DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The present office action is responsive to communication filed on 07/09/2026. Claims 1, 15, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 07/09/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 under the 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejection, as seen on pages 7-10, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Further, applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claims 1-20 under 35 USC 101 rejection, as seen on pages 10-16,have been fully considered and are persuasive. Additionally, applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claims 1-4,14, 15, and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Zhou et al. (US PGPub No.20200076842), Cosatto et al. (US Pat No. 10964011-B2), and Park et al (US PGPub No. 20230065385-A1) have been fully considered and persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ) and Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,14, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ) and Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ) .
With respect to claim 1, Hu teaches an anomaly detector, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that form modules of the anomaly detector, (¶0007: The embodiments disclosed herein build an anomaly detection model by training on medical images depicting normal tissue. The anomaly detection model may incorporate aspects of a Generative Adversarial Network (GAN) model and an autoencoder; ¶0079-0082: … processor 702 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 704….);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions of the modules of the anomaly detector, (¶0079-0082: Illustrated in Figure 7, an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 702 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 704, or storage 706; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 704, or storage 706.);
the modules comprising: an input interface configured to accept input data; (¶0081: In particular embodiments, computer system 700 includes a processor 702, memory 704, storage 706, an input/output (I/O) interface 708, a communication interface 710, and a bus 712. ¶0085: An input device coupled to the I/O interface 708 may include devices for converting different forms of volitional user input (accepting input data) into digital signals that can be processed by computer system 700);
a first neural network having an autoencoder architecture including an encoder trained to encode the input data and a decoder trained to decode the encoded input data to reconstruct the input data; (¶0024: The generative model may be implemented using an autoencoder, which may learn to encode an unlabeled input image to a compressed latent space and then decode the representation from latent space back to an image. ¶0026-0027: Both the input image x and the output of the generative model G—reconstructed image G(x) (reconstruct the input data));
an output interface to render the result of anomaly detection. (¶0052: At step 390, a heatmap of the image of tissue is reconstructed, based on the anomaly scores for each tile, to provide a visualization (outputting) of any identified anomalies in the tissue. ¶0077: For example, the user can access a user device 630 that is in communication with the whole slide image processing system 630 that is in communication with the whole slide image processing system 610 and provide a query image for analysis);
Hu does not disclose:
a loss estimator configured to compare a plurality of parts of the input data with corresponding plurality of parts of the reconstructed input data using one or more loss functions corresponding to different types of features of the input data to determine a sequence of losses, each loss in the sequence corresponding to a different feature or component of the input data;
However, Andoni teaches a loss estimator configured to compare a plurality of parts of the input data with corresponding plurality of parts of the reconstructed input data using one or more loss functions corresponding to different types of features of the input data to determine a sequence of losses, each loss in the sequence corresponding to a different feature or component of the input data; (¶0020-0027: The decoder network 220 may approximately reverse the process performed by encoder network 210 with respect to the n features (different types of features of the input data). Thus, the decoder network 220 may include one or more hidden layers 204 and an output layer 205. The output layer 205 outputs a reconstruction of each of the n input features and a variance value for each of the reconstructed features. Returning to Figure 1A, the calculator/detector 130 calculates a loss (e.g., calculate the value of a loss function) (using one or more loss functions corresponding for a different feature of the input data) for each entry 106.sub.1-106.sub.k of the second output data 106, and calculates an aggregate loss based on the per-entry losses. Different loss functions may be used depending on the type of data that is present in the first features 102. The total reconstruction loss L.sub.R for an entry may be a sum of each of the per-feature losses (each loss in a sequence to a different feature of the input data) );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Andoni with regards to loss estimator to the method of Hu in order to improve accuracy on detecting an anomaly (Andoni : ¶0004).
