DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the 4-way locator" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as neither the claim nor parent claim 1 establishes a 4-way locator. For the purposes of this action, the claim has been interpreted as depending from claim 2, which does recite a 4-way locator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 12-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Imai (JP 2017/098043, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 19, Ijaz discloses a battery module 302 including upper and lower bus bars 308, 309 [any bus bar reading on the claimed busbar] that are located on positioning bars 348 [a tote configured to align with the busbar], which assist in rotationally positioning battery cells 310 ([0067], Fig 3a). Ijaz further teaches that the battery can be used in a vehicle ([0083]).
However, while Ijaz illustrates holes and openings in the bus bars 308, 309 to allow voltage sensing rods 350 and screws or tie bolts 354 to pass therethrough (Fig 3b-c), Ijaz does not explicitly disclose the positioning bars 348 [a tote] comprising a multi-dimensional locator, wherein the multi-dimensional locator comprises one or more receptacle configured to receive the one or more pins.
Imai discloses a holding structure for a terminal for a battery assembly 2 (abstract). A bus bar module 1 is located on top of the battery assembly ([0023], Fig 1). The bus bar module 1 includes an electric wire routing portion 7, a connection portion 8, and a bus bar holding portion 10 for holding bus bars 6 ([0025], [0026], Fig 1). The bus bars 6 includes a through hole 61 formed in a central portion wherein a first protrusion 21 of the bus bar holding portion 10 is fitted into the through hole 61 ([0024], [0029], Fig 2). As a result, the bus bar 6 does not come off the bus bar holding portion 10 ([0030]). Therefore, the protrusion and through hole are a multi-dimensional locator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first protrusion of the holding portion and the through hole of the bus bar of Imai with the positioning bars and bus bars of Ijaz for the purpose of aligning the bus bars so that the bus bar does not come off the positioning bar.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 15, and 20, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As the first protrusion 21 and through hole 61 as taught by Imai are the same shape (circular) and as the bus bar does not come off the holding portion ([0029]), the first protrusion and through hole is a 4-way locator that restricts relative movement between the bus bar and the tote in multiple dimensions, and establishes a separation between the bus bar and tote.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ijaz teaches the bus bars provides an electrical connection between a first group [first plurality] and a second group [second plurality] of battery cells ([0016], [0084]-[0085], Fig 3a). Therefore, the busbar is configured to electrically connect to: a first current collector of the battery system in electrical contact with a first plurality of battery cells configured to operate at a voltage level; and a second current collector of the battery system in electrical contact with a second plurality of battery cells configured to operate at the voltage level.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ijaz further teaches printed circuit boards (PCB) 306 are on top of upper bus bar 308 ([0060], [0063], Fig 3A), and bus bar thermistors 313 are attached to the bus bar 308 and is connected with flexible wire leads to the PCB ([0065]). Therefore, the bus bar 308 supports a board and configured to support a wire for a thermistor of the battery system.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ijaz teaches that bus bar 308a is aluminum, bus bar 308b is copper, and bus bars 308c-d are bi-metallic ([0066]). Therefore, at least bus bars 308b-d [any one reading on the claimed busbar] are electrically isolated [no direct contact] from the aluminum bus bar 308a [an aluminum plate]. In addition, Ijaz teaches thermal transfer plates 272 that are made of aluminum and separated by interface pads for thermal transfer and electrical isolation ([0070], Fig 4a), and said thermal transfer plates are electrically isolated from any/all of the bus bars.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Imai (JP 2017/098043, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. (US 2013/0214593).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ijaz disclose that bus bar 308a/628 has an extended tab 324/656 [flange comprising a metal; flange second part that extends away from the busbar] having a hole or opening 326 which allows a bolt to be inserted to make an electrical connection, and said bolt is fixed with a nut ([0074], [0087], Figs 3a and 5a), and the portion of the bus bar adjacent the extended tab can be considered a first part of a flange that is in planar alignment with a portion of the tote (Figs 3a and 5a), Ijaz does not explicitly disclose wherein the nut is a pierce nut.
