DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 3/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 16, 20 and 21 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 14, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0381479, hereinafter Li), Liang et al. (US 2023/0058706, hereinafter Liang), Xiong et al. (US 2022/0368468, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2020/0367310, hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: transmitting, by a terminal in a first state, a first message to a network node to start a data communication resume procedure to the network node, wherein the first message is transmitted through a configured grant resource [Li Figure 20 discloses a call flow where a UE in RRC_Inactive mode (i.e. in a first state) sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (i.e. a first message to a network node to start data communication resume procedure) (Li Figure 20, paragraph 0200). Li further discloses that the UE may initiate uplink transmission in RRC inactive state by using the configured grant(s) (Li paragraphs 0174-0175)]; and
Monitoring, after transmission of the first message, a control channel with a network temporary identifier for a response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message [Li discloses that a UE may validate activation PDCCH and then may operate in the transmission mode associated with CS-RNTI that is used to scramble the PDCCH (Li paragraph 0203)].
Although Li discloses that the UE may validate activation PDCCH (see above), which would imply monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier; Li does not expressly disclose the features of monitoring, after transmission of the first message, a control channel with a network temporary identifier for a response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message; wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Liang discloses examples of uplink data transmission where a terminal device in the inactive state may transmit a random preamble to the network device with a determination that uplink data is to be transmitted. The device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). Liang also discloses that the UE may monitor a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI after initiating a procedure for small data transmission while in an inactive state (see Liang claim 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Liang to have the feature of monitoring, after transmission of the first message, a control channel with a network temporary identifier for a response to the first message; and wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method of data transmission with reduced signaling overhead (Liang paragraph 0041).
Li and Liang do not expressly disclose the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message; wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Xiong discloses that a first type RNTI allocated when the UE is in an RRC connected state, an RNTI included in the first type PDSCH, a C-RNTI allocated when the UE is in the previous RRC connected state (Xiong paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang and Xiong to have the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce signaling overhead and transmit data efficiently (Xiong paragraph 0624).
Li, Liang and Xiong do not expressly disclose the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Jung discloses that a UE may receive RRC release message (step 1g-05, Figure 1G of Jung) and may perform a series of processes (Jung paragraph 0167, Figure 1G). When RRC release message is received in response to an RRC Resume request (i.e. another RRC Release message is received), the UE may stop timer T319 and may replace certain parameters including a C-RNTI (Jung paragraphs 0171-0173). Thus, a timer (e.g. T319) is used to determine when to discard C-RNTI (e.g. replace C-RNTI). Stopping the timer when RRC release is received is also same as the claimed limitation of the timer being stopped when another RRC release message is received. Jung also discloses that the UE may receive system information comprising a value of the timer T319 (Jung paragraph 0176), which is same as the claimed limitations of the terminal receiving a configuration of the timer from the network node; and the timer being configured in a system information from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung to have the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method capable of effectively supporting services in a mobile communication system (Jung paragraphs 0006-007).
