DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2014/0333132) in view of Largy (FR 3020902, see machine translation) and Kamikawa (US 2017/0279161).
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi discloses a battery system 201 including a plurality of battery modules 213-n [plurality of electrical module packs] each including a battery cell group 217 contained in an individual housing 219 [supported by a frame] and connected in series (Fig 2A-B, [0046], abstract).
As seen in Figure 2A, each battery module 213-n has electrical connections at opposite ends to connect with adjacent battery modules; therefore, each battery module has a positive and a negative terminal, wherein the voltage at the terminals of each module being equal to the potential difference between the positive terminal and the negative terminal. As the battery modules 213-n are in series connection (abstract), the voltage at the ends of the modules is equal to the sum of the voltages of the connected modules.
While Yamauchi teaches that each module is supported by an individual housing 219 [frame] and is connected to a ground terminal G ([0061], Fig 2), Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose wherein each frame [individual housing] being set at a reference potential, characterized in that the reference potential of each frame is broadly between the positive terminal potential and the negative terminal potential of the electrical module pack supported by the frame.
Largy discloses an electrical energy storage device comprising a plurality of storage modules 101,102 connected in series (abstract, Fig 1). A connection point M between the modules is electrically connected to an outer casing 105 that contains the modules and has a reference potential (abstract, Fig 1). Therefore, Largy teaches connecting battery modules to a frame that supports said modules and is used for a reference potential [ground].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electrical connection from a module to a casing/frame as taught by Largy with battery modules contained in an individual housing of Yamauchi for the purpose of grounding the modules.
Further, Kamikawa discloses a system including a plurality of battery modules 20 (a number N) coupled in series to configure a storage battery unit (abstract). A flouting grounding pattern of the controller is divided into a first floating grounding pattern and a second floating grounding pattern, wherein the plurality of battery modules is divided into a first zone battery module group or a second zone battery module group so that the battery modules belonging to the first zone corresponding to the first floating grounding pattern, while the battery modules belonging to the second zone corresponding to the second floating grounding pattern (abstract). That is, Kamikawa teaches dividing the battery modules into zones with different floating grounding patterns to lower the amount of insulation required to be used ([0008]). Kamikawa teaches that the amount of zones can be determined based upon the voltages and the amount of insulation desired ([0045]). Kamikawa teaches as the number of battery modules are coupled, the voltage increases and the amount of insulation required increases ([0029]). Kamikawa teaches that by using multiple floating ground patterns that different from the battery modules, the required insulation voltage value can be lowered ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of dividing the modules into zones (which includes providing a different zone for each module) for grounding as taught by Kamikawa with the modules connected to the individual housing of modified Yamauchi for the purpose of reducing the amount of insulation required.
Regarding claim 2, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yamauchi further teaches that the modules are batteries (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamikawa teaches that the minimum floating ground potential of the battery modules identified by N=11 to N=20 [the high voltage] becomes 400 V, and is based on the total voltage of the first zone battery modules ([0042]-[0043]). Therefore, the potential difference between the potential of each terminal of the pack and the potential of the frame supporting the pack is equal to 0 volts or to the voltage of the terminals of the pack, because the second zone floating ground potential is based upon the voltage of the zone previous.
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamikawa discloses that the minimum floating grounding potential is not 0 V, and therefore is different from the ground potential ([0037], [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As Largy teaches that the casing 105 is connected with a frame 11 (page 3 of translation, Fig 1), and Kamikawa teaches setting the grounding pattern ([0038]-[0039], Fig 3), the combination suggests the frame comprising an additional terminal to which a voltage corresponding to the reference potential is applied for setting the frame to the reference potential because Largy teaches the frame having an additional connection and Kamikawa teaches setting the grounding.
