Response After Non-Final
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/4/2026.
Claims 1-23 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-23 are rejected.
Claims 1-2 and 4-23 are currently amended.
Claim 3 is canceled.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed March 4, 2026 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Claim objections and 112b rejection have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to teach amended Claim 1.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees the claim objections raised in the most recent office action have been addressed and therefore they are hereby withdrawn. The examiner disagrees that all of the 112b rejection has been addressed and has maintained 112b rejection of the remaining indefinite claim language. Additionally, the new claim language has raised a 112a issue and the 112 rejection is detailed below.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because Noma teaches the claimed structure and function recited in amended Claim 1. First, the prior art of record teaches the claimed structure. Second, the prior art of record teaches the concept of energy balance and switch control at zero voltage in Figure 4. Lastly, the prior art’s silence on unclaimed concepts and claim language is not evidence that it teaches away from the claimed limitations.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first
paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In Claim 1, the specification fails to provide an enabling description for a “the at least one piezoelectric element is a piezoelectric dipole distinct from a piezoelectric transformer;....” The specification discloses an electrical transformer with primary and secondary windings and a piezoelectric assembly comprising a piezoelectric element. The specification does not disclose a piezoelectric elements that is a piezoelectric dipole distinct from a piezoelectric transformer. The examiner assumes that the aforementioned claimed elements are not the same as disclosed elements because they are not defined as such in the specification, and are therefore, new.
Dependent claims 2-23 inherit the deficiencies of dependent claim 1, and are
therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite
for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
In Claim 1 and 5, it is unclear whether “substantially” refers to a fourth, a third, half, more than half, entirely, or some other quantity. The specification does not provide some standard for measuring “substantially.” One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the prior art and the status of the art, would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of “substantially” from the drawings alone. The specification does not provide a standard for measuring “substantially” rendering the term indefinite. Therefore, the examiner has understood the term “substantially” to designate entirely.
Dependent claims 2-23 inherit the deficiencies of dependent claim 1, and are
therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-16, and 22-23 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as
being anticipated by Noma et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6013969; hereinafter “Noma”).
Regarding claim 1, Noma discloses an electronic electrical energy conversion system adapted for converting one or a plurality of input voltages into one or a plurality of output voltages, the electronic electrical energy conversion system comprising: an electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) configured (Fig. 15) for delivering (Fig. 15) N separate output voltage(s) (Fig. 15, 101’s output voltage(s)) from E distinct input voltage(s) (Fig. 15, 101’s input voltage(s)), where E (Fig. 15, 101’s input voltage(s)) and N (Fig. 15, 101’s output voltage(s)) are each an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 15), the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) comprising: E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62), each associated (Fig. 15) with a respective input voltage (Fig. 15, input voltages associated with 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) of the one or the plurality of input voltages and including at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62), each first switch (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) of the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) being connected (Fig. 15) to an application terminal (Fig. 15, application terminal of switches receiving input voltages) of the respective input voltage (Fig. 15, voltages input into 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62); N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), each associated (Fig. 15) with a respective output voltage (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62 output voltages) of the one or the plurality of output voltage (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62 output voltages) and including (Fig. 15) at least two second switches (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), each second switch (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) of the at least two second switches (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) being connected (Fig. 15) to a terminal (Fig. 15, terminals connected to switches for supplying output voltages) for supplying (Fig. 15) the respective output voltage (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62 output voltages); and at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), each one of at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) being connected (Fig. 15) to one of the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the at least two second switches (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), and including (Fig. 15) at least one piezoelectric element (Fig. 15, 62), wherein the at least one piezoelectric element (Fig. 15, 62) is a piezoelectric dipole (Fig. 15, 62) distinct (Fig. 15, 62) from a piezoelectric transformer (Fig. 15, transformer structure utilizing 62 but distinct from 62); an electronic control device (Fig. 15, 64) for the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101), the electronic control device (Fig. 15, 64) being configured (Fig. 10; [Column 6, lines 33-35]) for controlling (Fig. 15; [Column 6, lines 33-35]), during (Fig. 15) a respective resonance cycle (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination resonance cycle) of the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), a switching (Fig. 15, switching of 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62) of the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the at least two second switches (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) so as to alternate phases (Fig. 15, inverter 101’s alternating phases) of substantially