DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 is dependent upon canceled claim 15. For the purposes of this Office Action, Claim 16 is assumed to be dependent upon Claim 13.
Claim 59 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 59 is dependent upon canceled claim 58. For the purposes of this Office Action, Claim 59 is assumed to be dependent upon Claim 42.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Hosseini et al. (US# 2021/0112574 hereinafter referred to as Hosseini).
RE Claim 1¸ Xu discloses a user device, UE, for a wireless communication network, wherein the UE is to act as a relaying entity so as to provide functionality to support connectivity between a transmitting entity and a receiving entity of the wireless communication network (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE acting as a relay node, between source and destination node), and
wherein, responsive to receiving a transmission from the transmitting entity:
if the transmission is directed to the relaying entity, sending a first feedback to the transmitting entity, wherein the first feedback indicates successful or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the relaying entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE determines if node itself is destination of packet; if it is determined that the UE is the destination of the packet, the destination node sends HARQ-ACK back to source), and
if the transmission is directed to the receiving entity:
relaying the transmission towards the receiving entity, transmitting a second feedback instead of the first feedback to the transmitting entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE determines if node itself is destination of packet; if it is determined that the UE is not the destination of the packet, the UE forwards the packet to the destination node; the destination node sends HARQ-ACK back to source either directly or through intermediate nodes (i.e. relay nodes); the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node),
wherein the second feedback indicates a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node),
wherein the UE is to transmit the feedback received from the receiving entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node), wherein the UE uses SL in case the transmitting entity is a UE or a relaying entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; [0103]-[0104] – if the destination of the transmission (i.e. original transmitting entity that is now receiving the feedback) is another UE, the transmission takes place over SL), and wherein the UE uses UL in the case the transmitting entity is a network entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; [0103]-[0104] – if the destination of the transmission (i.e. original transmitting entity that is now receiving the feedback) is a base station, the transmission takes place over UL).
Xu does not specifically disclose the UE transmitting the feedback in the physical, PHY, layer; or
wherein the UE uses PSFCH when transmitting feedback on the sidelink, and wherein the UE uses PUCCH or PUSCH when transmitting feedback on the uplink (emphasis added).
However, Hosseini teaches of wherein the UE is to transmit the feedback received from the receiving entity in the physical, PHY, layer (See Hosseini FIG 2; [0091] – UE sending feedback on PSFCH or PUCCH),
wherein the UE uses PSFCH when transmitting feedback on the sidelink (See Hosseini FIG 2; [0091] – if UE sends feedback to another UE on the sidelink, transmission is on PSFCH), and wherein the UE uses PUCCH or PUSCH when transmitting feedback on the uplink (See Hosseini FIG 2; [0091] – if UE sends feedback to base station on the uplink, transmission is on PUCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, wherein the UE uses SL in case the transmitting entity is a UE or a relaying entity, and wherein the UE uses UL in the case the transmitting entity is a network entity, as disclosed in Xu, wherein the UE transmitting the feedback in the physical, PHY, layer; and
wherein the UE uses PSFCH when transmitting feedback on the sidelink, and wherein the UE uses PUCCH or PUSCH when transmitting feedback on the uplink, as taught in Hosseini. One is motivated as such in order to improve transmission error detection and satisfy timing capabilities (See Hosseini Background; Summary).
RE Claim 3¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein, if the UE receives a feedback from the receiving entity indicating a successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, the UE is to transmit to the transmitting entity the second feedback within a configured or pre-configured time window following the receipt of the second feedback (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – receiving entity sending HARQ-ACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity at a configured time window (i.e. whatever time window the relay UE is programmed to transmit the response)).
RE Claim 4¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein, if the UE receives a feedback from the receiving entity indicating a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, the UE is to:
transmit to the transmitting entity the second feedback within a configured or pre-configured time window following the receipt of the feedback, and not retransmit the transmission to the receiving entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity at a configured time window (i.e. whatever time window the relay UE is programmed to transmit the response)), or
retransmit the transmission to the receiving entity, and continue to retransmit the transmission with the same or with different transmission parameters, until a feedback indicating a successful receipt of the transmission is received from the receiving entity, and transmit to the transmitting entity the second feedback, or until one or more of predefined events occur.