Regarding claim 8, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Largy teaches that a connection between modules which is electrically connected to a positive pole or a negative pole of a corresponding electrical module pack is used for setting the grounding of the frame/casing 105 (Fig 1). Further, the casing 105 [frame] is connected with a frame 11 [casing] for the reference potential (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yamauchi teaches that the battery modules 213 include a cell group 217, and all the cell groups 217 are identified as the same (Fig 2A, [0046]-[0048]). Further, Kamikawa discloses that the battery modules have the same voltage of 40 V ([0017]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yamauchi teaches DC power exceeding 7000V, or powers between 750 V and 7000 V, or not higher than 750 V ([0028]), modified Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose: wherein the voltages at the terminals of the electrical module packs are equal to 1500 Volts.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery modules by adding additional cells (including in an amount of 1500 V) for the purpose of using the battery in the high voltage applications as taught by Yamauchi.
Regarding claims 14-15, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yamauchi teaches DC power exceeding 7000V, or powers between 750 V and 7000 V, or not higher than 750 V ([0028]), modified Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose: (claim 14) wherein the voltage at the terminals of the system is strictly greater than 1500 Volts; or (claim 15) wherein the voltage at the terminals of the system is strictly greater than or equal to 3000 Volts.
However, because Yamauchi teaches that it is known to have total DC power exceeding 7000 V ([0028]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add more batteries in series to increase the voltage (including into greater than 1500 V, or greater than or equal to 3000 V) of modified Yamauchi to provide the necessary power for a high voltage device or applications.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2014/0333132) in view of Largy (FR 3020902, see machine translation) and Kamikawa (US 2017/0279161), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harris (US 2001/0052433).
Regarding claim 3, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yamauchi discloses a battery system (abstract), modified Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical module is an electrolyser module or a fuel cell module.
Harris discloses a hybrid power supply module 15 comprising a battery compartment that includes a housing 2 that contains a battery 1, an electrical generator or fuel cell 3, and control electronics 4 (abstract, Figs 1-2). That is, Harris discloses that packs within a module 15 can be a battery or a fuel cell, and therefore teaches that batteries and fuel cells can be used together in a system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either combine fuel cell modules with or replace the battery modules with fuel cell modules as taught by Harris with the battery system of Yamauchi for the purpose of providing a hybrid power supply.
Claim(s) 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2014/0333132) in view of Largy (FR 3020902, see machine translation) and Kamikawa (US 2017/0279161), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Muller (DE 102013112413, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 6 and 9-11, modified Yamauchi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yamauchi discloses the battery modules are contained in a battery pack 203 (abstract, Fig 2A) and Largy teaches that the casings 105 are connected with a frame 11 (page 3 of translation, Fig 1), modified Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose: (claim 6) wherein each frame comprises a conductive shield to which the reference potential is applied; (claim 9) wherein the system comprises a casing encapsulating the plurality of electrical module packs; (claim 10) wherein the casing is made of plastic; or (claim 11) wherein the casing is metallic and grounded, the casing being further connected to each frame by at least one insulator.
Muller discloses a receiving body 1 for a receiving a traction battery and partially made of a thermoplastic or duroplastic material that is reinforced with fibers (abstract). The receiving body comprises an inner surface, an outer surface 3, a planar element 4 that shields (conductive shield) a surrounding area of the traction battery against electromagnetic radiation and is made of copper or aluminum material (abstract, Fig 1). The plastic material provides better protection against corrosive attack, and can be light weight ([0011]-0013]). Therefore, the receiving body encapsulates the module packs, is made of plastic, and is metallic, and has a conductive shield. Further, the flat elements can be electrically connected to the ground potential of the vehicle ([0022]), and in an embodiment, an electrically non-conductive or low-conductivity material can be applied [thereby connected by an insulator] ([0037], Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the receiving body made of plastics and metal and shielding of Muller with the material of the battery pack of Yamauchi for the purpose of protecting the battery modules against corrosive attack, while being light weight, and protecting against electromagnetic radiation.
Further, because Yamauchi teaches that the modules are grounded ([0061], Fig 1), the casing remains grounded, and because Kamikawa setting the grounding pattern ([0038]-[0039], Fig 3), the reference potential is applied.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725