DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/26/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 12/16/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed on 08/24/2026, have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments against the rejections in view of the prior art of record have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection based 35 U.S.C. 101. Applicant’s amendments do not recite a practical step of manufacturing or fabricating the appliances, limitations regarding “generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan” are directed to an abstract idea without amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception, since generating could be envisioning the appliances mentally or in a digital setting.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., include the patient's own historic tooth movement responsive to previous dental treatment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). The Examiner notes that historic tooth movement is positively recited in the claims, but historic tooth movement responsive to previous dental treatment is not. The broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied to the phrase “historic tooth movement responsive”, being the history of the teeth movement throughout the treatment plan from the initial position to the final planed position, which is a data required to plan the stages of the treatments and the dental appliances for each stage. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Upon careful considerations the Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assessments regarding the prior art of record (Nikolskiy WO 2023091043 A1, LI; Guotu US 20210186659 A1 and Sherwood US 11607291 B2) allegedly fail to disclose a prediction model that is trained to "include reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth” and the newly added limitations, i.e. “tooth, and include a patient's own historic tooth movement data”.
Nikolskiy discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, where the final position model/algorithmic program may be configured to determine movement of teeth (including translation movement and rotation movement) of a dentition from initial positions to final treatment planning positions. And the final position model may be trained on a training set comprising a plurality of compressed three-dimensional (3D) training representations of dentitions comprising a plurality of teeth, and corresponding tooth movements to respective planned final positions post-treatment. Therefore, said model inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the planned final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives a first 3D representation of a dentition comprising a plurality of teeth of a patient in an initial position and applies the tooth movements to the initial 3D representation to move the orientation and rotation of each tooth (or group of teeth) into a final treatment plan position; therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
LI; Guotu discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position ([0068]) where the engine/algorithmic may implement one or more automated agents configured to receive updated/optimized 3D parameters, the 3D parameters can include 3D tooth shape parameters, 3D location parameters, and 3D tooth orientation parameters (e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition). The updated/optimized 3D parameters can be provided to the 3D engine to create the optimized 3D dental model as described herein ([0069]). Therefore, said engine inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives updated/optimized 3D parameters to create the optimized 3D dental model, i.e. the final position. Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
Sherwood discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position where the system is configured to receive the initial position data, then the system creates a treatment plan movement to achieve the final position (col 5, line 47 to col 6, line 2). The tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment, including translation in all three orthogonal directions, rotation of the tooth centerline (col 5, lines 36-46). Therefore, said system inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said system includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the system includes a data mining software which can interrogate the information captured and/or updated in the database 2 and can generate an output data stream correlating a patient tooth problem with a dental appliance solution (col 5, lines 25-35). Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position/solution.
Rejections based 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1, 3-17 and 19-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In accordance with the “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance,” issued January 7, 2019 the pending claims are analyzed as follows —
Step 1 - In regard to claims 1, 3-17 and 19-31 directed to “A method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan for a patient having a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan and a set of target tooth positions”, or “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to perform operations” comprising steps of: selecting a trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristic … to include a linear regression for each of multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth as well as for multiple translational and rotational directions of one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth … generating a set of predicted tooth positions … comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions … to determine a difference indicator; if the difference indicator is less than a threshold value, outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the treatment plan; if the difference indicator is at or greater than the threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, … . The “methods” are within the 35 U.S.C. 101 statutory category of a “process” (MPEP 2106.03), but falls into the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.04).
Step 2A —In regard to claims 1, 3-17 and 19-31, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a)) without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05). The claimed invention is directed to a mental process — concepts that are capable of being performed in the human mind — including observations, evaluations and judgements. More particularly, the steps of “selecting a trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristic” are capable of being done mentally (a dentist views a patient’s dentition envisioning a 3D image of the structure, which is stored digitally in a computer memory and selects a catalog or manual that has treatment plans/clinical solutions for specific types of orthodontic disorders, which cam be stored in the memory of the computer); the steps of “comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions … to determine a difference indicator; if the difference indicator is less than a threshold value, outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the treatment plan; if the difference indicator is at or greater than the threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan”; may be done mentally (the dentist mentally virtually compares/fits the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions; mentally evaluates/determine a difference indicator … ); and the step of “if the difference indicator is less than a threshold value, outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the treatment plan; if the difference indicator is at or greater than the threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan” may also be done mentally (the dentist determines if the difference indicator is less than a threshold value). It is further noted that dentists have long practiced their trade/art of determining mentally what orthodontic treatments are needed for a patient and how they are to be designed—well before the advent of computers — and are most certainly capable of envisioning and mentally determining the path, directions and rotations of individual tooth and dental arches necessary to accomplish a desired appearance. Additionally, there are no additional elements recited that integrate the exception into a practical application, i.e. manufacturing or fabricating. For instance, manufacturing dental appliances based on the modified treatment plan. The Examiner notes that the limitations regarding “generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan” are directed to an abstract idea without amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception, since generating could be envisioning the appliances mentally or in a digital setting.
