DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
New claims 23-27 have been entered and considered for this action. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-16, and 23-27 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-16, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung et al. (US 2015/0105497 A1) in view of Ho et al. (US 2011/0031454 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Fung teaches core-shell particles comprised of inorganic fillers coated with molybdenum compounds (abstract), where the inorganic filler may be a metal hydroxide comprising aluminum trihydroxide (aluminum hydroxide; [0014]), where the molybdenum compound may be ammonium octamolybdate ([0041]), and where the molybdenum compound is 0.01 to 4.8 wt% of the complex (molybdenum compound at 0.01 to 5 wt% of the inorganic filler corresponds to 0.01 to 4.8 wt% of the whole complex; [0033]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of from 1 to 95 wt% of the complex being the AOM. Fung also teaches that the AOM/ATH complex is a core-shell particle of ATH and AOM ([0010]). In such a particle the shell of AOM can be considered bound to the ATH core.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the AOM/hydroxide complex as disclosed by Fung, where the wt% of the AOM is anywhere from about 0.01% wt% to about 4.8 wt%, including in the portion of the range that overlaps with that instantly claimed.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01).
While Fung is silent with respect to the crystalline form of the ammonium octamolybdate in the complex, both Fung and the instantly disclosed examples teach heating of the ATH/AOM mixtures in water for several hours at 80-90°C (8 hours at 88 °C in the instant examples 1-8; 2-4 hours at 80 °C in Fung, [0050]), it is believed that both preparations would form the same orthorhombic AOM.
Furthermore, Ho teaches ammonium octamolybdate coated inorganic particles that are similar to those of Fung (abstract), and further teaches preparing these particles in a manner even more analogous to the methods currently disclosed: from ammonium dimolybdate and molybdenum trioxide at 88 °C for 3-5 hours ([0020] and [0036] -[0037]). These methods are also expected to afford complexes with AOM in an orthorhombic crystal form at the required levels as a result of their preparation method which is substantially similar to those preparations instantly disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the complexes taught by Fung according to the method of Ho, thereby affording complexes where the weight % of the AOM in the orthorhombic crystalline form falls in the claimed ranges of claims 1 and 6. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because while Fung discloses use of ammonium octamolybdate complexes, they are silent on a specific procedure for preparing that particular variant, while Ho teaches the specifics of preparing AOM coated particles in particular.
It is noted that the courts have held that "the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). While Ho and Fung may not have appreciated the orthorhombic nature of the crystals they prepared, it is believed that their preparation method would have afforded such a structure.
It is additionally noted that “the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 2, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 1 but does not teach the complex comprising from 15 to 35 wt% of the AOM.
However, Ho teaches ammonium octamolybdate coated inorganic particles that are similar to those of Fung (abstract), and also teaches that the amount of AOM in these complexes can be in the range of from about 20% to about 85% by weight of an ammonium octamolybdate ([0029]). Ho further teaches that these particles are effective smoke-suppressant additives to polymers (abstract), including when added with aluminum hydroxide (alumina trihydrate; [0033])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight % AOM in the complexes of Fung into the range of 20 wt% to 80 wt% taught by Ho, which includes the instantly claimed range or from 15 wt% to 35 wt%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Ho teaches that compositions at these percentages make effective smoke suppressants when added to polymers. It is noted that both Fung and Ho are looking to improve the properties of polymer compositions by the addition of AOM/inorganic particle core-shell particles.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.01.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation that the metal hydroxide comprises precipitated ATH, as opposed to the ATH prepared by any method required by claim 1, is considered a product-by-process limitation. It is noted that the courts have held that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2113(I).
Therefore, because modified Fung teaches the product of claim 1, the limitations of claim 4 can also be considered obvious.
It is also noted that the courts have held that "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 803, 218 USPQ 289, 292-33 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding claim 7, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 1, but is silent on the amount of gallium in their complexes. However, the mere purity of a product by itself does not render the product nonobvious.
