DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendment filed February 09, 2026.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks filed 10/10/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants remarks that reference Velusamy fails to disclose receiving a list of devices from the calling device, the list of devices proximate to the calling device whose location is unknown, recited in claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As recited and as best understood, device 109 (fig. 1) is a calling device, the device 109 having received and stored a list of calling devices, that are proximate to the calling device and transmitted (made available) to the one or more user devices, e.g., mobile device 101b (fig. 1). That is, Velusamy discloses, the recited limitation, receiving a list of devices from the calling device of those proximate to the calling device whose location is unknow. Regarding claim 6, Velusamy discloses calling device, device 109, fig. 1, sending a list of devices proximate to the calling device to PSAP answering point, wherein the public safety answering point identifies a device within the list of devices that is associated with a user that has volunteered to provide local assistance (users who may be willing to participate in this service are trained medical personnel, police officers, fire fighters, volunteers, etc. With this emergency notification service, an off-duty officer, for example, may be able to reach the person in distress much more rapidly than emergency responders because the officer is nearby) (paras. 0019, 0042, 0043). Applicant’s attempt to overcome the rejection is not persuasive the rejection has been maintained. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or page numbers and sections in the reference as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching of all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Velusamy et al (hereinafter Velusamy) (US 2011/051829).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Velusamy discloses a method (system) of providing local assistance to a caller comprising:
receiving, at a public safety answering point, a request for assistance from a caller whose location is unknown, the request for assistance received from a calling device (PSAP (107) receiving an emergency call (trigger retrieval of a user profile of the caller) for assistance … users who may be complete strangers) (paras. 0048, 0049);
receiving a list of devices proximate to the calling device from the calling device whose location is unknown (the platform 109 can retrieve a list of registered devices within a certain proximity of the mobile device 101a and compute the distances to these registered devices. The location information may be derived from GPS data and/or addressing information (e.g., street address) stored in database 119. The notification message is then transmitted to the one or more registered user devices, e.g., mobile device 101b) (paras. 0043, 0044);
identifying when a device in the list of devices proximate to the calling device has been registered as belonging to a person willing to provide local assistance (if the caller has not specified a list of registered devices, the platform 109 identifies all users within the proximity threshold. ….. if a list of registered user devices is associated with the caller, then the platform 109 determines the distances from the location of the caller to each of the registered user devices, per step 405) (paras. 0049, 0050); and
sending a request to the identified device to provide local assistance to the caller whose location is unknown (emergency notification 109, fig. 1., sends the notification message to one or more of the registered user devices … e.g., such people may include a neighbor, a family member, a friend, or even a stranger, may be able to help even before the emergency responders arrive, ….. according to certain embodiments, disseminates an alert about the caller to users within a predetermined proximity so they can attempt to help the caller.) (paras. 0015, 0050). Further discloses a processor (203) and a memory (205) coupled to the processor (para. 0033; fig. 2A).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, Velusamy discloses sending an indication to the calling device associated with the caller whose location is unknown to download a helper application, wherein the helper application collects the list of devices proximate to the calling device via a wireless connection (platform 109 may provide a user interface, e.g., web portal or other networked application, to permit user to access the features and functionality of platform 109 via devices 101a-101e) (para. 0034); and
receiving, at the public safety answering point, from the helper application, the list of devices proximate to the calling device (the platform 109 can retrieve a list of registered devices within a certain proximity of the mobile device 101a and compute the distances to these registered devices. The location information may be derived from GPS data and/or addressing information (e.g., street address) stored in database 119. The notification message is then transmitted to the one or more registered user devices, e.g., mobile device 101b) (paras. 0038, 0043, 0044).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, Velusamy discloses receiving, at the public safety answering point, the list of devices proximate to the calling device from an application integrated with the calling device (Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) 107 operates in conjunction with an emergency notification platform 109 to provide a notification capability. The platform 109 can determine which devices are within a predetermined proximity to a calling device, and issue an alert to these devices. A database 111 is maintained store information about which devices are participating in the emergency notification service, the platform 109 can retrieve a list of registered devices within a certain proximity of the mobile device 101a) (para. 0019, 0043, 0044).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, Velusamy discloses wherein the list of devices proximate to the calling device further comprises a list of Bluetooth identifiers, wherein identifying when a device in the list of devices proximate to the calling device has been registered as belonging to a person willing to provide local assistance (if the caller has not specified a list of registered devices, the platform 109 identifies all users within the proximity threshold. ….. if a list of registered user devices is associated with the caller, then the platform 109 determines the distances from the location of the caller to each of the registered user devices) (paras. 0049, 0050) further comprises:
determining if the Bluetooth identifier (alert) is included in a list of people registered as willing to provide local assistance, wherein registration includes providing the Bluetooth identifier of the device (if the caller has not specified a list of registered devices, the platform 109 identifies all users within the proximity threshold. ….. if a list of registered user devices is associated with the caller, then the platform 109 determines the distances from the location of the caller to each of the registered user devices, the wireless network 103 includes an anchoring service that can identify the location of the caller and, based on that information, locate a local 911 operator to handle the call. After communicating with the platform 109, can directly broadcast a help request to the neighboring devices in the vicinity. In certain embodiments, an alert can be forwarded to a user device via BLUETOOTH or WIFI. ) (paras. 0026, 0031, 0049, 0050)
Regarding claims 5, 15, Velusamy discloses determining that there is no device in the list of devices proximate to the calling device that has been registered as belonging to a person willing to provide local assistance (the switch can communicate with the emergency notification platform 109 to recognize the caller, and to look up the possible recipients, who may be in the vicinity of the caller, of an emergency notification message, …. the alert can be sent to one or more registered devices of the recipient, as well as multiple recipients) (para. 0030);
sending a request to the calling device to solicit contact information for devices proximate to the calling device (emergency notification 109, fig. 1., sends the notification message to one or more of the registered user devices … e.g., such people may include a neighbor, a family member, a friend, or even a stranger, may be able to help even before the emergency responders arrive) (para. 0015, 0050);
receiving contact information for devices proximate to the calling device (call received at the PSAP 107, allows retrieval of a user profile of the caller, providing a proximity threshold value determination) (para. 0049); and
contacting a device proximate to the calling device using the contact information to request a user of the contacted device to provide local assistance to the caller whose location is unknown (platform (109), fig. 1., sends the notification message to one or more of the registered user devices (step 409). In one embodiment, if no device satisfies the threshold, …… (109) may designate a default registered user device (i.e., closest one) to receive the notification transmission) (para. 0050).
Regarding claim 6, Velusamy discloses a method for requesting local assistance comprising:
calling, with a calling device whose location cannot be determined, a public safety answering point to request local assistance (identification and location of the calling party to be determined in order to provide a service, Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) (element 107) operates in conjunction with an emergency notification platform 109 to provide a notification capability) (paras. 0014, 0019);
identifying devices proximate to the calling device and adding the devices to a list of devices proximate to the calling device (if the caller has not specified a list of registered devices, the platform (device109) identifies all users within the proximity threshold. ….. if a list of registered user devices is associated with the caller, then the platform 109 determines the distances from the location of the caller to each of the registered user devices. For mobile devices, identifying the nearest PSAP for the caller can be enhanced by including (adding) geographical or spatial information (for determining local information) in the telephone call set-up as well) (paras. 0017, 0049, 0050); and
sending, from the calling device (device 109, fig. 1), the list of devices proximate to the calling device to the public safety answering point (PSAP), wherein the public safety answering point identifies a device within the list of devices that is associated with a user that has volunteered to provide local assistance (users who may be willing to participate in this service are trained medical personnel, police officers, fire fighters, volunteers, etc. With this emergency notification service, an off-duty officer, for example, may be able to reach the person in distress much more rapidly than emergency responders because the officer is nearby) (paras. 0019, 0042, 0043).
Regarding claim 10, Velusamy discloses
receiving a request to collect contact information from the list of devices proximate to the calling device (Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) (107) operates in conjunction with an emergency notification platform (109) to provide a notification capability. The platform 109 can determine which devices are within a predetermined proximity to a calling device, and issue an alert to these devices. A database (111) is maintained store information about which devices are participating in the emergency notification service, the platform (109) can retrieve a list of registered devices within a certain proximity of the mobile device 101a) (para. 0019, 0043, 0044);
requesting contact information for each device within the list of devices proximate to the calling device (call received at the PSAP (107), allows retrieval of a user profile of the caller, providing a proximity threshold value determination) (para. 0049); and
sending the contact information for each device within the list of devices proximate to the calling device to the public safety answering point (if the caller has not specified a list of registered devices, the platform (109) identifies all users within the proximity threshold. ….. if a list of registered user devices is associated with the caller, then the platform 109 determines the distances from the location of the caller to each of the registered user devices) (paras. 0049, 0050).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.