Step 2B — In regard to claims 1, 3-17 and 19-31, the claimed steps are all algorithms capable of being performed mentally and represent nothing more than concepts related to performing mathematical calculations which fall within the judicial exception. Implicit in the claimed invention is the intended use of a computing or data processing device, however, there is no disclosure in the written description that the processing unit is anything more than a generic component, nor is there any disclosure that the method improves the manner in which the processing unit operates. The mere recitation in the claims of a generic conventional processing unit (e.g. “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”) that is used in a conventional manner to perform conventional computer functions that are well understood and routine does not amount to "significantly more" than the judicial exception. The claims do not go beyond “determining” and “calculating” numerical values based on mathematical algorithms with a standard generic computer.
The analysis of data in a particular field and the stating those functions in general terms, without limiting them to technical means for performing the functions is an abstract idea and does not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101. The claims do not require that the method be implemented by a particular machine and they do not require that the method particularly transform a particular article. The claims set forth a process of analyzing information of a specific content and are not directed to any particularly asserted inventive technology for performing those functions. Nothing in the claims or specification requires anything more than a conventional prior art computer for analyzing numbers according to a mathematical algorithm. The claimed system and method fall with the judicial exception to patent eligible subject matter of an abstract idea without significantly more. See Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016) for further guidance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12-14, 17-18 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nikolskiy (WO 2023091043 A1).
The broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied to the phrase “historic tooth movement responsive”, being the history of the teeth movement throughout the treatment plan from the initial position to the final planed position, which is a data required to plan the stages of the treatments and the dental appliances for each stage.
Regarding claim 1, Nikolskiy discloses a method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan for a patient having a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan and a set of target tooth positions (Abstract), the method comprising: selecting a trained prediction model ([0023]), wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch, to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, and reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth ([0023]), and include a patient’s own historic tooth movement data ([0023]). The Examiner notes that Nikolskiy discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, where the final position model/algorithmic program may be configured to determine movement of teeth (including translation movement and rotation movement) of a dentition from initial positions to final treatment planning positions. And the final position model may be trained on a training set comprising a plurality of compressed three-dimensional (3D) training representations of dentitions comprising a plurality of teeth, and corresponding tooth movements to respective planned final positions post-treatment. Therefore, said model inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the planned final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives a first 3D representation of a dentition comprising a plurality of teeth of a patient in an initial position and applies the tooth movements to the initial 3D representation to move the orientation and rotation of each tooth (or group of teeth) into a final treatment plan position; therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position. In other words, or in addition, initial planned movements/forces applied to teeth may serve as the patients own data since such movements/forces are applied to the patient.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from the set of initial patient tooth positions, the treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model ([0032]); comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine a difference indicator ([0070]-[0071]); if the difference indicator is at or greater than a threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan ([0073]), and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan ([0073]); and generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan ([0116]).
Regarding claim 12, Nikolskiy discloses wherein comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions comprises determining a difference for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth, weighting all or some of the differences of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth, and combining the weighted and any unweighted differences for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth to determine the difference indicator ([0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Nikolskiy discloses further comprising receiving one or more weighting values specific to a clinician associated with the patient, wherein the one or more weighting values are used for weighting (since the system describes a fully automated system for verifying the safety and clinical efficacy of an orthodontic treatment plan by performing a clinical assessment on the treatment plan using insights typically obtained and verified during a diagnosis by a professional in the field [0096]).
Regarding claim 14, Nikolskiy discloses further comprising displaying, on a user display, an image of the target tooth positions and an image of the subject's teeth in the set of predicted tooth positions ([0090]).
