DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 8/25/25 is acknowledged.
Claim 39 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/25/25.
Claims 21-38 are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/265,634, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The amendment of claim 21 to recite, “substantially 100% of cytidines in the polynucleotide are 5-methyl-cytidines” is not supported by ‘634. The provisional application 63/393,400 does provide support for this limitation. Therefore, the claimed invention has the earliest effective priority date of 7/29/2022, which is the submission date of ‘400.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection-Specification
(Objection Withdrawn in view of Amendments) The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See pages 2, 3, 28 and 29.
Objection-Drawings
(Objection Withdrawn in view of Amendments) The drawings are objected to because Figure 2 presents labels for line graphs. However, the labels are unclear (blurry). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
(Prior Objection Withdrawn in view of Amendment) Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites, “wherein the receptor binding domain (RBD) of the coronavirus S1 subunit. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
(Prior Rejection withdrawn in view of Amendments) Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of copending No. 18/751,109.
(Prior Rejection Maintained and extended to amended claim 38) Claims 21-33 and 35-38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/751,109 in view of Muik et al. (infra).
While claims 1 and 15 of the copending application do not require that the antigen
peptide is a protein derived from a virus, which includes a receptor binding domain and CD8+ T cell epitopes or that substantially 100% of the cytidines are 5-methyl-cytidines. The virus is COVID-19 (a coronavirus) and the antigenic peptide can be derived from a coronavirus or the antigenic peptide can be derived from an influenza hemagglutinin (HA), which would include the transmembrane domain of the HA. In addition, the antigenic peptide comprises a receptor binding domain, transmembrane domain and CD4+ T cell epitopes and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The polynucleotide can also be part of a vector, which can be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle. The vector possesses a promoter, a 5’UTR, a polynucleotide encoding alphavirus nsp1-4, a subgenomic (SG) promoter, a gene of interest encoding an antigenic peptide, a 3’ UTR and a poly A tail.
The teachings of Muik et al. (see below) provide several teachings of utilizing an alphavirus RNA expression system to encode for a COVID-19 spike protein or a sequence from influenza HA and replacing all cytidines with 5-methyl-cytidines. Furthermore, Muik et al. teach compositions can be formulated with pharmaceutically acceptable carriers and different RNA sequences can be complexed together or separately with proteins and/or lipids to generate RNA particles for administration, which would anticipate the combination of another one or more vaccine composition. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adapt the invention of claims 1 and 15 of ‘109 with the additional teachings of Muik et al. to arrive at an isolated polynucleotide that renders obvious the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(New Rejection Necessitated by Amendments) Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
(Prior Rejection Withdrawn in view of Amendment) Claim 26 recites the limitation "the coronavirus S1 subunit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
(Prior Rejection Withdrawn in view of Amendment) Claim 38 recites the limitation "the other vaccine compositions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
(New Rejection Necessitated by Amendment) The term “substantially 100% of cytidines in the polynucleotide are 5-methyl-cytidines” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Furthermore, it is unclear if the limitation of “substantially 100%” includes 100% or 99% or less of the cytidines are 5-methyl-cytidines. Claims 22-38 are also rejected because they depend from claim 21, but do not remedy this deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(Prior Rejection Withdrawn in view of Amendments) Claim(s) 21-26, 29-33, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Geall et al. (US PGPub 20130195969).
(Prior Rejection Maintained and extended to amended claim 38) Claim(s) 21-33 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muik et al. (US PGPub 2023/0338512).
The claimed invention is drawn to an isolated RNA polynucleotide, which encodes alphavirus non-structural proteins (nsp) nsp1-4, and a polypeptide comprising an antigenic peptide, wherein the polynucleotide comprises a 5-methyl-cytidine. The antigen peptide is a protein derived from a virus, which includes a receptor binding domain and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The virus is COVID-19 (a coronavirus) and the antigenic peptide can be derived from a coronavirus or the antigenic peptide can be derived from an influenza hemagglutinin (HA), which would include the transmembrane domain of the HA. In addition, the antigenic peptide comprises a receptor binding domain, transmembrane domain and CD4+ T cell epitopes and CD8+ T cell epitopes. The polynucleotide can also be part of a vector, which can be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle. The vector possesses a promoter, a 5’UTR, a polynucleotide encoding alphavirus nsp1-4, a subgenomic (SG) promoter, a gene of interest encoding an antigenic peptide, a 3’ UTR and a poly A tail. The claimed vaccine composition (polynucleotide or vector) is combined with another one or more vaccine composition.
Muik et al. largely focuses on developing RNA based compositions against SARS-CoV-2 viruses. [see abstract] These compositions can be formulated with pharmaceutically acceptable carriers and differtent RNA sequences can be complexed together or separately with proteins and/or lipids to generate RNA particles for administration, which would anticipate the combination of another one or more vaccine composition [instant invention’s claim 38]. [see paragraphs 75-77 and 28] Muik et al. teach the generation of an alphavirus RNA replicon that contains nucleic acid sequences encoding nsp1-4 and an immunogen. [see paragraph 605] The general structure of such a replicon can be found in Figure 5.
In addition to figure 5, paragraphs 683-691 further teach the structure of an alphavirus RNA sequence which possesses a 5’ UTR, nsp1-4 coding sequences linked to a promoter, a subgenomic promoter which is part the virUTR region seen in figure 5. Figure 5 also reaches the encoding of a COVID-19 spike protein, which would inherently possess a S1 portion, a receptor binding domain, and a transmembrane domain. The spike protein would also inherently possess CD4+ and CD8+ T cells epitopes.
Muik et al. also teach that a transmembrane domain of an influenza hemagglutinin can be encoded by their RNA polynucleotide sequences. [see paragraph 492]
The RNA sequences of Muik et al. can possess modified nucleobases, such as 5-methylcytidine. More specifically, 5-methylcytidine is substituted partially or completely, preferably completely, for cytidine, which thereby teach the claimed limitation of amended claim 21 of “substantially 100% of cytidines in the polynucleotides are 5-methyl-cytidines”. [see paragraph 621] The RNA can also be part of a vector. [see paragraph 650]
Therefore, Muik et al. anticipates the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(New Rejection Necessitated by Amendments) Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muik et al. as applied to claims 21-33 and 35-38 above, and further in view of Gaiha et al. (US PGPub 20230302083).
The claimed invention also requires that the CD4+ T cell epitope is a Pan-DR epitope (PADRE).
The teachings of Muik et al. are summarized above, however, they do not teach the use of a CD4+ T cell epitope that is Pan-DR (PADRE).
Gaiha et al. immunogenic compositions focused on treating SARS-CoV-2 viruses. One example is nucleic acid sequences which encode SARS-CoV-2 spike proteins, with a focus on CTL epitopes. [see paragraphs 11 and 105] Gaiha et al. also teach the use of immune-enhancer elements, such as the universal T-helper epitope pan HLA-DR (PADRE). [see paragraph 58]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compositions taught by Muik et al. in order to employ immune-enhancers, such as PADRE, with their immunogenic compositions. One would have been motivated to do so, given the suggestion by Muik et al. that inducing immune responses against an immunogen of interest is an important focus of their teachings [see paragraph 25]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that PADRE functions as a T-helper epitope and can aid in inducting immune responses, as taught by Gaiha et al. Thus the invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN P BLUMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671