DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 9/2/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 16, and 19 are amended. Claims 2, 6 and 18 were canceled previously and claim 20 is newly canceled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-17, 19 and 21-23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14-15, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUSUF et al. (hereinafter YUSUF), US 2021/0365521 A1, in view of Zinenko et al. (hereinafter Zinenko), US 8,713,042 B1.
YUSUF was disclosed in an IDS dated 12/16/2022.
Regarding independent claim 1, YUSUF teaches a method comprising (ABSTRACT methods are described that relate to providing (a method comprising), in a browser environment, a sidebar search capability to users): in response to selection of a search area included in a webpage displayed within a display area of a browser ([0039-0040] FIG. 2B displays a response to the user highlighting to select the word “NASA” 220 (wherein the highlighted area 220 encompassing “NASA” is construed as in response to selection of a search area) in a webpage content page 202 area displayed within a browser interface 200 (included in a webpage displayed within a display area of a browser)): requesting a search for content of the search area ([0039-0040] a sidebar search request (requesting a search) is sent to be fulfilled by a search service for information on “NASA” (for content) selected by a user highlighted word 220 (of the search area) within the webpage content page 202 area shown in FIG. 2B), in response to requesting the search, receiving a searched query for the search area ([0039-0041] Upon user selection of the sidebar search option (in response to requesting the search) browser 200 performs a search on the passed parameter 220, e.g. “NASA” (receiving a searched query for the search area)), a search result page for the searched query ([0041] renders the results 234 (a search result page for) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” (the searched query) in the pane 232 as shown in FIG. 2D), and a related search request ([0048] a sidebar search on “NASA” result in selectable search option (the selectable subsequent search request options of either IMAGES or VIDEOS associated with the sidebar search on “NASA” construed as a related search request) being displayed as shown in FIG. 3A), wherein the related search request includes a potential query different from the searched query ([0041], [0048] the sidebar search on “NASA” query initially results in render results 234 shown in FIG. 2D (the searched query) wherein selectable search options IMAGES or VIDEOS (wherein the related search request) results in narrow or selected subsets of search results shown in FIG. 3A or 3B, respectively, which are different (includes a potential query different from) from the original results 234 shown in FIG. 2D), and causing display of a first search request indicator and a second search request indicator ([0048] a sidebar search on “NASA” may result in selectable verticals such as displayed search options ALL (and causing display of a first search request indicator) and displayed search options IMAGES or VIDEOS (and a second search request indicator)) within a search result area outside of the display area and within the browser ([0041], [0048] search option verticals are displayed within sidebar search pane 232 (within a search result area) wherein sidebar search pane 232 is rendered alongside the primary browser pane 202 displayed within browser 200 (outside the display area and within the browser) as shown in FIG. 2D), wherein the first search request indicator represents the searched query, and wherein the second search request indicator represents the related search request ([0041], [0048] wherein displayed search option ALL (wherein the first search request indicator) represents all content results of sidebar search on “NASA” (represents the search query) and the displayed IMAGES or VIDEOS search options represents narrow or selected subsets of search results (the related search request) shown in FIG. 3A or 3B); receiving a selection of the first search request indicator ([0048] user may select (receiving a selection) a selectable search option vertical, e.g. ALL (of the first search request indicator)); and in response to the selection of the first search request indicator, causing display of content for the first search request indicator within a navigation area of the search result area ([0048] in the case when a user selects vertical search option ALL (and in response to the selection of the first search request indicator), the contents area (a navigation area) of the sidebar search pane 232 (of the search result area) is replaced with display of search results (causing display of content) for the selected vertical ALL search option (for the first request indicator within)).
YUSUF does not expressly teach and wherein the related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request.
However, Zinenko teaches wherein a related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request (1:29-30 determining which autocomplete suggestions to provide in response to a query, 2:13-16, 10:32-38 method may further include omitting any of the autocomplete suggestions from the potential autocomplete suggestions that have a display length that is greater than a maximum display length, wherein the potential autocomplete suggestions may be displayed in a user interface; thus a specific autocomplete suggestion provided in response to a query (wherein a related search request) that is selected for display on a user interface from a set of candidate autocomplete suggestions (is selected from a set of candidate related requests) is based on a display length of the specific autocomplete suggestion that does not exceed a certain length (based on a length of the related search request)).
