DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The Claims are not newly amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The remarks argue on page 5, the following:
Boorse discloses a catalyst article for treating an exhaust gas stream, particularly diesel exhaust gas. The purpose of the catalyst article is to provide three functionally distinct portions: an SCR catalyst, an AMOx (ammonia slip) catalyst, and an oxidation catalyst (for oxidizing CO and hydrocarbons), and Boorse teaches that this is accomplished through the provision of three regions: (i) an upstream coating, (ii) downstream coating, and (iii) a central portion where respective portions of the upstream coating and the downstream coating overlap (see Figures 1 and 2). The reference further teaches a particular arrangement wherein each of the three zones to occupy a1/3 of the axial length of the substrate (paragraph [0031], Figures 1 and 2). With respect to the upstream coating, Boorse teaches a wide array of possible materials (see paragraphs [0040]-[0046]), including zeolitic materials, non-zeolitic compositions, and vanadium-based materials (id.). As for the downstream coating, Boorse does not refer to natural gas combustion engines, nor is there any specific teaching regarding the use of a Cu-containing CHA zeolite as a sulphur trap to protect a palladium-containing zeolite catalyst. Boorse does not highlight a Cu-containing CHA zeolite as having particular sulphur-trapping abilities (which would be necessary to support an allegation that the reference motivates the use of the catalyst for a natural gas combustion engine), nor does the reference provide any suggestion that this would be the case. Moreover, Boorse does not disclose the specific zoned architecture of the catalyst required in Applicant's claim 1, viz., in which the Cu-CHA coating occupies a substantial upstream portion of the substrate (60-80% of the axial length) and the Pd-zeolite occupies a downstream portion (20-40%).
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. It was acknowledged in the rejection that Boorse does not teach use of their composition with a natural gas combustion engine.
As to the specific use of the Cu-containing CHA zeolite as a sulfur trap to protect the palladium-containing zeolite catalyst, Boorse teaches use of a CHA zeolite (para. 50, 45, 54) and use of a Cu metal to modify that framework (para. 44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition used the same way would have the same type of effectiveness.
As to the zones, Boorse discloses that each of the catalysts described is coated on the substrate from 10-80%. This overlaps the claimed range.
Next, the remarks argue the following:
Rather, the Office has alleged that it would have been obvious to make numerous separate selections from Boorse and the other prior art, and to have made the specific decision combine each of these selections into a singular system having each of the presently claimed characteristics. The purported starting point for the Office's allegation of obviousness, i.e., Boorse, differs from the present claims in at least the following respects:
There is no specific disclosure in Boorse of as to the combination of a first catalyst composition containing Cu-CHA and a second catalyst composition containing a palladium-zeolite. Rather, Boorse teaches numerous materials for both of the upstream "SCR composition" and the downstream "NH₃ oxidation composition" from which it would be possible to select various combinations.
Although Boorse discloses that "each of the three zones [the first catalyst coating, the second catalyst coating, and the overlap zone] individually occupies in the range of about 10 to about 80% of the axial length of the substrate" (paragraph [0031]), the reference comes no closer than that to the specific apportionment required by Applicant's claims with respect to the recited first and second coatings.
Boorse does not disclose a palladium-containing zeolite specifically having a SAR of at least 2000, and the Office has relied on Lu as to the general existence of zeolites having a SAR value of up to 2100.
Boorse does not disclose using any catalytic article specifically in a system that involves compressed natural gas combustion. The reference is directed to a catalyst composition that is specifically designed for optimal activity in a diesel exhaust system. The Office has cited Rivas-Cardona for the proposition that SCR catalysts can be used in gas engine applications, and from this contends that those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the Boorse diesel exhaust catalyst in a compressed natural gas combustion and exhaust system merely because of "treating exhaust gases catalytically from [various sources,including natural gas engine]" is generally known (4/7/26 Office Action at page 6), effectively contending that one could try any given catalyst for use in treating exhaust from any source.
An obviousness analysis "concerns whether a skilled artisan not only could have made but would have been motivated to make the combinations or modifications of prior art to arrive at the claimed invention". Belden Inc. V. Berk-Tek LLC, 805 F.3d 1064, 1073 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Thus, the Office is obligated to present evidence that represents something more than an allegation that those of ordinary skill in the art "could have" selected the particular choices of a palladium-containing zeolite having a SAR of at least 2000 for the first catalyst coating of Boorse, a copper-containing CHA zeolite for the second catalyst coating, a configuration whereby the first catalyst coating of Boorse occupies about 20-40% of the axial length of a substrate, and a configuration whereby the second catalyst coating of Boorse occupies about 60- 80% of the axial length of the substate, and then would have also specifically chosen to use the resulting combination to treat exhaust from a natural gas combustion engine. But the rejection supplies is no more than an allegation that required selections "could have" been made, and not, for example, that the prior art teaches a particular advantage associated with the required selections or the required combination of such selections.