Ohashi discloses a relay busbar device including busbars 10 having ends 11a,11b that are connected to cables or other busbars, wherein the ends 11a,11b are formed to enable easy connection by means of built-in square nuts, by press-fitting pierce nuts, or similar ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pierce nuts for nuts connecting on a busbar as taught by Ohashi with the extended tab [flange] of Ijaz for the purpose of having easy connections.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Imai (JP 2017/098043, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hostler (US 2010/0247998).
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ijaz teaches that the thermistor 313 is attached to the bus bar 628 with a screw [and therefore there is an opening in the bus bar] wherein the bus bar 628 is the positive terminal of the battery (see Fig 7 for screw, and see Fig 5c for bus bar 628 labeled with “POS” for positive terminal), modified Ijaz does not explicitly disclose (claim 10) wherein a clip is connected with the busbar and configured to restrain a cable, or (claim 11) wherein a clip connected with the busbar and configured to restrain a cable, wherein the clip attaches to the busbar via one or more openings in the bus bar.
Hostler discloses a battery system comprising a battery module 10 with cells 300 having busbar supports 600 and busbar components, busbar jumpers 700, and busbar terminals 750 ([0092]-[0093], Figs 14-15). In several embodiments, the busbar terminal 750 includes a clip 790,791,794 for attaching wiring to the busbar terminal ([0101]-[0103], Fig 18-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the clip for attaching or holding wiring on the busbar as taught by Hostler with the bus bar and in the opening of Ijaz for the providing a clip to hold the wiring.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 12-14, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Takase (JP 2013/105571, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 19, Ijaz discloses a battery module 302 including upper and lower bus bars 308, 309 [any bus bar reading on the claimed busbar] that are located on positioning bars 348 [a tote configured to align with the busbar], which assist in rotationally positioning battery cells 310 ([0067], Fig 3a). Ijaz further teaches that the battery can be used in a vehicle ([0083]).
However, while Ijaz illustrates holes and openings in the bus bars 308, 309 to allow voltage sensing rods 350 and screws or tie bolts 354 to pass therethrough (Fig 3b-c), Ijaz does not explicitly disclose the positioning bars 348 [a tote] comprising a multi-dimensional locator, wherein the multi-dimensional locator comprises one or more receptacle configured to receive the one or more pins.
Takase discloses a battery wiring module 20 that is easily adjustable in deviation (abstract). The battery pack wiring module 20 is installed on a battery group 11 comprising batteries 11 having electrode terminals 12 (abstract). A plurality of bus bars 21 connect the electrode terminals 12, and an insulating-resin-made resin protector 30 has a holding part 32 for holding the bus bars 21 (abstract). Mounting protrusions 34 are provided in the holding portion 32 of the resin protector 30 which holds the inside of mounting holes 26 of the bus bar 21 and the mounting hole 45 movably in the direction of the cells ([0056]). The mounting holes 26 have an oval shape in which the cells are arranged, and allows a shift in position for manufacturing tolerance and assembly tolerance ([0037]). The mounting protrusions 34 are illustrated as protrusions (Figs 5-6). As seen in Figure 8, the bus bars have multiple mounting holes 26. Therefore, the mounting protrusions 34 and mounting holes 26 are a multi-dimensional locator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mounting protrusions of the protector [tote] and mounting holes of the bus bars of Takase with the positioning bars and bus bars of Ijaz for the purpose of aligning and providing a shift in position for manufacturing tolerance and assembly tolerance.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Because Takase discloses mounting protrusions and mounting holes allow for movement in the direction of the cells ([0067]), said protrusions and holes allow for 2-way location.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ijaz teaches the bus bars provides an electrical connection between a first group [first plurality] and a second group [second plurality] of battery cells ([0016], [0084]-[0085], Fig 3a). Therefore, the busbar is configured to electrically connect to: a first current collector of the battery system in electrical contact with a first plurality of battery cells configured to operate at a voltage level; and a second current collector of the battery system in electrical contact with a second plurality of battery cells configured to operate at the voltage level.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ijaz further teaches printed circuit boards (PCB) 306 are on top of upper bus bar 308 ([0060], [0063], Fig 3A), and bus bar thermistors 313 are attached to the bus bar 308 and is connected with flexible wire leads to the PCB ([0065]). Therefore, the bus bar 308 supports a board and configured to support a wire for a thermistor of the battery system.