RE Claim 7¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the UE is to receive the transmission from the transmitting entity over a direct interface, or over an access network interface (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; Background; Summary – sent over direct interface such as sidelink or access network link).
RE Claim 8¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein
the transmitting entity comprises a user device, UE, or a relaying entity, and the receiving entity comprises a user device, UE, or a relaying entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; Background; Summary – transmitting/receiving entity can be UE, relay UE, or network entity), or
the transmitting entity comprises a user device, UE, or a relaying entity and the receiving entity comprises a network entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; Background; Summary –transmitting/receiving entity can be UE, relay UE, or network entity), or
the transmitting entity comprises a network entity and the receiving entity comprises a user device, UE, or a relaying entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; Background; Summary – transmitting/receiving entity can be UE, relay UE, or network entity).
RE Claim 13¸ Xu discloses a user device, UE, for a wireless communication network,
Wherein the UE is to act as a relaying entity so as to provide functionality to support connectivity between a transmitting entity and one or more receiving entities of the wireless communication network (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE acting as a relay node, between source and destination node),
wherein responsive to receiving the transmission from the transmitting entity, the UE is to transmit a first feedback to the transmitting entity using a first feedback link between the transmitting entity and the UE, the first feedback indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the UE (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE determines if node itself is destination of packet; if it is determined that the UE is the destination of the packet, the destination node sends HARQ-ACK back to source),
wherein, responsive to receiving a transmission from the transmitting entity and to relaying the transmission towards the receiving entity, the UE is to transmit a second feedback to the transmitting entity, the second feedback indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE determines if node itself is destination of packet; if it is determined that the UE is not the destination of the packet, the UE forwards the packet to the destination node; the destination node sends HARQ-ACK back to source either directly or through intermediate nodes (i.e. relay nodes); the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node), and
the UE is to transmit the second feedback associated with the receiving entity using a second feedback link between the transmitting entity and the UE (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node);
wherein the UE is to transmit the second feedback received from the receiving entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node), wherein the UE uses SL in case the transmitting entity is a UE or a relaying entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; [0103]-[0104] – if the destination of the transmission (i.e. original transmitting entity that is now receiving the feedback) is another UE, the transmission takes place over SL), and wherein the UE uses UL in the case the transmitting entity is a network entity (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; [0103]-[0104] – if the destination of the transmission (i.e. original transmitting entity that is now receiving the feedback) is a base station, the transmission takes place over UL).
Xu does not specifically disclose the UE transmitting the feedback in the physical, PHY, layer; or
wherein the UE uses PSFCH when transmitting feedback on the sidelink, the PSFCH resources scheduled by the transmitting entity for the first feedback, and wherein the UE uses PUCCH or PUSCH when transmitting feedback on the uplink, the PUCCH or PUSCH resources scheduled by the transmitting entity for the first feedback (emphasis added).
However, Hosseini teaches of wherein the UE is to transmit the feedback received from the receiving entity in the physical, PHY, layer (See Hosseini FIG 2; [0091] – UE sending feedback on PSFCH or PUCCH), the PSFCH resources scheduled by the transmitting entity for the first feedback (See Hosseini [0111], [0125] – UE may schedule SL resources),
wherein the UE uses PSFCH when transmitting feedback on the sidelink (See Hosseini FIG 2; [0091] – if UE sends feedback to another UE on the sidelink, transmission is on PSFCH), and wherein the UE uses PUCCH or PUSCH when transmitting feedback on the uplink (See Hosseini FIG 2; [0091] – if UE sends feedback to base station on the uplink, transmission is on PUCCH), the PUCCH or PUSCH resources scheduled by the transmitting entity for the first feedback (See Hosseini [0052] – BS may schedule UL control channel resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, wherein the UE uses SL in case the transmitting entity is a UE or a relaying entity, and wherein the UE uses UL in the case the transmitting entity is a network entity, as disclosed in Xu, wherein the UE transmitting the feedback in the physical, PHY, layer; and
wherein the UE uses PSFCH when transmitting feedback on the sidelink, the PSFCH resources scheduled by the transmitting entity for the first feedback, and wherein the UE uses PUCCH or PUSCH when trsansmitting feedback on the uplink, the PUCCH or PUSCH resources scheduled by the transmitting entity for the first feedback, as taught in Hosseini. One is motivated as such in order to improve transmission error detection and satisfy timing capabilities (See Hosseini Background; Summary).