Hu in view of Andoni does not disclose:
a second neural network trained in a supervised manner, using labeled data samples for which corresponding sequences of losses are determined, wherein the second neural network is configured to receive the sequence of losses as inputs and to classify the sequence of losses jointly to detect an anomaly and to produce a result of anomaly detection including a type of the anomaly; and
However, Sern teaches a second neural network trained in a supervised manner, using labeled data samples for which corresponding sequences of losses are determined, ( ¶0026: With regard to the first aspect of the invention, the initialization of the classifier neural network comprises the alert module being configured to use a supervised learning technique to train the classifier neural network, based on the labelled time-series data provided to the input of the trained data pre-processing module.);
wherein the second neural network is configured to receive the sequence of losses as inputs and to classify the sequence of losses jointly to detect an anomaly and to produce a result of anomaly detection including a type of the anomaly; and ( ¶0027 & ¶0087: With regard to the first aspect of the invention, the training of the initialized classifier neural network using static labels for labelled data and dynamically generated labels for unlabeled data comprises the alert module being configured to compute confidence scores for each threat type in the labelled data; generate a threshold value for each threat type based on a computer confidence for each threat in the labelled data; dynamically label the unlabeled data using the generated threshold values for each of the threat types; and train initialized classifier neural network using the labelled and dynamically labelled data.);
Although, Hu teaches second neural network is disclosed with regards to detecting an anomaly to produce a result anomaly detection including one or a combination of a type of the anomaly and the severity of the anomaly as shown in Figure 3B and ¶0025: The anomaly detection model may use a Markovian discriminator (e.g., PatchGAN) to improve perceptual detection of localized anomalies ¶0010: The loss of the discriminator model may be determined as between an output of the discriminator model for the tile and an output of the discriminator model for the corresponding reconstruction of the tile. The anomaly scores may be normalized to fall within a range from 0 to 1 which i. Anomaly scores may be computed for each of a plurality of overlapping patches of the tiles. & ¶0052: In Figure 3B further elaborates the discriminator at step 375-380 wherein, step 375, the tile of interest (at each of the multiple scales) may be input into the discriminative model (second neural network trained). At step 380, an anomaly score may be computed for each patch of a set of overlapping patches of the tile of interest, based on the concatenated channels of input. Hu does not disclose the classification of the sequence of losses rather they compare the results to a baseline determines the anomaly as discussed in ¶0049, reconstruction error, and does not explicitly disclose the second neural network being trained in a supervised manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sern with regards to the neural network detecting an anomaly to the method of Hu in view of Andoni in order to better classify anomalies in autonomous and computationally efficient manner . (Sern: ¶0006-0007).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the second neural network is a deep neural network. (Hu: ¶0031: The discriminator D may be a convolutional neural network with adversarial objective of distinguishing between real or generated images. In addition to the adversarial objective, the discriminator minimizes the difference between its real and fake features, f(D(x)) and f(D(G(x))), which are typically vectors z∈R.sup.n×1.).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are jointly trained. (Hu: ¶0011: The anomaly detection model may involve jointly training the generator model (first neural network) and the discriminator model (second neural network) based on a combined loss comprising an adversarial loss, a reconstruction loss, and a latent loss.).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are jointly trained end-to-end. (Hu: ¶0024: A GAN architecture (used to be jointly trained end-to-end) pairs a generative model with a discriminative model in order to learn a loss function on reconstructed images by generating plausible fake images and comparing them to real, in-distribution images).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the input data corresponds one of internet proxy log data, image data, video data, or audio data. (Hu : ¶0007: An image processing system may receive an image of a tissue sample and generate a set of tiles from the image of the tissue sample (image data) . The set of tiles may be input into an anomaly detection model comprising a generator model comprising functional skip-connections and a Markovian discriminator model. The anomaly detection model may be trained to isolate a feature space of normal tissue samples.).
