DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 4 August 2026. Claims 18-20 were previously cancelled. Claim 24 is newly added. Claims 1-17 and 21-24 remain pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pgs. 6-11, filed 4 August 2026 with respect to rejected claims 1-17 and 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant’s argument,
Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner's application of Hayzen's user- recommendation system for updating a database, if implemented "prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive," as recited in claims 1 and 21, into Hu's real-time parameter adjustment system would frustrate Hu's stated purpose and would be improper hindsight based on the instant application. Therefore, Applicant submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would have no reason to modify Hu's real-time system to introduce Hayzen's smartphone outputs for updating a database "prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive." (see Remarks, pg. 7, paragraph 4)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0379444 A1 (Hu) teaches:
During the acquiring of the results of the plurality of measurements, the analysis device compares, in block 203, results of the plurality of measurements with the one or more desired movement properties and communicates, also in block 203, with the drive over said at least one wireless communication link to adjust one or more drive parameters of the drive based on the comparing to achieve the one or more desired movement properties for the moving element. Actions pertaining to blocks 202, 203 may be carried out simultaneously so that after acquiring each measurement or a pre-defined set of measurements (e.g., one or more measurements using each sensor) according to block 202, the analysis device communicates with the drive to adjust one or more drive parameters according to block 203. In other words, the one or more drive parameters of the drive are adjusted in real-time or close to real-time (multiple consecutive measurements may be performed before analyzing) based on the plurality of measurements as the plurality of measurements are performed. In other embodiments, the communicating with the drive to adjust one or more drive parameters according to block 203 is carried out only when the analysis device detects that the drive parameters need adjusting based on results of one or more measurements. The measurements may be performed, results acquired and the drive parameters adjusted until the one or more desired movement properties for the moving element are achieved. The analysis device may be configured to determine itself how the drive parameters should be adjusted in order to meet one or more desired movement properties. If minimum and/or maximum values or functions are defined in the memory, the analysis device may seek to adjust the one or more drive parameters so as not exceed the allowed limits. (pg. 4, par. [0029])
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0124345 (Hayzen) teaches:
As indicated at box 126 these recommendations may be posted to the user, and the user may either accept or reject the recommendations as indicated at box 128. In addition to accepting or rejecting the recommendations manually, the user may set rules to determine whether the recommendations are accepted. For example, if the central analyzer 42 determines that the number of rollers in a bearing is incorrect and it is suggesting that the number be changed, a rule can specify that the number of bearing rollers may be changed automatically. However, a separate rule may provide that a suggestion as to a change in the speed of the machine may not be automatically updated, without manually-entered user approval. Once the rules and user input are received, the machine information may be updated into memory as indicated at box 130. (pg. 4, par. [0035])
Returning to box 118, the analyzer performs two operations in parallel after it calculates the measured machine values. In addition to evaluating machine information and measurement configurations, it performs the normal tasks of analyzing the data (measured machine values) for alerts as indicated at box 132. As indicated box 134, the analyzer also detects machine faults using various analysis rules or by using a software analysis assistant. The types of faults that may be detected depend upon the initial measurement configuration and include faults in bearings, motors, gears, pumps, fans, belts, lubrication, TSI and similar equipment components. Likewise, the analyzer 42 detects misalignment and unbalance. When faults are detected, they are posted to the user as indicated at box 136 and the user may act upon the faults as desired. Alternatively, rules may be utilized at box 136 to automatically issue commands depending on the type and severity of the fault. For example, in the case of a severe fault indicating imminent failure of the machine, a shutdown command could be issue. In the case of a severe but lesser fault, an automatic alert could be issued. The processes represented by boxes 132-136 represent an analysis cycle, and the processes represented by boxes 120-130 represent an improvement cycle. These two cycles occur in parallel, meaning that they are independent and neither will interfere with the other. In this embodiment both cycles run each time data is received from sensors on a machine, and thus they occur concurrently at the approximately the same time with neither cycle waiting on the other. In other embodiments either cycle could be delayed. For example, the improvement cycle may be delayed to allow the analysis cycle to complete as fast as possible and then the improvement cycle may be run immediately after the analysis cycle. In other embodiments, the improvement cycles for a group of machines could be further delayed to allow analysis cycles for the group of machines to run before the improvement cycles are allowed to run. (pg. 5, par. [0039])
As previously discussed, the rules set by the user as to whether recommendations are automatically accepted may be simple or complex. For example, the user could specify that all recommendations are automatically accepted. Alternatively, the user can specify that no recommendations are automatically accepted. A more complicated rule could provide that a recommendation is automatically accepted if its magnitude is within X percent of the magnitude of the original setting. Yet another setup rule could be that any recommendation based on statistical analysis of multiple machines is automatically accepted. These simple examples are intended to illustrate that many different types of rules may be used to determine whether a recommendation is automatically accepted. The default rule would be that no recommendation is accepted without user approval. (pg. 5, par. [0043])
The applicant's argument is against the references individually, wherein one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner maintains Hu’s teaching of adjustment of drive parameters in close to real-time (i.e. a delay between a measurement of data and adjustment) subsequent to an analysis in combination with Hayzen’s teaching of a user accepting or rejecting a recommendation after an analysis would not prevent/stop (i.e. “frustrate”) the performance of “close-real time” adjustment in Hu. The applicant’s argument is found unpersuasive.
Further, in response to the applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In regard to the applicant’s arguments,
Hu, Lawson and Hayzen do not teach or suggest these recitations for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1.
Orman does not overcome the deficiencies of Hu, Lawson and Hayzen, at least in that Orman also does not teach or suggest the above recitations of independent claim 1. Rather, the Examiner cites Orman in connection with additional recitations of dependent claims 4, 12 and 13. (See Final Office Action, pages 29-32). Claims 4, 12 and 13 depend from independent claim 1 and include additional recitations thereto. Thus, Hu, Lawson, Hayzen and Orman, whether alone or in combination, do not render dependent claims 4, 12 and 13 obvious for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1. (see Remarks, pg. 8, paragraphs 5-6)
Hu, Lawson and Hayzen do not teach or suggest these recitations for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1.
Shu does not overcome the deficiencies of Hu, Lawson and Hayzen, at least in that Shu also does not teach or suggest the above recitations of independent claim 1. Rather, the Examiner cites Shu in connection with additional recitations of dependent claims 5, 14 and 15. (See Final Office Action, pages 32-38). Claims 5, 14 and 15 depend from independent claim 1 and include additional recitations thereto. Thus, Hu, Lawson, Hayzen and Shu, whether alone or in combination, do not render dependent claims 5, 14 and 15 obvious for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraphs 1-2)
Hu, Lawson and Hayzen do not teach or suggest these recitations for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1.
