DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The amendment received on 10 August 2026 has been acknowledged and entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 14-19 have been amended.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, pages 11-12 of 15, filed 10 August 2026, with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues (in REMARKS, page 14 of 15) that each of the dependent claims, on their own merits and in view of their dependence on claims 1, 8, and 15, are respectfully believed to be similarly novel and patentable over the art of record. Accordingly, Applicants respectfully request that the rejections of these claims similarly be withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees for reasons stated above regarding the rejection of claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 10, Applicant has removed “profile” after “user” without proper markings to show the deletion. Appropriate correction is required.
In the previous Office Action, the Examiner noted that the Amendment filed on 03/09/2026, in Claim 15, line 11, that “and the location profile” should be deleted. However, the current amendment has deleted “and the location profile” without providing proper markings to show the deletion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald (US Patent No. 9,720,414 B1) in view of Peterson et al. (US PG Pub. 20180300676 A1) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20210347059 A1).
As per claim 1, Theobald discloses a computer-implemented method for delivering packages in a risk-free walkway comprising:
generating, by a computing device, a location profile associated with a location (Theobald: col. 2, line 57-col. 3, lines 3; The mobile robot 20 may be configured as an autonomous mobile robot that performs one or more tasks without continuous outside control and/or intervention. The mobile robot 20, for example, may receive instructions to perform a certain task at a certain location such as, for example, to perform a hospitality service (e.g., porter luggage) for an individual (e.g., a guest of a hospitality business). The mobile robot 20 may subsequently determine and perform the operation(s) necessary to complete the task based on, for example, its current location, surrounding obstacles, its operating environment, the type of task to be performed, etc. The mobile robot 20 may also adapt to unknown, new and/or changing operating environments without additional outside control and/or intervention.
analyzing, by the computing device, a user profile associated with a user (Theobald: col. 8, line 61- col. 9, line 10) In step 900 of the method of FIG. 9, the mobile robot 20 receives a request to perform a hospitality service for the guest. This request may be provided (e.g., sent) from the guest, or alternatively from an intermediary such as a staff member of the lodging business who may receive an initial request from the guest. The guest may send the request from his/her mobile telephone (or any other electronic device) to the communication system 28, or to the remote computer system to be reviewed by the staff member. The request may be for one or more hospitality service articles 44 such as, for example, additional linens or toiletries to be delivered to the guest room. The request may also or alternatively be for room service, or any other hospitality service article(s) to be delivered to the guest room. In step 902, the mobile robot 20 gathers the hospitality service articles 44 requested by the guest).
determining, by the computing device, an optimal path for delivery of packages associated with the user based on the location profile (Theobald: col. 13, lines 42-47; After receiving the items at a pickup location (e.g., a supply room) or pickup locations, the mobile robot 20 may move along a path (e.g., a delivery route) through the hospitality business. At various locations along the path, the mobile robot 20 may autonomously deliver one or more items to one or more guests based on the delivery schedule); and col. 14, lines 12-18, In some embodiments, the mobile robot may select the locations of where the items are to be delivered based on a distance and/or a period of time the mobile robot 20 moves along its path. The distance and/or period of time may be tracked from, for example, a common point (e.g., starting point) or the last location at which an item was delivered (e.g., placed); and
deploying, by the computing device, a robot designed to utilize the optimal path to deliver package based on the user profile and the location profile (Theobald: col. 11, lines 27-41, In step 1002, mobile robot 20 moves to the guest room for an arrival at or proximate to the requested time and/or date. The controller 38, for example, may calculate an approximate transit time from its current location or a predicted start location (e.g., another guest's room) to the guest room. Based on this transit time, the controller 38 may determine a departure time for when the mobile robot 20 should start moving to the guest room. The controller 38 may subsequently signal the drive system 32 to autonomously move the mobile robot 20 from its current location to the guest room based on the departure time and using data received from the sensor system 24. The controller 38 may also or alternatively signal the drive system 32 to move using command data received through the communication system 28).