RE Claim 16¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 15 above, wherein the UE is to receive from the network entity the resources to be used for reporting the first feedback and the second feedback (See Hosseini [0052] – BS may schedule resources used for feedback).
Claims 42, 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Back et al. (US# 2023/0199875 hereinafter referred to as Back).
RE Claim 42¸ Xu discloses a wireless communication network (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; Background; Summary – wireless communication network), comprising
A transmitting entity for a wireless communication network (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; Background; Summary – transmitting entity),
wherein the transmitting entity is connectable to a relaying entity so as to provide functionality to support connectivity between the transmitting entity and one or more receiving entities of the wireless communication network (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – UE acting as a relay node, between source and destination node), and
wherein, responsive to sending a transmission to the relaying entity for relaying to the receiving entity, the transmitting entity is to receive from the relaying entity a feedback, the feedback indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – relay UE determines if node itself is destination of packet; if it is determined that the relay UE is not the destination of the packet, the relay UE forwards the packet to the destination node (receiving entity); the destination node (receiving entity) sends HARQ-ACK back to source either directly or through intermediate nodes (i.e. relay nodes); the UE, acting as a relay node, forwards the received HARQ-ACK messages back to the source node),
one or more remote user devices, receiving entity, and one or more user devices, providing functionality to support connectivity between the transmitting entity and the one or more receiving entities (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – remote UE, relay UE) and a base station (See Xu FIGs 1, 4; [0103]-[0104] – base station).
Xu does not specifically disclose
wherein the relaying entity and the transmitting entity operate in Mode 1 so that the base station indicates the resources to be used by the transmitting entity and the relaying entity,
wherein the relaying entity is configured or preconfigured with resources via configured grants for the transmission of the data to the receiving entity, and
wherein if the base station determines that the resources in the configured grants are not sufficient for the transmission of the data from the relaying entity to the receiving entity, the base station provides to the relaying entity a control message indicating additional resources for the transmission to the relaying entity.
However, Back teaches of
wherein the relaying entity and the transmitting entity operate in Mode 1 (See Back [0107] – mode 1) so that the base station indicates the resources to be used by the transmitting entity and the relaying entity (See Back [0174], [0176], [0181] – base station allocates resources to be used by transmitting entity and relaying entity),
wherein the relaying entity is configured or preconfigured with resources via configured grants for the transmission of the data to the receiving entity (See Back [0174], [0181] – relaying UE configured/preconfigured with resources via CGs for transmission to remote UE), and
wherein if the base station determines that the resources in the configured grants are not sufficient for the transmission of the data from the relaying entity to the receiving entity, the base station provides to the relaying entity a control message indicating additional resources for the transmission to the relaying entity (See Back [0176] - The BS may determine whether to extend/reduce the default relay resource pool through a multiplexing value, for example, resources allocated to all remote UE(s) reported by the relay UE or the amount/period of necessary resources received from the remote UE. When it is determined that the default relay resource pool needs to be expanded/reduced, the BS may allocate additional resources to the relay UE by reflecting the result of determination or may transmit a control signal such as a signal for excluding a specific part from previously allocated resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, wherein the relaying entity and the transmitting entity operate in Mode 1 so that the base station indicates the resources to be used by the transmitting entity and the relaying entity,
wherein the relaying entity is configured or preconfigured with resources via configured grants for the transmission of the data to the receiving entity, and
wherein if the base station determines that the resources in the configured grants are not sufficient for the transmission of the data from the relaying entity to the receiving entity, the base station provides to the relaying entity a control message indicating additional resources for the transmission to the relaying entity, as taught in Back. One is motivated as such in order to help prevent QoS degradation while determining to utilize relay service (See Back Background; Summary).
RE Claim 53¸ Xu, modified by Back, discloses a wireless communication network, as set forth in claim 42 above, wherein the transmitting entity is the base station of the wireless communication network (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – eNB).
