas production management. Information from well data was used to estimate drilling and production costs via the Cost Estimate Request (CER) database. The Well Planner and FracScheduler were proposed to streamline production scheduling and discipline, determining which well is ready for rig work. [Lee P. 390 5.5 ¶3]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Lack of Antecedent Basis
Claims 13 and 15 each recite the limitation "the digital twin."
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these independent claims. While Claim 1 recites "creating a digital twin," Claims 13 and 15 are independent and do not refer back to Claim 1. Because these are independent claims, it is unclear which specific digital twin is being referenced or if a digital twin must first be created within the scope of these claims. A PHOSITA would be unable to ascertain the boundaries of the "digital twin" required for determining locations or adjusting the rig plan as recited.
Relative Terminology / Terms of Degree Claims 7, 8, 10, 15, and 16 recite the terms "efficiency," "optimize," and/or "speed." These are relative terms of degree which render the claims indefinite. The claims fail to provide an objective standard or quantitative metric for determining when a sequence is "efficient," when a plan is "optimized," or what threshold of "speed" must be met. Without a standard for measurement provided in the claim or a recognized standard in the art, a PHOSITA would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 10 recites "adjusting the rig plan... to optimize a performance criterion" providing only a result-oriented outcome without reciting the specific boundaries or the requisite degree of improvement required to fall within the claim scope.
Subjective Terms
Claims 18 and 19 recite "an expected performance level." This is a subjective term that lacks an objective boundary. The "expected" level is not anchored to any specific benchmark in the claim. Claim scope cannot depend solely on the unrestrained, subjective opinion of a particular individual (such as a supervisor or instructor). A level that is "expected" by one individual may differ significantly from that expected by another, meaning the metes and bounds of the claim would change depending on the user.
Support From the Specification
The specification fails to resolve these ambiguities. While paragraph [0084] mentions "identifying an efficiency," and paragraph [0091] mentions "an expected performance level," they do not provide objective standards for measuring these degrees. For example, paragraph [0091] states that "training can be adjusted to improve the performance of the individual to a desired performance level," which merely substitutes one subjective term for another without providing a PHOSITA with a clear way to distinguish between infringing and non-infringing activity.
Suggested Examiner Clarifications
To overcome these rejections, the applicant is suggested to:
Amend independent Claims 13 and 15 to provide an explicit antecedent basis for the digital twin (e.g., "creating a digital twin... and determining, via the digital twin..."). Replace relative terms like "optimize" and "efficiency" with quantitative metrics or specific functional steps described in the specification. Define "expected performance level" by reference to a specific, objective benchmark or set of criteria described in the specification to remove the reliance on subjective judgment. Applicant is reminded that any reply to this Office action must be fully responsive to every rejection and objection.
---- This page is left blank after this line ----
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ryan Pitaro can be reached at (571) 272-4071. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARIC R MARKS/
Examiner, Art Unit 2188/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188