In this case, while Applicant has noted an unexpected result concerning the preparation of the AOM/ATH complexes, which they relate to the level of gallium in the ATH (p. 21, lines 16-18), there is no material difference noted between the formed AOM/ATH complexes of claim 1 that contain levels of gallium above 25 ppm versus those with gallium levels below 25 ppm. The instantly claimed compositions with an amount of gallium below 25 ppm by weight are therefore considered to have the same utility as the compositions of claim 1 with unknown gallium content taught by Fung and are therefore considered an obvious variation. In re Cofer, 354 F.2d 664, 148 USPQ 268. MPEP 2144.04(VII).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fung teaches the complex claim 1, and further teaches the particle size is between 0.01 and 50 μm ([0010]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed size of from 0.5 to 10 μm. Although Fung specifically references the size of the filler particle, because the molybdenum compound is added at only 5% the mass of the inorganic filler it is not expected to significantly change the size of the resultant core-shell complex.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.01.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the AOM/hydroxide complex as disclosed by Fung, where the particle size is from 0.01 to 50 μm, including in the portion of the range that overlaps with that instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 10, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 1, where the metal hydroxide (inorganic filler) particles used to form the core may be spherical ([0014]). Because the molybdenum compound coating is only present at up to 5%, the resultant complexes are also expected to be spherical.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 1, and Fung also teaches that this complex can be incorporated into a resin (polymer) and that this resin may be an epoxy resin ([0053]), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 11 and 13.
Regarding claim 12, modified Fung teaches the composition of claim 11, but does not teach the polymer comprising a rigid PVC or a flexible PVC.
However, Ho teaches polymer compositions comprising the similar core-shell inorganic-AOM particles to Fung where these particles are used as smoke suppressants in flexible and rigid PVC. Ho further teaches that these polymers should also include aluminum hydroxide (alumina trihydrate; [0033])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce the aluminum hydroxide-AOM particles taught by Fung into a flexible PVC polymer or rigid PVC polymer, as taught by Ho, thereby arriving at the instantly claimed invention of claim 12. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fung and Ho teach analogous particles and Ho teaches that particle with similar composition and structure make effective smoke suppressants when added to rigid PVC or flexible PVC.
Regarding claim 14, modified Fung teaches the composition of claim 11 where the amount of the ammonium molybdate/metal hydride complex in the polymer composition is 20 wt% to 80 wt% of the resin mixture ([0015]), which falls in the instantly claimed range of 1 phr to 50 phr (phr, parts by weight per hundred parts of resin, is equivalent to wt% relative to the resin).
Regarding claim 15, modified Fung teaches the composition of claim 11 and that composition further comprises a curing agent (phenol-type resin curing agent; [0053]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Fung teaches the composition of claim 11 and that these polymer compositions (resins) can be used to make printed circuit boards ([0002]), which are articles of manufacture.
Regarding claim 23 and 26, Fung teaches core-shell particles comprised of inorganic fillers coated with molybdenum compounds (abstract), where the inorganic filler may be a metal hydroxide comprising aluminum trihydroxide (aluminum hydroxide; [0014]), where the molybdenum compound may be ammonium octamolybdate ([0041]), and where the molybdenum compound is 0.01 to 4.8 wt% of the complex (molybdenum compound at 0.01 to 5 wt% of the inorganic filler corresponds to 0.01 to 4.8 wt% of the whole complex; [0033]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of from 1 to 95 wt% of the complex being the AOM. Fung also teaches that the AOM/ATH complex is a core-shell particle of ATH and AOM ([0010]). In such a particle the shell of AOM can be considered bound to the ATH core.
Fung further teaches the particle size is between 0.01 and 50 μm ([0010]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed size of d50 from 0.5 to 10 μm. Although Fung specifically references the size of the filler particle, because the molybdenum compound is added at only 5% the mass of the inorganic filler it is not expected to significantly change the size of the resultant core-shell complex.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the AOM/hydroxide complex as disclosed by Fung, where the wt% of the AOM is anywhere from 1% wt% to about 4.8 wt% and the d50 is from 0.5 to 10 μm, as required by the instant claim. Such choices would have been obvious because they lie within the ranges taught by Fung.
While Fung is silent with respect to the crystalline form of the ammonium octamolybdate in the complex, both Fung and the instantly disclosed examples teach heating of the ATH/AOM mixtures in water for several hours at 80-90°C (8 hours at 88 °C in the instant examples 1-8; 2-4 hours at 80 °C in Fung, [0050]), it is believed that both preparations would form the same orthorhombic AOM.
