DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/12/2025.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 11/12/2025 has been entered. No claims have been amended. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1 – 20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 13 and 18 being independent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 3, 10 – 14 and 17 - 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) (“Holm”) in view of Brown US (2010/0179808) and further in view of Yeh et al. (US 9,215, 491) (“Yeh”).
For claim 1, Holm discloses a media playback system (Abstract); comprising: a first playback device (first audio playback device, Fig.9; [0020] [0122]) comprising at least one first audio transducer (Fig.9, playback means; [0020] [0111] [0122]), a first network interface (Fig.9, receiving means; [0065] [0122]), and a first housing carrying the at least one first audio transducer and the first network interface (the first audio playback device is incorporated an audio enabled mobile or cellular phone, [0084]); a second playback device (at least one second playback device, Fig.6; [0020] [0119]) comprising at least one second audio transducer (Fig.6, playback means; [0020] [0111] [0119]), a second network interface (Fig.6, receiving means; [0065] [0119]), and a second housing carrying the at least one second audio transducer and the second network interface (the at least one second audio playback device is incorporated an audio enabled mobile or cellular phone, [0084]); a data storage (machine-readable medium) including instructions (program code) that are executable such that the media playback system is configured to ([0061] [0062]; claim 17): receive audio content (“The method comprises receiving multi-channel audio data at said first audio playback device”, [0048] [0111]); play back, via the at least one first audio transducer, at least one first audio signal representing at least a first portion (first channel) of the audio content (the first channel comprising music is played back via at least one loudspeaker of the said first audio playback device, [0017] [0111]); play back, via the at least one second audio transducer, at least second audio signal representing at least a second portion of the audio content in synchrony with playback of the at least one first audio signal on the first playback device (at least one second audio channel comprising music is transferred to at least one second audio playback device, wherein the at least one second audio playback device plays back the at least one second audio channel via its’ loudspeaker, [0018] [0049 – 0051] [0111]). Yet, Holm fails to teach the following: the media playback system further comprises a processor, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to perform the aforementioned method; additional audio content is received; generate at least one third audio signal representing at least the first portion of the audio content and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one third audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; generate at least one fourth audio signal representing at least the second portion of the audio content and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one fourth audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; play back the at least one third audio signal via the at least one first audio transducer; and play back the at least one fourth audio signal via the at least one second audio transducer in synchrony with playback of the at least one third audio signal on the first playback device.
However, Brown discloses a system and method for speech enhancement comprising using a programmed computer ([0006] [0066]) to perform the following: receiving additional content (speech contained within a center channel, [0011] [0012] [0017]); generate at least one audio signal representing at least a first portion of the audio content (left channel of an input audio signal) and the additional audio content by mixing first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content (mixer 15a receives a gain-adjusted left transform 23a output from the amplifier 14 and the gain- adjusted spectrally shaped center channel 25 and produces as output the signal 26a, Fig.1, 14a, 15a, 16a, 18a; [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]); generate at least one audio signal representing at least a second portion of the audio content (right channel of an input audio signal) and the additional audio content by mixing first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content (mixer 15b receives a gain-adjusted left transform 23a output from the amplifier 14 and the gain- adjusted spectrally shaped center channel 25 and produces as output the signal 26b, Fig.1, 14b, 15b, 16b, 18b; [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]). Furthermore, Brown discloses outputting the signals ([0011]).
Furthermore, Yeh discloses a system and method for transmitting/receiving audio and/or video data in a mobile terminal (Abstract), wherein a processor executes instructions (programs) to perform a method (column 9 lines 13 – 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the Holm’s invention in the same way that Brown’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results of further provide a speech enhancement functionality within the media playback system for the purpose of providing an enhanced music and sound experiences for mobile devices by enabling a set of mobile devices to provide multi-channel audio playback (Holm, [0001 – 0010]), wherein the speech enhancement functionality further enables the media playback system to: receive additional audio content (speech contained within the center channel); generate at least one third audio signal representing at least the first portion of the audio content (Holm, left channel, [0027]) and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one third audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; generate at least one fourth audio signal representing at least the second portion of the audio content (Holm, right channel, [0027]) and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one fourth audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; play back the at least one third audio signal via the at least one first audio transducer (Holm, [0027] [0111]) and play back the at least one fourth audio signal via the at least one second audio transducer in synchrony with playback of the at least one third audio signal on the first playback device (Holm, [0027] [0049 – 0051] [0111]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Holm and Brown in the same way that Yeh’s invention has been improved to achieve the predictable results of the media playback system further comprising a processor to execute the instructions for the purpose of providing an enhanced music and sound experiences for mobile devices by enabling a set of mobile devices to provide multi-channel audio playback (Holm, [0001 – 0010]).