Theobald does not explicitly disclose, however, Peterson et al. discloses:
wherein deploying the robot comprises unlocking, by the computing device, a security lock mechanism of the robot based on the user profile ([0046] In a first variation, Block S230 is performed automatically by the robot in communication with a remote database (e.g., a facial recognition system of the robot extracts facial features of the user, and queries a remote database to compare the extracted facial features with a set of user profiles containing the facial features of various users, thereby identifying and thus authenticating the user whose facial features correspond to the extracted facial features)… However, Block S230 can additionally or alternatively be performed in any suitable manner and using any other suitable system components. Block S230 is preferably based on the user identity received in Block S220 and the robot identity corresponding to the robot performing Block S230, but can alternatively have any other suitable basis. Block S300 can additionally function to provide the user with access to the compartment); and ([0047] Block S300 is preferably performed in response to authenticating the user, but can additionally or alternatively be performed: without first authenticating the user, concurrent with user authentication (e.g., during the authentication process), and/or at any other suitable time. Block S300 can include unlocking and/or opening the compartment door. In a first variation (e.g., in which the robot includes a powered mechanism that can be controlled to open the door), Block S300 includes completely opening the door (e.g., the door fully opens in an automated fashion upon authentication of the user), such as shown in FIG. 7. In a second variation (e.g., in which the robot door includes a mechanical opening mechanism, such as a spring, configured to partially open the door in response to door unlocking and/or unlatching), Block S300 includes partially opening the door of the compartment (e.g., in response to authenticating the user, the compartment door is unlocked and partially opened, indicating to the user that authentication was successful and allowing the user to fully open the door at a time point of the user's choosing), such as shown in FIG. 8. In a third variation, Block S300 includes unlocking the door (e.g., thereby enabling the user to unlatch and/or open the door after it is unlocked) but not opening the door); and [0065] Upon verifying the identity of the user, the robot unlocks and fully opens the compartment. The user removes the incorrect grocery bag from a subcompartment, as detected by a ToF sensor that detects the binary presence or non-presence of goods in the subcompartment, and the robot generates and provides an auditory message in response that states, “Whoops! You took the wrong item!”); also see [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald to include the unlocking of a lock of the robot based on the user profile and location as taught by Peterson et al. in order to navigate the delivery robot to a location associated with an entity, authenticating the entity, initiating an interaction with the entity in response to authenticating the entity, and determining the entity interaction with the compartment (unlocking) (Peterson et al. [0035]).
Theobald in view of Peterson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Zhang et al. discloses:
managing and updating the location profile based on a plurality of sensor data analyzed for contamination readings associated with the location ([0145],[0186],[0197] The robotic assistant 100 can determine its real-time position in a known map during movement along a planned path. If there is a dynamic obstacle (e.g., obstacle in FIG. 25) on the planned path, the robotic assistant 100 can detect the obstacle and plan a new path to avoid the obstacle. With these capabilities, the robotic assistant 100 can autonomously move between a starting location and a target location so as to achieve an assigned task, such as moving from location A to location B, fetching medicines from location B, and delivering the medicines to location C. This allows for smart logistics and provides for an unsupervised end-to-end logistics solution), {The Examiner interprets obstacles to be contaminants/risks based on Applicant Specification at [0020] which provides a list of contaminants and states “or any other applicable risk known to those of ordinary skill in the art.”};
the deploying comprising unlocking, by the computing device, the security lock mechanism of the robot within at least one zone of a plurality of zones defined based on the location profile in response to a verification of the user profile (Zhang et al.: [0077] In one example, the drawers 21 can be locked and only unlocked and opened by an authorized healthcare professional and/or when the robotic assistant 100 delivers one or more goods to designated location and/or authorized personnel); and (Zhang et al.:. [0187]. The processor may receive the second command instruction from a user (e.g., healthcare professional) to open or close the one or more drawers 21. Additionally, the processor 71 may open or close the one or more drawers 21 when certain conditions are met, for example when the robotic assistant 100 has reached the determined location (e.g., starting location and target location). In one embodiment, the healthcare professional may use the tap his/her company badge (either a typical lanyard-type badge or wristband, or other identifying indicators) to the RFID sensor, use voice commands, or face identification unlock to authorize opening of the drawers 21. RFID information of the company badge and/or face identifying information of the person can be uploaded to the tracking system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald to in view of Peterson et al.’s unlocking a robot’s lock to include the detection for obstacle avoidance and unlocking the lock as taught by Zhang et al. in order to ascertain that conditions have been met such as the robot reaching the determined location based on the starting location and target location and avoiding obstacles/collisions (Zhang et al.: [0187]).