Furthermore, Ho teaches ammonium octamolybdate coated inorganic particles that are similar to those of Fung (abstract) and that these particles have surfaces areas of 7 m2/g (KG-STM, Table 1). Ho further teaches preparing these particles in a manner even more analogous to the methods currently disclosed: from ammonium dimolybdate and molybdenum trioxide at 88 °C for 3-5 hours ([0020] and [0036]-[0037]). These methods are also expected to afford complexes with AOM in an orthorhombic crystal form at the required levels as a result of their preparation method which is substantially similar to those preparations instantly disclosed, and with surface areas within the instantly claimed range of 2 m2/gm to 20 m2/gm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the complexes taught by Fung according to the method of Ho, thereby affording complexes where the weight % of the AOM in the orthorhombic crystalline form falls in the claimed ranges of claims 23 and 26. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because while Fung discloses use of ammonium octamolybdate complexes, they are silent on a specific procedure for preparing that particular variant, while Ho teaches the specifics of preparing AOM coated particles in particular.
It is noted that the courts have held that "the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). While Ho and Fung may not have appreciated the orthorhombic nature of the crystals they prepared, it is believed that their preparation method would have afforded such a structure.
It is additionally noted that “the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 24, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 23 but Fung does not teach the complex comprising from 15 to 35 wt% of the AOM.
However, Ho teaches ammonium octamolybdate coated inorganic particles that are similar to those of Fung (abstract), and also teaches that the amount of AOM in these complexes can be in the range of from about 20% to about 85% by weight of an ammonium octamolybdate ([0029]). Ho further teaches that these particles are effective smoke-suppressant additives to polymers (abstract), including when added with aluminum hydroxide (alumina trihydrate; [0033])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight % AOM in the complexes of Fung into the range of 20 wt% to 80 wt% taught by Ho, which includes the instantly claimed range or from 15 wt% to 35 wt%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Ho teaches that compositions at these percentages make effective smoke suppressants when added to polymers. It is noted that both Fung and Ho are looking to improve the properties of polymer compositions by the addition of AOM/inorganic particle core-shell particles.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.01.
Regarding claim 25, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 23 but Fung and Ho are each silent on the content of soluble Na2O and the TAPPI brightness of the obtained products.
However, Ho teaches that after preparing their core-shell particles, that the slurry is filtered while hot, which is expected to remove a substantial fraction of the soluble products such as Na2O. Furthermore, the courts have held that the mere purity of a product by itself does not render a product non-obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VII).
Therefore, a product with a soluble Na2O content of from 0.001 wt% to 0.035 wt% is considered an obvious variation of the product meeting the limitations of claim 23 taught by the combination of Fung and Ho.
Regarding claim 27, modified Fung teaches the complex of claim 23, and Fung also teaches that complexes such as these can be incorporated into a polymer (resin mixture; abstract, [0029] and [0053]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the AOM/ATH core-shell complex taught by the combination of Fung and Ho into a polymer resin, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fung teaches that this is primary application of the materials they describe.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-16, and 23-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 8,070,990 in view of Fung et al. (US 2015/0105497 A1).
Regarding instant claims 1, 2 and 6, claim 1 of the ‘990 patent teaches an ammonium octamolybdate/metal hydroxide mixture composition: ammonium octamolybdate (AOM); and a metal hydroxide (talc); wherein the complex comprises from about 20 to about 80 wt. % of the AOM, a range which lies inside that recited in instant claim 1 and overlaps with that recited in instant claim 2. The ‘990 patent does not disclose the metal hydroxide being aluminum hydroxide, the composition comprising a complex where AOM is bound to ATH, or at least 80 wt.% or 98 wt% of the ammonium octamolybdate in the complex being present in an orthorhombic crystalline form.
However, Fung teaches that the inert core of closely related composition can have a core-shell structure ([0010]), a complex where the shell is bound to the core, and that the core can be not only talc, as used in the ‘990 patent, but also aluminum trihydroxide ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, form the metal hydroxide and AOM composition of the ‘990 patent as core-shell complex using ATH in place of talc, as taught by Fung. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because claim 8 of the ‘990 patent teaches that ATH makes a good additive to compositions containing the complexes, claim 3 of the patent recites a surface-coating like that used by Fung, and because Fung teaches that ATH is an alternative to talc as the core of such complexes.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Therefore, the claimed instantly ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values in the ‘990 patent.
Regarding the limitation that the at least 80 wt.% of the ammonium octamolybdate in the complex being present in an orthorhombic crystalline form, while the ‘990 patent is silent on the crystal system of the AOM, it does require that the particles of AOM have a substantially rod-shaped morphology. The ‘990 patent and related prior art, such as US 2011/0031454 A1, provide evidence that such rod-like AOM is produced under conditions largely identical to those instantly claimed (from ammonium dimolybdate and MoO3 slurry at 88°C followed by drying) and thus are expected to have the same crystal form as instantly claimed.