For claims 13 and 18, Holm discloses a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions (program code) that are executable such that a media playback system comprising a first playback device and second playback device (Abstract; [0061] [0062]; claim 17) is configured to: receive audio content (“The method comprises receiving multi-channel audio data at said first audio playback device”, [0048] [0111]); play back, via the at least one first audio transducer, at least one first audio signal representing at least a first portion (first channel) of the audio content (the first channel comprising music is played back via at least one loudspeaker of the said first audio playback device, [0017] [0111]), wherein the first playback device comprises at least one first audio transducer (Fig.9, playback means; [0020] [0111] [0122]), a first network interface (Fig.9, receiving means; [0065] [0122]), and a first housing carrying the at least one first audio transducer and the first network interface (the first audio playback device is incorporated an audio enabled mobile or cellular phone, [0084]); play back, via the at least one second audio transducer, at least second audio signal representing at least a second portion of the audio content in synchrony with playback of the at least one first audio signal on the first playback device (at least one second audio channel comprising music is transferred to at least one second audio playback device, wherein the at least one second audio playback device plays back the at least one second audio channel via its’ loudspeaker, [0018] [0049 – 0051] [0111]), wherein the second playback device (least one second playback device, Fig.6; [0020] [0119]) comprises at least one second audio transducer (Fig.6, playback means; [0020] [0111] [0119]), a second network interface (Fig.6, receiving means; [0065] [0119]), and a second housing carrying the at least one second audio transducer and the second network interface (the at least one second audio playback device is incorporated an audio enabled mobile or cellular phone, [0084]).
Yet, Holm fails to teach the following: the media playback system further comprises a processor, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to perform the aforementioned method; additional audio content is received; generate at least one third audio signal representing at least the first portion of the audio content and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one third audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; generate at least one fourth audio signal representing at least the second portion of the audio content and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one fourth audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; play back the at least one third audio signal via the at least one first audio transducer; and play back the at least one fourth audio signal via the at least one second audio transducer in synchrony with playback of the at least one third audio signal on the first playback device.
However, Brown discloses a system and method for speech enhancement comprising using a programmed computer ([0006] [0066]) to perform the following: receiving additional content (speech contained within a center channel, [0011] [0012] [0017]); generate at least one audio signal representing at least a first portion of the audio content (left channel of an input audio signal) and the additional audio content by mixing first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content (mixer 15a receives a gain-adjusted left transform 23a output from the amplifier 14 and the gain- adjusted spectrally shaped center channel 25 and produces as output the signal 26a, Fig.1, 14a, 15a, 16a, 18a; [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]); generate at least one audio signal representing at least a second portion of the audio content (right channel of an input audio signal) and the additional audio content by mixing first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content (mixer 15b receives a gain-adjusted left transform 23a output from the amplifier 14 and the gain- adjusted spectrally shaped center channel 25 and produces as output the signal 26b, Fig.1, 14b, 15b, 16b, 18b; [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]). Furthermore, Brown discloses outputting the signals ([0011]).
Furthermore, Yeh discloses a system and method for transmitting/receiving audio and/or video data in a mobile terminal (Abstract), wherein a processor executes instructions (programs) to perform a method (column 9 lines 13 – 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the Holm’s invention in the same way that Brown’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results of further provide a speech enhancement functionality within the media playback system for the purpose of providing an enhanced music and sound experiences for mobile devices by enabling a set of mobile devices to provide multi-channel audio playback (Holm, [0001 – 0010]), wherein the speech enhancement functionality further enables the media playback system to: receive additional audio content (speech contained within the center channel); generate at least one third audio signal representing at least the first portion of the audio content (Holm, left channel, [0027]) and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one third audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; generate at least one fourth audio signal representing at least the second portion of the audio content (Holm, right channel, [0027]) and the additional audio content, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to generate the at least one fourth audio signal comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content; play back the at least one third audio signal via the at least one first audio transducer (Holm, [0027] [0111]) and play back the at least one fourth audio signal via the at least one second audio transducer in synchrony with playback of the at least one third audio signal on the first playback device (Holm, [0027] [0049 – 0051] [0111]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Holm and Brown in the same way that Yeh’s invention has been improved to achieve the predictable results of the media playback system further comprising a processor to execute the instructions for the purpose of providing an enhanced music and sound experiences for mobile devices by enabling a set of mobile devices to provide multi-channel audio playback (Holm, [0001 – 0010]).
For claims 2, 14 and 19, Holm and Brown further discloses wherein the audio content comprises a first channel (Holm, first channel audio data comprising a left channel) and a second channel (Holm, second channel audio data comprising a right channel) a of multi-channel audio (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0001] [0011] [0012]), wherein the additional audio content comprises a center channel of the multi-channel audio (Holm, [0027] [0036]) (Brown, [0012] [0017 – 0023] [0026 - 0027]), wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first channel and the center channel (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]), and wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second channel and the center channel (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]).