As per claim 8, Theobald discloses a computer program product for delivering packages in a risk-free walkway, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith (Theobald: col. 5, lines 8-10), wherein the computer readable storage medium is not a transitory signal per se, the program instructions being executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform a method (Theobald: col. 6, lines 47-51) comprising:
generating a location profile associated with a location (Theobald: col. 2, line 57-col. 3, lines 3; The mobile robot 20 may be configured as an autonomous mobile robot that performs one or more tasks without continuous outside control and/or intervention. The mobile robot 20, for example, may receive instructions to perform a certain task at a certain location such as, for example, to perform a hospitality service (e.g., porter luggage) for an individual (e.g., a guest of a hospitality business). The mobile robot 20 may subsequently determine and perform the operation(s) necessary to complete the task based on, for example, its current location, surrounding obstacles, its operating environment, the type of task to be performed, etc. The mobile robot 20 may also adapt to unknown, new and/or changing operating environments without additional outside control and/or intervention);
analyzing a user profile associated with a user (Theobald: col. 8, line 61- col. 9, line 10) In step 900 of the method of FIG. 9, the mobile robot 20 receives a request to perform a hospitality service for the guest. This request may be provided (e.g., sent) from the guest, or alternatively from an intermediary such as a staff member of the lodging business who may receive an initial request from the guest. The guest may send the request from his/her mobile telephone (or any other electronic device) to the communication system 28, or to the remote computer system to be reviewed by the staff member. The request may be for one or more hospitality service articles 44 such as, for example, additional linens or toiletries to be delivered to the guest room. The request may also or alternatively be for room service, or any other hospitality service article(s) to be delivered to the guest room. In step 902, the mobile robot 20 gathers the hospitality service articles 44 requested by the guest);
determining an optimal path for delivery of packages associated with the user based on the location profile (Theobald: col. 13, lines 42-47; After receiving the items at a pickup location (e.g., a supply room) or pickup locations, the mobile robot 20 may move along a path (e.g., a delivery route) through the hospitality business. At various locations along the path, the mobile robot 20 may autonomously deliver one or more items to one or more guests based on the delivery schedule); and col. 14, lines 12-18, In some embodiments, the mobile robot may select the locations of where the items are to be delivered based on a distance and/or a period of time the mobile robot 20 moves along its path. The distance and/or period of time may be tracked from, for example, a common point (e.g., starting point) or the last location at which an item was delivered (e.g., placed); and
deploying a robot designed to utilize the optimal path to deliver package based on the user profile and the location profile (Theobald: col. 11, lines 27-41, In step 1002, mobile robot 20 moves to the guest room for an arrival at or proximate to the requested time and/or date. The controller 38, for example, may calculate an approximate transit time from its current location or a predicted start location (e.g., another guest's room) to the guest room. Based on this transit time, the controller 38 may determine a departure time for when the mobile robot 20 should start moving to the guest room. The controller 38 may subsequently signal the drive system 32 to autonomously move the mobile robot 20 from its current location to the guest room based on the departure time and using data received from the sensor system 24. The controller 38 may also or alternatively signal the drive system 32 to move using command data received through the communication system 28); and (Theobald: col. 13, lines 42-47; After receiving the items at a pickup location (e.g., a supply room) or pickup locations, the mobile robot 20 may move along a path (e.g., a delivery route) through the hospitality business. At various locations along the path, the mobile robot 20 may autonomously deliver one or more items to one or more guests based on the delivery schedule); and col. 14, lines 12-18, In some embodiments, the mobile robot may select the locations of where the items are to be delivered based on a distance and/or a period of time the mobile robot 20 moves along its path. The distance and/or period of time may be tracked from, for example, a common point (e.g., starting point) or the last location at which an item was delivered (e.g., placed); and
Theobald does not explicitly disclose, however, Peterson et al. discloses:
