DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 6/2/2026, in which claim(s) 1-22 is/are pending.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to 112 1st paragraph with rejection of claim(s) 1-22 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant’s pointed towards paragraphs 5, 49-59 suggesting that it support a schema is NOT included in the message; however, The Examiner found no support for this negative limitation. A negative limitation should have explicit support in the specification, and the suggested paragraphs clearly does not show such limitation. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, preventing a man-in-the-middle attack when not using schema, would reduce the needed information to allow the middleman to impersonated while eavesdropping.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 12 and 21 reciting “where no schema is provided in the first message”. The specification supports the no schema claims; however, there is nowhere that discloses of “no schema data”. As such, the “no schema” constitute new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antinori et al. (US 20220374296 A1; hereinafter Antinori) in view of Kim et al. (KR10-2014-0080838 – IDS; hereinafter Kim) further in view of Curzi et al. (US 20130173248 A1; hereinafter Curzi).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 21, Antinori discloses a method for messaging in a heterogeneous environment, comprising:
establishing a first connection between a first messaging device and a second messaging device, the first messaging device having a first memory configured to store a first schema and the second messaging device having a second memory configured to store at least one processing rule and at least one schema including the first schema (the publisher device communicate message with a message broker to the subscribers, in which the first computing device storing schema data and the message broker including schema mapping with subscriber receiving the schema from the message broker [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
sending, by the first messaging device to the second messaging device via the first connection, a first message, the first message being structured according to the first schema stored in the first memory (first message 141 sending from the publisher to the subscriber based on the first message schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
receiving, by the second messaging device, the first message (the subscriber received the messages 141’ [Antinori; ¶20-32; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
comparing, by the second messaging device, features of the payload including data structure (Logic of the topic mapping component may be configured to determine various payload data and/or metadata included in the sampled messages and may include such data in the topic/schema mapping. Furthermore, logic of the topic mapping component may be used to parse the first message in order to determine the schema (e.g., based on a comparison of the first message to one or more known schemas) [Antinori; ¶31-32, 44-46]);
identifying, by the second messaging device, that the first message is structured according to the first schema stored in the second memory (A user device 428 may send a request for schema data for a first topic ID to topic mapping component 422 (block 430). For example, the user device 428 may subscribe to a first topic handled by message broker 426. Accordingly, the user device 428 may receive one or more messages from message broker 426 of the first topic. In various examples, the request for schema data may include topic identifier data (e.g., identifying the topic to which the user device 428 is subscribed) and/or message identifier data (e.g., metadata determined from a message header received by the user device 428) [Antinori; ¶48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
processing, by the second messaging device, the first message using the processing rule, wherein the processing generates processed data (The user device 428 may receive the schema data in response to the request (block 438). Thereafter, the user device 428 may be enabled to programmatically parse the message data and/or may use the schema to ingest the message data. [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]); and
storing the processed data in the second memory (the message data storing at the subscriber device after restoring the content of the first message [Antinori; ¶48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Antinori discloses sending messages based on the schema data, so that the user device may be enabled to programmatically parse the message data and/or may use the schema to ingest the message data. Antinori does not explicilty discloses each schema defining how information, formatted according to a syntax defined by a format, is organized; the payload is formatted accordingly, and comparing, by the second messaging device, features of the payload including data structure, organization of information, and data type fields against the at least one schema stored in the second memory to determine payload format compatibility, and determining that the payload validates against the first schema stored in the second memory; however, in a related and analogous art, Kim teaches these features.
In particular, Kim teaches CAN message schema DB configured to store a configuration rule of at least one CAN message, wherein the CAN message parser parses the configuration rule of the received CAN message based on the CAN message schema DB, and The CAN message schema DB may store different configuration rules or schema for each CAN message. Here, schema refers to a logical structure that expresses the structure and content of data and information on logical and physical characteristics of these data. For example, the CAN message may include a mesh name, an attribute name, a field index, a field length, a period, and the like, and the size of each field may be set to be different for each message. When the CAN message parser periodically receives the CAN message, the CAN message parser may parse the configuration rule of the received CAN message. That is, the CAN message parser may parse the configuration rule of the received CAN message based on the CAN message schema DB and separate the parsed result for each field. The CAN message parser may calculate a valid time stamp in consideration of the current time and the reception period, and record state information including some or all of the calculated valid time stamp and the parsing result in the state information registry. For example, the state information may include an ECU name, an effective time, an attribute name, and an attribute value. [Kim; ¶9-10, 19-21, 34-39 and 48-50]. It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Antinori in view of Kim schema and configuration rules for the information format include a mesh name, an attribute name, a field index, a field length, a period, and the like, and the size of each field may be set to be different for each message with the motivation to easier recognized and maintain consistency.
