Response to Amendment
The Office has carefully considered Applicant’s amendments and accompanying remarks dated 11/12/2025.
The IDS submitted on 12/12/25 is made of record. The references that are cited in the search report were used in the previous rejection and cited by the Office.
The pending claims under review in this office action are claims 1-8, 10-14, 20 and 21.
The status of the all claims are as follows:
Claims 1-8, 10-14 and 20-21 are rejected;
Claims 1, 6 and 20 were amended;
Claim 21 was newly added;
Claim 9 is cancelled; and
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 6 and 20 are entered and made of record.
Applicant’s amendment to claims is sufficient to overcome the objections made over the claims in paragraph 6 of the previous office action. The objection is withdrawn.
The obviousness double patenting rejection made in paragraphs 4-5 of the previous office action over 18/359, 239 [USPUB 20240035214 A1] is maintained and repeated below, only modified to include the current claims from this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first traversal is that that USPUB 2022/0054964 issued to Gopal further evidenced by USPUB 2012/0263771 issued to Carlson does not describe the intermingling of the base fibers with the AM/AC fibers to form a fabric web.
Gopal at ¶ 0003, teaches that “Such filter media are often manufactured by spinning or melt blowing one fiber layer (fine fiber) and then forming another interlocking web (microfiber) on the porous substrate. In the melt blowing process, the fiber can form physical bonds between fibers to interlock the fiber mat into an integrated layer.” Further at ¶ 0018, Gopal teaches that “the methods of producing the fibers, and layers, e.g., spin bonding, melt blowing, electrospinning, inter alia, are discussed in more detail herein under each layer as well. Further down, at ¶ 0029, the instant reference teaches that the composition of the fibers, fabrics, layers may be produced by spunbonding, spun lace, melt blowing, electrospinning. Other production processes are contemplated, including textile spinning and weaving.
At ¶ 0027-0028, Gopal teaches that the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. Alternatively, if needed they can also be separable. It should also be noted that Applicant does not provide any particular degree of entanglement or intermixing. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. Gopal teaches meltblowing process and spun lacing (new claim 21) that is used to create the layers where the fibers can form physical bonds between fibers to interlock the fiber mat into an integrated within the same layer or to another one. Therefore, this argument is not found to be convincing.
Applicant’s second traversal, is that the claimed subject matter is directed to the base fibers and AM/AV fibers being within a single layer/common, which distinguishes over the distinct first and second layers of Gopal. Applicant’s claims do not state “ a single common layer.” There are no figures showing a single common layer. Applicant’s specification speaks to “layers” and never provides any definition for what a “fabric web” or a single common layer is. Applicant’s working examples are towards a two layered nonwovens. Applicant’s Example 1, [¶ 0182] is a spunbonded PP and a meltblown PA; Example 2, [¶ 0183] the reverse of Example 1; Example 3 is meltblown PA + spunbonded PP and Example 4 is the reverse of Example 3. A text search of “single layer” of the specification or claims was also not found. In fact, a single layer would not be enabled by Applicant’s filed specification. As such, this argument is not found to be persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10-14 and 20-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/359,239 [USPUB 20240035214 A1]. The claims filed on 07/09/2025 were considered for analysis. This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the embodiment of the instant claims would be rendered obvious by the embodiments of claims 1-14 of 18/359,239 the only difference being efficacy against the type of bacteria Escherichia coli. Both Klebsiella pneumoniae (18/359,239) and Escherichia coli (18/066,763) are part of the Enterobacteriaceae family.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPUB 20220054964A1 issued to Gopal et al. further evidenced y USPUB 20120263771A1 issued to Carlson et al.
Regarding modified Claim 1, where Applicant seeks an antiviral and/or antimicrobial and/or antiodor (AM/AV), comprising: base fibers comprising a base polymer composition; and AM/AV fibers comprising an AM/AV polymer composition comprising an AM/AV polymer and an AM/AV compound;
wherein base fibers and the AM/AV fibers are intermingled with one another to form a fabric web; and
wherein the fabric demonstrates an Escherichia coli efficacy log reduction greater than 4.0, as measured in accordance with ASTM E3160 (2018) and a particle filtration efficiency greater than 35%; Applicant is directed to the teachings of USPUB 20220054964A1 issued to Gopal et al.
Gopal et al., teach making filter media structures having antimicrobial and/or antiviral properties [abstract] and comprises a first layer with an electret web (an electrically charged nonwoven web) comprising a polymer such as polyolefin, polyester, polyurethane, polycarbonate, polystyrene, fluoropolymer, or copolymers.