Because YUSUF and Zinenko address the issue of generating and displaying alternatives or related search queries within a graphical user interface, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings wherein a related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request as suggested by Zinenko into YUSUF’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that as part of determining the related search request the method further includes incorporating the length-based selection and omission filter taught by Zinenko into the candidate query generation method of YUSUF to teach and wherein the related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to manage suggestions that are displayed in a user interface to ensure they do not exceed a certain display length (Zinenko 2:13-16, 10:32-38) this ensures that displayed selected related search request fit neatly within the fixed horizontal visual boundaries of YUSUF's sidebar search pane without layout breakage.
Regarding dependent claim 3, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, wherein the content for the first search request indicator is content from the search result page (see YUSUF [0041], [0048] the selectable ALL vertical search option shows the content (wherein the content for the first search request indicator) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” in the pane 232 as shown in FIG. 2D as results 234 (is content from the search result page)).
Regarding dependent claim 4, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 3, wherein causing display of the content for the first search request indicator includes maximizing the search result area to display the navigation area of the search result area (see YUSUF [0041], [0048], [0051] selecting vertical search option ALL (the first search request indicator) replaces the content of the sidebar search pane 232 with results content 234 (wherein causing display of the content for) as shown in FIG. 2D including control 240 that provides the ability to navigate to a new tab 504 to render the results of the sidebar search in full web page 502 (includes maximizing the search result area to display the navigation area) wherein control 240 was initiated from within sidebar search pane 232 (of the search result area)).
Regarding dependent claim 5, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 4, wherein the search result area, when maximized, occupies more area than the display area (see YUSUF [0051] in FIG. 5 the full web page 502 displayed (when maximized) instead of side search pane 232 of FIG. 2D (wherein the search result area) occupies more area than the tab 216 area (occupies more area than the display area) representing the original web page remaining open for user to navigate back to original web page).
Regarding dependent claim 7, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, wherein the content for the first search request indicator is first content (see YUSUF [0048-0049] the selectable ALL vertical search option shows the results 234 (and the content for the first search request indicator) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” in the pane 232 as shown in FIG. 2D (is content from the search result page)) and the method further comprises: receiving a selection of the second search request indicator (see YUSUF [0048] user can select on search option IMAGES (the method further comprises receiving a selection of the second search request indicator) associated with the “NASA” sidebar search); and in response to receiving the selection of the second search request indicator: requesting a search for the related search request (see YUSUF [0048] in response to selecting on the displayed search option IMAGES (and in response to receiving the selection of the second search request indicator) the user is able to search IMAGES vertical (requesting a search) for the search options related to the “NASA” sidebar search (for the related search request)), receiving a second search result page for the related search request, and causing display of second content in the navigation area (see YUSUF [0048] user initiated search of IMAGES vertical for the search options related to the “NASA” sidebar search (for the related search request) provides results of IMAGES (receiving a second search result page) as shown in FIG. 3A to be displayed as related images 304 to be displayed as contents (and causing display of second content) of the sidebar search pane 232 area (in the navigation area)), the second content being content from the second search result page and the second content replacing the first content in the navigation area (see YUSUF [0048-0049] the provided results of IMAGES resulting from the provided results of IMAGES search option (the second content being content from the second search result page) wherein the provided IMAGES vertical results in FIG. 3A updating the search results 234 previously displayed corresponding to the ALL vertical search option (replacing the first content) in content area of pane 232 (in the navigation area) shown in FIG. 2D).
Regarding dependent claim 10, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, the search result area further comprising a query text area (see YUSUF [0049] the sidebar search pane 232 (the search result area) may further include a search box 244 (further comprising a query text area) as shown in FIG. 2D), the query text area displaying text related to the content displayed in the navigation area (see YUSUF [0041], [0049] in FIG. 2D the search box 244 displays “NASA” related (the query text area displaying text related) to the sidebar search content results 234 (to the content display in the navigation area)).
Regarding dependent claim 11, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a selection of a link in the content displayed in the navigation area; and creating a new browser tab from the content (see YUSUF [0041], [0048] when navigating within the sidebar search pane 232 displaying results 234 (in the content displayed in the navigation area) as in FIG. 2D, selecting a hyperlink (further comprising receiving a selection of a link) from within the sidebar search pane 232 will open a new tab in the tabbed browser 200 (and creating a new browser tab from the content)).