With respect to claim 15, Hu teaches a method for anomaly detection, ( Abstract: An image processing system may receive an image of a tissue sample. A set of tiles may be generated from the image of the tissue sample. The set of tiles may be input into an anomaly detection model (anomaly detection) comprising a generator model comprising functional skip-connections and a Markovian discriminator model.);
wherein the method uses a processor coupled with stored instructions implementing the method, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor carry out steps of the method, comprising: receiving input data; ( ¶0079-0082: As seen in Figure 7, wherein a processor 702 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program. As an example, and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 702 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 704, or storage 706; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 704, or storage 706. In particular embodiments, processor 702 may include one or more internal caches for data, instructions, or addresses.);
encoding the input data and decoding the encoded data to reconstruct the input data, based on a first neural network having an autoencoder architecture; (¶0024: The generative model may be implemented using an autoencoder, which may learn to encode an unlabeled input image to a compressed latent space and then decode the representation from latent space back to an image. ¶0026-0027: Both the input image x and the output of the generative model G—reconstructed image G(x) (reconstruct the input data));
rendering the result of anomaly detection. (¶0052: At step 390, a heatmap of the image of tissue is reconstructed, based on the anomaly scores for each tile, to provide a visualization (outputting) of any identified anomalies in the tissue. ¶0077: For example, the user can access a user device 630 that is in communication with the whole slide image processing system 630 that is in communication with the whole slide image processing system 610 and provide a query image for analysis);
Hu does not disclose:
determining a sequence of losses by comparing a plurality of parts of the input data with corresponding plurality of parts of the reconstructed input data using one or more loss functions corresponding to different types of features of the input data, each loss in the sequence corresponding to a different feature or component of the input data;
However, Andoni teaches determining a sequence of losses by comparing a plurality of parts of the input data with corresponding plurality of parts of the reconstructed input data using one or more loss functions corresponding to different types of features of the input data, each loss in the sequence corresponding to a different feature or component of the input data;(¶0020-0027: The decoder network 220 may approximately reverse the process performed by encoder network 210 with respect to the n features (different types of features of the input data). Thus, the decoder network 220 may include one or more hidden layers 204 and an output layer 205. The output layer 205 outputs a reconstruction of each of the n input features and a variance value for each of the reconstructed features. Returning to Figure 1A, the calculator/detector 130 calculates a loss (e.g., calculate the value of a loss function) (using one or more loss functions corresponding for a different feature of the input data) for each entry 106.sub.1-106.sub.k of the second output data 106, and calculates an aggregate loss based on the per-entry losses. Different loss functions may be used depending on the type of data that is present in the first features 102. The total reconstruction loss L.sub.R for an entry may be a sum of each of the per-feature losses (each loss in a sequence to a different feature of the input data) );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Andoni with regards to loss estimator to the method of Hu in order to improve accuracy on detecting an anomaly (Andoni : ¶0004).
Hu in view of Andoni does not disclose:
receiving, by a second neural network trained in a supervised manner using labeled data samples for which corresponding sequences of losses are determined, the sequence of losses as inputs; classifying, by the second neural network, the sequence of losses jointly to detect an anomaly and to produce a result of anomaly detection including a type of the anomaly; and
However, Sern teaches receiving, by a second neural network trained in a supervised manner using labeled data samples for which corresponding sequences of losses are determined, ( ¶0026: With regard to the first aspect of the invention, the initialization of the classifier neural network comprises the alert module being configured to use a supervised learning technique to train the classifier neural network, based on the labelled time-series data provided to the input of the trained data pre-processing module.);
the sequence of losses as inputs; classifying, by the second neural network, the sequence of losses jointly to detect an anomaly and to produce a result of anomaly detection including a type of the anomaly; and ( ¶0027 & ¶0087: With regard to the first aspect of the invention, the training of the initialized classifier neural network using static labels for labelled data and dynamically generated labels for unlabeled data comprises the alert module being configured to compute confidence scores for each threat type in the labelled data; generate a threshold value for each threat type based on a computer confidence for each threat in the labelled data; dynamically label the unlabeled data using the generated threshold values for each of the threat types; and train initialized classifier neural network using the labelled and dynamically labelled data.);