At ¶ 0003, Gopal et al. teach that “Such filter media are often manufactured by spinning or melt blowing one fiber layer (fine fiber) and then forming another interlocking web (microfiber) on the porous substrate. In the melt blowing process, the fiber can form physical bonds between fibers to interlock the fiber mat into an integrated layer.”
At ¶ 0027, the instant reference teaches that a second layer may be formed directly on the first layer. For example, the first layer may comprise polyolefin, polyester, or polystyrene, and the second layer may comprise polymer fibers, preferably polyamide fibers, which are blown directly on a surface of the first layer. In this way, the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. The first layer is formed from polypropylene (e.g., spunbond) and the second layer is formed from a plurality of fibers of a polyamide composition (e.g., meltblown). Melt blown fibers are known to be short fibers. This shows that if desired the first and second layers are intermingled so that it is not possible to separate them.
At ¶ 0028, the instant reference teaches that the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. discusses that in some embodiments, the layers of the filter media structure are separable and/or removable, this shows that if desired the first and second layers are intermingled yet separable if needed.
At ¶ 0029, the instant reference teaches that the composition of the fibers, fabrics, layers may be produced by spunbonding, spun lace, melt blowing, electrospinning. Other production processes are contemplated, including textile spinning and weaving.
At ¶ 0033-0034, the instant reference discloses that a charge may be applied to the first layer using any suitable technique, such as corona charging, tribocharging, or hydro charging. ¶ 0033 specifically states that the electrostatic charge of the first layer may be up to -20 kV.
At ¶ 0035, the instant reference teaches that the first layer may comprise staple fibers to provides a more lofty, less dense web wherein the number of staple fibers in the first layer may be 1 - 90 wt.%.
At ¶ 0079, the instant reference discloses that the first layer may comprise an antimicrobial/antiviral polymer composition and ¶ 0080 discloses that a layer with biological reducing properties may comprise a polymer and one or more AM/ AV compounds, such as metallic compounds including copper and zinc.
At ¶ 0136, the instant reference teaches that any of the layers of the filter media structure may comprise additional additives. The additives include pigments, hydrophilic or hydrophobic additives, antiodor additives, additional antiviral agents, and antimicrobial/ anti-fungal inorganic compounds, such as copper, zinc, tin, and silver.
At ¶ 0071, the instant reference teaches that the antimicrobial activity of the filter media structure may also be measured by determining the percentage inhibiting a bacterium or bacteria, e.g. Klebsiella pneumoniae and that in one embodiment, the filter media structure inhibits the growth reduction of K. pneumoniae in an amount ranging from 60% to 100%. It should be noted that in microbiology a 1 log reduction = 90% reduction, 2 log reduction = 99% reduction and a 1.5 log fall is approximately a 96% reduction.
At ¶ 0129 and ¶ 0180-0181, the instant reference discloses that particulate filtration efficiency PFE was measured using the TSI 8130 test.
At ¶ 0130-0132, the instant reference teaches that PFE which measures a percentage of particles that are trapped or isolated by the filter media structure demonstrates a PFE greater than 90%.
At ¶ 0183, Example 1, of the instant reference they teach that the filter media structure was prepared using a 77.2 g/m2 spunbond polypropylene (SBPP) charged two-layer nonwoven layer having an average fiber diameter of 13 microns, thickness of 0.65 mm on which a 17 g/m2 meltblown polyamide (MBPA) having an average fiber diameter of about 1.5 to 2 microns was positioned in an upstream manner. The meltblown polyamide comprised 500 ppm of zinc by weight (wppm).
Regarding the limitations in claims 1 and 20- wherein the fabric demonstrates an Escherichia coli efficacy log reduction greater than 4.0, as measured in accordance with ASTM E3160 (2018)- Gopal et al. at ¶ 0071, teaches that the antimicrobial activity of the filter media structure may also be measured by determining the percentage inhibiting a bacterium or bacteria, e.g. Klebsiella pneumoniae and that in one embodiment, the filter media structure inhibits the growth reduction of K. pneumoniae in an amount ranging from 60% to 100%. It should be noted that in microbiology a 1 log reduction = 90% reduction, 2 log reduction = 99% reduction and a 1.5 log fall is approximately a 96% reduction. They do not test using the same standard nor do they speak to the bacteria being Escherichia coli as sought by Applicant.
