DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a new Non-Final Rejection which is presented below.
The pending claims are claims 1, 3, 4, 7-15, 17-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7-15, 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maguire et al., US 2024/0079711, in view of Maguire, US 2024/0075799.
Regarding claim 1, Maguire et al.,’711, teaches a traction battery assembly (abstract; 0004), comprising:
a winged spacer assembly (divider fins) (abstract; 0004) having a primary section (first compartment) (0019) extending in a first direction (first battery cell) (0004), and at least one wing section (fins 34) (0004; 0007-0020) extending from the primary section in a second direction that is transverse to the first direction (0009; 0060-0061); a plurality of cell stacks (abstract; 0004; 0019), the plurality of cell stacks (0019; 0039) including a first cell stack (abstract; 0019) and a second cell stack (abstract; 0019), the first cell stack having a plurality of battery cells (abstract; 0004) distributed along a first stack axis (0046; 0055), the second cell stack having a plurality of battery cells (0004) distributed along a second stack axis (0046; 0055), the first cell stack spaced from the second cell stack (0019; 0039), the first stack axis spaced a distance from the second stack axis (0046; 0055; 0067), wherein the primary section of the winged spacer assembly (fins 34) includes a first portion extending in the first direction between battery cells of the first cell stack that are axially adjacent to each other along the first stack axis (Fig. 4-5) (cell stack 22), the primary section of the winged spacer (fins 34) assembly including a second portion extending in the first direction between battery cells (cells 32) of the second cell stack (stack 22) that are axially adjacent to each other along the second stack axis (0046; 0055; 0067), the at least one wing section (fins 34) extending in the second direction between the first cell stack and the second cell stack (Fig. 4-8).
Maguire et al., US ‘711, does not teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section extending inbetween them.
Maguire, US ‘799, teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section (dividers 52) extending inbetween them (Fig. 2) (30-battery cell stacks; 50-battery cells; 52-dividers) (0036).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Maguire, US ‘799, into the teachings of Maguire et al., US ‘711, because Maguire, US ‘799, teaches:
“Each of the cell stacks 30 includes a plurality of battery cells 50 (or simply “cells”) and at least one divider 52 distributed along a respective cell stack axis A. The battery cells 50 are stacked side-by-side relative to each along the cell stack axis A. The battery cells 50 store and supply electrical power. Although a specific number of the cell stacks 30 and cells 50 are illustrated in the various figures of this disclosure, the battery pack 14 could include any number of the cell stacks 30 each having any number of individual cells 50.” (0036).
Regarding claim 3, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the battery cells (0004; 0046-0048) each include opposing first and second long sides (Fig. 2, 9) and a plurality of short sides that each extend from the first long side to the second long side (Fig. 2, 9); the at least one wing section (fin 34) including a wing section (fin 34) extending between short sides of at least one battery cell (cells 32) in the first cell stack (stack 22; 0039) and at least one battery cell (0004) in the second cell stack (cell stack 22)(0019).
Regarding claim 4, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the first portion of the primary section (first compartment) (0019) of the winged spacer assembly (fins) (0004; 0007-0012) extends between the long sides of adjacent battery cells within the first cell stack (0043-0046), and additionally extends between the long sides of adjacent battery cells (0004) within the second cell stack (0004; 0007); the long sides of cells within first cell stack facing along the stack axis of stack, the long sides of cells within the second stack facing along stack axis of the stack (0004; 0007).
Regarding claim 7, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the battery cells (cells 32) are lithium ion battery cells (0047).
Regarding claim 8, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the primary section and the one wing section (fins 34) of winged spacer assembly (0039; 0057) are both electrically insulative (0016-0017; 0068).
Regarding claim 9, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other (0060-0061).
Regarding claim 10, Maguire et al., teaches further comprising an adhesive (0013-0014; 0021-0022) that secures the winged spacer assembly to at a plurality of battery cells (0053; 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 11, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the primary section (first compartment) (0019) is configured to contact a long side of a battery cell (Fig. 2, 9), and the at least one wing section (fins 34) is configured to contact at least one short side (Fig. 2, 9) of the battery cell (cells 32).
Regarding claim 12, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the winged spacer assembly (fins 34) is configured to constrain movement of the battery cell (cells 32) in the first direction and in the second direction that is transverse to the first direction (0009; 0060-0061).
Regarding claim 13, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the winged spacer assembly (fins 34) is configured to constrain movement of the battery cell (cells 32) in a third direction that is opposite the first direction (Fig. 2, 9).
Regarding claim 14, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the first direction and the third direction are perpendicular to the second direction (0060-0061) (Fig. 2, 9).
Regarding claim 15, Maguire et al., teaches battery cell (cells 32) holding method (0048), comprising:
constraining movement (0048) of a first battery cell (cells 32) in a first direction (0048; 0056) using a primary section of a winged (fins 34) spacer assembly (first compartment) (0019), the first battery cell (0004) within a first cell stack (stacks 22), the first cell stack having a plurality of battery cells distributed along a first stack axis (0046; 0055; 0067);
constraining movement of the first battery cell (cells 32) in a second direction using at least one wing section (fins 34) of the winged spacer assembly (fins 34); and constraining movement of a second battery cell (holder) in the first direction (0048) using the primary section (first compartment) (0019) of the winged spacer assembly (fins 34), the second battery cell (0004) within a second cell stack (0045-0046), the second cell stack (0004; 0007) having a plurality of battery cells (0004; 0007) distributed along a second stack axis (0046; 0055; 0067), the at least one wing section (fins 34) of the winged spacer assembly (fins 34) disposed in a space between the first cell stack and the second cell stack (stacks 22; 0019; 0039).