wherein deploying the robot comprises unlocking, by the computing device, a security lock mechanism of the robot based on the user profile (Peterson et al.: [0046] In a first variation, Block S230 is performed automatically by the robot in communication with a remote database (e.g., a facial recognition system of the robot extracts facial features of the user, and queries a remote database to compare the extracted facial features with a set of user profiles containing the facial features of various users, thereby identifying and thus authenticating the user whose facial features correspond to the extracted facial features)… However, Block S230 can additionally or alternatively be performed in any suitable manner and using any other suitable system components. Block S230 is preferably based on the user identity received in Block S220 and the robot identity corresponding to the robot performing Block S230, but can alternatively have any other suitable basis. Block S300 can additionally function to provide the user with access to the compartment); and ([0047] Block S300 is preferably performed in response to authenticating the user, but can additionally or alternatively be performed: without first authenticating the user, concurrent with user authentication (e.g., during the authentication process), and/or at any other suitable time. Block S300 can include unlocking and/or opening the compartment door. In a first variation (e.g., in which the robot includes a powered mechanism that can be controlled to open the door), Block S300 includes completely opening the door (e.g., the door fully opens in an automated fashion upon authentication of the user), such as shown in FIG. 7. In a second variation (e.g., in which the robot door includes a mechanical opening mechanism, such as a spring, configured to partially open the door in response to door unlocking and/or unlatching), Block S300 includes partially opening the door of the compartment (e.g., in response to authenticating the user, the compartment door is unlocked and partially opened, indicating to the user that authentication was successful and allowing the user to fully open the door at a time point of the user's choosing), such as shown in FIG. 8. In a third variation, Block S300 includes unlocking the door (e.g., thereby enabling the user to unlatch and/or open the door after it is unlocked) but not opening the door); and [0065] Upon verifying the identity of the user, the robot unlocks and fully opens the compartment. The user removes the incorrect grocery bag from a subcompartment, as detected by a ToF sensor that detects the binary presence or non-presence of goods in the subcompartment, and the robot generates and provides an auditory message in response that states, “Whoops! You took the wrong item!”); also see [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald to include the unlocking of a lock of the robot based on the user profile and location as taught by Peterson et al. in order to navigate the delivery robot to a location associated with an entity, authenticating the entity, initiating an interaction with the entity in response to authenticating the entity, and determining the entity interaction with the compartment (unlocking) (Peterson et al. [0035]).
Theobald in view of Peterson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Zhang et al. discloses:
managing and updating the location profile based on a plurality of sensor data analyzed for contamination readings associated with the location ([0145],[0186],[0197] The robotic assistant 100 can determine its real-time position in a known map during movement along a planned path. If there is a dynamic obstacle (e.g., obstacle in FIG. 25) on the planned path, the robotic assistant 100 can detect the obstacle and plan a new path to avoid the obstacle. With these capabilities, the robotic assistant 100 can autonomously move between a starting location and a target location so as to achieve an assigned task, such as moving from location A to location B, fetching medicines from location B, and delivering the medicines to location C. This allows for smart logistics and provides for an unsupervised end-to-end logistics solution), {The Examiner interprets obstacles to be contaminants/risks based on Applicant Specification at [0020] which provides a list of contaminants and states “or any other applicable risk known to those of ordinary skill in the art.”};
the deploying comprising unlocking, by the computing device, the security lock mechanism of the robot within at least one zone of a plurality of zones defined based on the location profile in response to a verification of the user profile (Zhang et al.: [0077] In one example, the drawers 21 can be locked and only unlocked and opened by an authorized healthcare professional and/or when the robotic assistant 100 delivers one or more goods to designated location and/or authorized personnel); and (Zhang et al.:. [0187]. The processor may receive the second command instruction from a user (e.g., healthcare professional) to open or close the one or more drawers 21. Additionally, the processor 71 may open or close the one or more drawers 21 when certain conditions are met, for example when the robotic assistant 100 has reached the determined location (e.g., starting location and target location). In one embodiment, the healthcare professional may use the tap his/her company badge (either a typical lanyard-type badge or wristband, or other identifying indicators) to the RFID sensor, use voice commands, or face identification unlock to authorize opening of the drawers 21. RFID information of the company badge and/or face identifying information of the person can be uploaded to the tracking system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald to in view of Peterson et al.’s unlocking a robot’s lock to include the detection for obstacle avoidance and unlocking the lock as taught by Zhang et al. in order to ascertain that conditions have been met such as the robot reaching the determined location based on the starting location and target location and avoiding obstacles/collisions (Zhang et al.: [0187]).
