Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“pixel block calculating unit” in claim 3;
“image sampling unit” in claim 3;
“position calculating unit” in claim 4;
“pixel calculating unit” in claim 4;
“weight determining unit” in claim 5;
“pixel block determining unit” in claim 5;
“weighting unit” in claim 5;
“index determining unit” in claim 6; and
“weight obtaining unit” in claim 6;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to products that do not have a physical or tangible form, e.g., a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations. The examiner suggests amending the claims such that the claimed program is stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by us patent application publication no. 2022/0092731 to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
For claims 1, 8 and 10, Lee as applied discloses a device for processing an image, the device comprising:
a data processing unit configured
to obtain an original image (see, e.g., pars. 52-59, which teach receiving an array of values of two dimensions, e.g., two dimensional image data),
to downsample the original image at a first sub-rate to obtain a transitional image (see, e.g., pars. 60-68, 74-75 and 80 and FIGS. 1-8 and 11, which teach downsampling the received image data using a first group of fixed factor downscalers in one dimension and sending results to the second group of downscalers; the examiner interprets the results as the claimed transitional image), and
to downsample the transitional image at a second sub-rate to obtain a target image (see, e.g., pars. 60-68, 74-75 and 81 and FIGS. 1-8 and 11, which teach downsampling the results in another dimension using the second group of fixed factor downscalers and providing an output; the examiner interprets the output as the claimed target image);
wherein the first sub-rate and the second sub-rate are obtained by dividing a downsampling rate of the original image (see, e.g., pars. 62-66, which teach an instance where the downsampling factor of each fixed factor downscalers, e.g., 2, may be calculated by dividing the overall downsampling factor, e.g., 8 and 16), and a product of the first sub-rate and the second sub-rate is equal to the downsampling rate (see, e.g., pars. 60-66, which teach an instance where the overall downsampling factor, e.g., 8 and 16, would equal to the product of the fixed factor downsampling factor of each downscalers, e.g., 2).
For claims 2 and 9, Lee as applied discloses that the relationship between the first sub-rate and the second sub-rate is at least one of the following:
neither a reciprocal of the first sub-rate nor a reciprocal of the second sub-rate is an integer (see, e.g., par. 62, which teach, for example, that each of the reciprocals of the downsampling factors is a fraction);
the first sub-rate is greater than the second sub-rate.
For claim 3, Lee as applied discloses that the data processing unit comprises:
a pixel block calculating unit configured to determine the number of horizontal pixels or vertical pixels of a first pixel block configured to be downsampled in the original image according to the first sub-rate, the number of the horizontal pixels or vertical the pixels of the first pixel block being greater than or equal to the reciprocal of the first sub-rate (see, e.g., pars. 68-73, which teach determining the required size of the line stores according to the fixed factor, wherein the size being greater than or equal than the fixed factor; the examiner interprets determining the size of the line stores includes teaching as the number of horizonal/vertical pixels, i.e., the first dimension, because the size of line stores is determined by dividing the number of the pixels with the fixed factor); and
an image sampling unit configured to downsample the original image on a basis of the first sub-rate and the number of the horizontal pixels or the vertical pixels of the first pixel block to obtain the transitional image (see, e.g., pars. 68-73, which teach determining the required size of the line stores according to the fixed factor, wherein the size being greater than or equal than the fixed factor).
For claim 4, Lee as applied discloses that the image sampling unit comprises:
a position calculating unit configured to determine, according to a position of each transitional pixel in the transitional image, the first sub-rate and the number of the horizontal pixels or the vertical pixels of the first pixel block, a position of an original pixel block, in the original image, corresponding to the each transitional pixel configured to be downsampled in the original image (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIG. 7, which teach determining the original positions of the pixels for decimation based on the number of the pixels, which correspond to the original positions, the decimation/fixed factor and the order of the transitional positions); and
a pixel calculating unit configured to calculate a pixel value of the each transitional pixel in the transitional image on a basis of the position of the original pixel block, in the original image, corresponding to the each transitional pixel and the number of the horizontal pixels or the vertical pixels of the first pixel block, to obtain the transitional image (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIGS. 7A-C, which teach determining the values of the transitional images by calculating a normalized sum of the original pixel values and decimating based on the decimation/fixed factor).
