DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 5, 9-10, 16, cancellation of claims 4, 19-20, and addition of new claims 21-23. 112b rejections withdrawn. Examiner acknowledges amending of figure 2. Drawing objections withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 16 (tunnel junction thickness decoupling quantum well energy states, Remarks pgs. 10-11) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See Whiteley (US-5841802-A).
Claim Interpretation
“Light emitting junctions” are interpreted to be active regions that collectively form “active region 214”, consistent with Applicant’s Specification 0038 and FIG. 2. Unless otherwise noted, in prior art, “light emitting junction” is interpreted to be synonymous with “active region”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boucart (US-6493373-B1)/hereinafter "Bo" in view of Whiteley (US-5841802-A).
Regarding claim 1, Bo discloses an optical emitter (fig. 4), comprising: a set of light emitting junctions (fig. 4 set of emitting junctions 16, 18, 30, col. 6 lines 50-55); and a set of tunnel junctions separating the set of light emitting junctions (fig. 4 set of tunnel 20, 26 separate 16, 18, 30, col. 6 lines 50-55), wherein a first light emitting junction, of the set of light emitting junctions, is associated with a first peak gain at a first wavelength (fig. 4 16 of 16, 18, 30 associated with first peak gain at first wavelength, col. 7 lines 55-65); wherein a second light emitting junction, of the set of light emitting junctions, is associated with a second peak gain at a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength (fig. 4 18 of 16, 18, 30 associated with second peak gain at different second wavelength, col. 7 lines 55-65).
Bo does not disclose and wherein a tunnel junction, of the set of tunnel junctions, between the first light emitting junction and the second light emitting junction has a thickness above a threshold that decouples quantum well energy states of the first light emitting junction from quantum well energy states of the second light emitting junction.
Whiteley discloses a multiple quantum well semiconductor laser with quantum well layers separated and decoupled using isolation layers to increase distance between quantum well layers (fig. 1 quantum well layers 24 separated using isolation layers 26, col. 4 lines 20-40, col. 6 lines 25-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a tunnel junction, of the set of tunnel junctions, between the first light emitting junction and the second light emitting junction has a thickness above a threshold that decouples quantum well energy states of the first light emitting junction from quantum well energy states of the second light emitting junction to allow for independent operation of the different light emitting junctions and increase optical gain (Whiteley col. 4 lines 20-40).
Regarding claim 2, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 1, wherein the optical emitter is a multi-junction vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) (fig. 4 VCSEL with multiple junctions, col. 4 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 3, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 1, wherein each tunnel junction, of the set of tunnel junctions, is sandwiched by a pair of light emitting junctions of the set of light emitting junctions (fig. 4 20/26 sandwiched by 16+18/18+30, respectively).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 1, wherein the tunnel junction includes a set of semiconductor layers (see fig. 9, 20 and 26 each have multiple semiconductor layers, col. 7 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 6, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 1, wherein the first wavelength and the second wavelength are offset (fig. 4 16 and 18 wavelengths different/”offset”, col. 7 lines 55-65).
Modified Bo does not explicitly disclose such that a gain from the optical emitter is above a lasing threshold from a lower wavelength to an upper wavelength.
Bo discloses a desire to provide a high power, low threshold VCSEL with a large tuning range (col. 4 lines 1-10).
It is well known to optimize values within the prior art to achieve desired results (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maximize the tuning range between the first wavelength and the second wavelength such that a gain from the optical emitter is above a lasing threshold from a lower wavelength to an upper wavelength to provide a large tuning range and increase the number of available output wavelengths for the VCSEL + operational versatility of device (col. 4 lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 6, wherein a size of a wavelength region bounded by the lower wavelength and the upper wavelength is non-zero (2 different wavelengths from 16 and 18 will create some region of non-zero size).
Modified Bo does not explicitly disclose wherein a size of a wavelength region bounded by the lower wavelength and the upper wavelength is greater than a size of a wavelength region associated with only the first light emitting junction or only the second light emitting junction.
Bo discloses a desire to provide a high power, low threshold VCSEL with a large tuning range (col. 4 lines 1-10).
It is well known to optimize values within the prior art to achieve desired results (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maximize wavelength region bounded by lower wavelength and upper wavelength to make it greater than a size of a wavelength region associated with only the first light emitting junction or only the second light emitting junction to provide a large tuning range and increase the number of available output wavelengths for the VCSEL + operational versatility of device (col. 4 lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 1, wherein the set of light emitting junctions includes three or more light emitting junctions with peak gains at three or more wavelengths (fig. 4 set of emitting junctions includes 16, 18, 30 w/ 3 different wavelengths, col. 7 lines 55-65).