Claims 2, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Hosseini et al. (US# 2021/0112574 hereinafter referred to as Hosseini) and Fang et al. (US# 2014/0254471 hereinafter referred to as Fang).
RE Claim 2, Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above.
Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose if the UE receives no feedback from the receiving entity, the UE transmits the second feedback to indicate a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity.
However, Fang teaches of if the UE receives no feedback from the receiving entity, the UE transmits the second feedback to indicate a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity (See Fang [0130] – relay node sends NACK if it doesn’t receive response from next hop (loses backhaul link)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein if the UE receives no feedback from the receiving entity, the UE transmits the second feedback to indicate a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, as taught in Fang. One is motivated as such in order to improve wireless coverage and connectivity in the wireless network (See Fang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 5, Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 4 above. Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more predefined events comprise one or more of:
a configured or pre-configured timer, during which the UE carries out the retransmissions, elapses, or
a configured or pre-configured maximum number of relay retransmissions which the UE carries out is reached.
However, Fang teaches of wherein the one or more predefined events comprise one or more of:
a configured or pre-configured timer, during which the UE carries out the retransmissions, elapses, or
a configured or pre-configured maximum number of relay retransmissions which the UE carries out is reached (See Fang [0130] – performing retransmissions up to a maximum number of retransmissions before sending back NACK (after a couple of retransmissions)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein the one or more predefined events comprise one or more of:
a configured or pre-configured timer, during which the UE carries out the retransmissions, elapses, or
a configured or pre-configured maximum number of relay retransmissions which the UE carries out is reached, as taught in Fang. One is motivated as such in order to improve wireless coverage and connectivity in the wireless network (See Fang Background; Summary).
RE Claim 6, Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 4 above. Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose wherein, responsive to the one or more predefined events, the UE is to transmit to the transmitting entity the second feedback indicating a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, within a configured or pre-configured time window following the receipt of the feedback.
However, Fang teaches of wherein, responsive to the one or more predefined events, the UE is to transmit to the transmitting entity the second feedback indicating a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, within a configured or pre-configured time window following the receipt of the feedback (See Fang [0130] – if no ACK/NACK is received, relay node retransmitting packet up to a couple times and then sending NACK back to the transmitting entity at configured time window (e.g. at earliest possible opportunity)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein, responsive to the one or more predefined events, the UE is to transmit to the transmitting entity the second feedback indicating a non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, within a configured or pre-configured time window following the receipt of the feedback, as taught in Fang. One is motivated as such in order to improve wireless coverage and connectivity in the wireless network (See Fang Background; Summary).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Hosseini et al. (US# 2021/0112574 hereinafter referred to as Hosseini) and Damnjanovic et al. (US# 2012/0134305 hereinafter referred to as Damnjanovic).
RE Claim 9, Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above. Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose wherein the feedback received from the receiving entity comprises, in addition to indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, additional information, including one or more of:
a link quality between the UE and the receiving entity,
a distance measure or a zone ID, indicating the distance between the UE and the receiving entity,
additional data assisting the transmitting entity to ensure that the receiving entity successfully receives the transmissions,
an indication that the receiving entity intends to transmit data to the transmitting entity,
a signal from the receiving entity indicating to stop a HARQ/transmission process,
a beam index, of a best beam or top-m beams received at the receiving UE and transmitted from the UE.
However, Damnjanovic teaches of wherein the feedback received from the receiving entity comprises, in addition to indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, additional information, including one or more of:
a link quality between the UE and the receiving entity,
a distance measure or a zone ID, indicating the distance between the UE and the receiving entity,
additional data assisting the transmitting entity to ensure that the receiving entity successfully receives the transmissions,
an indication that the receiving entity intends to transmit data to the transmitting entity (See Damnjanovic [0006], [0041] – sending both HARQ-ACK and SR together),
a signal from the receiving entity indicating to stop a HARQ/transmission process,
a beam index, of a best beam or top-m beams received at the receiving UE and transmitted from the UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein the feedback received from the receiving entity comprises, in addition to indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of the transmission at the receiving entity, additional information, including one or more of:
a link quality between the UE and the receiving entity,
a distance measure or a zone ID, indicating the distance between the UE and the receiving entity,
additional data assisting the transmitting entity to ensure that the receiving entity successfully receives the transmissions,
an indication that the receiving entity intends to transmit data to the transmitting entity,
a signal from the receiving entity indicating to stop a HARQ/transmission process,
a beam index, of a best beam or top-m beams received at the receiving UE and transmitted from the UE, as taught in Damnjanovic. One is motivated as such in order to improve the efficiency of control channel signaling (See Damnjanovic Abstract, Background; Summary).