Regarding dependent claim 12, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, wherein the search result area includes a search request area disposed between a query text area and the navigation area, wherein the first search request indicator and the second search request indicator are disposed in the search request area (see YUSUF [0041], [0048-0049] FIG. 2D the sidebar search pane 232 (wherein the search result area) includes display of selectable verticals (includes a search request area) that is located between a search box 244 (between a query text area) and the results 234 area that can be navigated/scrolled through by the user (and the navigation area), wherein the ALL selectable vertical search option (wherein the first search request indicator) and the IMAGES selectable vertical search option (and the second search request indicator) are located in the display of selectable verticals (are disposed in the search request area)).
Regarding dependent claim 14, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, wherein the searched query is a query generated using the content of the search area (see YUSUF [0040-0041] the past parameter 220 (wherein the search query) is a search generated by using “NASA” word within the webpage page 202 area (is a query generated using the content of the search area) highlighted by a user) and provided to a search engine to generate the search result page (see YUSUF [0040-0041] the selected word “NASA” 220 is provided to a search service to fulfill (and provided to a search engine) the sidebar search request and generate results 234 (to generate the search result page) as shown in FIG. 2D).
Regarding dependent claim 15, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, wherein the related search request is a query generated using the content of the search area that differs from the searched query (see YUSUF [0049-0050] a user refining sidebar search with “Houston” as a subsequent sidebar search (wherein the related search request) can be alternatively generated using mouse pointer 406, highlighting term 402 (using the content) within the highlighted area (of the search area), the browser uses this selection as an indication to conduct a new sidebar search (is a query generated) different from the initial “NASA” sidebar search (that differs from the searched query)).
Regarding dependent claim 21, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to the selection of the first search request indicator: causing display of the navigation area (see YUSUF [0048] in the case when a user selects vertical search option ALL (further comprising, in response to the selection of the first search request indicator), the contents area of the sidebar search pane 232 (of the navigation area) is replaced with display of search results (causing display) for the selected vertical ALL search option).
Regarding independent claim 19, YUSUF teaches a method, comprising (ABSTRACT methods are described that relate to providing (a method comprising), in a browser environment, a sidebar search capability to users): receiving, from a browser executing on a client device, a request to search content for a selected search area of a webpage displayed by the browser ([0090] browser application 1320 executing methods disclosed herein on computing device 1300 (from a browser executing on a client device), [0039-0041] user selection of sidebar search option to search “NASA” word (receiving a request to search content) displayed within the webpage content page 202 area, e.g. displayed by the browser application 1320 (for a selected search area of a webpage displayed by the browser)), the request including the content for the selected search area ([0039-0041] search performed upon user selection of “NASA” word (the request including the content) selected within the displayed content page 202 (for the selected search area)); determining a query for the selected search area ([0039-0040] user selecting by highlighting the word “NASA” for a search service (determining a query for) within the content page 202 (the selected search area)); determining a related search request ([0039-0040], [0048] search option verticals (a related search request) such as ALL depends on (determining) the topic to be searched such as “NASA” from the web page); obtaining a search result page for the query ([0041] renders the results 234 (obtaining a search result page for) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” (for the query) in the pane 232 as shown in FIG. 2D); and providing the query, the related search request, and the search result page as a response to the request ([0041], [0048-0049] the sidebar search on “NASA” may result in (as a response to the request) a search box 244 showing “NASA” as the search conducted (and providing the query) in FIG. 2D, along with selectable vertical search option ALL (the related search request), and the contents area of the sidebar search pane 232 is replaced with display of search results 234 (and the search result page)).
YUSUF does not expressly teach wherein determining the related search request comprises selecting the related search request from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request.
However, Zinenko teaches wherein determining a related search request comprises selecting the related search request from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request (1:29-30 determining which autocomplete suggestions to provide in response to a query, 2:13-16, 10:32-38 method may further include omitting any of the autocomplete suggestions from the potential autocomplete suggestions that have a display length that is greater than a maximum display length, wherein the potential autocomplete suggestions may be displayed in a user interface; thus a specific autocomplete suggestion provided in response to a query (wherein determining a related search request) that is selected for display on a user interface from a set of candidate autocomplete suggestions (comprises selecting the related search request from a set of candidate related requests) is based on a display length of the specific autocomplete suggestion that does not exceed a certain length (based on a length of the related search request)).