Although, Hu teaches second neural network is disclosed with regards to detecting an anomaly to produce a result anomaly detection including one or a combination of a type of the anomaly and the severity of the anomaly as shown in Figure 3B and ¶0025: The anomaly detection model may use a Markovian discriminator (e.g., PatchGAN) to improve perceptual detection of localized anomalies ¶0010: The loss of the discriminator model may be determined as between an output of the discriminator model for the tile and an output of the discriminator model for the corresponding reconstruction of the tile. The anomaly scores may be normalized to fall within a range from 0 to 1 which i. Anomaly scores may be computed for each of a plurality of overlapping patches of the tiles. & ¶0052: In Figure 3B further elaborates the discriminator at step 375-380 wherein, step 375, the tile of interest (at each of the multiple scales) may be input into the discriminative model (second neural network trained). At step 380, an anomaly score may be computed for each patch of a set of overlapping patches of the tile of interest, based on the concatenated channels of input. Hu does not disclose the classification of the sequence of losses rather they compare the results to a baseline determines the anomaly as discussed in ¶0049, reconstruction error, and does not explicitly disclose the second neural network being trained in a supervised manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sern with regards to the neural network detecting an anomaly to the method of Hu in view of Andoni in order to better classify anomalies in autonomous and computationally efficient manner . (Sern: ¶0006-0007).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above) wherein the second neural network is a deep neural network. (Hu: ¶0031: The discriminator D may be a convolutional neural network with adversarial objective of distinguishing between real or generated images. In addition to the adversarial objective, the discriminator minimizes the difference between its real and fake features, f(D(x)) and f(D(G(x))), which are typically vectors z∈R.sup.n×1.).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above) wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are jointly trained. (Hu: ¶0011: The anomaly detection model may involve jointly training the generator model (first neural network) and the discriminator model (second neural network) based on a combined loss comprising an adversarial loss, a reconstruction loss, and a latent loss.).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are jointly trained end-to-end. (Hu: ¶0024: A GAN architecture (used to be jointly trained end-to-end) pairs a generative model with a discriminative model in order to learn a loss function on reconstructed images by generating plausible fake images and comparing them to real, in-distribution images.).
With respect to claim 20, Hu teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium embodied thereon a program executable by a processor for performing a method, the method comprising: (¶0083: As seen in Figure 7, in particular embodiments, memory 704 includes main memory for storing instructions for processor 702 to execute or data for processor 702 to operate on. As an example, and not by way of limitation, computer system 700 may load instructions from storage 706 or another source (such as, for example, another computer system 700) to memory 704.);
receiving input data; (¶0081: In particular embodiments, computer system 700 includes a processor 702, memory 704, storage 706, an input/output (I/O) interface 708, a communication interface 710, and a bus 712. ¶0085: An input device coupled to the I/O interface 708 may include devices for converting different forms of volitional user input (accepting input data) into digital signals that can be processed by computer system 700);
encoding the input data and decoding the encoded data to reconstruct the input data, based on a first neural network having an autoencoder architecture; (¶0024: The generative model may be implemented using an autoencoder, which may learn to encode an unlabeled input image to a compressed latent space and then decode the representation from latent space back to an image. ¶0026-0027: Both the input image x and the output of the generative model G—reconstructed image G(x) (reconstruct the input data));
rendering the result of anomaly detection. (¶0052: At step 390, a heatmap of the image of tissue is reconstructed, based on the anomaly scores for each tile, to provide a visualization (outputting) of any identified anomalies in the tissue. ¶0077: For example, the user can access a user device 630 that is in communication with the whole slide image processing system 630 that is in communication with the whole slide image processing system 610 and provide a query image for analysis);
Hu does not disclose:
determining a sequence of losses by comparing a plurality of parts of the input data with corresponding plurality of parts of the reconstructed input data using one or more loss functions corresponding to different types of features of the input data, each loss in the sequence corresponding to a different feature or component of the input data;