Shu and Friedrich do not overcome the deficiencies of Hu, Lawson and Hayzen, at least in that Shu and Friedrich also do not teach or suggest the above recitations of independent claim 1. Rather, the Examiner cites Shu and Friedrich in connection with additional recitations of dependent claim 7. (See Final Office Action, pages 38-41). Claim 7 depends from independent claim 1 and includes additional recitations thereto. Thus, Hu, Lawson, Hayzen, Shu and Friedrich, whether alone or in combination, do not render dependent claim 7 obvious for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1. (see Remarks, pg. 9, paragraph 6-7)
Hu, Lawson and Hayzen do not teach or suggest these recitations for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1.
Orman and Shu do not overcome the deficiencies of Hu, Lawson and Hayzen, at least in that Orman and Shu also do not teach or suggest the above recitations of independent claim 1. Rather, the Examiner cites Orman and Shu in connection with additional recitations of dependent claim 16. (See Final Office Action, pages 41-43). Claim 16 depends from independent claim 1 and includes additional recitations thereto. Thus, Hu, Lawson, Hayzen Orman and Shu, whether alone or in combination, do not render dependent claim 16 obvious for at least the reasons stated above in connection with independent claim 1. (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraphs 3-4)
More specifically, for at least the reasons stated herein with respect to independent claims 1 and 21, none of the cited prior art, whether alone or in combination, disclose, teach or suggest "wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, at least one of the one or more smartphones outputs information Further, none of the cited prior art, whether alone or in combination, disclose, teach or suggest "output[ing] information on one or more commissioning functions that have not been performed or sufficiently performed." (see Remarks, pg. 10, paragraph 8)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner refers to the above response, pgs. 3-6, paragraph 4 of this Office action, and the argument herein as addressed.
Claims 1-17 and 21-24 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0379444 A1 (hereinafter Hu) in view U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0212420 A1 (hereinafter Lawson) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0124345 A1 (hereinafter Hayzen).
As per claim 1, Hu substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Hu teaches the limitations of a method for commissioning an electric motor drive application, wherein the electric motor drive application (i.e. an industrial system) comprises an electric motor drive (Fig. 1, element 101; i.e. drive) and an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0015] and pg. 2, par. [0017] and Fig. 1, element 103; i.e. a mechanical system of one or more motors, [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, and [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”), the method comprising:
collecting measured data at or near the electric motor drive application using a smartphone (pg. 2, par. [0018]-[0020] and Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. [0018]: “The wireless sensing device may be a dedicated wireless sensor device (i.e., a device primarily intended for sensing potentially having relatively limited memory and/or processing power) or a multi-purpose wireless computing device, which comprises one or more sensors, such as a smart phone. The wireless sensing device 102 may be a portable device.”, [0019]: “In some preferred embodiments, the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”, and [0020]: “The wireless sensing device 102 and/or the moving element 104 driven by the electrical machine 103 may be adapted so as to allow rigidly fixing (preferably, detachably) the wireless sensing device 103 to a measurement position 109 on the moving element 104. The measurement position 109 may be any position on the moving element 104 enabling performing measurements using the one or more kinematic sensors 108 so as to characterize the operation of the machine.”);
transferring the measured data from the smartphone to the electric motor drive (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0027]; i.e. [0024]: “In the following, the term “analysis device” is used instead of “the wireless sensing device, the (local) wireless computing device, the remote computing device or the internal control unit of the drive” for brevity.” and [0027]: “The analysis device acquires, in block 202, results of a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless sensing device using the one or more sensors while the moving element is in motion.”); and
adjusting settings of the electric motor drive in dependence on the measured data (pg. 4, par. [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “During the acquiring of the results of the plurality of measurements, the analysis device compares, in block 203, results of the plurality of measurements with the one or more desired movement properties and communicates, also in block 203, with the drive over said at least one wireless communication link to adjust one or more drive parameters of the drive based on the comparing to achieve the one or more desired movement properties for the moving element.”).
Not explicitly taught are time-synchronizing the electric motor drive and a smartphone;
time-stamping the measured data; and
wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, the smartphone outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed.
However Lawson, in an analogous art of synchronizing devices (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 4, par. [0047], and pg. 6, par. [0056]), teaches the missing limitations time-synchronizing a plurality of devices (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 4, par. [0045] and [0047], and pg. 6, par. [0056]; i.e. [0009]: “To this end, cloud-capable industrial devices can include internal clocks that are synchronized with a central time provider. Options for the latter include but are not limited to a GPS interface, an atomic clock receiver, or a centralized Internet-based cloud clock associated with a cloud based service or application running on a cloud platform.”, [0038]: “Industrial devices 108 and 110 can include such devices as industrial controllers (e.g., programmable logic controllers or other types of programmable automation controllers); field devices such as sensors and meters; motor drives; human-machine interfaces (HMIs); industrial robots, barcode markers and readers; vision system devices (e.g., vision cameras); smart welders; or other such industrial devices.”, and [0055]: “For example, an IEEE 1588 Precision Time Protocol (PTP) can be used, wherein the cloud's clock is designated as a master clock, and synchronization component 316 can adjust internal clock 320 to converge with the cloud's clock in accordance with synchronization signal 324. This technique is only intended to be exemplary, and it is to be appreciated that any suitable technique can be used to maintain synchronization between industrial controller 302 and the cloud platform. Moreover, reference times other than a cloud clock may be used as the master clock for maintaining synchronization between devices. For example, in some embodiments, an industrial device coupled to the cloud platform may be designated to act as the master for other industrial devices coupled to the cloud platform. The other industrial devices may access the current time maintained on the master industrial device via the cloud platform and adjust their respective local clocks to align the local clocks with the master clock on the master industrial device.”); and
time-stamping measured data (pg. 3, par. [0038], pgs. 4-5, par. [0044], [0049] and [0053]; i.e. sensor data, [0049]: “Although FIG. 3 illustrates certain aspects of the present disclosure in connection with an industrial controller, it is to be appreciated that the time stamping functions described herein can be implemented on any suitable industrial device that generates or collects data in connection with monitoring or controlling an industrial process, including but not limited to a variable frequency drive (VFD), an operator interface terminal (e.g., a human-machine interface), a telemetry device, a sensor, a vision camera, a barcode marker or reader, a data historian, or other industrial types of industrial devices.” and [0053]: “To facilitate time-based analysis of the industrial data on the cloud platform, industrial controller 302 can include a time stamp component 312 configured to associate time stamps to the raw data 306 prior to pushing the data to the cloud platform. For raw data 306 representing measured data values or statuses received at industrial controller 302 from monitored field devices, such as metered values or sensor states received via I/O 308, the time stamp can correspond to a time at which the metered value was read.”) for the purpose of facilitating a time-based an analysis of data (pg. 5, par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu to include the addition of the limitations of time-synchronizing a plurality of devices; and time-stamping measured data to advantageously facilitate accurate collective analysis of disparate data sets wherein time stamps for all data received by a cloud platform conform to a common time standard. (Lawson: abstract and pgs. 5-6, par. [0054] and [0055]).
Hu in view of Larson does not expressly teach wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, the smartphone outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed.
