DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendments and arguments filed 11/13/25. The previous ground(s) of rejection is/are withdrawn and the following is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 21-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “the trend line is displayed for a given timeline determined the selection of the timeline button” appears to contain grammatical error and/or be missing a “by”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Ali et al. (US 2020/0113488 A1, hereinafter Al-Ali).
For claim 1, Al-Ali discloses a patient support apparatus (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), comprising inter alia: a control system (100) including a controller (105), the controller operable to detect and classify movement data (120), and a user interface (106) including a display (106), the display illustrating the patient movement data (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]) including a trend line of a patient mobility score (centroid trend line) (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]) on a first portion of the display when a trend line button (428) is selected (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), wherein movement data comprises patient movement data and non-patient motion artifacts ([0040-0046]).
For claim 2, Al-Ali discloses the user interface of claim 2, wherein the display comprises a first portion and a second portion (Figs 15-22).
For claim 3, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 2, wherein the patient mobility score is based on patient movement amplitude and patient frequency (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 4, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 2, wherein the patient movement data comprises slight movement or major movement (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 5, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 3, wherein the patient the trend line is displayed for a given timeline determined by the selection of the timeline button (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 6, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 4, wherein the patient movement data displayed on the user interface comprises identification of caregiver assisted motion on the second portion of the display (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 7, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 6, wherein the caregiver assisted motion occurs when both non-patient motion artifact and patient movement occurs at the same time (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), and is inherently capable of occurring when the non-patient motion artifact comprises more than about 20% of the movement data at that time (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 8, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 4, wherein the patient movement amplitude comprises slight movement that is inherently capable of occurring when the patient movement does not comprise a postural change for a period of about 30 seconds (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 9, Al-Ali discloses the patient support apparatus of claim 4, wherein the patient movement amplitude comprises major movement that is inherently capable of occurring when the patient movement comprises a postural change in a period of about 30 seconds (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 10, Al-Ali discloses a system, comprising inter alia: a patient support surface (118) supporting a patient (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), a controller (105) operable to detect and classify patient movement (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]) and automatically reposition the patient after a time interval (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), and a user interface (106) including a display (106) and a smart turn indicator (448) (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), the display illustrating the patient movement data ((Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), the movement data comprising patient movement data and non-patient motion artifacts (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), wherein the patient movement data can change the time interval (via time interval selection buttons 428) (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 11, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the patient movement data displayed on the user interface comprises a color-coded display (410) of the current time in relationship to the turning protocol (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 12, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the turning protocol is also affected by an amount of major movements or slight movements of the patient (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 13, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the patient movement is monitored by one or more continuous sensors (102) ([0040-0046]).
For claim 21, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the patient movement data comprises patient mobility score (centroid) based on patient movement amplitude and patient frequency (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 22, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the patient movement data comprises slight movement or major movement (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 23, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the patient mobility score is displayed on the user interface as a mobility (centroid) and is displayed as a trend line (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 24, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 22, wherein the patient movement data displayed on the user interface comprises identification of caregiver assisted motion (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
For claim 25, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the caregiver assisted motion occurs when both non-patient motion artifact and patient movement occurs at the same time (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]), and is inherently capable of occurring when the non-patient motion artifact comprises more than about 20% of the movement data at that time.
For claim 26, Al-Ali discloses the system of claim 22, wherein the patient movement amplitude comprises major movement when the patient movement comprises a postural change in a period of about 30 seconds (Figs 3, 5, 15-22) ([0048-0130, especially 0049-0050,0080-0127]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791