However, Andoni teaches determining a sequence of losses by comparing a plurality of parts of the input data with corresponding plurality of parts of the reconstructed input data using one or more loss functions corresponding to different types of features of the input data, each loss in the sequence corresponding to a different feature or component of the input data; (¶0020-0027: The decoder network 220 may approximately reverse the process performed by encoder network 210 with respect to the n features (different types of features of the input data). Thus, the decoder network 220 may include one or more hidden layers 204 and an output layer 205. The output layer 205 outputs a reconstruction of each of the n input features and a variance value for each of the reconstructed features. Returning to Figure 1A, the calculator/detector 130 calculates a loss (e.g., calculate the value of a loss function) (using one or more loss functions corresponding for a different feature of the input data) for each entry 106.sub.1-106.sub.k of the second output data 106, and calculates an aggregate loss based on the per-entry losses. Different loss functions may be used depending on the type of data that is present in the first features 102. The total reconstruction loss L.sub.R for an entry may be a sum of each of the per-feature losses (each loss in a sequence to a different feature of the input data) );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Andoni with regards to loss estimator to the method of Hu in order to improve accuracy on detecting an anomaly (Andoni : ¶0004).
Hu in view of Andoni does not disclose:
receiving, a second neural network trained in a supervised manner using labeled data samples for which corresponding sequences of losses are determined, the sequence of losses as inputs;
classifying, by the second neural network, the sequence of losses jointly to detect an anomaly and to produce a result of anomaly detection including a type of the anomaly; and
However, Sern teaches receiving, a second neural network trained in a supervised manner using labeled data samples for which corresponding sequences of losses are determined, ( ¶0026: With regard to the first aspect of the invention, the initialization of the classifier neural network comprises the alert module being configured to use a supervised learning technique to train the classifier neural network, based on the labelled time-series data provided to the input of the trained data pre-processing module.);
the sequence of losses as inputs; classifying, by the second neural network, the sequence of losses jointly to detect an anomaly and to produce a result of anomaly detection including a type of the anomaly; and ( ¶0027 & ¶0087: With regard to the first aspect of the invention, the training of the initialized classifier neural network using static labels for labelled data and dynamically generated labels for unlabeled data comprises the alert module being configured to compute confidence scores for each threat type in the labelled data; generate a threshold value for each threat type based on a computer confidence for each threat in the labelled data; dynamically label the unlabeled data using the generated threshold values for each of the threat types; and train initialized classifier neural network using the labelled and dynamically labelled data.);
Although, Hu teaches second neural network is disclosed with regards to detecting an anomaly to produce a result anomaly detection including one or a combination of a type of the anomaly and the severity of the anomaly as shown in Figure 3B and ¶0025: The anomaly detection model may use a Markovian discriminator (e.g., PatchGAN) to improve perceptual detection of localized anomalies ¶0010: The loss of the discriminator model may be determined as between an output of the discriminator model for the tile and an output of the discriminator model for the corresponding reconstruction of the tile. The anomaly scores may be normalized to fall within a range from 0 to 1 which i. Anomaly scores may be computed for each of a plurality of overlapping patches of the tiles. & ¶0052: In Figure 3B further elaborates the discriminator at step 375-380 wherein, step 375, the tile of interest (at each of the multiple scales) may be input into the discriminative model (second neural network trained). At step 380, an anomaly score may be computed for each patch of a set of overlapping patches of the tile of interest, based on the concatenated channels of input. Hu does not disclose the classification of the sequence of losses rather they compare the results to a baseline determines the anomaly as discussed in ¶0049, reconstruction error, and does not explicitly disclose the second neural network being trained in a supervised manner. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sern with regards to the neural network detecting an anomaly to the method of Hu in view of Andoni in order to better classify anomalies in autonomous and computationally efficient manner . (Sern: ¶0006-0007).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ), Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ), and Kallur Palli Kumar et al. (US PGPub No. 20190147333-A1 ).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not disclose wherein, during a first training stage, the first neural network is trained with unlabeled data samples in an unsupervised learning manner.