Regarding instant claim 4, the limitation that the metal hydroxide comprises precipitated ATH, as opposed to the ATH prepared by any method required by claim 1, is considered a product-by-process limitation. It is noted that the courts have held that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2113(I).
Therefore, because the product of instant claim 1 is obvious over the ‘990 patent, the limitations of claim 4 can also be considered obvious.
It is also noted that the courts have held that "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 803, 218 USPQ 289, 292-33 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding instant claim 7, the claims of the ‘990 patent and Fung are both silent on the level of gallium impurity in their compositions. However, the mere purity of a product by itself does not render the product nonobvious.
In this case, while Applicant has noted an unexpected result concerning the preparation of the AOM/ATH complexes, which they relate to the level of gallium in the ATH (p. 21, lines 16-18), there is no material difference noted between the formed AOM/ATH complexes of claim 1 that contain levels of gallium above 25 ppm versus those with gallium levels below 25 ppm. The instantly claimed compositions with an amount of gallium below 25 ppm by weight are therefore considered to have the same utility as the compositions of claim 1 with unknown gallium content, and are therefore an obvious variation of the compositions in the ‘990 patent. In re Cofer, 354 F.2d 664, 148 USPQ 268. MPEP 2144.04(VII).
Regarding instant claims 8 and 10, while the claims of the ‘990 patent are silent on the properties recited in the instant claims, Fung teaches particles used to form core have sizes between 0.01 and 50 μm ([0010]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed size of from 0.5 to 10 μm, and that the particles are spherical ([0014]). Although Fung specifically references the size and shape of the filler particle, because the molybdenum compound is added at only 5% the mass of the inorganic filler it is not expected to significantly change the size or shape of the resultant core-shell complex.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.01.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the AOM/hydroxide complexes described by modified claim 1 of the ‘990 patent, where the particle size is from 0.01 to 50 μm, including in the portion of the range that overlaps with that instantly claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fung teaches that particles of this size and shape make compositions with excellent processability ([0002]).
Regarding instant claims 11-13, claims 6 and 7 of the ‘990 patent recites incorporating the AOM/ATH complexes into a polymer composition and where that polymer is PVC, while Fung teaches that their closely related complexes can be incorporated into an epoxy resin ([0053]), thereby meeting the limitations of claims 11-13.
Regarding instant claim 14, while the ‘990 patent claims are silent on the polymer to ATM/AOM ratio, Fung teaches that the amount of the ammonium molybdate/metal hydride complex in a polymer composition is 20 wt% to 80 wt% of the resin mixture ([0015]), which falls in the instantly claimed range of 1 phr to 50 phr (phr, parts by weight per hundred parts of resin, is equivalent to wt% relative to the resin).
Regarding instant claim 15, while the ‘990 patent claims are silent on the presence of the additives recited in the instant claim, Fung teaches the composition that their related polymer composition further comprise a curing agent (phenol-type resin curing agent; [0053]).
Regarding instant claim 16, while the ‘990 patent claims are silent on using the composition to make an article of manufacture, it would have been obvious to use the polymers disclosed in claims 6-8 to manufacture some article containing PVC plastic that produces less smoke.
Regarding instant claims 23-24 and 26, claim 1 of the ‘990 patent teaches an ammonium octamolybdate/metal hydroxide mixture composition: ammonium octamolybdate (AOM); and a metal hydroxide (talc); wherein the complex comprises from about 20 to about 80 wt. % of the AOM, a range which lies inside that recited in instant claim 23 and overlaps with that recited in instant claim 24. The ‘990 patent does not disclose the metal hydroxide being aluminum hydroxide, the composition comprising a complex where AOM is bound to ATH, or at least 80 wt.% or 98 wt% of the ammonium octamolybdate in the complex being present in an orthorhombic crystalline form. Nor do the claims of the ‘990 patent recite the particle size or BET surface area associated with the instant claims.