Regarding claim 9, Bo discloses a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) (fig. 4), comprising: a set of active regions (fig. 4 active regions 16, 18, 30, col. 6 lines 50-55), wherein two or more active regions of the set of active regions are associated with a different peak gain wavelength (fig. 4, 16+ 18 associated with different peak wavelength (let 18 peak wavelength = 30 peak wavelength), col. 7 lines 55-65); wherein a first active region and a second active region of the set of active regions, are separated by a tunnel junction (fig. 4 adjacent first active 16+ second active 18 separated by tunnel 20 and 18+30 separated by tunnel 26, col. 6 lines 50-55); and wherein each active regions lases at a wavelength (fig. 4 16, 18, 30 lase at their respective wavelengths, col. 7 lines 55-65).
Bo does not explicitly disclose the set of active regions have a collective gain above a lasing threshold for a wavelength range.
Bo discloses a desire to provide a high power, low threshold VCSEL with a large tuning range (col. 4 lines 1-10).
It is well known to optimize values within the prior art to achieve desired results (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maximize the tuning range between the active region wavelengths such that a gain from the optical emitter is above a lasing threshold between each pair of active region wavelengths to provide a large tuning range and increase the number of available output wavelengths for the VCSEL + operational versatility of device (col. 4 lines 1-10).
Modified Bo does not disclose and wherein the tunnel junction has a thickness above a threshold that decouples quantum well energy states of the first active region from quantum well energy states of the second active region.
Whiteley discloses a multiple quantum well semiconductor laser with quantum well layers separated and decoupled using isolation layers to increase distance between quantum well layers (fig. 1 quantum well layers 24 separated using isolation layers 26, col. 4 lines 20-40, col. 6 lines 25-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tunnel junction with a thickness above a threshold that decouples quantum well energy states of the first active region from quantum well energy states of the second active region to allow for independent operation of the different light emitting junctions and increase optical gain (Whiteley col. 4 lines 20-40).
Regarding claim 11, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9.
Modified Bo does not explicitly disclose wherein the tunnel junction is associated with a spacing of at least 50 nanometers.
Bo discloses a tunnel junction thickness/”width” of 5-500 nm (col. 5 lines 65-67).
The claimed range of at least 50 nm would have been obvious over the range disclosed in Bo because where the ranges overlap (50-500 nm), a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tunnel junction associated with a spacing of at least 50 nanometers (i.e. make tunnel at least 50 nm thick) to reduce effects of heat on performance in adjacent emitting/active regions.
Regarding claim 15, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9, further comprising: a plurality of active regions having a same peak gain wavelength (fig. 4, 18 peak wavelength = 30 peak wavelength, col. 7 lines 55-65).
Regarding claim 16, Bo discloses an optical emitter (fig. 4), comprising: a set of light emitting junctions (fig. 4 set of emitting junctions 16, 18, 30, col. 6 lines 50-55); and a set of tunnel junctions separating the set of light emitting junctions (fig. 4 set of tunnel 20, 26 separate 16, 18, 30, col. 6 lines 50-55), wherein a first light emitting junction, of the set of light emitting junctions, is associated with a first gain above a first lasing threshold at a first wavelength range (fig. 4 16 of 16, 18, 30 associated with first peak gain at first wavelength, col. 7 lines 55-65), and wherein a second light emitting junction, of the set of light emitting junctions, is associated with a second gain above a second lasing threshold at a second wavelength range (fig. 4 18 of 16, 18, 30 associated with second peak gain at different second wavelength, col. 7 lines 55-65).
Bo does not disclose and wherein a tunnel junction, of the set of tunnel junctions, between the first light emitting junction and the second light emitting junction has a thickness above a threshold that decouples quantum well energy states of the first light emitting junction from quantum well energy states of the second light emitting junction.
Whiteley discloses a multiple quantum well semiconductor laser with quantum well layers separated and decoupled using isolation layers to increase distance between quantum well layers (fig. 1 quantum well layers 24 separated using isolation layers 26, col. 4 lines 20-40, col. 6 lines 25-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a tunnel junction, of the set of tunnel junctions, between the first light emitting junction and the second light emitting junction has a thickness above a threshold that decouples quantum well energy states of the first light emitting junction from quantum well energy states of the second light emitting junction to allow for independent operation of the different light emitting junctions and increase optical gain (Whiteley col. 4 lines 20-40).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bo in view of Whiteley and Prineas (US-20220093823-A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein the wavelength range is a continuous wavelength range.
Prineas discloses a laser with multiple superlattice active regions separated by tunnel junctions, with a continuous emission spectrum (fig. 5, 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wavelength range is a continuous wavelength range to improve versatility of device and increase applicability due to fuller wavelength coverage.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bo in view of Whiteley and Kanskar (US-20110032956-A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9, wherein an active region, of the set of active regions, is associated with a quantum well (fig. 4 active region 16, col. 7 line 45).