Regarding claim 2, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the first message is any of a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message and an RRC setup request message [Li Figure 20 discloses a call flow where a UE in RRC_Inactive mode (i.e. in a first state) sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (Li Figure 20, paragraph 0200)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the response to the first message includes a contention solution, wherein the terminal monitors the control channel including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) with the network temporary identifier including the C-RNTI [Liang discloses that the device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). In some cases, the network device may generate contention resolution information and transmit it in a response to the network device (Liang paragraph 0069). The network device may transmit the contention resolution information to the terminal (Liang paragraph 0071). The UE may monitor a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI after initiating a procedure for small data transmission while in an inactive state (see Liang claim 41)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose regarding receiving, by the terminal, a first data transmission scheduled by the monitored network temporary identifier from the network node [Liang discloses that the network device may receive downlink data and transmit to the terminal (Liang paragraphs 0053-0054, Figure 3, 309. Also see Liang paragraph 0057-0059). The uplink/downlink data transmission may be repeated with C-RNTI (Liang paragraph 0062)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose regarding transmitting, by the terminal, a second data transmission scheduled by the monitored network temporary identifier to the network node [Liang discloses that the terminal may transmit uplink data to the network device, and the transmitted information may be scrambled by the RNTI (Liang Figure 3, 305, paragraphs 0050-0051)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose regarding receiving, by the terminal, an RRC release message from the network node; and responsive to receiving the RRC release message, stopping, by the terminal, monitoring control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal and discard the network temporary identifier [Liang discloses that the UE monitors the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI until reception of a RRC release message. The network device may send a RRC release message to cause the terminal to initialize parameters in the inactive state and suspend PDCP entity and stop PDCCH monitoring (Liang claim 44 and paragraph 129). Initializing parameters in the inactive state also indicates discarding or releasing the network temporary identifier]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 6. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the first message includes an RRC resume request transmitted through a configured grant (CG) resource [Li discloses that the UE may be configured with configured grant resources to be used for uplink transmission in RRC-inactive state (Li paragraphs 0188 and 0189). A UE in RRC_Inactive mode sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (Li paragraph 0200)], and wherein the RRC release message is scheduled by the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal [Liang discloses that the terminal may receive in a connection release message, an indication of configured grant information and a third identity of the terminal, which may be a configured scheduling RNTI (i.e. release message is scheduled by the network temporary identifier) (Liang paragraph 0111. Also see Liang claim 45)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the terminal monitors the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal responsive to initiating an inactive data transmission timer [Liang discloses that a terminal may monitor a downlink channel associated with the terminal device until a period of time is expired (indicating that an inactive data transmission timer has been initiated). The downlink channel may be a PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI (Liang paragraph 0107)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 8. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose regarding detecting, by the terminal, an expiry of the inactive data transmission timer; and responsive to detecting the expiry of the inactive data transmission timer, performing, by the terminal, any of stopping monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal, discarding the network temporary identifier [Liang discloses that when the period of time is expired, the terminal may stop PDCCH monitoring and release the C-RNTI (Liang paragraph 0110)], and/or suspending a dedicated radio bearer (DRB) and/or a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP). In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 8. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein a length of the inactive data transmission timer is configured by any of a RRC reconfiguration message received by the terminal prior to the terminal transitioning into an inactive state, in a RRC release message used to configure the terminal into the inactive state, and in system information of any message where data transmission is performed [Liang discloses that a terminal may monitor a downlink channel associated with the terminal device until a period of time is expired (Liang paragraph 0107). The period of time may be broadcasted in system information (Liang paragraph 0108)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the first message includes data transmitted through a CG resource [Li discloses that the UE may be configured with configured grant resources to be used for uplink transmission in RRC-inactive state (Li paragraphs 0188 and 0189). A UE in RRC_Inactive mode sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (i.e. a first message to a network node to start data communication resume procedure) (Li paragraph 0200)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a network node, a first message to start a data communication resume procedure from a terminal in a first state, wherein the first message is transmitted through a configured grant resource [Li Figure 20 discloses a call flow where a UE in RRC_Inactive mode (i.e. in a first state) sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (i.e. a network node receives a first message to start data communication resume procedure) (Li Figure 20, paragraph 0200). Li further discloses that the UE may initiate uplink transmission in RRC inactive state by using the configured grant(s) (Li paragraphs 0174-0175)]; and
Transmitting, by the network node, a response to the first message to the terminal monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier for the response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message [Li discloses that a UE may validate activation PDCCH and then may operate in the transmission mode associated with CS-RNTI that is used to scramble the PDCCH (Li paragraph 0203)].
Although Li discloses that the UE may validate activation PDCCH (see above), which would imply monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier; Li does not expressly disclose the features of transmitting, by the network node, a response to the first message to the terminal monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier for the response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message; wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Liang discloses examples of uplink data transmission where a terminal device in the inactive state may transmit a random preamble to the network device with a determination that uplink data is to be transmitted. The device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). Liang also discloses that the UE may monitor a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI after initiating a procedure for small data transmission while in an inactive state (see Liang claim 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Liang to have the feature of transmitting, by the network node, a response to the first message to the terminal monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier for the response to the first message; and wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method of data transmission with reduced signaling overhead (Liang paragraph 0041).