However, Fung teaches that the inert core of closely related composition can have a core-shell structure ([0010]), a complex where the shell is bound to the core, that the core can be not only talc, as used in the ‘990 patent, but also aluminum trihydroxide ([0014]), as required by the instant claim, and that the average particle size can be from 0.01 to 50 μm ([0010]), which overlaps with the limitation of the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, form the metal hydroxide and AOM composition of the ‘990 patent as core-shell complex using ATH in place of talc, as taught by Fung. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because claim 8 of the ‘990 patent teaches that ATH makes a good additive to compositions containing the complexes, claim 3 of the patent recites a surface-coating like that used by Fung, and because Fung teaches that ATH is an alternative to talc as the core of such complexes.
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Therefore, the claimed instantly ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values in the ‘990 patent.
Regarding the limitation that the at least 80 wt.% of the ammonium octamolybdate in the complex being present in an orthorhombic crystalline form, or 98 wt% be in said form, as required by claim 26, while the ‘990 patent is silent on the crystal system of the AOM, it does require that the particles of AOM have a substantially rod-shaped morphology. The ‘990 patent and related prior art, such as US 2011/0031454 A1, provide evidence that such rod-like AOM is produced under conditions largely identical to those instantly claimed (from ammonium dimolybdate and MoO3 slurry at 88°C followed by drying) and thus are expected to have the same crystal form at the same levels as instantly claimed, and with substantially similar surface areas that lie in the instantly claimed range, as further evidenced by the PG Pub of the ‘990 patent (US 2011/0031454 ([0027] and Table 1).
Regarding instant claim 25, claims of the ‘990 patent in view of Fung render the complex of claim 23 obvious, but each are silent on the content of soluble Na2O and the TAPPI brightness of the obtained products.
However, the courts have held that the mere purity of a product by itself does not render a product non-obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VII). Therefore, a product with a soluble Na2O content of from 0.001 wt% to 0.035 wt% is considered an obvious variation of the product suggested by the ‘990 patent in view of Fung.
Regarding instant claim 27, the claims of the ‘990 patent further recite incorporating complexes into polymers (claims 9-11), rendering the polymer of claim 27 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, pages 6-10 of the reply filed 11 June 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 103 of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, and 10-16 over Fung in view of Ho have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues in section A that the combination of Fung and Ho do not teach the same reaction conditions as the instant invention and that therefore the material achieved by the method of Fung and Ho will not be at least 80% orthorhombic. Applicant points to the fact that Ho’s reaction proceeds for only 3 hours at 88 °C while the instant invention proceeds for 8 hours at these temperatures. While the extent of the reaction may be greater in a reaction that proceeds for 8 hours, there is no evidence or suggestion in the prior art or in the instant disclosure that when this reaction proceeds for only 3-5 hours, as suggested by Ho ([0020] and [0037]) it would produce a product that is morphologically distinct from the instant invention. Furthermore, the time that a reaction is allowed to proceed is a variable that is routinely optimized in the art, as it is well known that reaction progress depends upon the time of reaction. The shorter reaction time alone therefore is not persuasive in rebutting the conclusion of inherency.
Applicant’s second argument is that the ATH core is not inert like the talc, silica, and clay cores ([0026]) taught by Ho. However, Fung teaches cores of both aluminum hydroxide and talc ([0014]), and Ho is used only to teach the details of introducing the AOM shell around the ATH core. The fact that ATH may behave differently under smoke-suppressing conditions is not relevant to the combination taught by Fung and Ho for their preparation.
Applicant further argues that Fung and Ho do not teach Applicant’s particular type of ATH, and that there is no suggestion within Fung or Ho that the type of ATH effects the formation of the AOM/ATH complex. However, as noted in the Advisory Action mailed 21 April 2026, Applicant has not demonstrated that any reaction that is successful at forming an AOM shell around an ATH core using conditions similar to the instant invention (or those suggested by the combination of Fung and Ho) forms anything other than orthorhombic AOM, regardless of the type of ATH used. Furthermore, Applicant has not demonstrated that the specific source of aluminum hydroxide suggested by Ho (Showa Denko, Product Code H42M; [0069]) would be unsuccessful at forming the product of claim 1.
The fact that Fung suggests forming an AOM shell around an ATH core and that Ho is successful at forming rod-like AOM under conditions substantially similar to those used in the instant invention is enough to conclude that any AOM formed by the method suggested by Fung and Ho would yield orthorhombic AOM at the levels required by the instant claims. Applicant has not provided any evidence to the contrary and arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). MPEP 716.01(c)(II).
Applicant argues on page 10-11 against the obviousness-type double patenting rejections based upon the same arguments presented against the prior art rejection of claim 1. For the same reasons as above, these arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735