Modified Bo does not explicitly disclose wherein a peak gain wavelength of the active region is based on at least one of a composition or a thickness of the quantum well.
Kanskar discloses adjusting/selecting peak wavelength of gain media in semiconductor laser by manipulating size and/or composition of quantum well(s) (0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to base a peak gain wavelength of the active region on at least one of a composition or a thickness of the quantum well to provide the simplest means of adjusting peak gain wavelength, and because it is a method well known to one of ordinary skill in the art (Kanskar 0030).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bo in view of Whiteley and Tokuda (US-20240072514-A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein an order of active regions in the VCSEL is based on a carrier density, such that an active region, of the set of active regions, with a highest carrier density is closest to a current confining structure of the VCSEL.
Tokuda discloses a surface emitting laser with multiple active regions, wherein the number of well layers in an active region (with each active layer being same thickness (i.e. increasing well layer density)) increases closer to a current confining structure of the laser (fig. 1, active region 14 well layers > active 10 well layers > active 6 well layers, 14 closest to current confinement 16, 0089, 0149, 0186).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to order the active regions in the manner required by claim 13 as a means to provide decreasing peaks wavelengths of the active regions closer to the current confining structure which will widen the driving temperature range in which desired light emission characteristics can be obtained (Tokuda 0149, 0183).
Regarding claim 14, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9.
Modified Bo does not disclose the VCSEL of claim 9, wherein an order of active regions in the VCSEL is based on a peak gain wavelength, such that an active region, of the set of active regions, with a lowest peak gain wavelength is closest to a current confining structure of the VCSEL or to a middle of a cavity of the VCSEL.
Tokuda discloses a surface emitting laser with multiple active regions, wherein the peak wavelengths of the active regions decrease closer to a current confining structure of the laser (fig. 1 active region 14 wavelength < active 10 wavelength < active 6 wavelength, 14 closest to current confinement 16, 0089, 0144, 0183).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to order the active regions in the manner required by claim 14 to widen the driving temperature range in which desired light emission characteristics can be obtained (Tokuda 0183).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bo in view of Whiteley and Inao (US-20140055790-A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 16.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein the first wavelength range at least partially overlaps with the second wavelength range.
Inao discloses a surface emitting laser with two separate cavities emitting two different but overlapping wavelength ranges (fig. 3, 0034-0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first wavelength range at least partially overlap with the second wavelength range to reduce chances of wavelength gap appearing between 2 active region wavelength ranges and also provide redundant wavelength emission for more critical portions of wavelength range in case of failure/malfunction involving one of the active regions (Inao 0055).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bo in view of Whiteley and Qiu (CN-115173230-A, machine translation "Qiu_English" cited and included herewith).
Regarding claim 18, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 16.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein the first wavelength range is discontinuous with the second wavelength range, such that the optical emitter does not lase at an intermediate wavelength range between the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range.
Qiu discloses a multi-junction VCSEL with two separate active region wavelength ranges that do not overlap (lines 29 + 59-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first wavelength range discontinuous with the second wavelength range, such that the optical emitter does not lase at an intermediate wavelength range between the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range to broaden working wavelength range (bounds of range), improve suitability for working temperature range, improve efficiency and stability (Qiu lines 10-14 + 251-263).
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bo in view of Whiteley and Tan (US-20210336422-A1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 1.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein the first wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the first light emitting junction; and wherein the second wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the second light emitting junction.
Tan discloses a quantum well vertical emitter structure with an active region wavelength based on a composition, thickness, and number of quantum well and barrier layers (0038, 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the first light emitting junction; and wherein the second wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the second light emitting junction to increase the tunability and output precision of the light emitting junctions.
Regarding claim 22, modified Bo discloses the VCSEL of claim 9.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein the first active region is associated with a first peak gain wavelength that is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the first active region; and wherein the second active region is associated with a second peak gain wavelength that is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the second active region.
Tan discloses a quantum well vertical emitter structure with an active region wavelength based on a composition, thickness, and number of quantum well and barrier layers (0038, 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first active region is associated with a first peak gain wavelength that is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the first active region; and wherein the second active region is associated with a second peak gain wavelength that is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the second active region to increase the tunability and output precision of the light emitting junctions.
Regarding claim 23, modified Bo discloses the optical emitter of claim 16.
Modified Bo does not disclose wherein the first wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the first light emitting junction; and wherein the second wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the second light emitting junction.
Tan discloses a quantum well vertical emitter structure with an active region wavelength based on a composition, thickness, and number of quantum well and barrier layers (0038, 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the first light emitting junction; and wherein the second wavelength is based on a composition, a thickness, and a quantity of one or more quantum wells of the second light emitting junction to increase the tunability and output precision of the light emitting junctions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828