As per claim 15, Theobald discloses a computer system for delivering packages in a risk-free walkway, the computer system comprising: one or more processors;
one or more computer-readable memories (Theobald: col. 5, lines 8-10);
program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more computer-readable memories for execution by at least one of the one or more processors (Theobald: col. 6, lines 47-51), the program instructions comprising:
program instructions to generate a location profile associated with a location (Theobald: col. 2, line 57-col. 3, lines 3);
program instructions to analyze a user profile associated with a user (Theobald: col. 8, line 61- col. 9, line 10);
program instructions to determine an optimal path for delivery of packages associated with the user based on the location profile (Theobald: col. 13, lines 42-47; and col. 14, lines 12-18); and
program instructions to deploy a robot designed to utilize the optimal path to deliver package based on the user profile (Theobald: col. 11, lines 27-41; and col. 13, lines 42-47).
Theobald does not explicitly disclose, however, Peterson et al. discloses:
wherein program instructions to deploy the robot comprises program instructions to unlock a security lock mechanism of the robot based on the user profile (Peterson et al.: [0046] In a first variation, Block S230 is performed automatically by the robot in communication with a remote database (e.g., a facial recognition system of the robot extracts facial features of the user, and queries a remote database to compare the extracted facial features with a set of user profiles containing the facial features of various users, thereby identifying and thus authenticating the user whose facial features correspond to the extracted facial features)… However, Block S230 can additionally or alternatively be performed in any suitable manner and using any other suitable system components. Block S230 is preferably based on the user identity received in Block S220 and the robot identity corresponding to the robot performing Block S230, but can alternatively have any other suitable basis. Block S300 can additionally function to provide the user with access to the compartment); and ([0047] Block S300 is preferably performed in response to authenticating the user, but can additionally or alternatively be performed: without first authenticating the user, concurrent with user authentication (e.g., during the authentication process), and/or at any other suitable time. Block S300 can include unlocking and/or opening the compartment door. In a first variation (e.g., in which the robot includes a powered mechanism that can be controlled to open the door), Block S300 includes completely opening the door (e.g., the door fully opens in an automated fashion upon authentication of the user), such as shown in FIG. 7. In a second variation (e.g., in which the robot door includes a mechanical opening mechanism, such as a spring, configured to partially open the door in response to door unlocking and/or unlatching), Block S300 includes partially opening the door of the compartment (e.g., in response to authenticating the user, the compartment door is unlocked and partially opened, indicating to the user that authentication was successful and allowing the user to fully open the door at a time point of the user's choosing), such as shown in FIG. 8. In a third variation, Block S300 includes unlocking the door (e.g., thereby enabling the user to unlatch and/or open the door after it is unlocked) but not opening the door); and [0065] Upon verifying the identity of the user, the robot unlocks and fully opens the compartment. The user removes the incorrect grocery bag from a subcompartment, as detected by a ToF sensor that detects the binary presence or non-presence of goods in the subcompartment, and the robot generates and provides an auditory message in response that states, “Whoops! You took the wrong item!”); also see [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald to include the unlocking of a lock of the robot based on the user profile and location as taught by Peterson et al. in order to navigate the delivery robot to a location associated with an entity, authenticating the entity, initiating an interaction with the entity in response to authenticating the entity, and determining the entity interaction with the compartment (unlocking) (Peterson et al. [0035]).