Likewise, an allegation of prima facie obviousness must be supported by a preponderance of evidence. In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). The legal standard of "a preponderance of evidence" requires the evidence to be more convincing than the evidence which is offered in opposition to it. See M.P.E.P. § 2142. Far from fulfilling this legal standard, the Office does not establish any factual basis for its conclusion that it would have allegedly been obvious to make the specific selections listed above that would be required to produce a catalyst article having each of the presently claimed characteristics. The lack of specificity regarding the basis for the rejection constitutes error and cannot support a legally valid prima facie case of obviousness.
Furthermore, it has long been held that a conclusion of obviousness must be based upon facts, not generalities. In re Warner, 379 F.2d 1011, 1017 (C.C.P.A. 1967) ("The Patent Office has the initial duty of supplying the factual basis for its rejection. The Office may not, because it may doubt that the invention is patentable, resort to speculation, unfounded assumptions or hindsight reconstruction to supply deficiencies in its factual basis."). See also In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006) ("rejections on obviousness cannot be sustained with mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness."). The lack of specificity in the Office's factual basis of the rejection constitutes error.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. As to the first argument, Boorse discloses various frameworks for use in the SCR composition (para. 54), which includes a CHA structure (para. 54) that can be modified by copper (para. 54). As to the second argument, Boorse teaches that all the catalyst layers may be deposited on the substrate in an amount of 10-80% by axial length of the substrate (para. 9). Therefore, all the layers would have these overlapping lengths.
As to the third issue, Boorse discloses palladium modifying a zeolite (para. 48 and 51). It was acknowledged that the reference does not disclose that the SAR of the molecular sieve is at least 2,000. This is taught by the Lv reference.
Next, it was argued that Boorse does not disclose use of a natural gas combustion system. The office action acknowledged this and Rivas-Cardona is used to disclose this feature. Following this, the remarks argue the obvious statement used to combine this reference with Boorse concerning the natural gas engine. Applicant argues that the combination stating that it would be obvious to try using the catalyst with the exhaust gas source from a natural gas engine is improper because it not only should state that one of ordinary skill could have but would have been motived to make the combination.
This argument is respectfully not persuasive. The obviousness statement specifically stated that “Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the system of Boorse with exhaust gas from a natural gas source instead of with exhaust from an engine source, as taught by Rivas-Cardona because treating exhaust gases catalytically from these sources are known to be effective and predictable”.
The Supreme Court held in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield
predictable results; (added: reasonable expectation of success).
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “ Obvious to try ” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationales listed above along with examples illustrating how the cited rationales may be used to support a finding of obviousness. See also MPEP § 2144 - § 2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations. Therefore, under their ruling, an obvious to try rationale would be a legitimate rationale.
Next, the remarks argue the following:
At the same time, the specific combination of presently claimed features is critical for obtaining improved performance with respect to treatment of an exhaust gas from a natural gas combustion engine. Traditional palladium-containing zeolites are susceptible to poisoning by sulphur that is present in an exhaust stream from a CNG engine (see Applicant's specification at page 10, lines 4-10). The catalyst article of the present claims reduces sulphur poisoning of the downstream Pd-containing zeolite, and this in turn achieves improved light-off performance and NO activity (id. at lines 10-13). These performance characteristics are tied to the specific combination of features in currently pending claim 1. For example, the fact that the Cu-CHA coating occupies a substantial upstream portion of the substrate (e.g., 60-80% of the axial length) and the Pd-zeolite occupies a downstream portion (e.g., 20-40%) ensures that the exhaust gas necessarily contacts the Cu-CHA layer for sulphur trapping before reaching the Pd-zeolite. In contrast, Boorse motivates the use of an arrangement whereby two coatings with overlap result in three zones, preferably occupying a 1/3 of the substrate each (see Figures 1 and 2), so that the respective zones of the catalyst can carry out different catalytic processes in connection with a diesel exhaust system. The evidence of record does not so much a suggest that modifying this arrangement would have any benefit with respect to treatment of diesel exhaust, or for any other purpose.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. The primary reference already has all the catalytic features. The primary reference does not disclose application of those catalyst systems to a natural gas combustion engine. The argument made above argues that this system is critical for use in a natural gas combustion system, but a showing of criticality applies more accurately to when a broad range is applied and Applicant can show a narrower range is critical to the claimed invention. In this case, it would be expected that all systems would effectively reduce their pollutants using the catalyst system of Boorse.