RE Claim 10, Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 1 above. Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose wherein feedback received from the receiving entity is an aggregated feedback indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of two or more transmissions at the receiving entity.
However, Damnjanovic teaches of wherein feedback received from the receiving entity is an aggregated feedback indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of two or more transmissions at the receiving entity (See Damnjanovic [0035], [0037], [0072] – ACK/NACK bundling for multiple transmissions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein feedback received from the receiving entity is an aggregated feedback indicating a successful and/or non-successful receipt of two or more transmissions at the receiving entity, as taught in Damnjanovic. One is motivated as such in order to improve the efficiency of control channel signaling (See Damnjanovic Abstract, Background; Summary).
RE Claim 11, Xu, modified by Hosseini and Damnjanovic, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 10 above, wherein the aggregated feedback may comprise one or more of:
an indication that within a predefined time window, some or all transmissions are received successfully or non-successfully,
an indication that a predefined number of transmissions are received successfully or non-successfully,
which of the transmissions are received successfully and/or which of the transmissions are received non-successfully or failed (See Damnjanovic [0011], [0035], [0037], [0072] – ACK/NACK bundling for multiple transmissions indicating which transmissions are ACK or NACK),
which of the successfully received transmissions are received with an exceeded delay budget,
an indication of a deteriorating link quality between the UE and the receiving entity,
an update indicating a new maximum possible QoS over the relay link between the UE and the remote UE.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Hosseini et al. (US# 2021/0112574 hereinafter referred to as Hosseini) and Hampel et al. (US# 2020/0092784 hereinafter referred to as Hampel).
RE Claim 20¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 13 above. Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose wherein if feedback received from the receiving entity indicates an unsuccessful transmission, the feedback also comprises information about the particular connection that resulted in the unsuccessful transmission.
However, Hampel teaches of wherein if feedback received from the receiving entity indicates an unsuccessful transmission, the feedback also comprises information about the particular connection that resulted in the unsuccessful transmission (See Hampel [0140]-[0143] – indicating which connection resulted in the unsuccessful transmission in feedback).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein if feedback received from the receiving entity indicates an unsuccessful transmission, the feedback also comprises information about the particular connection that resulted in the unsuccessful transmission, as taught in Hampel. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication and reduce delays (See Hampel Background; Summary).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu), Hosseini et al. (US# 2021/0112574 hereinafter referred to as Hosseini) in view of Hampel et al. (US# 2020/0092784 hereinafter referred to as Hampel) and Magoshi et al. (US# 2014/0208152 hereinafter referred to as Magoshi).
RE Claim 21¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini and Hampel, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 20 above, wherein the indication for the faulty connection to the transmitter entity comprises a single bit indicator and/or a two bit indicator to indicate whether the unsuccessful transmission occurred on the connection, between the connection between the UE and the receiving entity (See Hampel [0140]-[0143] – bit/field indicating location of the unsuccessful transmission in feedback).
Xu, modified by Hosseini and Hampel, does not specifically disclose indicating unsuccessful transmission between the transmitter entity and the UE.
However, Magoshi teaches of indicating unsuccessful transmission between the transmitter entity and the UE (See Magoshi FIGs 7-9; [0100]-[0104] – feedback message including indication of location of failure which can include reception at the first relay device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini and Hampel, comprising indicating unsuccessful transmission between the transmitter entity and the UE, as taught in Magoshi. One is motivated as such in order to reduce the effects of failure on service and improve failure recovery time (See Magoshi Background; Summary).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu), Hosseini et al. (US# 2021/0112574 hereinafter referred to as Hosseini) in view of NPL “Resource scheme of FeD2D Relay” (hereinafter referred to as ZTE).