Because YUSUF and Zinenko address the issue of determining related search requests, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings wherein a related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request as suggested by Zinenko into YUSUF’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that as part of determining the related search request the method further includes incorporating the length-based selection and omission filter taught by Zinenko into the candidate query generation method to teach wherein determining the related search request comprises selecting the related search request from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to manage suggestions that are displayed in a user interface to ensure they do not exceed a certain display length (Zinenko 2:13-16, 10:32-38) this ensures that displayed selected related search request fit neatly within the fixed horizontal visual boundaries of YUSUF's sidebar search pane without layout breakage.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUSUF in view of Badr et al. (hereinafter Badr), US 2017/0371877 A1, and further in view of Zinenko.
Regarding independent claim 16, YUSUF teaches a computing device ([0090] FIG. 13 a computing device 1300), comprising: at least one processor ([0090] one processing unit 1302); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform operations including ([0090-0091] system memory 1304 storing a number of program modules and data files (and memory storing instructions) that are executed on the processing unit 1302 (when executed by the at least one processor) to cause the computing device 1300 to perform processes described herein (cause the computing device to perform operations including)): in response to selection of a search area included in a webpage displayed within a display area of a browser ([0039-0040] FIG. 2B displays a response to the user highlighting to select the word “NASA” 220 (wherein the highlighted area 220 encompassing “NASA” is construed as in response to selection of a search area) in a webpage content page 202 area displayed within a browser interface 200 (included in a webpage displayed within a display area of a browser)): requesting a search for content of the search area ([0039-0040] a sidebar search request (requesting a search) is sent to be fulfilled by a search service for information on “NASA” (for content) selected by a user highlighted word 220 (of the search area) within the webpage content page 202 area shown in FIG. 2B), in response to requesting the search, receiving a searched query for the search area ([0039-0041] Upon user selection of the sidebar search option (in response to requesting the search) browser 200 performs a search on the passed parameter 220, e.g. “NASA” (receiving a searched query for the search area)), a search result page for the searched query ([0041] renders the results 234 (a search result page for) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” (the searched query) in the pane 232 as shown in FIG. 2D), and a related search request ([0048] a sidebar search on “NASA” result in selectable search option (the selectable subsequent search request options of either IMAGES or VIDEOS associated with the sidebar search on “NASA” construed as a related search request) being displayed as shown in FIG. 3A), wherein the related search request includes a potential query different from the searched query ([0041], [0048] the sidebar search on “NASA” query initially results in render results 234 shown in FIG. 2D (the searched query) wherein selectable search options IMAGES or VIDEOS (wherein the related search request) results in narrow or selected subsets of search results shown in FIG. 3A or 3B, respectively, which are different (includes a potential query different from) from the original results 234 shown in FIG. 2D), and causing display of a first search request indicator and a second search request indicator ([0048] a sidebar search on “NASA” may result in selectable verticals such as displayed search options ALL (and causing display of a first search request indicator) and displayed search options IMAGES or VIDEOS (and a second search request indicator)) within a search result area outside of the display area and within the browser ([0041], [0048] search option verticals are displayed within sidebar search pane 232 (within a search result area) wherein sidebar search pane 232 is rendered alongside the primary browser pane 202 displayed within browser 200 (outside the display area and within the browser) as shown in FIG. 2D), wherein the first search request indicator represents the searched query, and wherein the second search request indicator represents the related search request ([0041], [0048] wherein displayed search option ALL (wherein the first search request indicator) represents all content results of sidebar search on “NASA” (represents the search query) and the displayed IMAGES or VIDEOS search options represents narrow or selected subsets of search results (the related search request) shown in FIG. 3A or 3B); receiving a selection of the first search request indicator ([0048] user may select (receiving a selection) a selectable search option vertical, e.g. ALL (of the first search request indicator)); and in response to the selection of the first search request indicator, causing display of content for the first search request indicator within a navigation area of the search result area ([0048] in the case when a user selects vertical search option ALL (and in response to the selection of the first search request indicator), the contents area (a navigation area) of the sidebar search pane 232 (of the search result area) is replaced with display of search results (causing display of content) for the selected vertical ALL search option (for the first request indicator within)).
