Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Obeid (US 20210184197 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Obeid is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of traction battery pack structure (Paragraph 0036, “The battery pack 24 is an exemplary electrified vehicle battery. The battery pack 24 may be a high voltage traction battery pack”). Obeid discloses a traction battery pack comprising a battery array including an array terminal as well as a bus bar positioned in abutting contact with the array terminal (Paragraph 0047, “he busbar assembly 72 may be secured on an upper surface 75 (i.e., a surface that faces the cover 62 and is opposite from the surface received against the tray 60) of a battery array 25A for connecting a positive terminal 74 of the battery array 25A to a negative terminal 76 of an adjacent battery array 25B.”). Additionally, Obeid discloses a busbar retention system arranged to horizontally and vertically position the busbar relative to the array terminal, where their retention system comprises retainer clip 52 (Paragraph 0052, “An exemplary retainer clip 88 is shown in further detail with reference to FIGS. 5-7”) which holds the busbar at a desired position within three dimensional space (Paragraph 0053, “The retention legs 96A, 96B may help hold the busbar 78 of the busbar assembly 72 at a desired position within the battery pack 24.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the bus bar retention system includes a terminal clip comprising base 94, and clips 104, which are configured to horizontally position the bus bar through providing bounds for lateral movement, and an extension of a hood which comprising legs 96A/96B, which are configured to vertically position the bus bar through providing bounds for horizontal movement, shown in figures 1 and 5.
Regarding Claim 3, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system and accordingly are an integral component of a thermal barrier structure arranged between the battery array and a second battery array, shown in figures 3 and 4, where the clips are positioned between the terminal cap 82 and terminal 86 and adjacent battery cells 25 (Paragraph 0048).
Regarding Claim 4, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the bus bar retention system includes a protruding prong of an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, shown in their figure 4, where the terminal clip 88 is positioned at a side of the array terminals 84 and 86. Here, a broadest reasonable interpretation of “partially surround” would require that the protruding prong cover any component of any side of the array terminal, from any distance. Here, the protruding prong is lower leg 98B. Additionally, Obeid’s retention system includes an extension of a hood, here upper leg 98A, which extends over a top height of the array terminal, as shown in figure 4.
Regarding Claim 5, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 4. Here, the protruding prong 98B and hood extension 98A are configured to position the bus bar in three dimensional space (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”). Accordingly, the both vertically and horizontally position the bus bar.
Regarding Claim 6, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system. Additionally, the extension 98A of the hood 96A, shown in figure 6, is an extension of a hood of a thermal barrier position of the bus bar retention system, which vertically positions the bus bar relative to the array terminal through acting as a positioning leg (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 6. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure which comprises a deflector that extends from the extension to a position that is laterally outward from the bus bar, here the outermost section of the positioning leg 98A, which extends towards a position that is laterally outward from the bus bar, as shown in figures 5 and 6.
Regarding Claim 8, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the bus bar retention system includes a terminal clip 88 which horizontally positions the bus bar relative to the array terminal (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the terminal clip includes a vertical portion 96B/96A positioned in contact with the bus bar, as shown in figure 5, and a vertically extending portion 98A/98B which is in transitive contact with the array terminal through contacting the upper surface of the battery array 75, as shown in figure 5 (Paragraph 0055, “a second or lower positioning leg 98B of the pair of positioning legs may contact an upper surface 75 of the battery array 25 (best shown in FIG. 5).”).
Regarding Claim 10, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, the retention clip 88 of Obeid acts as an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, as Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system. Additionally, a broadest reasonable interpretation of “partially surround” would require that the protruding prong cover any component of any side of the array terminal, from any distance. Accordingly, where the bus bar clip 88 is an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, it further horizontally positions the bus bar relative to the array terminal (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Obeid is an analogous art to the instant application, being directed towards the art of traction battery pack structure (Paragraph 0036, “The battery pack 24 is an exemplary electrified vehicle battery. The battery pack 24 may be a high voltage traction battery pack”).
Here, Obeid discloses a first battery array including a first array terminal, a second battery array including a second array terminal, and a bus bar configured to electrically connect the first array and the second array (Paragraph 0047, “FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary busbar assembly 72 of the EDS 68 shown in FIG. 3. The busbar assembly 72 may be secured on an upper surface 75 (i.e., a surface that faces the cover 62 and is opposite from the surface received against the tray 60) of a battery array 25A for connecting a positive terminal 74 of the battery array 25A to a negative terminal 76 of an adjacent battery array 25B.”).
Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system.
Additionally, the extension 98A of the hood 96A, shown in figure 6, is an extension of a hood of a thermal barrier position of the bus bar retention system here upper leg 98A, which extends over a top height of the first or second array terminal, as shown in figure 4, which vertically positions the bus bar relative to the array terminal through acting as a positioning leg (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 11. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the bus bar retention system includes a terminal clip comprising base 94, and clips 104, which are configured to horizontally position the bus bar through providing bounds for lateral movement, and an extension of a hood which comprising legs 96A/96B, which are configured to vertically position the bus bar through providing bounds for horizontal movement, shown in figures 1 and 5, and as a result the bus bar is positioned in abutting contact with the array terminals.
Regarding Claim 13, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 12. Additionally, Obeid’s terminal clip 88 comprises protruding numbs 98A and 98B, which position the bus bar (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”), nudging it through transitive contact as shown in figure 5, which results in the bus bar being in abutting contact with the first array terminal or the second array terminal.
Regarding Claim 14, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 12. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the bus bar is sandwiched between the terminal clip and the first array terminal or second array terminal when viewed from above, based on the perspective of figure 4.
Regarding Claim 15, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 12. Additionally Obeid discloses a protruding prong 98A, which is positioned on an upper side of the terminal clip from the bus bar, which is an opposite side, the bus bar being below components of the terminal clip while the protruding prong is above, as shown in figure 5.
Regarding Claim 16, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 15. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure wherein the protruding prong is a part of an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, shown in their figure 4, where the terminal clip 88 is positioned at a side of the array terminals 84 and 86. Here, a broadest reasonable interpretation of “partially surround” would require that the protruding prong cover any component of any side of the array terminal, from any distance. Here, the protruding prong is lower leg 98B. Additionally, where Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system, as well as being an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the first array terminal or the second array terminal.
Regarding Claim 17, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 11. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure where the bus bar retention system includes a terminal clip comprising base 94, and clips 104, which are protruding prongs configured to horizontally position the bus bar through providing bounds for lateral movement Additionally, where the bus bar is in abutting contact with the first array terminal or the second array terminal, the positioning of the protruding prong horizontally positions the bus bar in said position.
Regarding Claim 18, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 17. Additionally, Obeid discloses structure wherein the protruding prong is a part of an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, shown in their figure 4, where the terminal clip 88 is positioned at a side of the array terminals 84 and 86. Here, a broadest reasonable interpretation of “partially surround” would require that the protruding prong cover any component of any side of the array terminal, from any distance. Here, the protruding prong is lower leg 98B. Additionally, where Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system, as well as being an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the first array terminal or the second array terminal.
Regarding Claim 19, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 11., Additionally, the extension 98A of the hood 96A, shown in figure 6, is an extension of a hood of a thermal barrier position of the bus bar retention system here upper leg 98A, which extends over a top height of the first or second array terminal, as shown in figure 4, which vertically positions the bus bar relative to the array terminal through acting as a positioning leg (Paragraph 0055, “The positioning legs 98A, 98B help maintain a positioning of the retainer clip 88, and thus the busbar 78, relative to the cover 62 of the enclosure assembly 58 and the battery array 25.”). Accordingly, this positioning results in the bus bar being in abutting contact with a terminal clip that is connected to the first array terminal or the second array terminal.
Regarding Claim 20, Obeid anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, the retention clip 88 of Obeid acts as an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, as Obeid discloses structure where their retention clip is made of a thermoplastic (Paragraph 0057, “The retainer clip 88 may be made from various thermoplastic materials. In an embodiment, the retainer clip 88 is made of a nylon, such as poly (hexamethylene adipamide) (i.e., PA 66).”). Accordingly, the retention clip and its subcomponents, in being able to absorb heat, act as a thermal barrier structure of the bus bar retention system. Additionally, a broadest reasonable interpretation of “partially surround” would require that the protruding prong cover any component of any side of the array terminal, from any distance. Accordingly, where the bus bar clip 88 is an insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the array terminal, the extension 98A which positions the retaining clip, urges the bus bar into abutting contact with the protruding prongs 96A/96B, which are protruding prongs of the insulation cover that at least partially surrounds the first array terminal or the second array terminal.
Conclusion
/J.W.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725