constant voltage (Fig. 15, voltage of inverter 101’s alternating phases) across (Fig. 15) the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) and phases (Fig. 15, phases of 68 across 62) of substantially constant load (Fig. 15, 68) across the one or a plurality of piezoelectric assemblies (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), wherein a phase (Figs. 4/15) of substantially constant voltage (Figs. 4/15) refers to a voltage variation of less than 20% (Figs. 4/15) of the input or output voltage (Figs. 4/15) of the electrical energy converter (Figs. 4/15), wherein a phase (Figs. 4/15) of substantially constant charge (Figs. 4/15) refers to an exchange (Figs. 4/15) of a charge (Figs. 4/15) with the outside which is less than 10% (Figs. 4/15) of the charge that would have been exchanged (Figs. 4/15) with the outside (Figs. 4/15) if the voltage (Figs. 4/15) would have been kept constant (Figs. 4/15), wherein each of the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) gives back energy (Figs. 4/15) and charge (Figs. 4/15) over a period substantially (Figs. 4/15) as much as it receives (Figs. 4/15) over the resonance cycle (Figs. 4/15) of the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), wherein the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) further comprises (Fig. 15) an electrical transformer (Fig. 15, 103a-b) including (Fig. 15) at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) being connected (Fig. 15) to the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62), the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b) being connected (Fig. 15) to the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), and the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) being connected between (Fig. 15) the one of the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the one of the at least two second switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), and wherein each of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b) has between the ends thereof (Fig. 15, 103a-b ends thereof), a voltage (Figs. 4/15) of substantially zero mean value (Fig. 15, Zero mean value voltage of 103a-b over a respective resonance cycle of 103a-b) over the respective resonance cycle (Figs. 4/15) of the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), the electronic control device (Fig. 15, 64) then being configured (Figs. 4/15) for controlling (Figs. 4/15) the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the at least two second switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) so as to obtain (Figs. 4/15) the voltage (Figs. 4/15) of substantially zero mean (Fig. 15, Zero mean value voltage of 103a-b over a respective resonance cycle of 103a-b).
Regarding claim 2, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) is connected between (Fig. 15) the one of the at least two first switches (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) or between the one of the at least two second switches (Fig. 9, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b).
Regarding claim 5, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) comprises only one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) connected to one of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), and another of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b) has between (Fig. 15) the ends (Fig. 15, ends of 103a-b) of the other of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), a substantially zero average voltage (Fig. 15, Zero average voltage of 103a-b over a respective resonance cycle of 103a-b) over (Fig. 15) the respective resonance cycle (Fig. 15, respective resonance cycle of 103a-b) of the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination).
Regarding claim 6, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) comprises (Fig. 15) a first switching bridge (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) including (Fig. 15) at least one first switching branch (Fig. 15, 74 or lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62), each one of the at least one first switching branch (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) being connected between (Fig. 15) two terminals (Fig. 15, terminal of 74 and terminal of lower switch connected to 103a that switches 74 and lower switch connected to 103a are being connected between) for applying (Fig. 15) the respective input voltage (Fig. 15, respective input voltages of 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and including (Fig. 15) the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) connected (Fig. 15) in series (Fig. 15) and connected (Fig. 15) to each other (Fig. 15) at a first mid-point (Fig. 15, point connecting 74/103a/lower switch/66 ).
Regarding claim 7, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 6, wherein each one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) comprises (Fig. 15) a respective first switching bridge (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62).
Regarding claim 8, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 6, wherein the at least one the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) includes two first switching branches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62).
Regarding claim 9, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 8, wherein each one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) includes two first switching branches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62).
Regarding claim 10, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 6, wherein the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) is connected between (Fig. 15) the first midpoint (Fig. 15, point connecting 74/103a/lower switch/66 ) and a respective one of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a).
Regarding claim 11, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) comprises (Fig. 15) a second switching bridge (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) including at least one second switching branch (Fig. 15, 75 or lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), each one of at least one second switching branch (Fig. 15, 75 or lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) being connected between (Fig. 15) two terminals (Fig. 15, terminal of 74 and terminal of lower switch connected to 103a that switches 74 and lower switch connected to 103a are being connected between) for supplying (Fig. 15) the respective output voltage (Fig. 15, respective output voltages of 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and including (Fig. 15) the at least two first switches (Fig. 15, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) connected (Fig. 15) in series (Fig. 15) and connected (Fig. 15) together (Fig. 15) at a second mid-point (Fig. 15, point connecting 75/103b/lower switch/66 ).