Antinori-Kim combination sending message with configuration rules and different fields information to validate the schemes used. In which a user or other system may query topic/schema mapping using a message ID or topic ID. The message ID or topic ID may be used to retrieve the schema data that can be used to interpret the message payload. Logic of the topic mapping component may be configured to determine various payload data and/or metadata included in the sampled messages and may include such data in the topic/schema mapping. Furthermore, logic of the topic mapping component may be used to parse the first message in order to determine the schema (e.g., based on a comparison of the first message to one or more known schemas) [Antinori; ¶31-32, 44-46]. Antinori-Kim combination does not explicilty discloses wherein no schema is provided in the first message and wherein the comparing includes attempting to validate the payload against each schema of the at least one schema stored in the memory; however, in a related and analogous art, Curzi teaches this feature.
In particular, Curzi teaches the message are the message can be analyzed to determine an appropriate encoding scheme. Analysis can include, but is not limited to, lexical analysis, language determination, grammar construction, phrase determination, and the like. In one embodiment, analysis can be utilized to determine potential resource savings from compressing the message. Furthermore, the encoded message can be analyzed to determine the encoding scheme utilized to encode the message. Analysis can include, but is not limited to, packet decomposition, byte reordering, checksum evaluation, and the like… Thus, no schema is included, but using the message information to determine the schema used in the encoding and decode the message as such [Curzi; ¶39-41; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Antinori-Kim combination in view of Curzi schema detection method, with the motivation to enabling maximum network load reduction [Curzi; ¶23].
Regarding claim 2, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
configuring the first messaging device to store a topic mapping repository and a plurality of schemas in the first memory, wherein the topic mapping repository maps the plurality of schemas to correspond to a plurality of topics including a target topic (the message broker creates the schema and messages’ from the message [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
selecting, from the plurality of schemas stored in the first memory, a target schema based on the target topic and the topic mapping repository, the target schema corresponding to the target topic (creating the schema and mapping [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]); and
composing a target message structured according to the target schema, wherein the first message sent by the first messaging device to the second messaging device via the first connection is the target message (creating the messages’ and send to the subscribers [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 3, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second messaging device is configured to send a subscription request, via the first connection, to the first messaging device indicating the target topic (the receiving end is the subscriber 123 which register with the broker to receive the messages’ and the schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 4, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first messaging device is configured to construct a published message including a published topic, the published message being the first message sent by the first messaging device to the second messaging device via the first connection (first device is publishers’ device [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 5, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: configuring the second messaging device to store a topic mapping repository and a plurality of schemas in the second memory, wherein the topic mapping repository maps the plurality of schemas to correspond to a plurality of topics including a target topic; selecting, from the plurality of schemas stored in the second memory, a target schema based on the target topic and the topic mapping repository, the target schema corresponding to the target topic; and composing, from the processed data, a target message structured according to the target schema (use of multiple message broker and creating of message broker, also a subscriber can become a handler [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 6, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: establishing a second connection between the second messaging device and a third messaging devices, the third messaging device; and sending, by the second messaging device, the target message to the third messaging device (the message broker sending messages’ to the subscriber [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 7, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: storing, in the second messaging device, a control protocol defining at least one control rule for a control engine to control at least one actuator according to a control message; composing, from the processed data, the control message structured according to the control protocol; and sending, by the second messaging device, the control message to the third messaging device, wherein the subscriber device includes the control engine being configured to control the actuator according to the control message based on the control protocol (the user device 428 may receive one or more messages from message broker 426 of the first topic. In various examples, the request for schema data may include topic identifier data (e.g., identifying the topic to which the user device 428 is subscribed) and/or message identifier data (e.g., metadata determined from a message header received by the user device 428) [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 8, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: establishing a second connection between the second messaging device and a data storage system, the data storage system being configured to store the processed data; and sending, by the second messaging device, the target message to the data storage system (communication between the message broker and the mapping component [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 9, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: establishing a second connection between the second messaging device and a data analysis system, the data analysis system being configured to analyze the processed data; and sending, by the second messaging device, the target message to the data analysis system (processing the messages to messages’ [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 10, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: generating updated data, by the second messaging device, from the processed data; composing, from the updated data, an update message structured according to the first schema, the update message being associated with the published topic; and sending, by the second messaging device, the update message to the publisher device via the first connection (processing the messages to messages’ [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 11, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first message is structured according to a Message Queue Telemetry Transport (MQTT) protocol (In EDAs, messages may be sent from publishers using a variety of different protocols. Examples of such protocols may include, but are not limited to, message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT), constrained application protocol (CoAP), advanced message queuing protocol (AMQP), hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), etc. Accordingly, asynchronous application programming interfaces (APIs) (e.g., AsyncAPI) may be similar to synchronous APIs (e.g., OpenAPI), but may include different content/organization. For example, asynchronous APIs may include metadata indicating the protocol being used, metadata indicating one or more topic names, server data, schema data (describing a content and/or organization of the message data), etc. [Antinori; ¶15; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 12, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one processing rule is associated with the first schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text].
