DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence (WO 02/11965 and US 2006/0269738) in view of D’Souza for "Innovative High Strength Glass Microspheres for Extruded and Injection Molded Plastics”.
Lawrence discloses a process for manufacturing a building panel, such as a floor panel, comprising a core, comprising:
providing a core material comprising a thermoplastic material, a filler and hollow microparticles (paragraphs 0001, 0002, and 0013);
applying heat and pressure to the core material to form the core (paragraph 0131); and
laminating a top layer to the core (paragraph 0129),
wherein the filler comprises an inorganic filler,
wherein a degree of microparticles in the core is 3-50 vol%.
However, Lawrence does not explicitly teach how much filler is in the core. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of filler in the composite (paragraph 0037). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
Lawrence does not teach that the strength of the hollow microparticles exceeds 14 MPa. A person of ordinary skill in the art to choose a quality of hollow microparticles to be present in the floor panel; when doing so, it is considered that the skilled person would select a crushing strength of at least 14 MPa for glass microparticles (Table 1).
With respect to claim 21, Lawrence teaches extruding a composite material to form a sheet (paragraph 0131).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are allowed.
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not teach nor suggest calendaring the claimed sheet after extruding the core material.
Conclusion
/SONYA M SENGUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745