Theobald in view of Peterson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Zhang et al. discloses:
managing and updating the location profile based on a plurality of sensor data analyzed for contamination readings associated with the location ([0145],[0186],[0197] The robotic assistant 100 can determine its real-time position in a known map during movement along a planned path. If there is a dynamic obstacle (e.g., obstacle in FIG. 25) on the planned path, the robotic assistant 100 can detect the obstacle and plan a new path to avoid the obstacle. With these capabilities, the robotic assistant 100 can autonomously move between a starting location and a target location so as to achieve an assigned task, such as moving from location A to location B, fetching medicines from location B, and delivering the medicines to location C. This allows for smart logistics and provides for an unsupervised end-to-end logistics solution), {The Examiner interprets obstacles to be contaminants/risks based on Applicant Specification at [0020] which provides a list of contaminants and states “or any other applicable risk known to those of ordinary skill in the art.”};
the deploying comprising unlocking, by the computing device, the security lock mechanism of the robot within at least one zone of a plurality of zones defined based on the location profile in response to a verification of the user profile (Zhang et al.: [0077] In one example, the drawers 21 can be locked and only unlocked and opened by an authorized healthcare professional and/or when the robotic assistant 100 delivers one or more goods to designated location and/or authorized personnel); and (Zhang et al.:. [0187]. The processor may receive the second command instruction from a user (e.g., healthcare professional) to open or close the one or more drawers 21. Additionally, the processor 71 may open or close the one or more drawers 21 when certain conditions are met, for example when the robotic assistant 100 has reached the determined location (e.g., starting location and target location). In one embodiment, the healthcare professional may use the tap his/her company badge (either a typical lanyard-type badge or wristband, or other identifying indicators) to the RFID sensor, use voice commands, or face identification unlock to authorize opening of the drawers 21. RFID information of the company badge and/or face identifying information of the person can be uploaded to the tracking system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald to in view of Peterson et al.’s unlocking a robot’s lock to include the detection for obstacle avoidance and unlocking the lock as taught by Zhang et al. in order to ascertain that conditions have been met such as the robot reaching the determined location based on the starting location and target location and avoiding obstacles/collisions (Zhang et al.: [0187]).
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11-13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald (US Patent No. 9,720,414 B1) in view of Peterson et al. (US PG Pub. 20180300676 A1) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20210347059 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above and further in view of Gordon et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0393591 A1).
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, computer program, and system of claims 1, 8, and 15. Theobald further discloses wherein generating the location profile comprises:
receiving, by the computing device, plurality of sensor data associated with the location (Theobald: col. 4, lines 22-38, Referring to FIG. 2, the sensor system 24 is adapted to survey an operational environment of the mobile robot 20; e.g., the environment of the hospitality business. The sensor system 24 is also or alternatively adapted to receive location data indicative of a location of the mobile robot 20 and/or location(s) of other object(s) within the operating environment). The sensor system 24 includes one or more locator sensors. These locator sensors may be operated to spatially locate (e.g., triangulate) the mobile robot 20 relative to, for example, its surrounding environment, its geographic location, and/or one or more locators (e.g., RF tags, physical landmarks, etc.). Examples of a locator sensor include, but are not limited to, a proximity sensor, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver, a radar system, an infrared system, a laser system, a radio transceiver, and a visual location system with at least one camera 58).
Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. does not further disclose, however, Gordon et al. discloses:
wherein the plurality of sensor data comprises at least contamination data indicating the presence of contamination of one or more areas within the location (Gordon et al.: [0011] Aspects of the invention include delivery drop-off areas (also referred to as “delivery areas”), in which packages are physically “dropped off” at a home or a business location. Delivery drop-off areas at a home typically include areas near or extending from an entrance to the home location, such as a front or side door entrance. A delivery drop-off area at a business location may be adjacent to or nearby a “receiving” door or entrance. A delivery drop-off area includes a drop-off point at which the package is placed within the delivery area, and the area immediately surrounding the drop-off point. The drop-off area also includes one or more pathways extending from a delivery location building entrance to the target point. In some embodiments, conditions may include snow or ice that has been moved aside or treated with melt-producing materials, however, nearby snow may have melted, flowed, and refrozen near or into the drop-off area, resulting in a slip or fall hazard. In other cases, objects or surface damage in the drop-off area may present a tripping hazard ); and (Gordon et al. [0013] Surface assessment models predict the surface conditions based on the received optical data as well as the time of day, current and predicted weather conditions for the immediate area, and history associated with the drop-off location. In some embodiments, the use of disclosed optical detection technology, utilizing infrared thermometry to produce radiance measurements at specific spectral bands, can detect water and ice on pathway surfaces and distinguish each from the other. The radiance measurements also detect the presence of black ice on surfaces, which isn't easily identified by eyesight alone and may present a high injury risk to customers using the pathway surface to retrieve a delivered package). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. to include the hazard sensor data input for delivery locations as taught by along with the current and forecasted weather conditions combined as taught by Gordon et al. to provide an assessment of the risk level associated with each segment of the delivery drop-off area and connecting pathway (Gordon et al.: [0016])
As per claim 4, 11, and 17, Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, computer program, and system of claims 1, 8, and 15. Theobald further discloses wherein determining the optimal path for delivery of the package comprises:
assigning, by the computing device, the user to at least one zone of the plurality of zones (Theobald: col. 2, lines 57-67, The mobile robot 20, for example, may receive instructions to perform a certain task at a certain location such as, for example, to perform a hospitality service (e.g., porter luggage) for an individual (e.g., a guest of a hospitality business). The mobile robot 20 may subsequently determine and perform the operation(s) necessary to complete the task based on, for example, its current location, surrounding obstacles, its operating environment, the type of task to be performed, etc. The mobile robot 20 may also adapt to unknown, new and/or changing operating environments without additional outside control and/or intervention).
Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Gordon et al. discloses:
assigning, by the computing device, the user to at least one zone of the plurality of zones based on one or more outputs of a machine learning model trained on the plurality of sensor data (Gordon et al. [0015] The ImageNet data set contains over one million training images covering a thousand different classifications from which the CNN can learn to identify and discern the differences in images between obstructions, pathways, water, snow, and ice. When properly trained, aspects of the invention that include the CNN, working together with the data stream that includes current and predicted weather conditions, assess the delivery drop-off area for hazards, and determine whether to perform mitigation actions during the delivery of the package and may determine the safest route for a customer to take to retrieve the package);
wherein the at least one zone of the plurality of zones is associated with a risk-free walkway associated with the user within the location free of contamination (Gordon et al.: Abstract: [0011] Aspects of the invention include delivery drop-off areas (also referred to as “delivery areas”), in which packages are physically “dropped off” at a home or a business location. Delivery drop-off areas at a home typically include areas near or extending from an entrance to the home location, such as a front or side door entrance. A delivery drop-off area at a business location may be adjacent to or nearby a “receiving” door or entrance. A delivery drop-off area includes a drop-off point at which the package is placed within the delivery area, and the area immediately surrounding the drop-off point. The drop-off area also includes one or more pathways extending from a delivery location building entrance to the target point. In some embodiments, conditions may include snow or ice that has been moved aside or treated with melt-producing materials, however, nearby snow may have melted, flowed, and refrozen near or into the drop-off area, resulting in a slip or fall hazard. In other cases, objects or surface damage in the drop-off area may present a tripping hazard ). The Examiner interprets that to mean that the risk is mitigated and therefore, the delivery area id risk-free. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. to include the hazard sensor data input for delivery locations as taught by along with the current and forecasted weather conditions combined as taught by Gordon et al. to provide an assessment of the risk level associated with each segment of the delivery drop-off area and connecting pathway where a user retrieves packages and mitigate any hazards (Gordon et al.: [0016])
As per claims 5, 12, and 18, Theobald in view of Peterson et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Gordon et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, computer program, and system of claims 4, 11, and 17. Theobald further discloses wherein deploying the robot further comprises:
wherein unlocking the security lock mechanism allows the package to be released to the user within the at least one zone (Theobald: col. 10, lines 4-10, In step 910, the mobile robot 20 delivers the requested hospitality service articles 44 to the guest where, for example, the security information satisfies the security criteria. The controller 38, for example, may signal the security system 36 and/or the manipulator system 34 to unlock and/or open the drawer 46 to provide the guest access to the hospitality service articles 44.