RE Claim 14¸ Xu, modified by Hosseini, discloses a user device, UE, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein, if the transmitting entity is another UE or a relaying entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] – transmitting/receiving entity can be UE, relay UE, or network entity).
Xu, modified by Hosseini, does not specifically disclose wherein, if the transmitting entity is another UE or a relaying entity, the resources for transmitting the feedback received from the receiving entity is mapped:
implicitly by a relationship between the mapping on the PSFCH resources for a feedback transmission from the receiving entity to the UE and a feedback transmission from the UE to the transmitting entity, or
explicitly by the transmitting entity indicating to the UE which resources on the PSFCH are to be used for the reporting of feedback associated with the receiving entity.
However, ZTE teaches of wherein, if the transmitting entity is another UE or a relaying entity, the resources for transmitting the feedback received from the receiving entity is mapped:
implicitly by a relationship between the mapping on the PSFCH resources for a feedback transmission from the receiving entity to the UE and a feedback transmission from the UE to the transmitting entity, or
explicitly by the transmitting entity indicating to the UE which resources on the PSFCH are to be used for the reporting of feedback associated with the receiving entity (See ZTE Section 2.4 – remote UE selecting resources; resources used by the remote UE are received by the Relay UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Hosseini, wherein, if the transmitting entity is another UE or a relaying entity, the resources for transmitting the feedback received from the receiving entity is mapped:
implicitly by a relationship between the mapping on the PSFCH resources for a feedback transmission from the receiving entity to the UE and a feedback transmission from the UE to the transmitting entity, or
explicitly by the transmitting entity indicating to the UE which resources on the PSFCH are to be used for the reporting of feedback associated with the receiving entity, as taught in ZTE. One is motivated as such in order to reduce the incidence of resource selection and benefit the Relay UE detection (See ZTE Section 2.4).
Claims 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Back et al. (US# 2023/0199875 hereinafter referred to as Back) and Panteleev et al. (US# 2018/0206176 hereinafter referred to as Panteleev).
RE Claim 54¸ Xu, modified by Back, discloses a wireless communication network, as set forth in claim 53 above, wherein
the base station is to transmit a first control message and the data to the relaying entity,
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the base station (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108]; FIG 7 – base station sending control information and data to relay UE; relay UE sending HARQ-ACK feedback to base station).
Xu, modified by Back, does not specifically disclose
the relaying entity is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for relaying the transmission to the receiving entity,
the base station is to send a second control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission to the receiving entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the second control message,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the base station.
However, Panteleev teaches of wherein
the base station is to transmit a first control message and the data to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the base station (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE (i.e. via PUCCH)),
the relaying entity is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for relaying the transmission to the receiving entity (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – send SR to base station requesting resources for relay UE),
the base station is to send a second control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission to the receiving entity (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the second control message (See Panteleev [0111], [0123] – sending SCI and data using allocated resources),
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity), and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the base station (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back, wherein the relaying entity is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for relaying the transmission to the receiving entity,
the base station is to send a second control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission to the receiving entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the second control message,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the base station, as taught in Panteleev. One is motivated as such in order to help improve performance and data rates (See Panteleev Background; [0155]).
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Back et al. (US# 2023/0199875 hereinafter referred to as Back) and Panteleev et al. (US# 2018/0206176 hereinafter referred to as Panteleev), and He (US# 2021/0400713).
RE Claim 44¸ Xu, modified by Back, discloses a wireless communication network, as set forth in claim 42 above.
Xu, modified by Back, does not specifically disclose wherein
the transmitting entity is to send a Buffer Status Report, BSR, to the base station requesting resources for a transmission of data to the relaying entity,
the base station is to send a first control message to the transmitting entity including resources for the transmission to the relaying entity,
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using resources indicated in the first control message,
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity,
the relaying entity, if it received the data successfully, is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for relaying the transmission received from the transmitting entity,
the base station is to send a second control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission to the receiving entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the second control message,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity; or
the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station.
