DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) limitations of verifying, associating, generating, and performing (as set forth in claim 1). These limitations fall under the grouping of organized human activity (fundamental economic transaction as it pertains to checking out customers) and/ or mental steps. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps of verifying as similar to those concepts held abstract by the courts (claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016), wherein the instant limitation is receiving data and comparing it to output a result. The associating limitations is mental step (performed by a generic computer), and the limitations of acquiring frames is routine data capture necessary for the abstract mental step of comparing the motion to the claimed rule (inward or outward determination). The generation of the shopping is abstract steps which fall under mental (done with aid of pen/ paper) and/or a fundamental economic transaction. The performing of the checkout is merely the abstract idea of collecting data and then performing a purchase which is part of the abstract idea itself. The steps are performed using generic computer components and thus applying them to the environment does not yield a practical application. Re claim 2, limitations, the acquiring is routine data capture I order to make th4e shopping list. Re claim 3, target detection is interpreted as looking at acquired frames which falls under mental steps of comparing to a rule as discussed above, to make the shopping list. Claim 5 is math/ mental steps of specific types of comparisons/ rules, which still is abstract data comparison. Claims 5-6 introduce smore generic computer components performing as expected. Claims 7-12 are rejected for similar reasons as they are drawn to abstract steps of modeling/ comparison of specific types of acquired data, that full under mental/ math steps, performed by generic computer components. Re the limitations regarding specific learning/ models, the Examiner note that AI models are interpreted as mathematical steps that are performed using generic computer components (tools) applied to that environment, and thus is merely using the modeling/ training to apply the abstract idea.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11562614. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious expedients.
Claim 1 of the instant application recites “A checkout method… verifying... associating… generating… performing…” wherein claim 1 of the ‘614 Patent recites “A checkout method… verifying... .associating... generating… performing…”, claim 2 of the instant Application recites “acquiring… inward… outward… boundary…” wherein claim 2 of the ‘614 Patent recites “acquiring… inward… outward… boundary…”, claim 3 of the instant Application recites “… performing target detection… acquiring… using the…”, wherein claim 1 of the ‘614 Patent recites “… performing target detection… acquiring… using the…”, claim 4 of the instant Application recites “acquiring… using…” wherein claim 1 of the ‘614 Patent recites “acquiring… using…”, claim 7 of the instant Application recites “…device… case... shelf... cameras... closure… registration module... association module… shopping list generation module… checkout module…”, wherein claim 3 of the ‘614 Patent recites “…device… case... shelf... cameras... closure… registration module... association module… shopping list generation module… checkout module…”, claim 8 of the instant Application recites “… action identification unit… item identification unit… shopping list generation unit… “ wherein claim 3 of the ‘614 Patent recites “… action identification unit… item identification unit… shopping list generation unit… “, claim 9 of the instant Application recites “… target detection subunit… first classification subunit… confirmation subunit.. result determination subunit…”, whereas claim 3 of the ‘614 Patent teaches “… target detection subunit… first classification subunit… confirmation subunit... result determination subunit…”, claim 10 of the instant Application recites “… judgement unit… second classification subunit…” whereas claim 3 of the ‘614 Patent recites “… judgement unit… second classification subunit…”, claim 11 of the instant Application recites “camera… processor… memory... generate… perform…” , wherein claim 7 of the ‘614 Patent recites “camera… processor… memory... generate… perform…”.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hay (US 20140316916) in view of Kambara et al. (US 20190172039).
A checkout method comprising the steps of:
verifying whether a received unlocking request is sent by a pre-registered customer (paragraph [0098]+, and if so, issuing an unlocking instruction for opening an accommodating case in which a shelf for bearing an item is arranged (50);
associating the customer with a take-up action or a put-back action pertaining to an item using a camera associated with the accommodating case and trained on the shelf, the camera positioned and adapted to acquire a plurality of frames of consecutive hand images of the customer take-up or put-back the item in front of the shelf, identifying the take-up action or the put-back action based on action analysis of the plurality of frames of consecutive hand images containing the item, and identifying the item through pre-trained classification models;
generating a shopping list of the customer after identifying the take-up action or the put-back action and the item at which the take-up action or the put-back action pertains (54+); and
performing checkout of the shopping list (54+).
Hay teaches cameras and hand movement for each tray/ bay (paragraph [0196]+ and claim 73+ and the removal or placement of items (paragraph [0155]+) but is sient to explicitly reciting the specific limitations of the associating, including using models.
Kambara et al. teaches (paragraph [0249]+ and [0214]+) a camera based object recognizing unit that detects objects such as the hand entering and captures images so a to detect objects being removed or placed back and also uses models to determine the candidates.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings for accuracy in determining items taken/ returned.
Re claim 2, paragraph [0155]+ teaches video cameras recording hand movement of the users and placement and removal of items. This is interpreted to read on the plurality of frames including inward and outward motions associated with put back and take up actions. Though silent to identifying the motions as put back rot rake up, it would have been obvious to do so as part of the surveillance for security and accuracy of tracking.
Re claims 3-4, paragraph [0015]+ and [0021]+ and claim 3 teaches cameras of an image recognition system detecting item removal by comparing photographs. The use of a certain number of cameras for images is an obvious expedient based on system constraints, security, accuracy, etc. Hay teaches image recognition but is silent to linear regression model constructed by convolution neural network. The Examiner notes that the use of such modeling is an obvious expedient for accuracy of item recognition and one would have been motivated to try such a system to for a well-known object recognition system with learning, for accuracy, using the items in the case, as they are the items that are being identified. The use of cameras for recited images is an obvious expedient for capturing images to be used for analysis. The Examiner notes that images are typically rectangular, thus obviating rectangular images as a routine and conventional way to capture fields of interest and that the result of the image recognition process determines an identified item classification result.
Re claims 5-6, Hay teaches inputting identity information (paragraph [0025] +). Paragraph [0098]+ teaches a member is a person who preregisters with the company and has a code or card. Paragraph [0142]+ and 64 tehaces displaying the customers virtual shopping cart. This information is interpreted as being sent to a checkout device in order to process the checkout transaction.
Re claim 7, the limtaitosn have been discussed above but does not explicitly teach “modules”. Nonetheless, the Examiner notes that such “modules” can be interpreted as the various software components of the system which performs the functions.
Re claims 8-9, the limtaitosn have been discussed above, wherein modules are interpreted to read on software and associated functionality for the recited processed.
Re claims 11-12, the limitations have been discussed above, wherein the method has a computer and associated memory (FIG. 4+).
Conclusion
/DANIEL I WALSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876