The remarks then argue the following:
Applicant's claims also reflect the criticality of the use of palladium-containing zeolite having a SAR of at least 2000 along with a Cu-CHA layer. As set out in the first paragraph on page 7 of Applicant's disclosure, a Pd-zeolite with a SAR of at least provides excellent activity or treatment of an exhaust gas from a CNG engine despite the presence of water within the exhaust gas. However, it was found that this zeolite is very prone to sulphur oxidation. The presently claimed configuration utilizes the maximum sulphur trapping potential of the Cu-CHA layer in order to allow for the use of a high-SAR zeolite while avoiding the negative effect of sulphur oxidation. There is no evidence in the cited prior art that it would be possible to use a zeolite having a SAR as presently claimed without the negative effect of suphur oxidation (and certainly no evidence that those of ordinary skill would have appreciated that the claimed configuration could protect the zeolite from sulphur), and SO there is no reason to believe that those of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation that a zeolite having a SAR as presently claimed could successfully be used. In contrast, the presently claimed configuration surprisingly solves this problem and therefore confers the ability to take advantage of the benefit of using a high-SAR zeolite in the downstream position without the most significant drawback.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. Applicant argues that Pd-containing zeolite having an SAR of at least 2000 along with a Cu-CHA layer is critical, but does not provide evidence to support this position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boorse (US Pub.: 2011/0271664) and in view of Rivas-Cardona (US Pub.: 20150151288) and in view of Lv (CN 110582342).
Boorse describes a method and system for use in treating emissions from an exhaust stream (para. 1, 8). The system includes exhaust from diesel engines (para. 68, 69, 73) and is shown in Fig. 4. Here, exhaust from engine 41 is fed to a catalyst at 43 and 45 (Fig. 4). The catalyst at 45 describes a first catalyst coating, whi8ch includes a platinum group metal, which extends from the outlet end towards the inlet end over less than the entire axial length of the substrate (para. 68). The substrate at 45 also includes a second catalyst coating, which includes a SCR catalyst, which extends from the inlet end towards the outlet end over less than the entire axial length of the substrate and overlapping a portion of the first catalyst coating layer (para. 68).
More specifically, Boorse teaches that the catalyst includes a substrate 12 with an inlet end 22, an outlet end 24 and an axial length L (para. 27). The substrate is then coated with a first catalyst coating 16 that includes a platinum group metal and the SCR (para. 27). Each of these catalysts can occupy from 10-80% of the axial length of the substrate (para. 9). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.”
The composition of the SCR can include a metal modifying a molecular sieve (para. 40), the metal preferably being iron or copper (para. 40). The molecular sieve can be a zeolite (para. 42) from which the metal modifies the sieve (para. 41). Since is some embodiments, the SCR can include just Cu or Fe modifying a zeolite (para. 43) and the other potential additives added are not precious metals (para. 46), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in some embodiments, the SCR does not have a platinum-group metal in that catalyst component.
The other catalyst is an ammonia oxidation composition (para. 47) that includes a platinum group component, which can include palladium (para. 48). This catalyst composition can include zeolite (para. 51). This layer is described at layer 16 in Boorse, which is deposited on the substrate (see Fig. 1 and para. 59). Adjacent to and partially overlapping layer 16 is layer 18 (Fig. 1). This layer 18 is the SCR layer (para. 59).
The SAR is greater than 15 (para. 43), but Boorse does not describe an SAR in the molecular sieve to be at least 2,000.
As to the arrangement of the layers, the SCR is the overcoat layer and the ammonia catalyst layer is the undercoat (para. 63). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention these layers are arranged such that the exhaust would contact the overcoat layer, the SCR layer, first before contacting the undercoat layer, the ammonia oxidation layer, because the exhaust would contact the outer layer prior the inner layer.
Boorse does not specifically teach that the exhaust treatment system is from a diesel engine, but does not state that the engine is a natural gas combustion engine.
As to the use of natural gas, Rivas-Cardona describes a SCR catalyst for use in NOx reduction (abstract) from exhaust gas (para. 9). Rivas-Cardona explains that the method for treating exhaust gas as described herein can be performed on an exhaust gas derived from a combustion process, such as from an internal combustion engine (whether mobile or stationary), a gas turbine and coal or oil fired power plants (para. 73). The method may also be used to treat gas from industrial processes such as refining, from refinery heaters and boilers, furnaces, the chemical processing industry, coke ovens, municipal waste plants and incinerators, etc. In a particular embodiment, the method is used for treating exhaust gas from a vehicular lean burn internal combustion engine, such as a diesel engine, a lean-burn gasoline engine or an engine powered by liquid petroleum gas or natural gas (para. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the system of Boorse with exhaust gas from a natural gas source instead of with exhaust from an engine source, as taught by Rivas-Cardona because treating exhaust gases catalytically from these sources are known to be effective and predictable.