Regarding claim 17, Nikolskiy discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0004]) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to perform operations comprising: selecting a trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristic ([0023]), wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch, to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, include reaction forces provided to the individual tooth due to one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth ([0023]), and include a patient’s own historic tooth movement data. The Examiner notes that Nikolskiy discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, where the final position model/algorithmic program may be configured to determine movement of teeth (including translation movement and rotation movement) of a dentition from initial positions to final treatment planning positions. And the final position model may be trained on a training set comprising a plurality of compressed three-dimensional (3D) training representations of dentitions comprising a plurality of teeth, and corresponding tooth movements to respective planned final positions post-treatment. Therefore, said model inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the planned final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives a first 3D representation of a dentition comprising a plurality of teeth of a patient in an initial position and applies the tooth movements to the initial 3D representation to move the orientation and rotation of each tooth (or group of teeth) into a final treatment plan position; therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model; comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine a difference indicator ([0070]-[0071]); if the difference indicator is at or greater than a threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan ([0073]), and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan ([0073]) and generating a set of appliances based on the optimized treatment plan ([0116]).
Regarding claim 28, Nikolskiy discloses wherein comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions comprises determining a difference for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth, weighting all or some of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth, and combining the weighted and any unweighted differences for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth to determine the difference indicator ([0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 29, Nikolskiy discloses wherein the instructions further cause the device to perform the operation of: receiving one or more weighting values specific to a clinician associated with the patient, wherein the one or more weighting values are used for weighting (since the system describes a fully automated system for verifying the safety and clinical efficacy of an orthodontic treatment plan by performing a clinical assessment on the treatment plan using insights typically obtained and verified during a diagnosis by a professional in the field [0096]).
Regarding claim 30, Nikolskiy discloses wherein the instructions further cause the device to perform the operation of: displaying, on a user display, an image of the target tooth positions and an image of the subject's teeth in the set of predicted tooth positions ([0090]).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI; Guotu (US 20210186659 A1).
The broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied to the phrase “historic tooth movement responsive”, being the history of the teeth movement throughout the treatment plan from the initial position to the final planed position, which is a data required to plan the stages of the treatments and the dental appliances for each stage.
LI; Guotu discloses a method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan for a patient having a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan and a set of target tooth positions (Abstract), the method comprising: selecting a trained prediction model ([0008]), wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch ([0008]-[0009]), to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, and include reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth ([0069]) and include a patient’s own historic movement data ([0069]). The Examiner notes that LI; Guotu discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position ([0068]) where the engine/algorithmic may implement one or more automated agents configured to receive updated/optimized 3D parameters, the 3D parameters can include 3D tooth shape parameters, 3D location parameters, and 3D tooth orientation parameters (e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition). The updated/optimized 3D parameters can be provided to the 3D engine to create the optimized 3D dental model as described herein ([0069]). Therefore, said engine inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives updated/optimized 3D parameters to create the optimized 3D dental model, i.e. the final position. Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from the set of initial patient tooth positions, the treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model ([0069]); comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine a difference indicator (see [0082], [0087], [0096], [0099] and [0101]); if the difference indicator is at or greater than a threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; and outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan (see [0016], [0028] and claim 2); and generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan ([0115]).
Regarding claim 4, LI; Guotu discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting the trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristics including: the patient's age, the patient's gender, a therapeutic problem of the patient, and/or a cosmetic concern of the patient (since the machine learning engine(s) may implement automated agents to train a machine learning model to predict 3D dental models from original 2D images of an individual's dentition … and parameters acquired from historical patient data for a certain population; the historical patient data can be filtered for that population based on patient information including age, race, gender, etc [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, LI; Guotu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0051]) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to perform operations comprising: selecting a trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristic, wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch ([0008]-[0009]), to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, include reaction forces provided to the individual tooth due to one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth ([0069]), and include a patient’s own historic movement data. The Examiner notes that LI; Guotu discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position ([0068]) where the engine/algorithmic may implement one or more automated agents configured to receive updated/optimized 3D parameters, the 3D parameters can include 3D tooth shape parameters, 3D location parameters, and 3D tooth orientation parameters (e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition). The updated/optimized 3D parameters can be provided to the 3D engine to create the optimized 3D dental model as described herein ([0069]). Therefore, said engine inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives updated/optimized 3D parameters to create the optimized 3D dental model, i.e. the final position. Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model; comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine a difference indicator (see [0082], [0087], [0096], [0099] and [0101]); if the difference indicator is at or greater than a threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; and outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan (see [0016], [0028] and claim 2) and generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan ([0115]).