Regarding claim 12, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 11, wherein each one of the at least one N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) comprises (Fig. 15) a respective second switching bridge (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62).
Regarding claim 13, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 11, wherein the at least one of the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) includes (Fig. 15) two second switching branches (Fig. 15, 75 and lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62).
Regarding claim 14, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 13, wherein one of the at least one N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) includes (Fig. 15) two second switching branches (Fig. 15, 75 and lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62).
Regarding claim 15, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 11, wherein the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) is connected between the second midpoint (Fig. 15, point connecting 75/103b/lower switch/66) and a respective one of the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b).
Regarding claim 16, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein one of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), between the ends (Fig. 15, 103a-b ends) of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), at least one intermediate point (Fig. 15, point connecting 74-75/103a-b) connected (Fig. 15) to a respective one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62) or to a respective one of the application terminal (Fig. 15, respective terminal connected to point connecting 74-75/103a-b) for applying (Fig. 15) the respective input voltage (Fig. 15, input voltage of 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62) or a respective one of the terminal for supplying (Fig. 15) the respective output (Fig. 15, output voltage of 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62).
Regarding claim 22, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the electrical transformer (Fig. 15, 103a-b) is an air transformer or a magnetic transformer (Fig. 15, 103a-b), the magnetic transformer (Fig. 15, 103a-b) further including a magnetic core (Fig. 15, core of 103a-b), the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b) then being arranged (Fig. 15, 103a-b) around (Fig. 15) the magnetic core (Fig. 15, core of 103a-b).
Regarding claim 23, Noma discloses the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 22, wherein the electrical transformer (Fig. 15, 103a-b) is an autotransformer (Fig. 15, 103a-b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Noma in view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2008/0067949; hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 4, Noma teaches the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) comprises a piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), and each of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b) is connected (Fig. 15) to at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination).
Noma does not teach a plurality of piezoelectric assemblies.
Cheng, however, does teach a plurality of piezoelectric assemblies (Fig. 3, PZT1-4).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Noma to include the additional piezoelectric(s) of Cheng because it would provide balanced currents with the same resonant frequency to simultaneously drive multiple devices thereby improving stability, steady operation, and display quality (Cheng []0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Noma teaches the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) comprises (Fig. 15) a piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) connected (Fig. 15) to a same one of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), and in addition (Fig. 15) a supplementary switch (Fig. 15, 81) connected (Fig. 15) between ends (Fig. 15, ends of 62/66-67 in combination) of the piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), the ends (Fig. 15, ends of 62/66-67 in combination) connected (Fig. 15) to each other (Fig. 15, ends of 62/66-67 in combination) via (Fig. 15) the supplementary switch (Fig. 15, 81), being connected (Fig. 15) to a same one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62). Noma does not teach a pair of piezoelectric assemblies.
Cheng, however, does teach a pair of piezoelectric assemblies (Fig. 3, PZT1-2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Noma to include the additional piezoelectric(s) of Cheng because it would provide balanced currents with the same resonant frequency to simultaneously drive multiple devices thereby improving stability, steady operation, and display quality (Cheng []0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Noma teaches the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 1, wherein the electrical energy converter (Fig. 15, 101) comprises a piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) of the at least one piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) connected (Fig. 15) to a same one of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b), and in addition (Fig. 15) a switching-aid circuit (Fig. 15, 65) connected between (Fig. 15) ends (Fig. 15, ends of 62/66-67 in combination) of the piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination), the ends (Fig. 15, ends of 62/66-67 in combination) connected (Fig. 15) to each other (Fig. 15, ends of 62/66-67 in combination) via (Fig. 15) the switching-aid circuit (Fig. 15, 65), being connected (Fig. 15) to a same one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), the switching-aid circuit (Fig. 15, 65) being configured (Fig. 15), via (Fig. 15) a flow (Fig. 15, flow of current previously received) of a previously received current (Fig. 15, current previously received), for discharging (Fig. 15) a parasitic capacitance (Fig. 15, parasitic capacitance of 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62) of at least one switch (Fig. 15, 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62) of the same one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62), and respectively charge (Fig. 15) at least one parasitic capacitance (Fig. 15, parasitic capacitance of 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62) of another switch (Fig. 15, 74-75/lower switches connected to 103a-b and 66/62) of the same one of the E first switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 9, 74/lower switch connected to 103a and 66/62) and the N second switching assembly or assemblies (Fig. 15, 75/lower switch connected to 103b and 66/62). Noma does not teach a pair of piezoelectric assemblies.