Li and Liang do not expressly disclose the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message; wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Xiong discloses that a first type RNTI allocated when the UE is in an RRC connected state, an RNTI included in the first type PDSCH, a C-RNTI allocated when the UE is in the previous RRC connected state (Xiong paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang and Xiong to have the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce signaling overhead and transmit data efficiently (Xiong paragraph 0624).
Li, Liang and Xiong do not expressly disclose the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Jung discloses that a UE may receive RRC release message (step 1g-05, Figure 1G of Jung) and may perform a series of processes (Jung paragraph 0167, Figure 1G). When RRC release message is received in response to an RRC Resume request (i.e. another RRC Release message is received), the UE may stop timer T319 and may replace certain parameters including a C-RNTI (Jung paragraphs 0171-0173). Thus, a timer (e.g. T319) is used to determine when to discard C-RNTI (e.g. replace C-RNTI). Stopping the timer when RRC release is received is also same as the claimed limitation of the timer being stopped when another RRC release message is received. Jung also discloses that the UE may receive system information comprising a value of the timer T319 (Jung paragraph 0176), which is same as the claimed limitations of the terminal receiving a configuration of the timer from the network node; and the timer being configured in a system information from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung to have the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method capable of effectively supporting services in a mobile communication system (Jung paragraphs 0006-007).
Regarding claim 17, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 16. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the response to the first message includes a contention solution, wherein the terminal is configured to monitor the control channel including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) with the network temporary identifier including the C-RNTI [Liang discloses that the device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). In some cases, the network device may generate contention resolution information and transmit it in a response to the network device (Liang paragraph 0069). The network device may transmit the contention resolution information to the terminal (Liang paragraph 0071). The UE may monitor a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI after initiating a procedure for small data transmission while in an inactive state (see Liang claim 41)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 16. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose regarding transmitting, by the network node, an RRC release message to the terminal, wherein the terminal is configured to stop monitoring control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal and discard the network temporary identifier responsive to receiving the RRC release message from the network node [Liang discloses that the UE monitors the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI until reception of a RRC release message. The network device may send a RRC release message to cause the terminal to initialize parameters in the inactive state and suspend PDCP entity and stop PDCCH monitoring (Liang claim 44 and paragraph 129). Initializing parameters in the inactive state also indicates discarding or releasing the network temporary identifier]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor that is configured to cause the apparatus to implement a method, comprising: transmit, by a terminal in a first state, a first message to a network node to start a data communication resume procedure to the network node, wherein the first message is transmitted through a configured grant resource [Li Figure 1B discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications, such as a WTRU (UE), which may include a processor, a transceiver, memory, etc. (Li Figure 1B, paragraphs 0054-0063). Li Figure 20 discloses a call flow where a UE in RRC_Inactive mode (i.e. in a first state) sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (i.e. a first message to a network node to start data communication resume procedure) (Li Figure 20, paragraph 0200). Li further discloses that the UE may initiate uplink transmission in RRC inactive state by using the configured grant(s) (Li paragraphs 0174-0175)]; and
Monitor, after transmission of the first message, a control channel with a network temporary identifier for a response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message [Li discloses that a UE may validate activation PDCCH and then may operate in the transmission mode associated with CS-RNTI that is used to scramble the PDCCH (Li paragraph 0203)].
Although Li discloses that the UE may validate activation PDCCH (see above), which would imply monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier; Li does not expressly disclose the features of monitoring, after transmission of the first message, a control channel with a network temporary identifier for a response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message; wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Liang discloses examples of uplink data transmission where a terminal device in the inactive state may transmit a random preamble to the network device with a determination that uplink data is to be transmitted. The device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). Liang also discloses that the UE may monitor a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI after initiating a procedure for small data transmission while in an inactive state (see Liang claim 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Liang to have the feature of monitoring, after transmission of the first message, a control channel with a network temporary identifier for a response to the first message; and wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method of data transmission with reduced signaling overhead (Liang paragraph 0041).
