DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Amendment filed on Jul. 02, 2026.
Claims 1, 13, 24, 29, 38, 43, 48 and 53 have been amended.
Claims 4, 16, 25 and 31-32 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17-24, 26-30 and 33-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (2024/0422843).
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see abstract, fig.5 element 501, paragraph [0018] and its description), comprising: one or more memories (It is inherent in telecommunication devices); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to (It is inherent in telecommunication devices): receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a UE capability request message (see abstract, fig.5 elements 501, 502, step 505, paragraph [0018], [0119-0120] and its description); and transmit, in response to the UE capability request message, based at least in part on network information of a network, a UE capability information message that indicates one or more UE capabilities associated with one of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) or a terrestrial network (TN), wherein the network information comprises an indication of whether the network is the one of the NTN or the TN (see abstract, fig.5 elements 501, 502, step 510, paragraphs [0004], [0018], [0119-0120], [0126] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Jin further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication that the one or more UE capabilities associated with the one of the NTN or the TN are to be indicated in the UE capability information message, wherein the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities in accordance with the indication (see abstract, fig.5 element 501, step 505, paragraphs [0004], [0018], [0119-0120] and its description).
Regarding claim 3, Jin further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication of one or more bands or band combinations for which the UE capability information message is to indicate one or more per-band UE capabilities, wherein the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities associated with the NTN in response to the one or more bands or band combinations including an NTN band, or wherein the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities associated with the TN in response to the one or more bands or band combinations including a TN band (see abstract, fig.5 element 501, step 505, paragraphs [0004], [0018], [0119-0120] and its description).
Regarding claim 5, Jin further discloses wherein the UE capability information message, further based at least in part on UE information, indicates the one or more UE capabilities associated with the one of the NTN or the TN, and wherein the UE information includes at least one of: a type of the UE, (see abstract, fig.5 element 501, paragraphs [0119-0120] and its description), a location of the UE, a quality of service for communications of the UE, a connection history of the UE, or a speed of movement of the UE. (see abstract, fig.5 element 501, paragraphs [0004], [0119-0120] and its description).
Regarding claim 6, Jin further discloses wherein the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities associated with the NTN in a field of the UE capability information message designated for capability indication for the TN (see fig.5, element 501, paragraph [0004], [0018] and its description).
Regarding claim 7, Jin further discloses wherein the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities associated with the NTN in a field of the UE capability information message designated for capability indication for the NTN (see fig.5, element 501, paragraph [0004], [0018] and its description).
Regarding claim 8, Jin further discloses wherein the UE is an NTN only UE, and the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities associated with only the NTN (see paragraphs [0004], [0009-0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Jin further discloses wherein the UE capability information message includes an indication that the UE is the NTN only UE or that the one or more UE capabilities are associated with only the NTN.
Regarding claim 10, Jin further discloses wherein the UE capability information message indicates the one or more UE capabilities using one or more feature group indications (see paragraph [0008-0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Jin further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive the network information in a system information block (a System Information Block (SIB) is a type of broadcast message sent from the base station to User Equipment (UE) is well-known in 5G mobile networks and see abstract, paragraphs [0003-0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Jin further discloses wherein the one or more UE capabilities are one or more per-UE capabilities (see paragraph [0008-0011]).
Regarding claim 13, Jin discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the network node to: transmit, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a user equipment (UE) capability request message (see abstract, fig.5 elements 501, 502, step 505, paragraph [0018], [0119-0120] and its description); and receive, in response to the UE capability request message, based at least in part on network information of a network, a UE capability information message that indicates one or more UE capabilities associated with one of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) or a terrestrial network (TN), wherein the network information comprises an indication of whether the network is the one of the NTN or the TN (see abstract, fig.5 elements 501, 502, step 510, paragraphs [0004], [0018], [0119-0120], [0126] and its description).
Regarding claims 14-15, 17-24, 26-30 and 33-57 recite limitations substantially similar to the claims 1-3, 5-13. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647