Boorse teaches inclusion of a zeolite in the ammonia oxidation catalyst, but does not describe that the SAR is at least 2,000.
Lv describes an ASC or an ammonia slip catalyst that uses a zeolite (page 6, para. 1) that can have a SAR of 5-200, but can also employ a higher SAR of 2100 (page 6, para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a zeolite for use in an ammonia slip catalyst that has an SAR of 2100, as taught by Lv for use with the ammonia catalyst of Boorse and Rivas- Cardona because this range would have predictable and expected ammonia reduction treatment.
As to Claim 3, Boorse explains that the SAR is at least 15 and can include a range of 10-200 in the SCR (see para. 42) and that the Cu added ranges from 0.2-5% (para. 41).
As to Claim 4, Boorse teaches that the SCR is upstream of the ammonia oxidation catalyst (see para. 63, 64 and Fig. 1).
As to Claim 5, Boorse teaches that the substrate has an inlet end, an outlet end and an axial length and that the catalysts are coated on this substate (para. 27).
As to Claim 6, Boorse teaches that the coating layers range from 10-80% of the length of the substrate (para. 31).
As to Claim 7, Boorse teaches that the the substrate includes an SCR zone, a ammonia oxidation zone (para. 63) and that the overlapped portion forms the third zone (para. 70). This middle zone is described as the AMOx zone (para. 63), which can range from 5-50% (para. 63).
As to Claim 8, Boorse teaches that the first coating is partly layered on the second coating (see Fig. 1).
As to Claim 9, Boorse teaches that the substrate is a flow-through substrate (para. 32).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dong (CN 109261200) and in view of Yamajuchi (EP 2324904).
Dong describes a catalyst system (title) that includes an SCR and a platinum-containing component that includes ammonia oxidation capabilities (abstract).
The system includes a bottom oxide layer that contains a platinum metal (page 3, lines 2-7). On top of this layer is an SCR catalyst (page 3, lines 2-7). The loading of the SCR catalyst can be 40 g/L (example 5).
As to the ammonia oxidation catalyst, this feature is not taught by the references.
Yamaguchi describes a catalyst used for exhaust gas purification (title). The system explains that there is not particularly limitation on the load amount of an ammonia slip catalyst, but that it can range from 0.5 to 50 g/L (para. 0165).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the SCR at a loading of 40 g/L, as taught by Dong for use with the system of over Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv because this loading is known to predictable treat NOx gases from an exhaust gas stream.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the ammonia slip catalyst at a loading of 0.5 to 50 g/L, as taught by Yamaguchi for use with the system of Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv because this loading is known to be effective and predictable in oxidizing ammonia slip from the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nunn (WO 2009/106849).
The references do not describe the SOx content of the exhaust.
Nunn explains that depending upon the characteristics of the particular engine and the emission regulations in force, the emission control system may include SCR as well as other components used to reduce the pollution levels (page 4, para. 3). In one example, Nunn describes that the gas from a natural gas engine is treated with a desulfurizer to reach a SOx content of about 2ppm (example 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat the exhaust gas with a desulfurizing step, as taught by Nunn for use with Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv to achieve a SOx content of about 2ppm because Nunn explains that emission control systems may be treated to adjust the SOx content from a natural gas fuelled engine.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Greenham (US Pub.: 2018/0280945).
The references do not teach use of an additional SCR downstream of the layered structure of Claim 1.
Greenham describes a method of treating exhaust gases (para. 1, 2) using washcoats of catalysts on a substrate (para. 4). The reference describes, in one embodiment, a layer of SCR (see Fig. 7a, 7b) that is then followed by two layers of an ASC and an SCR blend (see Fig. 7a, 7b). Downstream of the layered system includes an additional SCR (Fig. 7a, 7b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an additional SCR, as taught by Greenham for use with the SCR/ammonia catalyst of Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv because this configuration is known to be a predictable means to reduce NOx in an exhaust gas stream.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arulraj (US Pub.: 2019/0301334).
The references do not teach that the exhaust comes from a stationary engine using natural gas.
Arulraj describes a system for treating emissions catalytically (para. 41) that comprises an SCR and an ammonia slip catalyst (para. 42). The exhaust can be derived from natural gas engines, power plant, stationary engine (para. 20) or combustion engines (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the system of Boorse, Rivas-Cardona and Lv for use with natural gas stationary engine, as taught by Arulraj because use of these catalyst to treat exhaust from these sources are known to reduce pollutants from these streams.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHENG HAN DAVIS whose telephone number is (571)270-5823. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fung Coris can be reached at 571-270-5713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 October 2, 2026