However Hayzen, in an analogous art of monitoring a machine of an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0017]), teaches the missing limitation of wherein, prior to adjusting settings of an electric motor, a portable device outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed (pg. 4, par. [0035] and pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]; i.e. [0035]: “As indicated at box 126 these recommendations may be posted to the user, and the user may either accept or reject the recommendations as indicated at box 128. In addition to accepting or rejecting the recommendations manually, the user may set rules to determine whether the recommendations are accepted. For example, if the central analyzer 42 determines that the number of rollers in a bearing is incorrect and it is suggesting that the number be changed, a rule can specify that the number of bearing rollers may be changed automatically. However, a separate rule may provide that a suggestion as to a change in the speed of the machine may not be automatically updated, without manually-entered user approval.”; [0039]: “In addition to evaluating machine information and measurement configurations, it performs the normal tasks of analyzing the data (measured machine values) for alerts as indicated at box 132. As indicated box 134, the analyzer also detects machine faults using various analysis rules or by using a software analysis assistant. The types of faults that may be detected depend upon the initial measurement configuration and include faults in bearings, motors, gears, pumps, fans, belts, lubrication, TSI and similar equipment components. Likewise, the analyzer 42 detects misalignment and unbalance. When faults are detected, they are posted to the user as indicated at box 136 and the user may act upon the faults as desired. Alternatively, rules may be utilized at box 136 to automatically issue commands depending on the type and severity of the fault. For example, in the case of a severe fault indicating imminent failure of the machine, a shutdown command could be issue. In the case of a severe but lesser fault, an automatic alert could be issued.”; and [0043]: “… the rules set by the user as to whether recommendations are automatically accepted may be simple or complex. For example, the user could specify that all recommendations are automatically accepted. Alternatively, the user can specify that no recommendations are automatically accepted. … These simple examples are intended to illustrate that many different types of rules may be used to determine whether a recommendation is automatically accepted. The default rule would be that no recommendation is accepted without user approval.”) for the purpose of issuing a machine fault recommendations (pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view Larson to include the addition of the limitation of wherein, prior to adjusting settings of an electric motor, a portable device outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed to provide optimal predictive maintenance analytical results to potentially avoid a catastrophic fault in a machine (Hayzen: pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 3, par. [0025]).
As per claim 2, Hu teaches utilising at least one integrated sensor of the smart-phone (pg. 2, par. [0018] and pg. 11, par. [0086]; i.e. “The wireless sensing device 102 refers to a computing device (equipment, apparatus) comprising one or more sensors 108 (preferably, a plurality of sensors) and being configured to communicate wirelessly with the drive 101 over the wireless communication link 106.”), wherein the sensor is a gyroscope (pg. 2, par. [0018]: “Said one or more sensors 108 may comprise one or more kinematic sensors (i.e., sensors sensing quantities associated with motion). The one or more kinematic sensors may comprise one or more sensors of the following types: a speed sensor, an acceleration sensor (i.e., an accelerometer), a vibration sensor, a position sensor, an angular position sensor, a displacement sensor, an angular velocity sensor (i.e., a gyro sensor), an angular acceleration sensor and a torque sensor.”).
As per claim 3, Hu teaches a wireless connection is established between the smartphone and the electric motor drive (pg. 2, par. [0018]: “The wireless sensing device 102 refers to a computing device (equipment, apparatus) comprising one or more sensors 108 (preferably, a plurality of sensors) and being configured to communicate wirelessly with the drive 101 over the wireless communication link 106. … The connection between the drive 101 and the wireless sensing device 102 may be provided via a wireless communication link 106 using any standard wireless protocol, such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi.”).
As per claim 6, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises measuring an acceleration of the electric motor and/or of mechanical components connected to the electric motor by using an accelerometer of the smartphone (pg. 1, par. [0015], pg. 2, par. [0017] and [0018] and pg. 4, par. [0028]; i.e. [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”, and [0018]: “The one or more kinematic sensors may comprise one or more sensors of the following types: a speed sensor, an acceleration sensor (i.e., an accelerometer), a vibration sensor, a position sensor, an angular position sensor, a displacement sensor, an angular velocity sensor (i.e., a gyro sensor), an angular acceleration sensor and a torque sensor.”, and [0028]: “Therefore, the wireless sensing device may perform measurements of one or more of speed, acceleration, vibration, position, angle, displacement, distance, angular speed, angular acceleration and torque.”).
As per claim 8, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises identifying resonances (i.e. vibration) in the electric motor application, by using an accelerometer of the smartphone (pg. 1, par. [0015], pg. 2, par. [0017] and [0018] and pg. 4, par. [0028]; i.e. [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”, [0018]: “The one or more kinematic sensors may comprise one or more sensors of the following types: a speed sensor, an acceleration sensor (i.e., an accelerometer), a vibration sensor, a position sensor, an angular position sensor, a displacement sensor, an angular velocity sensor (i.e., a gyro sensor), an angular acceleration sensor and a torque sensor.”, and [0028]: “Therefore, the wireless sensing device may perform measurements of one or more of speed, acceleration, vibration, position, angle, displacement, distance, angular speed, angular acceleration and torque.”).
As per claim 9, Hu teaches adjusting the settings of the electric motor drive further comprises optimizing the electric motor drive by means of dedicated algorithms (pg. 4, par. [0029] and pg. 10, par. [0076]; i.e. [0029]: “During the acquiring of the results of the plurality of measurements, the analysis device compares, in block 203, results of the plurality of measurements with the one or more desired movement properties and communicates, also in block 203, with the drive over said at least one wireless communication link to adjust one or more drive parameters of the drive based on the comparing to achieve the one or more desired movement properties for the moving element.” and [0076]: “The remote computing device 901 may comprise one or more control circuitry 920, such as at least one processor, and at least one memory 930, including one or more algorithms 931, such as a computer program code (software) wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code (software) are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the remote computing device to carry out any one of the exemplified functionalities of the remote computing device described above, respectively. Said at least one memory 930 may also comprise at least one database 932.”).
As per claim 10, Hu teaches an electric motor drive (Fig. 1, element 101), wherein the electric motor drive is configured to wirelessly communicate with the smartphone (pgs. 1-2, par. [0016] and [0018] and pg. 11, par. [0086]: [0016]: “The drive 101 may be any device which may be used to control the motion of machines (for example, the rotation speed of an electrical motor of an electrical machine) by changing one or more drive parameters and which may be connected to the wireless sensing device 102 using the wireless communication link 106.” and [0018]: “The wireless sensing device 102 refers to a computing device (equipment, apparatus) comprising one or more sensors 108 (preferably, a plurality of sensors) and being configured to communicate wirelessly with the drive 101 over the wireless communication link 106. … The connection between the drive 101 and the wireless sensing device 102 may be provided via a wireless communication link 106 using any standard wireless protocol, such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi.”), wherein the electric motor drive is provided for performing the method according to claim 1 (i.e. The limitation of “the method according to claim 1” stands rejected for the same rationale as set forth in claim 1 by virtue of the incorporation of the method of claim 1.).