Regarding claim 20, LI; Guotu discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting the trained prediction model based on the one or more patient characteristics including: the patient's age, the patient's gender, a therapeutic problem of the patient, and/or a cosmetic concern of the patient (since the machine learning engine(s) may implement automated agents to train a machine learning model to predict 3D dental models from original 2D images of an individual's dentition … and parameters acquired from historical patient data for a certain population; the historical patient data can be filtered for that population based on patient information including age, race, gender, etc [0060]).
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 15, 17 and 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sherwood (US 11607291 B2).
The broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied to the phrase “historic tooth movement responsive”, being the history of the teeth movement throughout the treatment plan from the initial position to the final planed position, which is a data required to plan the stages of the treatments and the dental appliances for each stage.
Regarding claim 1, Sherwood discloses a method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan for a patient having a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan and a set of target tooth positions (claim 1 and col 1, lines 24-27), the method comprising: selecting a trained prediction model (since the method uses an artificial neural network; see col 8, lines 58-59 and claim 4), wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch (since Sherwood discloses the ability to study tooth-specific efficacy and product performance for large clusters of treatment outcomes to enable statistically significant comparisons to be made between two or more populations of cases; see col 11, lines 5-9, col 5, lines 36-46 and col 5, line 55 to col 6, line 2), to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, and include reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth (col 5, lines 36-46), and include a patient’s own historic movement data (col 5, line 47 to col 6, line 2). The Examiner notes that Sherwood discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position where the system is configured to receive the initial position data, then the system creates a treatment plan movement to achieve the final position (col 5, line 47 to col 6, line 2). The tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment, including translation in all three orthogonal directions, rotation of the tooth centerline (col 5, lines 36-46). Therefore, said system inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said system includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the system includes a data mining software which can interrogate the information captured and/or updated in the database 2 and can generate an output data stream correlating a patient tooth problem with a dental appliance solution (col 5, lines 25-35). Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position/solution.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from the set of initial patient tooth positions (see claim 1 and col 3, lines 62-65, col 5, lines 25-35 and col 13, lines 29-51), the treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model; comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine a difference indicator (since the neural network is used to recognize each pattern as the neural network is quite robust at recognizing dental treatment patterns. Once the treatment features have been characterized, the neural network then compares the input dental information with stored templates; see col 9, lines 16-21); if the difference indicator is at or greater than a threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan (col 46, lines 61-67), and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; and outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan (since Sherwood discloses defining stages to reposition teeth from an initial position of the initial dentition to a final position of the target dentition, see claim 1, and repeating the step of generating the stages claim 9) and generating a set of appliances based on the optimized treatment plan (col 5, lines 25-35).
Regarding claim 7, Sherwood discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained prediction model that is trained for each individual tooth of the dental arch (since the data mining system is used for defining appliance configurations or changes to appliance configurations for incrementally moving teeth, the tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment; see col 5, lines 36-46), to include multiple translational and rotational directions including six rotational and translational directions (col 6, lines 17-24).
Regarding claim 8, Sherwood discloses wherein the six rotational and translational directions include: buccal/lingual, mesial distal, and intrusion/extrusion (see col 6, lines 17-24 and table 2 in col 7).
Regarding claim 9, Sherwood discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained prediction model that is trained for each individual tooth of the dental arch, to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the reaction forces (since the data derived from the finite element analysis includes the amount of real elapsed time over which the simulated repositioning of the teeth took place; the actual end tooth positions calculated by the analysis; the maximum linear and torsional force applied to each tooth; the maximum linear and angular velocity of each tooth, the initial tooth positions for the current path segment, the desired tooth positions at the end of the current path segment, the maximum allowable displacement velocity for each tooth, and the maximum allowable force of each kind for each tooth; see col 16, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 10, Sherwood discloses wherein the multiple translational and rotational directions the reaction forces include six rotational and translational directions including: buccal/lingual, mesial distal, and intrusion/extrusion (col 7, table 2).
Regarding claim 11, Sherwood discloses wherein comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions comprises determining a difference for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth and combining the differences for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth to determine the difference indicator (since having both a beginning position and a final position for each tooth, the process next defines a tooth path for the motion of each tooth, the segments are calculated so that each tooth's motion within a segment stays within threshold limits of linear and rotational translation, see col 13, lines 52-64).