Maguire et al., US ‘711, does not teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section extending inbetween them.
Maguire, US ‘799, teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section (dividers 52) extending inbetween them (Fig. 2) (30-battery cell stacks; 50-battery cells; 52-dividers) (0036).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Maguire, US ‘799, into the teachings of Maguire et al., US ‘711, because Maguire, US ‘799, teaches:
“Each of the cell stacks 30 includes a plurality of battery cells 50 (or simply “cells”) and at least one divider 52 distributed along a respective cell stack axis A. The battery cells 50 are stacked side-by-side relative to each along the cell stack axis A. The battery cells 50 store and supply electrical power. Although a specific number of the cell stacks 30 and cells 50 are illustrated in the various figures of this disclosure, the battery pack 14 could include any number of the cell stacks 30 each having any number of individual cells 50.” (0036).
Regarding claim 17, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the primary section (first compartment) (0019) is disposed adjacent a long side of the first battery cell (0004; 0007) and adjacent to a long side of the second battery cell (0004; 0007), wherein the wing section (fins 34) is disposed adjacent to a short side of the first battery cell (0004; 0007) and a short side of the second battery cell (0004; 0007).
Regarding claim 18, Maguire et al., teaches further comprising forming a cell matrix (abstract) having the first and second cell stack (cell stack 22) (0004; 0019) and, while constraining movement of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (0048; 0056) with the winged spacer assembly (fins 34), inserting the cell matrix into an enclosure halo (enclosure) (0004; 0045; 0051).
Regarding claim 19, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the at least one wing section (fins 34) directly contacts short sides of at least one battery cell (battery cell 32) in the first cell stack (cell stack 22) and at least one battery cell in the second cell stack (Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 20, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the at least one wing section (fin 34) includes another wing section (fin 34) extending between a short side (Fig. 4-5) of at least one battery cell (battery cell 32) in the second cell stack (cell stack 22) and an enclosure structure of an enclosure assembly (enclosure assembly 24) (abstract) that holds the first cell stack and the second cell stack (stacks 22).
Regarding claim 21, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the enclosure structure (enclosure assembly 24) (abstract) is an enclosure halo that circumferentially surrounds (0020; 0045) and compresses the first cell stack (stack 22) and the second cell stack (stack 22).
Regarding claim 22, Maguire et al., teaches a traction battery assembly (abstract; 0004), comprising:
a winged spacer assembly (fins 34) having a primary section extending in a first direction (Fig. 4-5), and at least one wing section (fin 34) extending perpendicularly from the primary section in a second direction (Fig. 4-13); and a plurality of cell stacks (stacks 22), the plurality of cell stacks (stacks 22) including a first cell stack and a second cell stack (stacks 22), the first cell stack having a plurality of battery cells (battery cells 32) distributed along a first stack axis (0046; 0055; 0067), the second cell stack (stack 22) having a plurality of battery cells (cells 32) distributed along a second stack axis (0046; 0055), the first cell stack axis spaced from the second cell stack axis (0046; 0055), wherein the primary section of the winged spacer assembly (fins 34) includes a first portion extending in the first direction between long sides of axially adjacent battery cells of the first cell stack (Fig. 4-13), and a second portion extending in the first direction between long sides of axially adjacent battery cells of the second cell stack (stack 22) (Fig. 4-13), wherein the at least one wing section (fins 34) extends in the second direction between short sides of at least one battery cell in the first cell stack (Fig. 4-5) and at least one battery cell (cells 32) in the second cell stack (stacks 22), the winged spacer assembly (fins 34) being electrically insulative (0016-0017; 0034; 0068).
Maguire et al., US ‘711, does not teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section extending inbetween them.
Maguire, US ‘799, teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section (dividers 52) extending inbetween them (Fig. 2) (30-battery cell stacks; 50-battery cells; 52-dividers) (0036).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Maguire, US ‘799, into the teachings of Maguire et al., US ‘711, because Maguire, US ‘799, teaches:
“Each of the cell stacks 30 includes a plurality of battery cells 50 (or simply “cells”) and at least one divider 52 distributed along a respective cell stack axis A. The battery cells 50 are stacked side-by-side relative to each along the cell stack axis A. The battery cells 50 store and supply electrical power. Although a specific number of the cell stacks 30 and cells 50 are illustrated in the various figures of this disclosure, the battery pack 14 could include any number of the cell stacks 30 each having any number of individual cells 50.” (0036).
Regarding claim 23, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the at least one wing section (fins 34) includes another wing section (fins 34) extending between a short side of at least one battery cell (battery cell 32) in the second cell stack (stack 22) and an enclosure structure (0004; 0012; 0019-0020) enclosure of an enclosure assembly that holds the first cell stack and the second cell stack (0039; 0045; 0051) (cell stacks 22).
Regarding claim 24, Maguire et al., teaches wherein the enclosure structure (0039; 0045; 0051) is an enclosure halo that circumferentially surrounds and compresses the first cell stack and the second cell stack (cell stacks 22) (0004; 0012; 0019-0020).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “No first portion of the divider fin in Maguire extends between a first cell stack and a second cell stack .”
However, Maguire teaches a fin (divider fin 34) that extends between the cell stacks (stack 22), as can be seen in Fig. 4.
Applicant argues that “As Maguire is interpreted in the rejection, the divider fin 34 extends through a single cell stack 22. No first portion of the divider fin in Maguire extends between a first cell stack and a second cell stack.”
However, the secondary reference, Maguire, US 2024/0075799, teach a division between a first cell stack and a second cell stack with a wing section (dividers 52) extending inbetween them (Fig. 2) (30-battery cell stacks; 50-battery cells; 52-dividers)..
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727