As per claim 11, Hu teaches a wireless connection is established between the smartphone and the electric motor drive (pg. 2, par. [0018]: “The wireless sensing device 102 refers to a computing device (equipment, apparatus) comprising one or more sensors 108 (preferably, a plurality of sensors) and being configured to communicate wirelessly with the drive 101 over the wireless communication link 106. … The connection between the drive 101 and the wireless sensing device 102 may be provided via a wireless communication link 106 using any standard wireless protocol, such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi.”).
As per claim 17, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises measuring acceleration of the electric motor and/or of mechanical components connected to the electric motor by using an accelerometer of the smartphone (pg. 1, par. [0015], pg. 2, par. [0017] and [0018] and pg. 4, par. [0028]; i.e. [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”, and [0018]: “The one or more kinematic sensors may comprise one or more sensors of the following types: a speed sensor, an acceleration sensor (i.e., an accelerometer), a vibration sensor, a position sensor, an angular position sensor, a displacement sensor, an angular velocity sensor (i.e., a gyro sensor), an angular acceleration sensor and a torque sensor.”, and [0028]: “Therefore, the wireless sensing device may perform measurements of one or more of speed, acceleration, vibration, position, angle, displacement, distance, angular speed, angular acceleration and torque.”).
As per claim 21, Hu substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Hu teaches the limitations of an electric motor drive application (i.e. an industrial system) including an electric motor drive (Fig. 1, element 101; i.e. drive) and an electric motor, comprising the electric motor drive (pg. 1, par. [0015] and pg. 2, par. [0017] and Fig. 1, element 103; i.e. a mechanical system of one or more motors, [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, and [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”) configured to:
wirelessly communicate with a smartphone (pg. 1, par. [0013] and pg. 3, par. [0024]; i.e. [0013]: “The (wireless) communications network to be discussed below may, in some embodiments, be any wireless communications network listed in this paragraph.”);
receive measured data from the smartphone collected by the smartphone (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0027]; i.e. [0024]: “In the following, the term “analysis device” is used instead of “the wireless sensing device, the (local) wireless computing device, the remote computing device or the internal control unit of the drive” for brevity.” and [0027]: “The analysis device acquires, in block 202, results of a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless sensing device using the one or more sensors while the moving element is in motion.”) at or near the electric motor (pg. 2, par. [0018]-[0020] and Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. [0018]: “The wireless sensing device may be a dedicated wireless sensor device (i.e., a device primarily intended for sensing potentially having relatively limited memory and/or processing power) or a multi-purpose wireless computing device, which comprises one or more sensors, such as a smart phone. The wireless sensing device 102 may be a portable device.”, [0019]: “In some preferred embodiments, the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”, and [0020]: “The wireless sensing device 102 and/or the moving element 104 driven by the electrical machine 103 may be adapted so as to allow rigidly fixing (preferably, detachably) the wireless sensing device 103 to a measurement position 109 on the moving element 104. The measurement position 109 may be any position on the moving element 104 enabling performing measurements using the one or more kinematic sensors 108 so as to characterize the operation of the machine.”); and
adjust settings of the electric motor drive in dependence on the measured data (pg. 4, par. [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “During the acquiring of the results of the plurality of measurements, the analysis device compares, in block 203, results of the plurality of measurements with the one or more desired movement properties and communicates, also in block 203, with the drive over said at least one wireless communication link to adjust one or more drive parameters of the drive based on the comparing to achieve the one or more desired movement properties for the moving element.”).
Not explicitly taught are time-synchronize with the smartphone;
the measured data is time-stamped; and
wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, the smartphone outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed.
However Lawson, in an analogous art of synchronizing devices (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 4, par. [0047], and pg. 6, par. [0056]), teaches the missing limitations time-synchronize a plurality of devices (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 4, par. [0045] and [0047], and pg. 6, par. [0056]; i.e. [0009]: “To this end, cloud-capable industrial devices can include internal clocks that are synchronized with a central time provider. Options for the latter include but are not limited to a GPS interface, an atomic clock receiver, or a centralized Internet-based cloud clock associated with a cloud based service or application running on a cloud platform.”, [0038]: “Industrial devices 108 and 110 can include such devices as industrial controllers (e.g., programmable logic controllers or other types of programmable automation controllers); field devices such as sensors and meters; motor drives; human-machine interfaces (HMIs); industrial robots, barcode markers and readers; vision system devices (e.g., vision cameras); smart welders; or other such industrial devices.”, and [0055]: “For example, an IEEE 1588 Precision Time Protocol (PTP) can be used, wherein the cloud's clock is designated as a master clock, and synchronization component 316 can adjust internal clock 320 to converge with the cloud's clock in accordance with synchronization signal 324. This technique is only intended to be exemplary, and it is to be appreciated that any suitable technique can be used to maintain synchronization between industrial controller 302 and the cloud platform. Moreover, reference times other than a cloud clock may be used as the master clock for maintaining synchronization between devices. For example, in some embodiments, an industrial device coupled to the cloud platform may be designated to act as the master for other industrial devices coupled to the cloud platform. The other industrial devices may access the current time maintained on the master industrial device via the cloud platform and adjust their respective local clocks to align the local clocks with the master clock on the master industrial device.”); and
measured data is time-stamped (pg. 3, par. [0038], pgs. 4-5, par. [0044], [0049] and [0053]; i.e. sensor data, [0049]: “Although FIG. 3 illustrates certain aspects of the present disclosure in connection with an industrial controller, it is to be appreciated that the time stamping functions described herein can be implemented on any suitable industrial device that generates or collects data in connection with monitoring or controlling an industrial process, including but not limited to a variable frequency drive (VFD), an operator interface terminal (e.g., a human-machine interface), a telemetry device, a sensor, a vision camera, a barcode marker or reader, a data historian, or other industrial types of industrial devices.” and [0053]: “To facilitate time-based analysis of the industrial data on the cloud platform, industrial controller 302 can include a time stamp component 312 configured to associate time stamps to the raw data 306 prior to pushing the data to the cloud platform. For raw data 306 representing measured data values or statuses received at industrial controller 302 from monitored field devices, such as metered values or sensor states received via I/O 308, the time stamp can correspond to a time at which the metered value was read.”) for the purpose of facilitating a time-based an analysis of data (pg. 5, par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu to include the addition of the limitations of time-synchronize a plurality of devices; and measured data is time-stamped to advantageously facilitate accurate collective analysis of disparate data sets wherein time stamps for all data received by a cloud platform conform to a common time standard. (Lawson: abstract and pgs. 5-6, par. [0054] and [0055]).
Hu in view of Larson does not expressly teach wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, the smartphone outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed.