However, Panteleev teaches wherein
the transmitting entity is to send a Buffer Status Report, BSR, to the base station requesting resources for a transmission of data to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – sending BSR to request resources),
the base station is to send a first control message to the transmitting entity including resources for the transmission to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using resources indicated in the first control message (See Panteleev [0111], [0123] – sending SCI and data using allocated resources),
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity),
the relaying entity, if it received the data successfully, is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for relaying the transmission received from the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – send SR to base station requesting resources for relay UE),
the base station is to send a second control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission to the receiving entity (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the second control message (See Panteleev [0111], [0123] – sending SCI and data using allocated resources),
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity), and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back, wherein
the transmitting entity is to send a Buffer Status Report, BSR, to the base station requesting resources for a transmission of data to the relaying entity,
the base station is to send a first control message to the transmitting entity including resources for the transmission to the relaying entity,
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using resources indicated in the first control message,
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity,
the relaying entity, if it received the data successfully, is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for relaying the transmission received from the transmitting entity,
the base station is to send a second control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission to the receiving entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the second control message,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity, as taught in Panteleev. One is motivated as such in order to help improve performance and data rates (See Panteleev Background; [0155]).
Xu, modified by Back and Panteleev, does not specifically disclose
the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station.
However, He teaches of the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station (See He [0100] – reporting HARQ feedback back to eNB (from relay to eNB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back and Panteleev, wherein the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station, as taught in He. One is motivated as such in order to prevent the base station from retransmitting resource grants (See He [0100]).
RE Claim 45¸ Xu, modified by Back, discloses a wireless communication network, as set forth in claim 42 above. Xu, modified by Back, does not specifically disclose wherein the transmitting entity is to send a Buffer Status Report, BSR, to the base station requesting for resources for a transmission of data to the relaying entity, and to indicate to the base station that the transmission is to be relayed to the receiving entity,
the base station is to send a first control message to the transmitting entity including resources for the transmission to the relaying entity,
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using resources indicated in the first control message,
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources with which the relaying entity is configured or preconfigured,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity; or
the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station.
However, Panteleev teaches wherein
the transmitting entity is to send a Buffer Status Report, BSR, to the base station requesting for resources for a transmission of data to the relaying entity, and to indicate to the base station that the transmission is to be relayed to the receiving entity (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – sending BSR to request resources including uplink resources via sidelink interface),
the base station is to send a first control message to the transmitting entity including resources for the transmission to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using resources indicated in the first control message (See Panteleev [0111], [0123] – sending SCI and data using allocated resources),
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity),
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources with which the relaying entity is configured or preconfigured (See Panteleev [0111], [0123] – sending SCI and data using allocated resources),
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity), and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back, wherein
the transmitting entity is to send a Buffer Status Report, BSR, to the base station requesting for resources for a transmission of data to the relaying entity, and to indicate to the base station that the transmission is to be relayed to the receiving entity,
the base station is to send a first control message to the transmitting entity including resources for the transmission to the relaying entity,
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using resources indicated in the first control message,
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources with which the relaying entity is configured or preconfigured,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity, as taught in Panteleev. One is motivated as such in order to help improve performance and data rates (See Panteleev Background; [0155]).
Xu, modified by Back and Panteleev, does not specifically disclose
the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station.
However, He teaches of the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station (See He [0100] – reporting HARQ feedback back to eNB (from relay to eNB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back and Panteleev, wherein the transmitting entity is to report the HARQ feedback from the relaying entity to the base station, as taught in He. One is motivated as such in order to prevent the base station from retransmitting resource grants (See He [0100]).
Claims 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Back et al. (US# 2023/0199875 hereinafter referred to as Back) and Panteleev et al. (US# 2018/0206176 hereinafter referred to as Panteleev).
RE Claim 59, Xu, modified by Back, discloses a wireless communication network, as set forth in claim 42 above, wherein
the transmitting entity is to identify and select resources determined by sensing for a transmission of data to the relaying entity (See Back [0111]-[0113] – UE devices set to Mode 2 identify and select resources themselves),
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using the identified and selected resources (See Back [0111]-[0113] – Mode 2 UE),
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity (See Xu [0041], [0100], [0108] - receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity).
Xu, modified by Back, does not specifically disclose
the relay node is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for the transmission of the data from the relaying entity to the base station,
the base station is to send a control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission,
the relaying entity is to send the data to the base station using resources indicated in the control message,
the base station is to send a feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity.