YUSUF does not expressly teach wherein requesting the search includes providing an address for the webpage.
However, Badr teaches requesting a search includes providing an address for a webpage (FIG. 2 [0031] a client contextual module 210 generates a request to the contextual information server for contextual information for the webpage about “Paul’s Diner” (requesting a search), [0032-0033] the request generated by the client contextual module 210 includes an indication in the request the URL for the displayed resource, e.g. webpage (includes providing an address for a webpage) displayed by web browser application on the client).
Because YUSUF and Badr address the issue of providing further content related to an original content of interest with a webpage, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings wherein requesting a search includes providing an address for a webpage as suggested by Badr into YUSUF’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that in requesting a sidebar search on “NASA” the URL for the displayed webpage content page is included to teach wherein requesting the search includes providing an address for the webpage. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a convenient way for the user to obtain resource recommendations based on a resource displayed on the device (Badr [0008]).
YUSUF and Badr do not expressly teach and wherein the related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request.
However, Zinenko teaches wherein a related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request (1:29-30 determining which autocomplete suggestions to provide in response to a query, 2:13-16, 10:32-38 method may further include omitting any of the autocomplete suggestions from the potential autocomplete suggestions that have a display length that is greater than a maximum display length, wherein the potential autocomplete suggestions may be displayed in a user interface; thus a specific autocomplete suggestion provided in response to a query (wherein a related search request) that is selected for display on a user interface from a set of candidate autocomplete suggestions (is selected from a set of candidate related requests) is based on a display length of the specific autocomplete suggestion that does not exceed a certain length (based on a length of the related search request)).
Because YUSUF, in view of Badr, and Zinenko address the issue of determining related search requests, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings wherein a related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request as suggested by Zinenko into YUSUF and Badr’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that as part of determining the related search request the method further includes incorporating the length-based selection and omission filter taught by Zinenko into the candidate query generation method of YUSUF and Badr to teach and wherein the related search request is selected from a set of candidate related requests based on a length of the related search request. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to manage suggestions that are displayed in a user interface to ensure they do not exceed a certain display length (Zinenko 2:13-16, 10:32-38) this ensures that displayed selected related search request fit neatly within the fixed horizontal visual boundaries of YUSUF's sidebar search pane without layout breakage.
Regarding dependent claim 17, YUSUF, in view of Badr and Zinenko, teach the computing device of claim 16, wherein the content for the first search request indicator is content from the search result page (see YUSUF [0041], [0048] the selectable ALL vertical search option shows the content (wherein the content for the first search request indicator) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” in the pane 232 as shown in FIG. 2D as results 234 (is content from the search result page)).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, as applied in the rejection of claim 7 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu), US 11,119,652 B1.
Regarding dependent claim 8, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach the method of claim 7, wherein the search result area includes the navigation area (See YUSUF [0041] renders the results 234 with scroll bar control 236 allowing user to navigate/scroll through the results (the navigation area) of a performed search on the passed parameter “NASA” displayed within in the pane 232 (wherein the search result area includes) as shown in FIG. 2D).
YUSUF and Zinenko do not expressly teach wherein the search result area includes a handle configured to change a size of the navigation area and the method further comprises: receiving an interaction with the handle that changes the size of the navigation area displayed in the search result area; determining that a coordinate of the handle reaches a minimization threshold; and in response to determining that the coordinate reaches the minimization threshold, causing display of the first content in the navigation area, the first content replacing the second content in the navigation area.
