DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claims 1 and 15, “at least about” is invalid for indefiniteness as the instant specification doesn’t provide any indication as to what range of specific activity is covered by the term “about.” Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al. (WO 2007/116688 A1) in view of US 20120240986 A1 in view of Zehentmaier et al. (US 2011/0249325 A1) and further in view of Klerks et al. (US 20200373875).
Re claims 1-7 and 11-19, Higuchi et al. is directed to a laminate having excellent weather resistance comprising a fluororesin film and an adhesive layer containing an ultraviolet absorber (paragraphs 0013-0015). The total light transmittance of the laminate is 85% or more and 90% or less (paragraphs 0055-0056). The fluororesin may be an ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene having a thickness of 0.05 mm (paragraph 0081), i.e. 50
m. The ultraviolet absorber is preferably present in the adhesive layer at a concentration of 0.5 to 20 parts mass per 100 parts adhesive (paragraph 0037). The laminate may be used as a protective sheet for a solar cell (paragraph 0016).
Higuichi doesn’t disclose up to 60 wt% fluropolymer as claimed.
Debergalis discloses up to 70 wt% (overlapping applicant’s wt% range) to aid in bonding strength to the substrate (see [4, 8, 19].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness wherein the wt% aids in bonding strength. MPEP 2144.05.
While Higuchi et al. teach the incorporation of ultraviolet absorber to provide the laminate with improved weather resistance, the reference is silent regarding the transmission at 200 to 360 nm and 360 to 380 nm.
Zehentmaier et al. is directed to a multilayer optical film (paragraph 0001) that may be used in solar cells (paragraph 0079). The optical film of Zehentmaier et al. may comprise a ultraviolet-absorbing layer to shield ultraviolet radiation of wavelengths 280 to 400 nm that are known to cause degradation of plastics in outdoor applications (paragraph 0054). The ultraviolet-absorbing layer can absorb greater than 99% of incident light from 180 to 400 nm (paragraph 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate ultraviolet absorbers into the adhesive layer of Higuchi et al. such that the resulting layer absorbs greater than 99% of incident light from 180 to 400 nm to improve the weather resistance by protecting the laminate from ultraviolet radiation known to cause degradation in outdoor applications.
Higuchi is silent to glass substrate (claims 1, 8-9), while Zehentaier teaches glass [77] where the multilayer optical film is on the glass or between two or more panes for providing reflective properties, neither teach the thickness of the glass as claimed.
Klerks teaches a similar photovoltaic multilayer laminate with an overlapping range of glass thickness of 50-500 μm, to provide flexibility [33].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness wherein the glass thickness aids in flexibility. MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, and 11-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 10-20 of copending Application No. 18/067,366.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions of instant claims 1-20 represent a genus of which the inventions described by claims 1-7 and 10-20 of copending Application No. 18/067,366 are species. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The invention recited in claims 1-7 and 10-20 of copending Application No. 18/067,366 represent a species of the invention recited in instant claims 1-19 since the multilayer film of the instant claims is written with open language that permits, but does not require, the inclusion of other components (e.g. a glass substrate having a thickness of not greater than 300 m).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, and 11-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/067,413.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions of instant claims 1-20 represent a genus of which the inventions described by claims 1-7 and 10-20 of copending Application No. 18/067,413 are species. See In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The invention recited in claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/067,413 represent a species of the invention recited in instant claims 1-19 since the multilayer film of the instant claims is written with open language that permits, but does not require, the inclusion of other components (e.g. glass substrate having a thickness of not greater than 300 mm).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are considered but not persusasive. Applicant’s summilarily argue the properties are not disclosed (i.e.transmission). However, the new limaitaions are addressed above given the new reference applied. See action above.
Conclusion
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787