DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 31 March 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of group I in the reply filed on 31 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaya (US 2007/0228891).
With respect to claim 1, Tanaya discloses a resonance device (Figs 1, 2A, and 2B) comprising: a first substrate (item 54) including a resonator (item 55) having a vibrating portion (items 35 and 36), a holding portion (item 53) configured to hold the vibrating portion (Figs 2A and 2B), and an isolation groove (gap between vibrating portions 35/36 and holding portion 53) that surrounds the vibrating portion in a plan view of the resonance device (Figs 2A and 2B); and a second substrate (item 56) facing the first substrate with the resonator interposed therebetween (Fig 1) and that includes a first connection portion (items 37 and 38) electrically connected to the vibrating portion (Figs 2A and 2B, paragraph 94).
With respect to claim 2, Tanaya discloses the resonance device according to Claim 1, further comprising: a joint portion (items 53, 37a, and 37b) jointing the first substrate to the second substrate and sealing a vibration space for the resonator (Figs 1, 2A, and 2B), the joint portion having conductivity and electrically connected to the first connection portion, and a second connection portion electrically connected to the joint portion and extending to outer edges of the resonator in the plan view (Paragraph 94, wherein the connection portion is electrically connected via extraction portions 37a and 38a).
With respect to claim 3, Tanaka discloses the resonance device according to Claim 2, wherein the second connection portion extends to the outer edges on a surface of the first substrate that faces the second substrate and on a surface of the second substrate that faces the first substrate (Figs 1, 2A and 2B).
With respect to claim 4, Tanaka discloses the resonance device according to Claim 2, wherein the isolation groove extends along an outer periphery of the joint portion in the plan view (Figs 2A and 2B, wherein the language of the claim does not specify whether the isolation groove must extend outward or inward of the outer periphery of the joint portion).
With respect to claim 5, Tanaka discloses the resonance device according to Claim 2, wherein the isolation groove extends along an inner periphery of the joint portion in the plan view (Figs 2A and 2B, rein the language of the claim does not specify whether the isolation groove must extend outward or inward of the inner periphery of the joint portion).
With respect to claim 6, Tanaka discloses the resonance device according to Claim 1, wherein the isolation groove is between outer edges of the resonator and the vibrating portion in the plan view (Figs 2A and 2B).
With respect to claim 7, Tanaka discloses the resonance device according to Claim 2, wherein the isolation groove is configured such that a conductive path from an outside of the resonator via the holding portion to the vibrating portion is interrupted by the isolation groove before the jointing by the joint portion (Figs 1, 2A and 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Hirota et al. (US 2018/0034441).
With respect to claim 8, Tanaka discloses the resonance device according to Claim 1.
Tanaka does not disclose that the resonator further includes a degenerate silicon substrate.
Hirota et al. teaches a piezoelectric resonance device in which the resonator further includes a degenerate silicon substrate (Paragraph 82).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the degenerate silicon of Hirota et al. with the piezoelectric resonance device of Tanaka for the benefit of improving temperature characteristics (Paragraph 82 of Hirota et al.).
Conclusion
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837