Li and Liang do not expressly disclose the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message; wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Xiong discloses that a first type RNTI allocated when the UE is in an RRC connected state, an RNTI included in the first type PDSCH, a C-RNTI allocated when the UE is in the previous RRC connected state (Xiong paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang and Xiong to have the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to receiving a radio resource control release message. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce signaling overhead and transmit data efficiently (Xiong paragraph 0624).
Li, Liang and Xiong do not expressly disclose the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Jung discloses that a UE may receive RRC release message (step 1g-05, Figure 1G of Jung) and may perform a series of processes (Jung paragraph 0167, Figure 1G). When RRC release message is received in response to an RRC Resume request (i.e. another RRC Release message is received), the UE may stop timer T319 and may replace certain parameters including a C-RNTI (Jung paragraphs 0171-0173). Thus, a timer (e.g. T319) is used to determine when to discard C-RNTI (e.g. replace C-RNTI). Stopping the timer when RRC release is received is also same as the claimed limitation of the timer being stopped when another RRC release message is received. Jung also discloses that the UE may receive system information comprising a value of the timer T319 (Jung paragraph 0176), which is same as the claimed limitations of the terminal receiving a configuration of the timer from the network node; and the timer being configured in a system information from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung to have the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method capable of effectively supporting services in a mobile communication system (Jung paragraphs 0006-007).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor that is configured to cause the apparatus to implement a method, comprising: receive, by a network node, a first message to start a data communication resume procedure from a terminal in a first state, wherein the first message is received through a configured grant resource [Li Figure 1B discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications, such as a WTRU (UE), which may include a processor, a transceiver, memory, etc. (Li Figure 1B, paragraphs 0054-0063). Li Figure 20 discloses a call flow where a UE in RRC_Inactive mode (i.e. in a first state) sends an RRCConnectionResumeRequest message to a gNB (i.e. a network node receives a first message to start data communication resume procedure) (Li Figure 20, paragraph 0200). Li further discloses that the UE may initiate uplink transmission in RRC inactive state by using the configured grant(s) (Li paragraphs 0174-0175)]; and
Transmit, by the network node, a response to the first message to the terminal monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier for the response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message [Li discloses that a UE may validate activation PDCCH and then may operate in the transmission mode associated with CS-RNTI that is used to scramble the PDCCH (Li paragraph 0203)].
Although Li discloses that the UE may validate activation PDCCH (see above), which would imply monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier; Li does not expressly disclose the features of transmitting, by the network node, a response to the first message to the terminal monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier for the response to the first message, wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message; wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Liang discloses examples of uplink data transmission where a terminal device in the inactive state may transmit a random preamble to the network device with a determination that uplink data is to be transmitted. The device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). Liang also discloses that the UE may monitor a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI after initiating a procedure for small data transmission while in an inactive state (see Liang claim 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Liang to have the feature of transmitting, by the network node, a response to the first message to the terminal monitoring a control channel with a network temporary identifier for the response to the first message; and wherein the response identifies a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method of data transmission with reduced signaling overhead (Liang paragraph 0041).
Li and Liang do not expressly disclose the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message; wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Xiong discloses that a first type RNTI allocated when the UE is in an RRC connected state, an RNTI included in the first type PDSCH, a C-RNTI allocated when the UE is in the previous RRC connected state (Xiong paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang and Xiong to have the feature of wherein the network temporary identifier is configured by the network node when the terminal was in a previous radio resource control connected state or when the terminal entered an inactive state in response to transmitting a radio resource control release message. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce signaling overhead and transmit data efficiently (Xiong paragraph 0624).