However, Kallur Palli Kumar teaches wherein, during a first training stage, the first neural network is trained with unlabeled data samples in an unsupervised learning manner. (¶0065: During operation, generator 162 takes as input a noise 168 z and an attribute 170 y, and produces data x.sub.G based on z and y, i.e., G(z,y)=x.sub.G. Unsupervised discriminator 164 takes as input x.sub.G from generator 162 (communication 176) and the unlabeled data x.sub.U and the labeled x.sub.T (of labeled data (x.sub.T, y.sub.T) from training data 166 (communication 178). Unsupervised discriminator 164 then calculates D.sub.u(x) to determine output 172 (e.g., whether the x is real or fake ¶0065: During operation, generator 162 takes as input a noise 168 z (unlabeled data) and an attribute 170 y, and produces data x.sub.G based on z and y, i.e., G(z,y)=x.sub.G. Unsupervised discriminator 164 takes as input x.sub.G from generator 162 (communication 176) and the unlabeled data x.sub.U and the labeled x.sub.T (of labeled data (x.sub.T, y.sub.T) from training data 166 (communication 178).).
Although, Hu does disclose the first neural network is trained in an unsupervised learning manner but Hut do not disclose the first neural network being trained with unlabeled samples as seen in Figure 3 (rather the first neural network is trained on labeled data to distinguish normal tissue/images/tiles ). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Kallur Palli Kumar with regards to the first neural network is trained with unlabeled samples the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern order to enable the generative model/first neural network to learn whether a given data is real or fake (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0043-0044)
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Kallur Palli Kumar teaches the method of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above) wherein, during a second training stage, the first neural network trained with the unlabeled data samples (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0044: In the unsupervised setting where the data is comprised solely of unlabeled data (i.e., n=0), the goal is to learn a generative model G.sub.u(z; θ.sub.u) that samples from the marginal image distribution p(x) by transforming vectors of noise z as x=G.sub.u(z; θ.sub.u) ¶0065: During operation, generator 162 takes as input a noise 168 z (unlabeled data) and an attribute 170 y, and produces data x.sub.G based on z and y, i.e., G(z,y)=x.sub.G. Unsupervised discriminator 164 takes as input x.sub.G from generator 162 (communication 176) and the unlabeled data x.sub.U and the labeled x.sub.T (of labeled data (x.sub.T, y.sub.T) from training data 166 (communication 178).).