However, Xu teaches wherein a result area includes a handle configured to change a size of a navigation area (19:14-25 FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B show viewing areas that include a separator 51 (wherein a result area includes a handle) that changes the size of a right viewing area 56 of the touchscreen display (configured to change a size of a navigation area)) and a method further comprises: receiving an interaction with the handle that changes the size of the navigation area displayed in the result area (18:54-64, 19:14-25 the method of resizing the viewing areas of a touchscreen display 45 (and a method further comprises) by receiving a drag gesture towards the right by a stylus placed on the separator 51 (receiving an interaction with the handle) causes the right viewing area displaying a plurality of icons to become smaller (that changes the size of the navigation area displayed) within the viewing areas of the touchscreen display (in the result area)); determining that a coordinate of the handle reaches a minimization threshold (21:13-30 detect state of separator 59 (determining that a coordinate of the handle) having been dragged by the stylus to the right and removal of the stylus within a threshold time period of termination (reaches a minimization threshold)); and in response to determining that the coordinate reaches the minimization threshold, causing display of a first content in the navigation area, the first content replacing a second content in the navigation area (18:54-64, 21:13-30 upon detecting state of separator 59 having been dragged by the stylus to the right and the removal of the stylus within a threshold time period of termination (and in response to determining that the coordinate reaches the minimization threshold) causing display of user interface 810 of a foreground application (causing display of a first content) within the entire viewing areas including area of the right viewing area (in the navigation area) that was previously displaying a plurality of icons 52 that is now updated with the user interface 810 (the first content replacing the second content in the navigation area) as shown in FIGS. 11A and 11B).
Because YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, and Xu address the issue of displaying contents within two separate areas within an interactive browser screen, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed application to incorporate the teachings wherein a result area includes a handle configured to change a size of a navigation area and a method further comprises: receiving an interaction with the handle that changes the size of the navigation area displayed in the result area; determining that a coordinate of the handle reaches a minimization threshold; and in response to determining that the coordinate reaches the minimization threshold, causing display of a first content in the navigation area, the first content replacing a second content in the navigation area as suggested by Xu into YUSUF and Zinenko’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that a split screen layout can be provided by the sidebar pane 232 to display a first content associated with results from the first search request indicator and a second content associated with results from the second search request indicator, wherein upon detecting a drag gesture to the right and a liftoff within a threshold time period, the first content display area fills sidebar pane 232 and replaces the second content display area previously displayed to teach wherein the search result area includes a handle configured to change a size of the navigation area and the method further comprises: receiving an interaction with the handle that changes the size of the navigation area displayed in the search result area; determining that a coordinate of the handle reaches a minimization threshold; and in response to determining that the coordinate reaches the minimization threshold, causing display of the first content in the navigation area, the first content replacing the second content in the navigation area. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide screen display layout to be displayed with fewer user interactions and additional functionality provided by the electronic device (Xu 2:6-11).
Regarding dependent claim 9, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko and Xu, teach the method of claim 8, further comprising changing a size of the navigation area in response to an interaction with the navigation area (see Xu 18:54-64, 19:14-25 by receiving a drag gesture displayed in the viewing areas towards the right by a stylus placed on the separator 51 causes (in response to an interaction with the navigation area) the right viewing area displaying a plurality of icons to become smaller (further comprising changing a size of the navigation area)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, and further in view of Yee et al. (hereinafter Yee), US 2015/0161175 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 13, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach all the elements of claim 1.
YUSUF and Zinenko do not expressly teach further comprising, in response to selection of the search area: determining whether the search area is text that is not actionable text; in response to determining that the search area is text that is not actionable text, performing requesting the search; and in response to determining that the search area is not text or that the text is actionable text, displaying a pop-up menu that includes actions for the actionable text.
However, Yee teaches further comprising, in response to selection of a search area: determining whether the search area is text that is not actionable text; in response to determining that the search area is text that is not actionable text, performing requesting a search ([0039] FIG. 2B wherein the user selected (further comprising in response to selection of a search area) the suggested alternative query “soccer ball” (determining whether the search area is text) from the dialog box 2025 (that is not actionable text; in response to determining that the search area is text that is not actionable text) which submitted the alternative query “soccer ball” to the search system (performing requesting a search)); and in response to determining that the search area is not text or that the text is actionable text ([0038] FIG. 2A where a user has interacted with image search result 202 by placing a cursor over the hotspot associated with the image search result 2020 in the user interface wherein the user interaction invokes (and in response to determining that the search area is not text or that the text is actionable text) a dialog box 2025 which includes the suggested alternative image queries (displaying a pop-up menu that includes actions for the actionable text)).