Li, Liang and Xiong do not expressly disclose the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Jung discloses that a UE may receive RRC release message (step 1g-05, Figure 1G of Jung) and may perform a series of processes (Jung paragraph 0167, Figure 1G). When RRC release message is received in response to an RRC Resume request (i.e. another RRC Release message is received), the UE may stop timer T319 and may replace certain parameters including a C-RNTI (Jung paragraphs 0171-0173). Thus, a timer (e.g. T319) is used to determine when to discard C-RNTI (e.g. replace C-RNTI). Stopping the timer when RRC release is received is also same as the claimed limitation of the timer being stopped when another RRC release message is received. Jung also discloses that the UE may receive system information comprising a value of the timer T319 (Jung paragraph 0176), which is same as the claimed limitations of the terminal receiving a configuration of the timer from the network node; and the timer being configured in a system information from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung to have the features of wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method capable of effectively supporting services in a mobile communication system (Jung paragraphs 0006-007).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung, and further in view of Kuang et al. (US 2022/0338178, hereinafter Kuang).
Regarding claim 9, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 8. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose regarding receiving, by the terminal, PDCCH scheduling information with the C-RNTI [Li discloses that the PDCCH may be scrambled with CS-RNTI (Li paragraph 0181). Liang discloses that a downlink channel may be a PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI (Liang paragraph 0107 and claim 46)].
Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung do not expressly disclose the feature of responsive to receiving the PDCCH scheduling information with the C-RNTI, restarting, by the terminal, the inactive data transmission timer.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Kuang discloses that a UE may monitor he PDCCH while an inactivity timer is running. When a scheduling message is received while the inactivity timer is running, the UE restarts the inactivity timer. The scheduling messages can be termed DL/UL assignment indicated by its C-RNTI on the PDCCH (see Kuang paragraph 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung and Kuang to have the feature of responsive to receiving the PDCCH scheduling information with the C-RNTI, restarting, by the terminal, the inactive data transmission timer. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide procedures for facilitating to improve switching between groups of search space states in a downlink control channel monitoring (Kuang paragraphs 0005 and 0097).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung, and further in view of Wei et al. (US 2021/0315049, hereinafter Wei).
Regarding claim 12, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose wherein the first message includes an inactive radio network temporary identifier (I-RNTI), a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), a MAC service data unit (SDU), and a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) [Liang discloses that a terminal device in an inactive state may generate a first MAC CE carrying an identity of the terminal such as I-RNTI (Liang paragraphs 0049, 0064). Liang further discloses that the first MAC CE may carry UL CCCH SDU (i.e. MAC SDU) (Liang paragraph 0092).
Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung do not expressly disclose wherein the first message includes a MAC protocol data unit (PDU).
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wei discloses that the UE may operate in RRC_Inactive state and may generate a MAC PDU for small data transmission via a CG (Wei paragraph 0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung and Wei to have the feature of the first message includes a MAC protocol data unit (PDU). The suggestion/motivation would have been to utilize efficiency of CG resources and improve performance (Wei paragraph 0267).
Regarding claim 13, Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung and Wei disclose the method of claim 12. Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung and Wei further disclose wherein the response to the first message includes any of a C-RNTI and the I-RNTI to be used for contention resolution [Liang discloses that the device may receive a response from the network including a cell radio network temporary identifier (Liang paragraph 0048, Figure 3). In some cases, the network device may generate contention resolution information and transmit it in a response to the network device (Liang paragraph 0069). The terminal may perform data transmission using C-RNTI in the RAR (Liang paragraph 0073)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 12.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung, and further in view of Li (US 2023/0015847, hereinafter Li_5847).
Regarding claim 15, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 1. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose that the UE monitors the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI until reception of a RRC release message. The network device may send a RRC release message to cause the terminal to initialize parameters in the inactive state and suspend PDCP entity and stop PDCCH monitoring (Liang claim 44 and paragraph 129). Initializing parameters in the inactive state also indicates discarding or releasing the network temporary identifier. Thus, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the features of stopping, by the terminal, monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal, and discarding, by the terminal, the network temporary identifier comprising a C-RNTI in response to receiving a RRC release message.
Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung do not expressly disclose the feature of receiving, by the terminal, a MAC control (CE) from the network node that includes an indication to release the network temporary identifier; responsive to receiving the MAC CE from the network node, stopping, by the terminal, monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal; and discarding, by the terminal, the network temporary identifier comprising a C-RNTI.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Li_5847 discloses that a terminal may receive an indication for instructing to release the uplink grant resource (i.e. receive an indication for release). The indication may be carried in a MAC CE or RRC signaling, or a PDCCH (Li_5847 paragraphs 0117-0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung and Li_5847 to have the features of receiving, by the terminal, a MAC control (CE) from the network node that includes an indication to release the network temporary identifier; responsive to receiving the MAC CE from the network node, stopping, by the terminal, monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal; and discarding, by the terminal, the network temporary identifier comprising a C-RNTI. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently utilize uplink transmission resources (Li_5847 paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 19, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the method of claim 18. Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung further disclose that the UE monitors the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI until reception of a RRC release message. The network device may send a RRC release message to cause the terminal to initialize parameters in the inactive state and suspend PDCP entity and stop PDCCH monitoring (Liang claim 44 and paragraph 129). Initializing parameters in the inactive state also indicates discarding or releasing the network temporary identifier. Thus, Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung disclose the features of stopping, by the terminal, monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal, and discarding, by the terminal, the network temporary identifier comprising a C-RNTI in response to receiving a RRC release message.
Li, Liang, Xiong and Jung do not expressly disclose the feature of transmitting, by the network node, a MAC control element (CE) to the terminal that includes an indication to release the network temporary identifier, wherein the terminal is configured to stop monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal and discard the network temporary identifier comprising a C-RNTI.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Li_5847 discloses that a terminal may receive an indication for instructing to release the uplink grant resource (i.e. receive an indication for release). The indication may be carried in a MAC CE or RRC signaling, or a PDCCH (Li_5847 paragraphs 0117-0118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li, Liang, Xiong, Jung and Li_5847 to have the features of transmitting, by the network node, a MAC control element (CE) to the terminal that includes an indication to release the network temporary identifier, wherein the terminal is configured to stop monitoring of the control channel with the network temporary identifier configured for the terminal and discard the network temporary identifier comprising a C-RNTI. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently utilize uplink transmission resources (Li_5847 paragraph 0002).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/20/2026 with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 of Applicant's remarks, the Applicant argues the following with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.:
…However, Jung does not disclose each and every limitation of the claimed timer of claim 1…This disclosure is different from the Office’s assertion…Accordingly, Jung fails to disclose or suggest “a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI”…
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments for the following reasons:
Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation during patent examination (MPEP § 2111). Claim 1 limitation states: “wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, wherein the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed, the timer is started upon transmission of the first message, or the timer is stopped when another radio resource control release message is received”.
Jung discloses that the UE may perform a series of processes, including stopping a timer and replacing certain parameters such as C-RNTI after receiving an RRC release message (see Jung Figure 1G, paragraphs 0167 and 0171-0173). Replacing C-RNTI would mean that the current C-RNTI has been discarded (i.e. similar to the discarding a C-RNTI as required in the claim). Thus, the event of a timer being stopped (i.e. an operation of the timer) is used to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, which is similar to the claimed limitation of “wherein a timer is used by the terminal to determine when to discard the C-RNTI”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “…in claim 1, the claimed timer is used to determine when to discard the C-RNTI, such as upon expiration of the timer…”) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Jung further discloses that the UE receives system information comprising a value of the timer T319 (See Jung paragraph 0176). As seen in Jung Figure 1G, step 1g-10, the system information including T319 information is received from the network node MN. This is similar to the claimed limitation of “wherein -the terminal receives a configuration of the timer from the network node, and the timer is configured in a system information from the network node where data transmission is performed”. Stopping the timer when RRC release is received is also same as the claimed limitation of the timer being stopped when another RRC release message is received. Note that due to alternative language of the claim, only one limitation out of last four limitations needs to be taught by a prior art. Thus, prior art Jung clearly discloses all the limitations of the claimed timer of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414