However Hayzen, in an analogous art of monitoring a machine of an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0017]), teaches the missing limitation of wherein, prior to adjusting settings of an electric motor, a portable device outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed (pg. 4, par. [0035] and pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]; i.e. [0035]: “As indicated at box 126 these recommendations may be posted to the user, and the user may either accept or reject the recommendations as indicated at box 128. In addition to accepting or rejecting the recommendations manually, the user may set rules to determine whether the recommendations are accepted. For example, if the central analyzer 42 determines that the number of rollers in a bearing is incorrect and it is suggesting that the number be changed, a rule can specify that the number of bearing rollers may be changed automatically. However, a separate rule may provide that a suggestion as to a change in the speed of the machine may not be automatically updated, without manually-entered user approval.”; [0039]: “In addition to evaluating machine information and measurement configurations, it performs the normal tasks of analyzing the data (measured machine values) for alerts as indicated at box 132. As indicated box 134, the analyzer also detects machine faults using various analysis rules or by using a software analysis assistant. The types of faults that may be detected depend upon the initial measurement configuration and include faults in bearings, motors, gears, pumps, fans, belts, lubrication, TSI and similar equipment components. Likewise, the analyzer 42 detects misalignment and unbalance. When faults are detected, they are posted to the user as indicated at box 136 and the user may act upon the faults as desired. Alternatively, rules may be utilized at box 136 to automatically issue commands depending on the type and severity of the fault. For example, in the case of a severe fault indicating imminent failure of the machine, a shutdown command could be issue. In the case of a severe but lesser fault, an automatic alert could be issued.”; and [0043]: “… the rules set by the user as to whether recommendations are automatically accepted may be simple or complex. For example, the user could specify that all recommendations are automatically accepted. Alternatively, the user can specify that no recommendations are automatically accepted. … These simple examples are intended to illustrate that many different types of rules may be used to determine whether a recommendation is automatically accepted. The default rule would be that no recommendation is accepted without user approval.”) for the purpose of issuing a machine fault recommendations (pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view Larson to include the addition of the limitation of wherein, prior to adjusting settings of an electric motor, a portable device outputs one or more suggested steps to optimize the settings and/or outputs information on one or more functions or features that have not been performed or sufficiently performed to provide optimal predictive maintenance analytical results to potentially avoid a catastrophic fault in a machine (Hayzen: pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 3, par. [0025]).
As per claim 22, Hu in view Larson does not expressly teach wherein the one or more suggested steps includes performing a function of the electric motor drive application that has not been performed or sufficiently performed, enabling or disabling a feature of the electric motor drive application, and/or turning on a sensor of the smartphone.
However Hayzen, in an analogous art of monitoring a machine of an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0017]), teaches the missing limitation of wherein the one or more suggested steps includes performing a function of the electric motor drive application that has not been performed or sufficiently performed and/or enabling or disabling a feature of the electric motor (pg. 4, par. [0035] and pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]; i.e. [0035]: “As indicated at box 126 these recommendations may be posted to the user, and the user may either accept or reject the recommendations as indicated at box 128. In addition to accepting or rejecting the recommendations manually, the user may set rules to determine whether the recommendations are accepted. For example, if the central analyzer 42 determines that the number of rollers in a bearing is incorrect and it is suggesting that the number be changed, a rule can specify that the number of bearing rollers may be changed automatically. However, a separate rule may provide that a suggestion as to a change in the speed of the machine may not be automatically updated, without manually-entered user approval.”; [0039]: “In addition to evaluating machine information and measurement configurations, it performs the normal tasks of analyzing the data (measured machine values) for alerts as indicated at box 132. As indicated box 134, the analyzer also detects machine faults using various analysis rules or by using a software analysis assistant. The types of faults that may be detected depend upon the initial measurement configuration and include faults in bearings, motors, gears, pumps, fans, belts, lubrication, TSI and similar equipment components. Likewise, the analyzer 42 detects misalignment and unbalance. When faults are detected, they are posted to the user as indicated at box 136 and the user may act upon the faults as desired. Alternatively, rules may be utilized at box 136 to automatically issue commands depending on the type and severity of the fault. For example, in the case of a severe fault indicating imminent failure of the machine, a shutdown command could be issue. In the case of a severe but lesser fault, an automatic alert could be issued.”) for the purpose of issuing a machine fault recommendations (pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view Larson to include the addition of the limitation of wherein the one or more suggested steps includes performing a function of the electric motor drive application that has not been performed or sufficiently performed and/or enabling or disabling a feature of the electric motor to provide optimal predictive maintenance analytical results to potentially avoid a catastrophic fault in a machine (Hayzen: pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 3, par. [0025]).
As per claim 23, Hu in view Larson does not expressly teach wherein the one or more suggested steps includes performing a function of the electric motor drive application that has not been performed or sufficiently performed, enabling or disabling a feature of the electric motor drive application, and/or turning on a sensor of the smartphone.
However Hayzen, in an analogous art of monitoring a machine of an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0017]), teaches the missing limitation of wherein the one or more suggested steps includes performing a function of the electric motor drive application that has not been performed or sufficiently performed and/or enabling or disabling a feature of the electric motor (pg. 4, par. [0035] and pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]; i.e. [0035]: “As indicated at box 126 these recommendations may be posted to the user, and the user may either accept or reject the recommendations as indicated at box 128. In addition to accepting or rejecting the recommendations manually, the user may set rules to determine whether the recommendations are accepted. For example, if the central analyzer 42 determines that the number of rollers in a bearing is incorrect and it is suggesting that the number be changed, a rule can specify that the number of bearing rollers may be changed automatically. However, a separate rule may provide that a suggestion as to a change in the speed of the machine may not be automatically updated, without manually-entered user approval.”; [0039]: “In addition to evaluating machine information and measurement configurations, it performs the normal tasks of analyzing the data (measured machine values) for alerts as indicated at box 132. As indicated box 134, the analyzer also detects machine faults using various analysis rules or by using a software analysis assistant. The types of faults that may be detected depend upon the initial measurement configuration and include faults in bearings, motors, gears, pumps, fans, belts, lubrication, TSI and similar equipment components. Likewise, the analyzer 42 detects misalignment and unbalance. When faults are detected, they are posted to the user as indicated at box 136 and the user may act upon the faults as desired. Alternatively, rules may be utilized at box 136 to automatically issue commands depending on the type and severity of the fault. For example, in the case of a severe fault indicating imminent failure of the machine, a shutdown command could be issue. In the case of a severe but lesser fault, an automatic alert could be issued.”) for the purpose of issuing a machine fault recommendations (pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view Larson to include the addition of the limitation of wherein the one or more suggested steps includes performing a function of the electric motor drive application that has not been performed or sufficiently performed and/or enabling or disabling a feature of the electric motor to provide optimal predictive maintenance analytical results to potentially avoid a catastrophic fault in a machine (Hayzen: pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 3, par. [0025]).