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ijaz teaches that bus bar 308a is aluminum, bus bar 308b is copper, and bus bars 308c-d are bi-metallic ([0066]). Therefore, at least bus bars 308b-d [any one reading on the claimed busbar] are electrically isolated [no direct contact] from the aluminum bus bar 308a [an aluminum plate]. In addition, Ijaz teaches thermal transfer plates 272 that are made of aluminum and separated by interface pads for thermal transfer and electrical isolation ([0070], Fig 4a), and said thermal transfer plates are electrically isolated from any/all of the bus bars.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Takase (JP 2013/105571, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 or 14, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2019/0198849).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 17-18, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Takase discloses mounting protrusions and mounting holes wherein said protrusions and holes allow for 2-way location and said mounting holes are oval [asymmetrical opening with a length greater than or equal to width, and the length provides a first tolerance for alignment between the tote and the busbar is greater than a second tolerance provided by the width], modified Ijaz does not explicitly disclose (claims 4 and 17) wherein the second receptacle comprises a second asymmetrical opening that is oriented differently than the first asymmetrical opening, or (claims 5 and 18) wherein the second receptacle comprising a second opening having a second length that is less than or equal to a second width of the second opening to align the busbar with the tote via the first pin inserted into the first receptacle and the second pin inserted into the second receptacle, wherein the second length provides a third tolerance for alignment between the tote and the busbar that is less than a fourth tolerance provided by the second width.
Nakayama discloses a connection module 20 for electrically connecting a plurality of battery packs 10, the connection module 20 including bus bars 30 that electrically connects the adjacent power storage modules, and an insulation protector 21 (abstract, [0028]). Each bus bar 30 includes connection parts 35 having elongated connection holes 36, wherein one connection hole is elongated in a front-rear direction and another connection hole is elongated in the left-right direction ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the different orientations/elongations of the elongations holes of the bus bar of Nakayama with the mounting holes of Ijaz modified by Takase for the purpose of allowing a shift in position for manufacturing tolerance and assembly tolerance in an additional direction.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Takase (JP 2013/105571, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. (US 2013/0214593).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ijaz disclose that bus bar 308a/628 has an extended tab 324/656 [flange comprising a metal; flange second part that extends away from the busbar] having a hole or opening 326 which allows a bolt to be inserted to make an electrical connection, and said bolt is fixed with a nut ([0074], [0087], Figs 3a and 5a), and the portion of the bus bar adjacent the extended tab can be considered a first part of a flange that is in planar alignment with a portion of the tote (Figs 3a and 5a), Ijaz does not explicitly disclose wherein the nut is a pierce nut.
Ohashi discloses a relay busbar device including busbars 10 having ends 11a,11b that are connected to cables or other busbars, wherein the ends 11a,11b are formed to enable easy connection by means of built-in square nuts, by press-fitting pierce nuts, or similar ([0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pierce nuts for nuts connecting on a busbar as taught by Ohashi with the extended tab [flange] of Ijaz for the purpose of having easy connections.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ijaz et al. (US 2009/0297892) in view of Takase (JP 2013/105571, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hostler (US 2010/0247998).
Regarding claims 10-11, modified Ijaz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Ijaz teaches that the thermistor 313 is attached to the bus bar 628 with a screw [and therefore there is an opening in the bus bar] wherein the bus bar 628 is the positive terminal of the battery (see Fig 7 for screw, and see Fig 5c for bus bar 628 labeled with “POS” for positive terminal), modified Ijaz does not explicitly disclose (claim 10) wherein a clip is connected with the busbar and configured to restrain a cable, or (claim 11) wherein a clip connected with the busbar and configured to restrain a cable, wherein the clip attaches to the busbar via one or more openings in the bus bar.
Hostler discloses a battery system comprising a battery module 10 with cells 300 having busbar supports 600 and busbar components, busbar jumpers 700, and busbar terminals 750 ([0092]-[0093], Figs 14-15). In several embodiments, the busbar terminal 750 includes a clip 790,791,794 for attaching wiring to the busbar terminal ([0101]-[0103], Fig 18-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the clip for attaching or holding wiring on the busbar as taught by Hostler with the bus bar and in the opening of Ijaz for the providing a clip to hold the wiring.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725