It is the position of the Office that the resultant property of the fabric demonstrates an Escherichia coli efficacy log reduction greater than 1.5, as measured in accordance with ASTM E3160 (2018) would be met by Gopal et al. Support for said assumption is found in the use of the same layers, same composition, same fiber size and filtering the same bacteria of Klebsiella pneumoniae or Escherichia coli as they are from the same Enterobacteriaceae family as Applicant. This is also evidenced by the teachings of USPUB 20120263771A1 issued to Carlson et al. [see ¶ 0122]. The burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties as set forth above, it would obviously have been present once the Gopal et al. product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection made above under 35 USC 102. Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though rejection is based on Section 103 instead of Section 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
At ¶ 0157, the instant reference teaches that the filter media structures may be used in wound care, for example, the filter media structures may be employed as wraps, (breathable) gauzes, bandages, and/or other dressings and that the AM/ AV properties of the filter media structures make them particularly beneficial in these applications. In some cases, the filter media structures serve as a moisture barrier and/or to facilitate an oxygen transmission balance.
Regarding Claims 2-5, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the base fibers have a base fiber charge; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0032-0034, 0069, 0170 and 0187. Dependent on the composition and layer, the fibers can also have no charge.
Regarding Claim 6, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the fabric, comprises greater than 25 wt% base fibers; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0010, where the instant reference teaches that the amount can be 50 to 99.9 wt. %
Regarding Claim 7, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the base polymer comprises polypropylene and the AM/AV polymer comprises polyamide; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0009-0013 and 0027 and the working examples, where the instant reference teaches that a second layer may be formed directly on the first layer. For example, the first layer may comprise polyolefin, polyester, or polystyrene, and the second layer may comprise polymer fibers, preferably polyamide fibers, which are blown directly on a surface of the first layer. In this way, the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. The first layer is formed from polypropylene (e.g., spunbond) and the second layer is formed from a plurality of fibers of a polyamide composition (e.g., meltblown). Melt blown fibers are known to be short fibers.
Regarding Claim 8, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the AM/AV compound comprises zinc or copper or a combination thereof; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0136, the instant reference teaches that any of the layers of the filter media structure may comprise additional additives. The additives include pigments, hydrophilic or hydrophobic additives, antiodor additives, additional antiviral agents, and antimicrobial/ anti-fungal inorganic compounds, such as copper, zinc, tin, and silver.
Regarding Claim 10, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the AM/AV fibers comprise a supplemental polymer different from the AM/AV polymer; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0009-0013 and 0027 and the working examples, where the instant reference teaches that a second layer may be formed directly on the first layer. For example, the first layer may comprise polyolefin, polyester, or polystyrene, and the second layer may comprise polymer fibers, preferably polyamide fibers, which are blown directly on a surface of the first layer. In this way, the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. The first layer is formed from polypropylene (e.g., spunbond) and the second layer is formed from a plurality of fibers of a polyamide composition (e.g., meltblown).
Regarding Claim 11, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the base polymer composition or the AM/AV polymer composition comprises a charge agent; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0033 of the instant reference which teaches that comprise a charge additives.
Regarding Claim 12, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the fabric demonstrates an ATI filtration efficiency greater than 20% at an 85 1pm flow rate; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of the fabric demonstrates an ATI filtration efficiency greater than 20% at an 85 1pm flow rate, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of the fabric demonstrates an ATI filtration efficiency greater than 20% at an 85 1pm flow rate, would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding Claim 13, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the fabric demonstrates a pressure drop greater than 1 mm H2O/cm2; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of the fabric demonstrates a pressure drop greater than 1 mm H2O/cm2, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of the fabric demonstrate a pressure drop greater than 1 mm H2O/cm2, would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding Claim 14, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the fabric demonstrates an air permeability greater than 20 cfm/ft2 at a mean flow pore size of at least 7 microns; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of the fabric demonstrates an air permeability greater than 20 cfm/ft2 at a mean flow pore size of at least 7 microns, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of the fabric demonstrate an air permeability greater than 20 cfm/ft2 at a mean flow pore size of at least 7 microns, would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding modified Claim 20, see rationale for Claim 1 above.
Regarding new claim 21, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the base fibers and the AM/AV fibers are spun laced, thereby to form the fabric web; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0029, where the instant reference teaches that the composition of the fibers, fabrics, layers may be produced by spunbonding, spun lace, melt blowing, electrospinning. Other production processes are contemplated, including textile spinning and weaving.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Arti Singh-Pandey/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1759
asp