As per claim 24, Hu substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Hu teaches the limitations of a method for commissioning an electric motor drive application, wherein the electric motor drive application (i.e. an industrial system) includes an electric motor drive (Fig. 1, element 101; i.e. drive) and an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0015] and pg. 2, par. [0017] and Fig. 1, element 103; i.e. a mechanical system of one or more motors, [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, and [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”), the method comprising:
collecting measured data from one or more sensors or locations at or near the electric motor drive application using one or more smartphones (pg. 2, par. [0018]-[0020] and Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. [0018]: “The wireless sensing device may be a dedicated wireless sensor device (i.e., a device primarily intended for sensing potentially having relatively limited memory and/or processing power) or a multi-purpose wireless computing device, which comprises one or more sensors, such as a smart phone. The wireless sensing device 102 may be a portable device.”, [0019]: “In some preferred embodiments, the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”, and [0020]: “The wireless sensing device 102 and/or the moving element 104 driven by the electrical machine 103 may be adapted so as to allow rigidly fixing (preferably, detachably) the wireless sensing device 103 to a measurement position 109 on the moving element 104. The measurement position 109 may be any position on the moving element 104 enabling performing measurements using the one or more kinematic sensors 108 so as to characterize the operation of the machine.”);
transferring the measured data from the one or more smartphones to the electric motor drive (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0027]; i.e. [0024]: “In the following, the term “analysis device” is used instead of “the wireless sensing device, the (local) wireless computing device, the remote computing device or the internal control unit of the drive” for brevity.” and [0027]: “The analysis device acquires, in block 202, results of a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless sensing device using the one or more sensors while the moving element is in motion.”); and
adjusting settings of the electric motor drive in dependence on the measured data (pg. 4, par. [0029]; i.e. [0029]: “During the acquiring of the results of the plurality of measurements, the analysis device compares, in block 203, results of the plurality of measurements with the one or more desired movement properties and communicates, also in block 203, with the drive over said at least one wireless communication link to adjust one or more drive parameters of the drive based on the comparing to achieve the one or more desired movement properties for the moving element.”).
Not explicitly taught are time-synchronizing the electric motor drive and one or more smartphones;
time-stamping the measured data; and
wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, at least one of the one or more smartphones outputs information on one or more commissioning functions that have not been performed or sufficiently performed.
However Lawson, in an analogous art of synchronizing devices (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 4, par. [0047], and pg. 6, par. [0056]), teaches the missing limitations time-synchronizing a plurality of devices (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 4, par. [0045] and [0047], and pg. 6, par. [0056]; i.e. [0009]: “To this end, cloud-capable industrial devices can include internal clocks that are synchronized with a central time provider. Options for the latter include but are not limited to a GPS interface, an atomic clock receiver, or a centralized Internet-based cloud clock associated with a cloud based service or application running on a cloud platform.”, [0038]: “Industrial devices 108 and 110 can include such devices as industrial controllers (e.g., programmable logic controllers or other types of programmable automation controllers); field devices such as sensors and meters; motor drives; human-machine interfaces (HMIs); industrial robots, barcode markers and readers; vision system devices (e.g., vision cameras); smart welders; or other such industrial devices.”, and [0055]: “For example, an IEEE 1588 Precision Time Protocol (PTP) can be used, wherein the cloud's clock is designated as a master clock, and synchronization component 316 can adjust internal clock 320 to converge with the cloud's clock in accordance with synchronization signal 324. This technique is only intended to be exemplary, and it is to be appreciated that any suitable technique can be used to maintain synchronization between industrial controller 302 and the cloud platform. Moreover, reference times other than a cloud clock may be used as the master clock for maintaining synchronization between devices. For example, in some embodiments, an industrial device coupled to the cloud platform may be designated to act as the master for other industrial devices coupled to the cloud platform. The other industrial devices may access the current time maintained on the master industrial device via the cloud platform and adjust their respective local clocks to align the local clocks with the master clock on the master industrial device.”); and
time-stamping measured data (pg. 3, par. [0038], pgs. 4-5, par. [0044], [0049] and [0053]; i.e. sensor data, [0049]: “Although FIG. 3 illustrates certain aspects of the present disclosure in connection with an industrial controller, it is to be appreciated that the time stamping functions described herein can be implemented on any suitable industrial device that generates or collects data in connection with monitoring or controlling an industrial process, including but not limited to a variable frequency drive (VFD), an operator interface terminal (e.g., a human-machine interface), a telemetry device, a sensor, a vision camera, a barcode marker or reader, a data historian, or other industrial types of industrial devices.” and [0053]: “To facilitate time-based analysis of the industrial data on the cloud platform, industrial controller 302 can include a time stamp component 312 configured to associate time stamps to the raw data 306 prior to pushing the data to the cloud platform. For raw data 306 representing measured data values or statuses received at industrial controller 302 from monitored field devices, such as metered values or sensor states received via I/O 308, the time stamp can correspond to a time at which the metered value was read.”) for the purpose of facilitating a time-based an analysis of data (pg. 5, par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu to include the addition of the limitations of time-synchronizing a plurality of devices; and time-stamping measured data to advantageously facilitate accurate collective analysis of disparate data sets wherein time stamps for all data received by a cloud platform conform to a common time standard. (Lawson: abstract and pgs. 5-6, par. [0054] and [0055]).
Hu in view of Larson does not expressly teach wherein, prior to adjusting settings of the electric motor drive, at least one of the one or more smartphones outputs information on one or more commissioning functions that have not been performed or sufficiently performed.
However Hayzen, in an analogous art of monitoring a machine of an electric motor (pg. 1, par. [0001] and pg. 2, par. [0017]), teaches the missing limitation of wherein, prior to adjusting settings of an electric motor, a portable device outputs information on one or more commissioning functions that have not been performed or sufficiently performed (pg. 4, par. [0035] and pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]; i.e. [0035]: “As indicated at box 126 these recommendations may be posted to the user, and the user may either accept or reject the recommendations as indicated at box 128. In addition to accepting or rejecting the recommendations manually, the user may set rules to determine whether the recommendations are accepted. For example, if the central analyzer 42 determines that the number of rollers in a bearing is incorrect and it is suggesting that the number be changed, a rule can specify that the number of bearing rollers may be changed automatically. However, a separate rule may provide that a suggestion as to a change in the speed of the machine may not be automatically updated, without manually-entered user approval.”; [0039]: “In addition to evaluating machine information and measurement configurations, it performs the normal tasks of analyzing the data (measured machine values) for alerts as indicated at box 132. As indicated box 134, the analyzer also detects machine faults using various analysis rules or by using a software analysis assistant. The types of faults that may be detected depend upon the initial measurement configuration and include faults in bearings, motors, gears, pumps, fans, belts, lubrication, TSI and similar equipment components. Likewise, the analyzer 42 detects misalignment and unbalance. When faults are detected, they are posted to the user as indicated at box 136 and the user may act upon the faults as desired. Alternatively, rules may be utilized at box 136 to automatically issue commands depending on the type and severity of the fault. For example, in the case of a severe fault indicating imminent failure of the machine, a shutdown command could be issue. In the case of a severe but lesser fault, an automatic alert could be issued.”; and [0043]: “… the rules set by the user as to whether recommendations are automatically accepted may be simple or complex. For example, the user could specify that all recommendations are automatically accepted. Alternatively, the user can specify that no recommendations are automatically accepted. … These simple examples are intended to illustrate that many different types of rules may be used to determine whether a recommendation is automatically accepted. The default rule would be that no recommendation is accepted without user approval.”) for the purpose of issuing a machine fault recommendations (pg. 5, par. [0039] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view Larson to include the addition of the limitation of wherein, prior to adjusting settings of an electric motor, a portable device outputs information on one or more commissioning functions that have not been performed or sufficiently performed to provide optimal predictive maintenance analytical results to potentially avoid a catastrophic fault in a machine (Hayzen: pg. 1, par. [0003] and pg. 3, par. [0025]).