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, Theobald in view of Peterson et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Gordon et al. discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, 9, and 16. Theobald further discloses, wherein the location profile comprises one or more of a length of each conveyor belt within the location, an amount of required time to deliver packages, and an amount of required time for the user to collect packages from a package receiving location (Theobald: col. 14, lines 12-18, In some embodiments, the mobile robot may select the locations of where the items are to be delivered based on a distance and/or a period of time the mobile robot 20 moves along its path. The distance and/or period of time may be tracked from, for example, a common point (e.g., starting point) or the last location at which an item was delivered (e.g., placed); and (Theobald: col. 11, lines 27-41).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald (US Patent No. 9,720,414 B1) in view of Peterson et al. (US PG Pub. 20180300676 A1) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20210347059 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above and further in view of Fox et al. (US PG Pub. 2024/0149443 A1)
As per claims 3 and 10, Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. discloses the computer-implemented method and computer program product of claims 1 and 8. Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Fox et al. discloses wherein the optimal path is derived from one or more outputs of a machine learning model trained on data derived from the location profile (Fox et al.: Abstract and [0021] After training the model to determine an optimal movement path for transporting items using mobile robots and receiving certain information pertaining to the transportation of the items, such as the source and target locations, the number of items to be transported and the properties of the items to be transported, simulations of mobile robots transporting the items from the source location to the target location using various movement paths are performed. An optimal movement path for transporting such items from the source location to the target location is identified using the trained model based on the simulated movement paths, the historical times for the movement of the items using various movement paths, the number of items to be transported and the properties of the items. Mobile robots out of the available mobile robots are then organized to implement the identified optimal movement path to transport the items from the source location to the target location using the optimal movement path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. to include training a model to determine the optimal path as taught by Fox et al. in order to provide items transported by robots from a source location to a target location, in an efficient manner (lowest item movement time) using artificial intelligence (Fox et al.: [0021]).
Claims 7, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald (US Patent No. 9,720,414 B1) in view of Peterson et al. (US PG Pub. 20180300676 A1) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20210347059 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above and further in view of Otsuki et al. (US Patent No. 12,062,006 B2).
As per claims 7, 14, and 19, Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, computer program, and system of claims 1, 8, and 15. Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. does not further disclose, however, Otsuki et al. discloses wherein determining the optimal path to deliver the package further comprises:
determining, by the computing device, a priority of package delivery based on the location profile (Otsuki et al.: col. 8, lines 13-19, The respective delivery robots 20A, 20B, 20C generate the optimum traveling routes RA, RB, RC based on the map data. However, since the travelable area on the map is limited, the traveling routes naturally overlap. Even if the traveling routes overlap, there will be no problem if the location is such that many delivery robots can pass through at the same time, such as on a wide road); and (Otsuki et al.: col. 11, lines 5-29 teaches FIG. 6A shows an example in which two delivery robots 20A, 20B arrived at almost the same time at the entrance of the elevator 42, which is a bottleneck section. The delivery management server 32 confirms that the delivery robots 20A, 20B are gathered at the entrance of the elevator 42 based on the monitoring information transmitted from the delivery robots 20A, 20B. In this case, the delivery management server 32 determines that the arbitration of the order of riding the elevator 42 is required, and compares the delivery priority levels of the packages 60A, 60B delivered by the respective delivery robots 20A, 20B by referring to the delivery priority level management table. Then, the delivery management server 32 instructs to each of the delivery robots 20A, 20B how they should behave based on the comparison.; also see FIGS. 5, 6B, and 7A; also see col. 13, lines 38-43 which teaches a robot sharing human use elevator rather than using a cargo elevator if the priority level is high).
calculating, by the computing device, an amount of time for package delivery based on the priority determination (Otsuki et al.: col. 10, lines 10-17, (5) Scheduled Return Home Time of Resident in Destination:: When the scheduled return home time of the resident in the destination can be expected, for example, the delivery priority level is lowered as the margin time to the scheduled return home time is longer, and is raised as the margin time becomes shorter. This makes it possible to deliver the package matching the time when the resident returns to the destination); and (Otsuki et al.: col. 10, lines 32-48 teaches priority levels based on elapsed time from departure of delivery robot from a delivery source and elapsed time from order from residence in destination). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robotic delivery system of Theobald in view of Peterson et al. and Zhang et al. to include the prioritization of deliveries amongst robots as taught by Otsuki et al. to preferentially permitting packages with higher priority levels to pass through bottlenecks (Otsuki et al.: Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) “This robot suitcase follows you around and answers voice commands”, April 30, 2017, tribune.com.pk, 3 pages discloses a San Francisco-based company, Travelmate Robotics, has created the first "true fully autonomous suitcase." With the smartphone as its command center, the suitcase employs artificial intelligence and a range of sensors to follow you while it avoids obstacles in its path.
/F.A.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/SHANNON S CAMPBELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628