5 For claim 3, Holm, Brown and Yeh further disclose, wherein the first playback device comprises a high-definition multimedia interface (HDMI port) (Holm, audio is received by a mobile device via a wire interface to a cable connection, [0082] [0084]) (Yeh, mobile device comprises a bi-directional multimedia port to receive and transmit audio, column 3 lines 55 – column 4 line 24; column 6 lines 7- 26; column 9 lines 13 – 43) and wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to receive the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to receive the additional audio content via the HDMI port (Holm, audio is received by a mobile device via a wire interface to a cable connection, [0082] [0084]) (Brown, speech contained within a center channel of the received audio as additional content, [0011] [0012] [0017]) (Yeh, mobile device comprises a bi-directional multimedia port to receive and transmit audio, column 3 lines 55 – column 4 line 24; column 6 lines 7- 26; column 9 lines 13 – 43).
For claim 10, Holm, Brown and Yeh further discloses, wherein the at least one processor comprises a first processor that is carried in the first housing (Holm, the first audio playback device is a mobile terminal, wherein the mobile terminal executes the audio playback methods, [0084] and claim 17) (Yeh, mobile device comprises hardware processor for executing a method according to a program, column 9 lines 13 – 43) and a second processor that is carried in the second housing (Holm, the second audio playback device is a mobile terminal, wherein the mobile terminal executes the audio playback methods, [0084] and claim 17) (Yeh, mobile device comprises hardware processor for executing a method according to a program, column 9 lines 13 – 43) and wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content via the first processor (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]) (Yeh, column 9 lines 13 – 43) and wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content via the second processor (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]) (Yeh, column 9 lines 13 – 43).
For claim 11, Holm further discloses, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is further configured to: send, via the first network interface (Holm, Fig. 7 and Fig.9, transfer means of the first audio playback device) to the second playback device (Holm, [0111] [0122]), the at least one second audio signal representing at least a second portion of the audio content (Holm, second portion of the audio signal comprising a second channel audio data, [0111]); and receive, via the second network interface (Holm, Fig. 7 and Fig.9, receiving means of the second audio playback device), the at least one second audio signal (Holm, [0122] [0111]).
For claims 12 and 17, Holm and Brown further disclose, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is further configured to: send, via the first network interface to the second playback device, the at least one fourth audio signal representing at least a second portion of the audio content; and receive, via the second network interface, the at least one fourth audio signal.
Claim(s) 4, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) (“Holm”) in view of Brown US (2010/0179808) in view of McQuaide et al. (US 2008/0096531) (“McQuaide”).
For claims 4, 15 and 20, the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh further disclose, wherein the audio content comprises a first channel (Holm, first channel audio data comprising a left channel) and a second channel (Holm, second channel audio data comprising a right channel) a of multi-channel audio (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0001] [0011] [0012]), wherein the additional content comprises speech (Holm, [0027] [0036]) (Brown, [0012] [0017 – 0023] [0026 - 0027]), wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first portion of the audio content with the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the first channel and the speech (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]), and wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second portion of the audio content with the additional audio content comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to mix the second channel and the speech (Holm, [0027] [0036] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]). Yet, the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh fails to teach that the speech is audio notification.
However, McQuaide discloses an event system and method (Abstract), wherein an audio notification comprises speech received and provided at a device ( a speech based notification message is overlayed over other audio content being provided at the device such that both the speech based notification and other audio are played simultaneously or the audio content is suspended while the speech based notification is played to the user, [0030] [0033] [0034] [0036] [0040] [0042 – 0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh in the same way that McQuaide’s invention has been improved to achieve the predictable results of the speech further being an audio notification for the purpose of automating the process of alerting individuals about events in real-time or near real-time (McQuaide, [0001- 0003]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) (“Holm”) in view of Brown (US 2010/0179808), and further in view of Yeh et al. (US 9,215, 491) (“Yeh”) and further in view of Okpeva et al. (US 2015/0124058) (”Okpeva”).
For claim 6, the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh further discloses wherein the first housing of the first playback device is configured for out-loud playback (Holm, ). Yet, the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh fails to teach, wherein the second housing of the second playback device is formed into headphones, and wherein the at least one second audio transducer comprises multiple audio transducers carried by the headphones.