Claims 4, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view Lawson in further view of Hayzen and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0176537 A1 (hereinafter Orman).
As per claim 4, Hu teaches to the measured data in the smartphone is transferred to the electric motor drive (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0027]; i.e. [0024]: “In the following, the term “analysis device” is used instead of “the wireless sensing device, the (local) wireless computing device, the remote computing device or the internal control unit of the drive” for brevity.” and [0027]: “The analysis device acquires, in block 202, results of a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless sensing device using the one or more sensors while the moving element is in motion.”).
Hu does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
However Orman, in an analogous art of monitoring an electric machine (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of measured data is pre-processed in a smartphone prior to its transfer (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. “In this example raw measurements are transferred to server which can be done by e.g. internet or GPRS, however sending some initially pre-processed data can also be realized in the case of a low quality of connection in the given plant.) for the purpose of determining an operation status of an electric machine (pg. 1, par. [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of measured data is pre-processed in a smartphone prior to its transfer to advantageously provide a compact monitoring device for flexibility in a selection of measurement positioning (Orman: pg. 1, par. [0005]).
As per claim 12, Hu teaches the measured data in the smartphone is transferred to the electric motor drive (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0027]; i.e. [0024]: “In the following, the term “analysis device” is used instead of “the wireless sensing device, the (local) wireless computing device, the remote computing device or the internal control unit of the drive” for brevity.” and [0027]: “The analysis device acquires, in block 202, results of a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless sensing device using the one or more sensors while the moving element is in motion.”).
Hu does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the v prior to its transfer.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
However Orman, in an analogous art of monitoring an electric machine (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of measured data is pre-processed in a smartphone prior to its transfer (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. “In this example raw measurements are transferred to server which can be done by e.g. internet or GPRS, however sending some initially pre-processed data can also be realized in the case of a low quality of connection in the given plant.) for the purpose of determining an operation status of an electric machine (pg. 1, par. [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of measured data is pre-processed in a v prior to its transfer to advantageously provide a compact monitoring device for flexibility in a selection of measurement positioning (Orman: pg. 1, par. [0005]).
As per claim 13, Hu teaches to the measured data in the smartphone is transferred to the drive (pg. 3, par. [0024] and pg. 4, par. [0027]; i.e. [0024]: “In the following, the term “analysis device” is used instead of “the wireless sensing device, the (local) wireless computing device, the remote computing device or the internal control unit of the drive” for brevity.” and [0027]: “The analysis device acquires, in block 202, results of a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless sensing device using the one or more sensors while the moving element is in motion.”).
Hu does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach the measured data is pre-processed in the smartphone prior to its transfer.
However Orman, in an analogous art of monitoring an electric machine (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of measured data is pre-processed in a smartphone prior to its transfer (pg. 5, par. [0056]; i.e. “In this example raw measurements are transferred to server which can be done by e.g. internet or GPRS, however sending some initially pre-processed data can also be realized in the case of a low quality of connection in the given plant.) for the purpose of determining an operation status of an electric machine (pg. 1, par. [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of measured data is pre-processed in a smartphone prior to its transfer to advantageously provide a compact monitoring device for flexibility in a selection of measurement positioning (Orman: pg. 1, par. [0005]).
Claims 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view Lawson in further view of Hayzen and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0066944 A1 (hereinafter Shu).
As per claim 5, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises measuring environmental parameters at the electric motor drive application by using a sensor of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 2, par. [0018] and [0019]; i.e. [0018]: “In some embodiments, the one or more sensors 108 may also comprise an acoustic sensor, a humidity sensor and/or a temperature sensor. … The humidity and temperature sensors may be used to analyze the operating conditions of the industrial system which may affect the behavior of the industrial system used. Specifically, the temperature sensor may measure temperature rise during the operation of the system. Both of the temperature and the humidity sensor may be used to validate that the operation environment fulfills pre-defined requirements. Each of the one or more sensors 108 of the wireless sensing device may be a built-in sensor of the wireless sensing device 102 or an add-on to the wireless sensing device 102.” and [0019]: “… the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”).
Hu does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
However Shu, in an analogous art of mobile devices (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]), teaches the missing limitation of measuring air pressure by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]; i.e. [0040]: “Often, a plurality of sensors, such as the accelerometer, the gyroscope, the barometer and the magnetometer, are provided in common mobile devices such as smartphones, and thus these mobile devices may be used for collecting the environment parameters.” and [0041]: “In this step, the time series data may include measurements collected by the at least one environment sensor equipped in the mobile device, and the measurement at each time point of the time series data is the reading of the at least one environment sensor at a location along the reference path.”) for the purpose of collecting environmental parameters (pg. 3, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of measuring air pressure by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone to advantageously provide accurate location information (Shu: pg. 1, par. [0002]).
As per claim 14, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises measuring environmental parameters at the electric motor drive application by using a sensor of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 2, par. [0018] and [0019]; i.e. [0018]: “In some embodiments, the one or more sensors 108 may also comprise an acoustic sensor, a humidity sensor and/or a temperature sensor. … The humidity and temperature sensors may be used to analyze the operating conditions of the industrial system which may affect the behavior of the industrial system used. Specifically, the temperature sensor may measure temperature rise during the operation of the system. Both of the temperature and the humidity sensor may be used to validate that the operation environment fulfills pre-defined requirements. Each of the one or more sensors 108 of the wireless sensing device may be a built-in sensor of the wireless sensing device 102 or an add-on to the wireless sensing device 102.” and [0019]: “… the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”).
Hu does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
However Shu, in an analogous art of mobile devices (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]), teaches the missing limitation of measuring air pressure by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]; i.e. [0040]: “Often, a plurality of sensors, such as the accelerometer, the gyroscope, the barometer and the magnetometer, are provided in common mobile devices such as smartphones, and thus these mobile devices may be used for collecting the environment parameters.” and [0041]: “In this step, the time series data may include measurements collected by the at least one environment sensor equipped in the mobile device, and the measurement at each time point of the time series data is the reading of the at least one environment sensor at a location along the reference path.”) for the purpose of collecting environmental parameters (pg. 3, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of measuring air pressure in particular by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone to advantageously provide accurate location information (Shu: pg. 1, par. [0002]).