However, Panteleev teaches wherein
the relay node is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for the transmission of the data from the relaying entity to the base station (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – send SR to base station requesting resources for relay UE (i.e. mode 1)),
the base station is to send a control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the relaying entity is to send the data to the base station using resources indicated in the control message (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – relay UE transmitting data to base station using indicated resources),
the base station is to send a feedback to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity), and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back, wherein
the relay node is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for the transmission of the data from the relaying entity to the base station,
the base station is to send a control message to the relaying entity including resources for the transmission,
the relaying entity is to send the data to the base station using resources indicated in the control message,
the base station is to send a feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity, as taught in Panteleev. One is motivated as such in order to help improve performance and data rates (See Panteleev Background; [0155]).
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US# 2020/0235876 hereinafter referred to as Xu) in view of Back et al. (US# 2023/0199875 hereinafter referred to as Back), Panteleev et al. (US# 2018/0206176 hereinafter referred to as Panteleev) and He (US# 2021/0400713).
RE Claim 52, Xu, modified by Back, discloses a wireless communication network, as set forth in claim 42 above, wherein
the relaying entity is to send to the transmitting entity a message, including the resources to be used by the transmitting entity (See Back [0111]-[0113] – sending control information and data for resource determination by UE),
the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the relaying entity using the resources received by the message or by a combination of the message and sensing results (See Back [0111]-[0113] – sending SCI and data using determined resources).
Xu, modififed by Back, does not specifically disclose wherein
the transmitting entity is to request the relaying entity for resources to be assigned by the base station,
the relaying entity is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for the transmitting entity for a transmission of data to the relaying entity and for the relaying entity for relaying the transmission received from the transmitting entity to the receiving entity,
the base station is to send one or more first control messages to the relaying entity including the resources for the transmission by the transmitting entity and the resources for the transmission which the relaying entity is to use to relay the transmission to the receiving entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the first control message,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity; or
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity.
However, Panteleev teaches of wherein
the transmitting entity is to request the relaying entity for resources to be assigned by the base station (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – UE sending request for resources (via relay)),
the relaying entity is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for the transmitting entity for a transmission of data to the relaying entity and for the relaying entity for relaying the transmission received from the transmitting entity to the receiving entity (See Panteleev [0239], [0265] – send SR to base station requesting resources (i.e. mode 1)),
the base station is to send one or more first control messages to the relaying entity including the resources for the transmission by the transmitting entity and the resources for the transmission which the relaying entity is to use to relay the transmission to the receiving entity (See Panteleev [0115], [0124], [0127], [0203] – eNB sending DCI to allocate and schedule resources),
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the first control message (See Panteleev [0111], [0123] – sending SCI and data using allocated resources),
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity), and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity (See Panteleev [0154]-[0157], [0160]-[0165] – receiving entity sending HARQ-NACK back to transmitting entity via relay UE which forwards to transmitting entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back, wherein
the transmitting entity is to request the relaying entity for resources to be assigned by the base station,
the relaying entity is to send a scheduling request, SR, to the base station requesting for resources for the transmitting entity for a transmission of data to the relaying entity and for the relaying entity for relaying the transmission received from the transmitting entity to the receiving entity,
the base station is to send one or more first control messages to the relaying entity including the resources for the transmission by the transmitting entity and the resources for the transmission which the relaying entity is to use to relay the transmission to the receiving entity,
the relaying entity is to send a sidelink control message and the data to the receiving entity using resources indicated in the first control message,
the receiving entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the relaying entity, and
the relaying entity is to report the HARQ feedback of the receiving entity to the transmitting entity, as taught in Panteleev. One is motivated as such in order to help improve performance and data rates (See Panteleev Background; [0155]).
Xu, modified by Back and Panteleev, does not specifically disclose
the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity.
However, He teaches of the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity (See He [0100] – reporting HARQ feedback back to eNB (from relay to eNB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the wireless communication system, as disclosed in Xu, modified by Back and Panteleev, the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity, as taught in He. One is motivated as such in order to prevent the base station from retransmitting resource grants (See He [0100]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection (See Claims above, Hosseini and Back references).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477