Regarding claim 15, Sherwood discloses wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch (since Sherwood discloses the ability to study tooth-specific efficacy and product performance for large clusters of treatment outcomes to enable statistically significant comparisons to be made between two or more populations of cases; see col 11, lines 5-9, col 5, lines 36-46 and col 5, line 55 to col 6, line 2 and ), to include reaction forces (since the data derived from the finite element analysis includes the maximum allowable force of each kind for each tooth; see col 16, lines 26-37) on the individual tooth due to three or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth (since the system is capable of capering and analyzing the entire arch scan to treatment files stored; see col 5, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 17, Sherwood discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (col 47, lines 14-20) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to perform operations comprising: selecting a trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristic (since the method uses an artificial neural network; see col 8, lines 58-59 and claim 4), wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch (since Sherwood discloses the ability to study tooth-specific efficacy and product performance for large clusters of treatment outcomes to enable statistically significant comparisons to be made between two or more populations of cases; see col 11, lines 5-9, col 5, lines 36-46 and col 5, line 55 to col 6, line 2), to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, include reaction forces provided to the individual tooth due to one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth (col 5, lines 36-46), and include a patient’s own historic movement data (col 5, line 47 to col 6, line 2). The Examiner notes that Sherwood discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position where the system is configured to receive the initial position data, then the system creates a treatment plan movement to achieve the final position (col 5, line 47 to col 6, line 2). The tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment, including translation in all three orthogonal directions, rotation of the tooth centerline (col 5, lines 36-46). Therefore, said system inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said system includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the system includes a data mining software which can interrogate the information captured and/or updated in the database 2 and can generate an output data stream correlating a patient tooth problem with a dental appliance solution (col 5, lines 25-35). Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position/solution.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model (see claim 1 and col 3, lines 62-65, col 5, lines 25-35 and col 13, lines 29-51); comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine a difference indicator (since the neural network is used to recognize each pattern as the neural network is quite robust at recognizing dental treatment patterns. Once the treatment features have been characterized, the neural network then compares the input dental information with stored templates; see col 9, lines 16-21); if the difference indicator is at or greater than a threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan (col 46, lines 61-67), and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; and outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan (since Sherwood discloses defining stages to reposition teeth from an initial position of the initial dentition to a final position of the target dentition, see claim 1, and repeating the step of generating the stages claim 9) and generating a set of appliances based on the optimized treatment plan (col 5, lines 25-35).
Regarding claim 23, Sherwood discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained prediction model that is trained for each individual tooth of the dental arch (since the data mining system is used for defining appliance configurations or changes to appliance configurations for incrementally moving teeth, the tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment; see col 5, lines 36-46), to include multiple translational and rotational directions including six rotational and translational directions (col 6, lines 17-24).
Regarding claim 24, Sherwood discloses wherein the six rotational and translational directions include: buccal/lingual, mesial distal, and intrusion/extrusion (see col 6, lines 17-24 and table 2 in col 7).
Regarding claim 25, Sherwood discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained prediction model that is trained for each individual tooth of the dental arch, to include multiple translational and rotational directions for the reaction forces ((since the data derived from the finite element analysis includes the amount of real elapsed time over which the simulated repositioning of the teeth took place; the actual end tooth positions calculated by the analysis; the maximum linear and torsional force applied to each tooth; the maximum linear and angular velocity of each tooth, the initial tooth positions for the current path segment, the desired tooth positions at the end of the current path segment, the maximum allowable displacement velocity for each tooth, and the maximum allowable force of each kind for each tooth; see col 16, lines 26-37).
Regarding claim 26, Sherwood discloses wherein the multiple translational and rotational directions the reaction forces include six rotational and translational directions including: buccal/lingual, mesial distal, and intrusion/extrusion (col 7, table 2).
Regarding claim 27, Sherwood discloses wherein comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions comprises determining a difference for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth and combining the differences for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions for each tooth to determine the difference indicator (since having both a beginning position and a final position for each tooth, the process next defines a tooth path for the motion of each tooth, the segments are calculated so that each tooth's motion within a segment stays within threshold limits of linear and rotational translation, see col 13, lines 52-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolskiy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inam (US 20210338387 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nikolskiy discloses that the systems may be trained based on previous (or historic) treatment plan data; the treatment plan data may include, for example, 3D data corresponding to an initial position of the previous patient’s dentition, teeth movement data (e.g., translation and/or rotation movements from the initial position to a respective final position), and/or 3D data corresponding to the final position of the previous patient’s dentition, etc. ([0024]). Therefore, the treatment plan would be able to index the trained prediction model with patient characteristics. But Nikolskiy fails to disclose “wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained neural network from a library of trained neural networks”.