However, Okpeva discloses cloud-integrated headphone with smart mobile telephone base system (Abstract), wherein a mobile telephone device is integrated into a headphone housing (Fig.2, 150, [0021] [0024]), wherein the headphones carries multiple audio transducers (microspeakers) (Fig.1. 130; [0001] [0022]; claim 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh in the same way that Okpeva’s invention has been improved to achieve the following predictable results for the purpose of providing improved headphones which execute functions such as telephone communications and serving as loudspeakers for external source audio devices (Okpeva, [0001]): the second housing of the second playback device (which comprises mobile telephone functionality, Holm, [0084]) further comprises headphones, wherein the headphones further carry multiple audio transducers to receive and output audio from a source audio device (e.g. first playback device).
Claim(s) 7- 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) (“Holm”) in view of Brown US (2010/0179808), and further in view of Yeh et al. (US 9,215, 491) (“Yeh”), and further in view of Okpeva et al. (US 2015/0124058) (”Okpeva”) and further in view of Ferrer et al. (US 5,672,999) (“Ferrer”).
For claim 7, the combination of Holm, Brown, Yeh and Okpeva fails to teach determining that particular samples of the at least one fourth audio signal exceed a first threshold level; and reducing levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level.
However, Ferrer discloses a system and method for avoiding clipping in an audio amplifier (Abstract), comprising the following: determining that particular sample of an audio signal exceed a first threshold level (amplitude threshold) (column 3 lines 5 – 40; column 4 lines 52 – 65); and reducing levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level (column 3 lines 65 – column 4 lines 35, 61 – column 5 line 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh in the same way that Ferrer’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results of the purpose of avoiding signal distortion when an audio signal is output, wherein the audio signal is often amplified before being output by a transducer (Ferrer, column 1 lines 10 – 55): further determining that particular samples of the at least one fourth audio signal exceed a first threshold level; and reducing levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level.
For claim 8, Holm, Brown and Ferrer further discloses, wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is further configured to: determine that particular samples of the at least one third audio signal exceed a second threshold level that is higher than the first threshold level (Holm, [0027] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]) (Ferrer, amplitude clip avoidance threshold associated with first transducer is any value including the same as, greater or less than the thresholds associated with different transducers, e.g. the second transducer, column 3 lines 5 – 40; column 4 lines 52 – 65); and reduce levels of the particular samples below the second threshold level (Holm, [0027] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]) (Ferrer, column 3 lines 65 – column 4 lines 35, 61 – column 5 line 8).
For claim 9, the combination of Holm, Brown and Ferrer further disclose, wherein the instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to reduce levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level comprise instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the media playback system is configured to: apply at least one scaling factor to the particular samples of the at least one fourth audio signal (Holm, [0027] [0111]) (Brown, [0012 – 0015] [0017 – 0026] [0028] [0061 -0064]) (Ferrer, column 3 lines 65 – column 4 lines 35, 61 – column 5 line 8).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holm et al. (US 2007/0087686) (“Holm”) in view of Brown US (2010/0179808), and further in view of Yeh et al. (US 9,215, 491) (“Yeh”) and further in view of Ferrer et al. (US 5,672,999) (“Ferrer”).
For claim 16, the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh fails to teach determining that particular samples of the at least one fourth audio signal exceed a first threshold level; and reducing levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level.
However, Ferrer discloses a system and method for avoiding clipping in an audio amplifier (Abstract), comprising the following: determining that particular sample of an audio signal exceed a first threshold level (amplitude threshold) (column 3 lines 5 – 40; column 4 lines 52 – 65); and reducing levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level (column 3 lines 65 – column 4 lines 35, 61 – column 5 line 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Holm, Brown and Yeh in the same way that Ferrer’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results of the purpose of avoiding signal distortion when an audio signal is output, wherein the audio signal is often amplified before being output by a transducer (Ferrer, column 1 lines 10 – 55): further determining that particular samples of the at least one fourth audio signal exceed a first threshold level; and reducing levels of the particular samples below the first threshold level.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 12 and 13 of the remarks, applicant argues that Brown fails to teach receiving additional content. In paragraphs 11,12, and 17, Brown discloses a center channel extractor which extracts the center panned content from a stereo signal. In paragraphs 17, 18 and 30, Brown further discloses that the center panned content in a stereo signal is speech, and the remaining content is other non-speech. The center channel extractor receives the stereo signal comprising both speech and non-speech audio content. The center channel extractor identifies the identical portions of the received stereo signal, processes them and outputs them as a center channel content comprising speech. The non-identical portions of the received stereo signal are not speech.
Applicant’s claims fail to recite limitations that temporally limit the receipt of the audio content/additional audio content and narrow the interpretation of the audio content/additional audio content. Therefore, the receipt of a stereo signal comprising both speech and non-speech audio content reads on applicant’s claims, wherein the speech and non-speech audio content are distinguished by audio signal content which is similar/dissimilar.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SONIA L GAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657