As per claim 15, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises measuring environmental parameters at the electric motor drive application by using a sensor of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 2, par. [0018] and [0019]; i.e. [0018]: “In some embodiments, the one or more sensors 108 may also comprise an acoustic sensor, a humidity sensor and/or a temperature sensor. … The humidity and temperature sensors may be used to analyze the operating conditions of the industrial system which may affect the behavior of the industrial system used. Specifically, the temperature sensor may measure temperature rise during the operation of the system. Both of the temperature and the humidity sensor may be used to validate that the operation environment fulfills pre-defined requirements. Each of the one or more sensors 108 of the wireless sensing device may be a built-in sensor of the wireless sensing device 102 or an add-on to the wireless sensing device 102.” and [0019]: “… the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”).
Hu does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
However Shu, in an analogous art of mobile devices (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]), teaches the missing limitation of measuring air pressure in particular by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]; i.e. [0040]: “Often, a plurality of sensors, such as the accelerometer, the gyroscope, the barometer and the magnetometer, are provided in common mobile devices such as smartphones, and thus these mobile devices may be used for collecting the environment parameters.” and [0041]: “In this step, the time series data may include measurements collected by the at least one environment sensor equipped in the mobile device, and the measurement at each time point of the time series data is the reading of the at least one environment sensor at a location along the reference path.”) for the purpose of collecting environmental parameters (pg. 3, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of air pressure in particular by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone to advantageously provide accurate location information (Shu: pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view Lawson in further view of Hayzen, Shu and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0176125 A1 (hereinafter Friedrich).
As per claim 7, Hu teaches performing the measurement at or near the electric motor (Fig .1, element 103) in particular by using a sensor of the smartphone (pg. 1, par. [0015], pg. 2, par. [0018]-[0020], and Fig. 1, element 102; i.e. [0015]: “The drive 101, the electrical machine 103 and the mechanical system 104 form together an industrial system (e.g., a production or assembly line system or a part thereof).”, [0017]: “The electrical machine 103 may comprise one or more AC and/or DC electrical motors which may run, for example, a system for transporting material, such as a pump, a fan, a compressor, a blower, a conveyor belt, a roller conveyor, a crane and/or an elevator and/or a system for processing materials, such as a paper machine, a mill, a stirrer and/or a centrifuge.”, [0018]: “The wireless sensing device may be a dedicated wireless sensor device (i.e., a device primarily intended for sensing potentially having relatively limited memory and/or processing power) or a multi-purpose wireless computing device, which comprises one or more sensors, such as a smart phone. The wireless sensing device 102 may be a portable device.”, [0019]: “In some preferred embodiments, the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”, and [0020]: “The wireless sensing device 102 and/or the moving element 104 driven by the electrical machine 103 may be adapted so as to allow rigidly fixing (preferably, detachably) the wireless sensing device 103 to a measurement position 109 on the moving element 104. The measurement position 109 may be any position on the moving element 104 enabling performing measurements using the one or more kinematic sensors 108 so as to characterize the operation of the machine.”).
Hu does not expressly teach determining a number of pole-pairs by using a slow-motion camera or a magnetometer of the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach determining a number of pole-pairs by using a slow-motion camera or a magnetometer of the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach determining a number of pole-pairs by using a slow-motion camera or a magnetometer of the smartphone.
However Shu, in an analogous art of mobile devices (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]), teaches the missing limitation of a magnetometer of a smartphone (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]; i.e. [0040]: “Often, a plurality of sensors, such as the accelerometer, the gyroscope, the barometer and the magnetometer, are provided in common mobile devices such as smartphones, and thus these mobile devices may be used for collecting the environment parameters.” and [0041]: “In this step, the time series data may include measurements collected by the at least one environment sensor equipped in the mobile device, and the measurement at each time point of the time series data is the reading of the at least one environment sensor at a location along the reference path.”) for the purpose of collecting environmental parameters (pg. 3, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen to include the addition of the limitation of a magnetometer of a smartphone to advantageously provide accurate location information (Shu: pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen and Shu does not expressly teach determining a number of pole-pairs.
However Friedrich, in an analogous art of a monitoring device (pg. 1, par. [0013] and pg. 5, par. [0070]), teaches the missing limitation of determining a number of pole-pairs (pg. 5, par. [0070]; i.e. “The magnetic field sensor 50 can also include a pole pair counting module 74 coupled to receive the corrected x-y angle signal 73a (or the x-y angle signal 72a) and configured to generate a pole pair count signal 74a corresponding to a count of the number of pole pairs of the ring magnet 51 that pass by the CVH sensing element 52.”) for the purpose of counting a number of pole pairs (pg. 5, par. [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen and Shu to include the addition of the limitation of determining a number of pole-pairs to advantageously provide an improved output signal with a higher angular (or positional) resolution while taking no additional time (Friedrich: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view Lawson in further view of Hayzen, Orman and Shu.
As per claim 16, Hu teaches performing the measurement comprises measuring environmental parameters at the electric motor drive application by using a sensor of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 2, par. [0018] and [0019]; i.e. [0018]: “In some embodiments, the one or more sensors 108 may also comprise an acoustic sensor, a humidity sensor and/or a temperature sensor. … The humidity and temperature sensors may be used to analyze the operating conditions of the industrial system which may affect the behavior of the industrial system used. Specifically, the temperature sensor may measure temperature rise during the operation of the system. Both of the temperature and the humidity sensor may be used to validate that the operation environment fulfills pre-defined requirements. Each of the one or more sensors 108 of the wireless sensing device may be a built-in sensor of the wireless sensing device 102 or an add-on to the wireless sensing device 102.” and [0019]: “… the wireless sensing device 102 may be a mobile phone (e.g., a smart phone) or a tablet computer.”).
Hu does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen and Orman does not expressly teach measuring air pressure and/or air flow speed at the electric motor drive application by using a barometer and/or an anemometer of the smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone.
However Shu, in an analogous art of mobile devices (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]), teaches the missing limitation of measuring air pressure by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone (pg. 3, par. [0040] and [0041]; i.e. [0040]: “Often, a plurality of sensors, such as the accelerometer, the gyroscope, the barometer and the magnetometer, are provided in common mobile devices such as smartphones, and thus these mobile devices may be used for collecting the environment parameters.” and [0041]: “In this step, the time series data may include measurements collected by the at least one environment sensor equipped in the mobile device, and the measurement at each time point of the time series data is the reading of the at least one environment sensor at a location along the reference path.”) for the purpose of collecting environmental parameters (pg. 3, par. [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Hu in view of Lawson in further view of Hayzen and Orman to include the addition of the limitation of measuring air pressure by using a barometer of a smartphone and/or connected to the smartphone to advantageously provide accurate location information (Shu: pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to monitoring methods/systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0180214 A1 discloses sensor data is detected from at least one sensor selected and installed for detecting operating conditions of at least one equipment.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0362931 A1 discloses a system to identify identification data of an end effector and adjust one or more runtime parameters of the system based on the identification data.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0158607 A1 discloses a mechanical equipment monitoring system for monitoring mechanical equipment and a mechanical equipment monitoring method for monitoring the mechanical equipment.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0029782 A1 discloses methods, apparatus, systems, and articles of manufacture are disclosed for sequence of event generation for a process control system.
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117