DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 8/25/25 is acknowledged.
Claim 39 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/25/25.
Claims 21-38 are examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/15/2023, 5/4/2023, 8/19/2024 and 10/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection-Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See pages 2, 3, 28 and 29.
Objection-Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 2 presents labels for line graphs. However, the labels are unclear (blurry). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites, “wherein the receptor binding domain (RBD) of the coronavirus S1 subunit. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of copending No. 18/751,109. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claimed invention of ‘109 requires polynucleotide sequences encoding alphavirus NSP1-4 and an antigenic peptide, wherein at least one of the polynucleotides can comprise 5-methyl-cytidine. Similarly, the instant invention is drawn to an isolated polynucleotide encoding alphavirus NSP1-4, an antigenic peptide and a 5-methyl-cytidine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 21-33 and 35-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/751,109 in view of Muik et al. (US PGPub 2023/0338512).
While claims 1 and 15 of the copending application do not require that the antigen
peptide is a protein derived from a virus, which includes a receptor binding domain and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The virus is COVID-19 (a coronavirus) and the antigenic peptide can be derived from a coronavirus or the antigenic peptide can be derived from an influenza hemagglutinin (HA), which would include the transmembrane domain of the HA. In addition, the antigenic peptide comprises a receptor binding domain, transmembrane domain and CD4+ T cell epitopes and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The polynucleotide can also be part of a vector, which can be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle. The vector possesses a promoter, a 5’UTR, a polynucleotide encoding alphavirus nsp1-4, a subgenomic (SG) promoter, a gene of interest encoding an antigenic peptide, a 3’ UTR and a poly A tail.
The teachings of Muik et al. (see below) provide several teachings of utilizing an alphavirus RNA expression system to encode for a COVID-19 spike protein or a sequence from influenza HA. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adapt the invention of claims 1 and 15 of ‘109 with the additional teachings of Muik et al. to arrive at an isolated polynucleotide that renders obvious the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the coronavirus S1 subunit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the other vaccine compositions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-26, 29-33, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Geall et al. (US PGPub 20130195969).
The claimed invention is drawn to an isolated RNA polynucleotide, which encodes alphavirus non-structural proteins (nsp) nsp1-4, and a polypeptide comprising an antigenic peptide, wherein the polynucleotide comprises a 5-methyl-cytidine. The antigen peptide is a protein derived from a virus, which includes a receptor binding domain and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The virus is a coronavirus and the antigenic peptide can be derived from a coronavirus or the antigenic peptide can be derived from an influenza hemagglutinin (HA), which would include the transmembrane domain of the HA. In addition, the antigenic peptide comprises a receptor binding domain, transmembrane domain and CD4+ T cell epitopes and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The polynucleotide can also be part of a vector, which can be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle.
Geall et al. teach the generation of RNA based compositions that contain alphavirus sequences encoding nsp1-4 and an immunogen. [see paragraphs 23, 24 and 33] Geall et al. also teach that their delivery of nucleic acid sequences can be achieved by using vectors. [see paragraph 3] The RNA sequence can possess modified nucleobases, such as 5-methylcytidine (m5C). [see paragraph 33] Examples of the immunogen that are encoded are viral spike glycoproteins, such as that from a SARS virus or an influenza virus HA protein. [see paragraph 78] The spike protein taught would inherently possess a S1 portion, a receptor binding domain, and a transmembrane domain. Furthermore, the taught influenza HA protein would inherently possess a transmembrane domain. These virus proteins would also inherently possess CD4+ and CD8+ T cells epitopes. Geall et al. further teach that pharmaceutically acceptable carriers can be used to deliver their polynucleotides. [see paragraph 106]
Therefore, Geall et al. anticipates the instant invention.
Claim(s) 21-33 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muik et al. (US PGPub 2023/0338512).
The claimed invention is drawn to an isolated RNA polynucleotide, which encodes alphavirus non-structural proteins (nsp) nsp1-4, and a polypeptide comprising an antigenic peptide, wherein the polynucleotide comprises a 5-methyl-cytidine. The antigen peptide is a protein derived from a virus, which includes a receptor binding domain and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The virus is COVID-19 (a coronavirus) and the antigenic peptide can be derived from a coronavirus or the antigenic peptide can be derived from an influenza hemagglutinin (HA), which would include the transmembrane domain of the HA. In addition, the antigenic peptide comprises a receptor binding domain, transmembrane domain and CD4+ T cell epitopes and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The polynucleotide can also be part of a vector, which can be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle. The vector possesses a promoter, a 5’UTR, a polynucleotide encoding alphavirus nsp1-4, a subgenomic (SG) promoter, a gene of interest encoding an antigenic peptide, a 3’ UTR and a poly A tail.
Muik et al. largely focuses on developing RNA based compositions against SARS-CoV-2 viruses. [see abstract] These compositions can be formulated with pharmaceutically acceptable carriers. [see paragraphs 75-77] Muik et al. teach the generation of an alphavirus RNA replicon that contains nucleic acid sequences encoding nsp1-4 and an immunogen. [see paragraph 605] The general structure of such a replicon can be found in Figure 5.
In addition to figure 5, paragraphs 683-691 further teach the structure of an alphavirus RNA sequence which possesses a 5’ UTR, nsp1-4 coding sequences linked to a promoter, a subgenomic promoter which is part the virUTR region seen in figure 5. Figure 5 also reaches the encoding of a COVID-19 spike protein, which would inherently possess a S1 portion, a receptor binding domain, and a transmembrane domain. The spike protein would also inherently possess CD4+ and CD8+ T cells epitopes.
Muik et al. also teach that a transmembrane domain of an influenza hemagglutinin can be encoded by their RNA polynucleotide sequences. [see paragraph 492]
The RNA sequences of Muik et al. can possess modified nucleobases, such as 5-methylcytidine. [see paragraph 621] The RNA can also be part of a vector. [see paragraph 650]
Therefore, Muik et al. anticipates the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geall et al. as applied to claims 21-26, 29-33, 35 and 37 above, and further in view of Gaiha et al. (US PGPub 20230302083).
The claimed invention also requires that the CD4+ T cell epitope is a Pan-DR epitope (PADRE).
The teachings of Geall et al. are summarized above, however, they do not teach the use of a CD4+ T cell epitope that is Pan-DR (PADRE).
Gaiha et al. immunogenic compositions focused on treating SARS-CoV-2 viruses. One example is nucleic acid sequences which encode SARS-CoV-2 spike proteins, with a focus on CTL epitopes. [see paragraphs 11 and 105] Gaiha et al. also teach the use of immune-enhancer elements, such as the universal T-helper epitope pan HLA-DR (PADRE). [see paragraph 58]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compositions taught by Geall et al. in order to employ immune-enhancers, such as PADRE, with their immunogenic compositions. One would have been motivated to do so, given the suggestion by Geall et al. that inducing immune responses against an immunogen of interest is an important focus of their teachings [see paragraph 37]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that PADRE functions as a T-helper epitope and can aid in inducting immune responses, as taught by Gaiha et al. Thus the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/BENJAMIN P BLUMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671