Because YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, and Yee address the issue of user selection of a search area displayed on a web page, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings further comprising, in response to selection of a search area: determining whether the search area is text that is not actionable text; in response to determining that the search area is text that is not actionable text, performing requesting a search; and in response to determining that the search area is not text or that the text is actionable text as suggested by Yee into YUSUF and Zinenko’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that in response to selection of the search area on a webpage determining text in the search area to submit to the search system and in response to determining that a hotspot of an image has been selected in the search area displaying a dialog displaying alterative image queries for the image selected to teach further comprising, in response to selection of the search area: determining whether the search area is text that is not actionable text; in response to determining that the search area is text that is not actionable text, performing requesting the search; and in response to determining that the search area is not text or that the text is actionable text, displaying a pop-up menu that includes actions for the actionable text. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to identify resources that are relevant to a user’s needs and to present information about the resources in a manner that is most useful to the user (Yee [0002]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further in view of Devereux et al. (hereinafter Devereux), US 2022/0092133 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 22, YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, teach all the elements of claim 1.
YUSUF and Zinenko do not expressly teach wherein the navigation area is initially not visible.
However, Devereux teaches a navigation area is initially not visible ([0061], [0066] suggest an additional information area displaying one or more icons and/or descriptive text about the previously open webpages within a last session tab control 410 within an expanded vertical tab strip 404 as shown in FIG. 4 wherein the additional information area displaying one or more icons and/or descriptive text about the previously open webpages (wherein a navigation area) was not initially visible in the collapsed vertical tab strip 304’s last session tab control 310 as shown in FIG. 3 (is initially not visible)).
Because YUSUF, in view of Zinenko, and Devereux address the issue of triggering display of information in a sidebar of a web browser including an area displaying additional information associated with webpages, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings wherein a navigation area is initially not visible as suggested by Devereux into YUSUF and Zinenko’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the sidebar content display area is initially not visible until one of the vertical search options is selected to trigger the additional information to be displayed in the sidebar content display area to teach wherein the navigation area is initially not visible. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to free-up screen space for other uses and thereby provide a more efficient use of GUI screen space (Devereux [0069]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUSUF, in view of Badr and Zinenko, as applied in the rejection of claim 16 above, further in view of Devereux.
Regarding dependent claim 23, YUSUF, in view of Badr and Zinenko, teach all the elements of claim 16.
YUSUF, Badr, and Zinenko do not expressly teach wherein the search result area is initially displayed in a minimized state and in response to the selection of the first search request indicator the operations further include transitioning the search result area from the minimized state to a maximized state.
However, Devereux teaches wherein an area is initially displayed in a minimized state ([0053], [0063] suggest that a vertical tab strip 304 (wherein an area) can be configured to be displayed in a default state in a collapsed state (is initially displayed in a minimized state) within a web browser as a default state as shown in FIG. 3) and in response to a selection of an indicator operations further include transitioning the area from the minimized state to a maximized state ([0062] suggest that upon detecting a user selection interaction with a navigation tab control of the vertical tab strip in the collapsed state transition the display of the display of the vertical strip into the expanded state (operations further include transitioning the area from the minimized state to a maximized state) after the user selection interaction with the navigation tab control (and in response to selection of an indicator)).
Because YUSUF, in view of Badr and Zinenko, and Devereux address the issue of triggering display of information within a sidebar of a web browser based on user interactions, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings wherein an area is initially displayed in a minimized state and in response to a selection of an indicator operations further include transitioning the area from the minimized state to a maximized state as suggested by Devereux into YUSUF, Badr, and Zinenko’s computing device, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the YUSUF, Badr, and Zinenko’s sidebar content display area is initially displayed in a collapsed state displaying just the verticals search options and in response to the selection of the displayed first vertical search option ALL the computing device operations further transitions the collapsed sidebar content display area to an expanded state to teach wherein the search result area is initially displayed in a minimized state and in response to the selection of the first search request indicator the operations further include transitioning the search result area from the minimized state to a maximized state. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to free-up screen space for other uses and thereby provide a more efficient use of GUI screen space (Devereux [0069]).
Response to Arguments
Upon further consideration, rejections from the previous final action mailed on 11/6/2025 are withdrawn and new rejections are set forth as above.
Applicant’s Remarks filed 9/2/2025, on page 9, traversing the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections set forth in the Office Action dated 2/6/2025 are persuasive and consequently said 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections set forth in the Office Action dated 6/3/2025 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s Remarks filed 9/2/2025, on pages 9-10, traversing the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground rejection as detailed in the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KC CHEN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143