Inam discloses a method for analysis of dental clinical data ([0007]); the method comprising: selecting a trained prediction model ([0008]), wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained neural network from a library of trained neural networks (since the various learning processes implemented through use of the neural networks may be configured or programmed using a software library used for machine learning applications such as neural networks [0278]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Nikolskiy’s method to add the step of selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained neural network from a library of trained neural networks, since such modification would be useful for minimizing error when selecting the correct treatment output.
Regarding claim 19, Nikolskiy discloses that the systems may be trained based on previous (or historic) treatment plan data; the treatment plan data may include, for example, 3D data corresponding to an initial position of the previous patient’s dentition, teeth movement data (e.g., translation and/or rotation movements from the initial position to a respective final position), and/or 3D data corresponding to the final position of the previous patient’s dentition, etc. ([0024]). Therefore, the treatment plan would be able to index the trained prediction model with patient characteristics. But Nikolskiy fails to disclose “wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained neural network from a library of trained neural networks”.
Inam discloses a method for analysis of dental clinical data ([0007]); the method comprising: selecting a trained prediction model ([0008]), wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained neural network from a library of trained neural networks (since the various learning processes implemented through use of the neural networks may be configured or programmed using a software library used for machine learning applications such as neural networks [0278]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Nikolskiy’s method to add the step of selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained neural network from a library of trained neural networks, since such modification would be useful for minimizing error when selecting the correct treatment output.
Claim(s) 5, 16, 21 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI; Guotu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Upadhyay (US 20210196428 A1).
Regarding claim 5, LI; Guotu discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained prediction model that is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch … for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions (since the trained prediction model are trained using e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition [0069]), but fails to disclose “using a linear regression model” (since the trained prediction model can use Logistic Regression [0089]).
Upadhyay a computer-implemented method and corresponding system provide orthodontic treatment options for use in orthodontic diagnosis or treatment planning (Abstract). Selecting a trained prediction model ([0095]) which uses a linear regression model (since the logistic regression is replaced by linear regression; see claim 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify LI; Guotu’s method to add the step of using a linear regression model, since such modification be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16, LI; Guotu discloses a method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan for a patient having a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan and a set of target tooth positions (Abstract), the method comprising: selecting a trained prediction model ([0008]), based on one or more patient characteristic, wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch ([0008]-[0009]), to include Logistic Regression ([0089]) for each of multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, include multiple translational and rotational directions of one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth ([0069]), and include a patient’s own historic tooth movement data. The Examiner notes that LI; Guotu discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position ([0068]) where the engine/algorithmic may implement one or more automated agents configured to receive updated/optimized 3D parameters, the 3D parameters can include 3D tooth shape parameters, 3D location parameters, and 3D tooth orientation parameters (e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition). The updated/optimized 3D parameters can be provided to the 3D engine to create the optimized 3D dental model as described herein ([0069]). Therefore, said engine inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives updated/optimized 3D parameters to create the optimized 3D dental model, i.e. the final position. Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from the set of initial patient tooth positions, the treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model ([0069]); comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions to determine a difference indicator (see [0082], [0087], [0096], [0099] and [0101]); if the difference indicator is less than a threshold value, outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the treatment plan; if the difference indicator is at or greater than the threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; and outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan (see [0016], [0028] and claim 2) and generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan ([0115]).
However, LI; Guotu fails to disclose specifically “to include a linear regression”, since it discloses Logistic Regression instead.
Upadhyay a computer-implemented method and corresponding system provide orthodontic treatment options for use in orthodontic diagnosis or treatment planning (Abstract). Selecting a trained prediction model ([0095]) which uses a linear regression model (since the logistic regression is replaced by linear regression; see claim 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify LI; Guotu’s method to add the step of using a linear regression model, since such modification be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 21, LI; Guotu discloses wherein selecting the trained prediction model comprises selecting a trained prediction model that is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch … for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions (since the trained prediction model are trained using e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition [0069]), but fails to disclose “using a linear regression model” (since the trained prediction model can use Logistic Regression [0089]).