For claim 5, Lee as applied discloses that the image sampling unit comprises:
a weight determining unit configured to determine a weight corresponding to each pixel in the first pixel block (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIGS. 7A-C, which teach determining the filter coefficients);
a pixel block determining unit configured to determine each original pixel block in the original image according to the position of the original pixel block, in the transitional image, corresponding to the each transitional pixel in the original image and the number of the horizontal pixels or the vertical pixels of the first pixel block (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIGS. 7A-C, which teach determining the order of the original pixel values, in which the filter coefficients are multiplied/weighted); and
a weighting unit configured to correspondingly multiply a pixel value of each pixel in each original pixel block by the weight corresponding to the each pixel in the first pixel block, and to add a corresponding multiplied result to obtain a pixel value of the each transitional pixel in the transitional image, to obtain the transitional image (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIGS. 7A-C, which teach determining the values of the transitional images by calculating a normalized sum of the original pixel values weighted by the respective filter coefficients, and decimating based on the decimation/fixed factor).
For claim 7, Lee as applied discloses that the position of the each transitional pixel in the transitional image comprises an abscissa and an ordinate, and the weight corresponding to the each pixel in the first pixel block comprises a horizontal weight and a vertical weight (see, e.g., pars. 91-97 and 109 and FIGS. 8A-E, which teach multiplying the original pixel values with horizontal and vertical weights based on the orders in which the values are in the respective row and column and wherein the values are associated with x and y coordinates); and
the weighting unit is specifically configured to correspondingly multiply the pixel value of the each pixel in each original pixel block by the horizontal weight and the vertical weight corresponding to the each pixel in the first pixel block, and to add corresponding multiplied results to obtain the pixel value of the each transitional pixel in the transitional image (see, e.g., pars. 91-97 and FIGS. 8A-E, which teach multiplying the original pixel values with horizontal and vertical weights and determining a normalized sum of the values).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of us patent no. 6014682 to Stephen et al. (hereinafter Stephen).
For claim 6, Lee as applied teaches that the weight determining unit comprises:
an index determining unit configured to determine, according to the position of the each transitional pixel in the transitional image, the first sub-rate and a length of a first preset table, an index of the each transitional pixel in a first preset table, wherein the first preset table stores a corresponding relationship between each index and a corresponding weight (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIGS. 7A-C, which teach accessing and matching the filter coefficients to the original pixel values based on the orders of the original pixels and the filter coefficients); and
a weight obtaining unit configured to determine the weight corresponding to the each pixel in the first pixel block from the first preset table according to the index of the each transitional pixel in the first preset table (see, e.g., pars. 88-90 and FIGS. 7A-C, which teach accessing and matching the filter coefficients to the original pixel values based on the orders of the original pixels and the filter coefficients).
Lee as applied, however, does not teach that the coefficients are stored in an indexed table. Stephen in the analogous art teaches storing coefficients of a down-sampling filter in a lookup table, which are indexed based on the dimensions and precision of the values being sampled (see, e.g., lines 2-15 on col. 5 of Stephen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to store the filter coefficients in a table as taught by Stephens because doing so would simplify indices of the table (see lines 16-27 on col. 6 of Stephens)
Additional Citations
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action.
Citation
Relevance
Menachem et al. (2018/0183998)
Describes a technique of reducing power in an imaging sensor, and more particularly, of controlling a sensor to selectively downscale certain portions of the sensor based on classification and segmentation of subject-free areas of an image. For example, an embodiment includes an imaging device having an image sensor having an array of imaging elements, the image sensor configured to generate first image information of a first spatial resolution for first portions of the array of imaging elements, and generate second image information for one or more second portions of the array of imaging elements, the second image information having one or more second spatial resolutions that are downscaled relative to the first spatial resolution, the image sensor further configured to control the downscaling of the one or more second resolutions by received downscaling control information identifying portions of the array of imaging elements.
Lin (2015/0254815)
Describes an image downsampling apparatus and an image downsampling method. For example, the image downsampling apparatus includes a one-directional downsampling circuit, a multi-directional downsampling circuit and an output circuit. The one-directional downsampling performs one-directional downsampling by using an original image signal to obtain and output a first adjusted image signal. The multi-directional downsampling circuit performs multi-directional downsampling by using the original image signal to obtain and output a second adjusted image signal. The output circuit outputs a downsampled image signal according to the first adjusted image signal and the second adjusted image signal.
Shen (2018/0295368)
Describes techniques for a video compression. For example, a method receives an image from a video. The image is split into a first set of first blocks of a first size and then the first blocks are split into a second set of second blocks of a second size. The method tests a first set of down-sampling patterns for the second set of second blocks in a first block in the set of first blocks to determine if a quality of reconstruction of the down-sampled second blocks meets a threshold associated with the respective first set of down sampling patterns. Second blocks satisfying the threshold are down-sampled using the first set of down-sampling patterns. Also, the method tests a second set of down-sampling patterns for the first block using a second set of down-sampling patterns to select one of the second set of down sampling patterns to use to down-sample second blocks that did not satisfy the threshold.
Table 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form 892 and above Table 1.
WOO CHUL RHIM
Examiner
Art Unit 2776
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676