Cheng, however, does teach a pair of piezoelectric assemblies (Fig. 3, PZT1-2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Noma to include the additional piezoelectric(s) of Cheng because it would provide balanced currents with the same resonant frequency to simultaneously drive multiple devices thereby improving stability, steady operation, and display quality (Cheng []0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Noma as modified teaches the electronic electrical energy conversion system of claim 18, wherein the switching-aid circuit (Fig. 15, 65) includes an element (Fig. 15, 65) selected from a group (Fig. 15, 65) consisting (Fig. 15) of: an inductor (Fig. 15, first inductor in VCO 83); a first assembly (Fig. 15, assembly in 83 consisting of inductor-diode in series connection) consisting of (Fig. 15) an inductor (Fig. 15, inductor in series with diode in VCO 83) and a diode (Fig. 15, inductor in series with diode in VCO 83) connected (Fig. 15) in series (Fig. 15, 83); a second assembly (Fig. 15, assembly in 83 consisting of inductor-capacitor in series connection) consisting (Fig. 15) of an inductor (Fig. 15, inductor in series with capacitor in VCO 83) and a capacitor (Fig. 15, capacitor in series with inductor in VCO 83) connected (Fig. 15) in series (Fig. 15). Noma does not teach an additional piezoelectric element.
Cheng, however, does teach an additional piezoelectric element (Fig. 3, PZT3).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Noma to include the additional piezoelectric(s) of Cheng because it would provide balanced currents with the same resonant frequency to simultaneously drive multiple devices thereby improving stability, steady operation, and display quality (Cheng []0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Noma as modified teaches the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 19, wherein the switching-aid circuit (Fig. 15, 65) consists (Fig. 15) of one element (Fig. 15, 65) chosen from the group (Fig. 15, 65) consisting (Fig. 15) of: an inductor (Fig. 15, first inductor in VCO 83); a first assembly (Fig. 15, assembly in 83 consisting of inductor-diode in series connection) consisting of (Fig. 15) an inductor (Fig. 15, inductor in series with diode in VCO 83) and a diode (Fig. 15, inductor in series with diode in VCO 83) connected (Fig. 15) in series (Fig. 15, 83); a second assembly (Fig. 15, assembly in 83 consisting of inductor-capacitor in series connection) consisting (Fig. 15) of an inductor (Fig. 15, inductor in series with capacitor in VCO 83) and a capacitor (Fig. 15, capacitor in series with inductor in VCO 83) connected (Fig. 15) in series (Fig. 15) . Noma does not teach an additional piezoelectric element.
Cheng, however, does teach an additional piezoelectric element (Fig. 3, PZT3).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Noma to include the additional piezoelectric(s) of Cheng because it would provide balanced currents with the same resonant frequency to simultaneously drive multiple devices thereby improving stability, steady operation, and display quality (Cheng []0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 21, Noma as modified teaches the electronic electrical energy conversion system according to claim 19, wherein the inductor (Fig. 15, first inductor in VCO 83) comprises (Fig. 15) a parasitic inductor (Fig. 15, first inductor in VCO 83) of the at least one primary winding (Fig. 15, 103a) and the at least one secondary winding (Fig. 15, 103b) to which the piezoelectric assembly (Fig. 15, 62/66-67 in combination) is connected (Fig. 15). Noma does not teach a pair of piezoelectric assemblies.
Cheng, however, does teach a pair of piezoelectric assemblies (Fig. 3, PZT1-2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Noma to include the additional piezoelectric(s) of Cheng because it would provide balanced currents with the same resonant frequency to simultaneously drive multiple devices thereby improving stability, steady operation, and display quality (Cheng []0002]-[0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
8 May 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837