Upadhyay a computer-implemented method and corresponding system provide orthodontic treatment options for use in orthodontic diagnosis or treatment planning (Abstract). Selecting a trained prediction model ([0095]) which uses a linear regression model (since the logistic regression is replaced by linear regression; see claim 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify LI; Guotu’s method to add the step of using a linear regression model, since such modification be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 31, LI; Guotu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0051]) comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to perform operations comprising: selecting a trained prediction model based on one or more patient characteristic, wherein the trained prediction model is trained, for each individual tooth of a dental arch ([0008]-[0009]), to include a Logistic Regression [0089]) for each of multiple translational and rotational directions for the individual tooth, to include for multiple translational and rotational directions of one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth ([0069]), and include a patient’s own historic tooth movement data. The Examiner notes that LI; Guotu discloses a computer-based method of generating or modifying a dental treatment plan where the final treatment plan position of a patient’s dentition is automatically determined, stating from an initial teeth position ([0068]) where the engine/algorithmic may implement one or more automated agents configured to receive updated/optimized 3D parameters, the 3D parameters can include 3D tooth shape parameters, 3D location parameters, and 3D tooth orientation parameters (e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition). The updated/optimized 3D parameters can be provided to the 3D engine to create the optimized 3D dental model as described herein ([0069]). Therefore, said engine inherently accounts for reaction forces provided to the individual tooth from one or more teeth that are adjacent to the individual tooth, since those calculations would be required to arrive at the final positions. Additionally, said model includes a patient’s own historic tooth movement data, since the model receives updated/optimized 3D parameters to create the optimized 3D dental model, i.e. the final position. Therefore, it must record a patient’s own historic tooth movement data in order to calculate the final position.
Generating a set of predicted tooth positions from a set of initial patient tooth positions, a treatment plan, and the selected trained prediction model; comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions to determine a difference indicator (see [0082], [0087], [0096], [0099] and [0101]); if the difference indicator is less than a threshold value, outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the treatment plan; if the difference indicator is at or greater than the threshold value, iteratively modifying the treatment plan, and repeating the steps of generating the set of predicted tooth positions using the modified treatment plan as the treatment plan, and comparing the set of predicted tooth positions to the set of target tooth positions to determine the difference indicator, until the difference indicator is below the threshold value or a completion criterion is met; outputting an optimized treatment plan based on the modified treatment plan (see [0016], [0028] and claim 2) and generating a set of dental appliances based on the optimized treatment plan ([0115]).
However, LI; Guotu fails to disclose specifically “to include a linear regression”, since it discloses Logistic Regression instead.
Upadhyay a computer-implemented method and corresponding system provide orthodontic treatment options for use in orthodontic diagnosis or treatment planning (Abstract). Selecting a trained prediction model ([0095]) which uses a linear regression model (since the logistic regression is replaced by linear regression; see claim 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify LI; Guotu’s method to add the step of using a linear regression model, since such modification be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 6 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI; Guotu in view of Upadhyay, further in view of Neumann (US 20220246272 A1).
Regarding claim 6, LI; Guotu and Upadhyay disclose wherein the trained prediction model is trained for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions (since the trained prediction model are trained using e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition; LI; Guotu: [0069]), but fails to disclose “wherein the trained prediction model is trained using a Huber linear regression model”.
Neumann discloses a system for generating a hygienic model based on hygienic patterns relating dental to hygiene in relation to consumption of the plurality of alimentary elements (Abstract). Wherein a machine-learning module uses techniques for development of linear regression models, which may include a Huber regression model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify LI; Guotu/Upadhyay’s method in order to add a Huber regression model, since such modification may be applied to minimize error functions ([0090]).
Regarding claim 22, LI; Guotu and Upadhyay disclose wherein the trained prediction model is trained for each of the multiple translational and rotational directions (since the trained prediction model are trained using e.g., local translation/rotation for each tooth and global translation/rotation for each jaw of the dentition; LI; Guotu: [0069]), but fails to disclose “wherein the trained prediction model is trained using a Huber linear regression model”.
Neumann discloses a system for generating a hygienic model based on hygienic patterns relating dental to hygiene in relation to consumption of the plurality of alimentary elements (Abstract). Wherein a machine-learning module uses techniques for development of linear regression models, which may include a Huber regression model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify LI; Guotu/Upadhyay’s method in order to add a Huber regression model, since such modification may be applied to minimize error functions ([0090]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS RUIZ whose telephone number is (571)270-0839. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 Am - 5 PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eric Rosen can be reached on (571) 270-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Luis Ruiz Martin/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772