Regarding claim 14, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the first application is executable by a first computing device of the at least one computing device and the second application is executable by a second computing device of the at least one computing device, the first computing device and the second computing device being configured to communicate via a first connection [Antinori; Fig. 1 and associated text].
Regarding claim 15, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the first computing device, executing the first application, is configured to:
receive a subscription request from the second computing device (the subscriber subscribes to the message broker [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
store a topic mapping repository and a plurality of schemas in the first memory, wherein the topic mapping repository maps the plurality of schemas to correspond to a plurality of topics including a target topic (the message broker by includes the mapping component and the schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
select, from the plurality of schemas stored in the first memory, a target schema based on the target topic and the topic mapping repository, the target schema corresponding to the target topic (selecting a schema to process the message to message’s [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]); and
compose a target message structured according to the target schema, wherein the first message sent by the first application to the second application is the target message (processing the message and sending the message’ to the subscriber [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 16, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the first computing device, executing the first application, is configured to construct the first message to be a published message including a published topic, and wherein the second computing device, executing the second application, is configured to (the subscriber subscribes to the message broker [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]):
store a topic mapping repository and a plurality of schemas in the second memory, wherein the topic mapping repository maps the plurality of schemas to correspond to a plurality of topics including a target topic (the message broker by includes the mapping component and the schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
select, from the plurality of schemas stored in the second memory, a target schema based on the target topic and the topic mapping repository, the target schema corresponding to the target topic (selecting a schema to process the message to message’s [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]); and
compose, from the processed data, a target message structured according to the target schema (processing the message and sending the message’ to the subscriber [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 17, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 16, further comprising a third application executable by a third computing device in communication with the second computing device via a second connection, wherein the second computing device, executing the second application, is further configured to send the target message to the third computing device via the second connection (the user device 428 may receive one or more messages from message broker 426 of the first topic. In various examples, the request for schema data may include topic identifier data (e.g., identifying the topic to which the user device 428 is subscribed) and/or message identifier data (e.g., metadata determined from a message header received by the user device 428) [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 18, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the second computing device, executing the second application, is further configured to: generate updated data from the processed data; compose, from the updated data, an update message structured according to the first schema; and send the update message to the first computing device via the first connection (processing the messages to messages’ [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 19, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the first application is executable as a first thread of a programming job and the second application is executable as a second thread of the programming job, the programming job being configured to be executed by the at least one computing device [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text].
Regarding claim 20, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the processing rule is associated with the first schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text].
Regarding claim 22, Antinori-Kim-Curzi combination discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, having stored thereon one or more sequences of instructions, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further perform:
loading a topic mapping repository and a plurality of schemas from the memory, wherein the topic mapping repository maps the plurality of schemas to correspond to a plurality of topics (the topic/schema mapping 127 loading and processing the messages to messages’ [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
loading a target topic from the memory, the target topic being associated with the processed data (the message broker by includes the mapping component and the schema [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]);
selecting, from the plurality of schemas, a target schema based on the target topic and the topic mapping repository, the target schema corresponding to the target topic (selecting a schema to process the message to message’s [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]); and
composing, from the processed data, a target message structured according to the target schema (processing the message and sending the message’ to the subscriber [Antinori; ¶20-32, 48-57; Fig. 1, 4-5 and associated text]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432