and the second neural network are trained with labeled data samples in a supervised learning manner. (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0010: learns a second probability that pairs comprised of a data object and a corresponding attribute label are real based on data objects which only have a corresponding attribute label. ¶0068: As seen in Figure 2A, Subsequently, supervised discriminator 165 takes as input pairs of values to determine an output 186. That is, supervised discriminator takes as input (h(x),y) pairs from generator 162 (e.g., h(x.sub.G) (labeled data samples) from communication 180, and y from communication 182), and also takes as input (h(x),y) pairs from training data 166 (e.g., h(x.sub.T) via communications 178 and 180, and y.sub.T from communication 184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Kallur Palli Kumar with regards to the first neural network being trained with unlabeled data samples and second neural network trained in a supervise manner the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern in order to efficiently addresses and reduces the cost of resources for the system by adopting a semi supervised learning method (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0038).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Kallur Palli Kumar teaches the method of claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above) wherein, during the second training stage, the second neural network is trained with the labeled data samples in the supervised learning manner. (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0068: Subsequently, supervised discriminator 165 takes as input pairs of values to determine an output 186. That is, supervised discriminator takes as input (h(x),y) pairs from generator 162 (e.g., h(x.sub.G) (labeled data) from communication 180, and y from communication 182), and also takes as input (h(x),y) pairs from training data 166 (e.g., h(x.sub.T) via communications 178 and 180, and y.sub.T from communication 184).)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Kallur Palli Kumar with regards to the third stage the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern in order to efficiently addresses and reduces the cost of resources.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Kallur Palli Kumar teaches the method of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above) wherein, during a third training stage, the first neural network and the second neural network trained in the second training stage are trained with labeled samples. (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶ 0068: That is, supervised discriminator 165 determines which of the (data, label) pairs are produced by generator 162 (i.e., the (x.sub.G, y) fake pairs) and which of the (data, label) pairs are part of the training data (i.e., the (x.sub.T, y.sub.T) real pairs) (first neural network trained with labeled samples as seen in Figure 2A) Architecture 260 of FIG. 2D is similar to architecture 160 of FIG. 1D. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Kallur Palli Kumar with regards to the third stage the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern in order to reduces the cost of resources (from the semi supervise setting) and distinguish the attribute as real.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Kallur Palli Kumar teaches the method of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above) wherein, during the third training stage, the second neural network trained in the second training stage is trained with the labeled samples. (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0066: As discriminator 164 learns which of the data or images is real or fake, generator 162 continues (continually trained with labeled samples) to produce data or images to confuse discriminator 164, such that generator 162 improves in producing data or images x.sub.G which look more and more realistic. At the same time, discriminator 164 continues to iterate through the training process, improving its own ability to distinguish between a real image and a fake image,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Kallur Palli Kumar with regards to the second neural network trained in a supervise manner the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern in order to efficiently addresses and reduces the cost of resources for the system by adopting a semi supervised learning method (Kallur Palli Kumar: ¶0038).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ), Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ), Kallur Palli Kumar et al. (US PGPub No. 20190147333-A1 ), and Cortes et al. (US PGPub No. 20240144635-A1) .
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Kallur Palli Kumar teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above) but does not disclose wherein a domain of the labeled samples is different from a domain of the unlabeled data samples and the unlabeled data samples.
However, Cortes teaches wherein a domain of the labeled samples is different from a domain of the unlabeled data samples and the unlabeled data samples. (¶0025-0026: As seen in Figure 1, the labeled data 101 may, for example, include one or more labeled images. Labeled data 101 is training data in the same domain of the use case. For the training operation 102, the labels around the region of interest must be available. As seen in Figure 2, unlabeled data 201 can for example, include one or more unlabeled images. Unlabeled data 201 is training data in a neighbor or general domain of the use case, where data should be available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Cortes with regards to the domains the method of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Kallur Palli Kumar in order to ensure robust model training.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ), Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ), and Seyfi et al. (US PGPub No. 20230376366-A1) .
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Hu in view of Sern and Andoni teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not teach , the modules further comprising an explainability module configured to predict a class of anomaly.
However, Seyfi teaches the modules further comprising an explainability module configured to predict a class of anomaly. (¶0033-0034: As seen in Figure 1, in operation, anomaly detector 160 is applied to a tuple 150 to generate an inference such a numeric anomaly score 170 that is value of regression or prediction. In an embodiment, anomaly score 170 is compared to a threshold to detect whether or not tuple 150 is anomalous. ¶0035-0041: As discussed below 110 and/or anomaly detector 160 participate in a sequence of phases that include: training of anomaly detector 160 and MLX innovation that generates neighborhood 140 based on anomalous tuple to explain 151 before generating a local explanation. In various scenarios, anomalous tuple to explain 151 and its anomaly score 12, and or anomaly detector are reviewed for various reasons. MLX herein can provide combinations of any of the following functionalities: Explainability: The ability to explain the local reasons why anomaly score 12 occurred for anomalous tuple to explain 151 Interpretability: The level at which a human can understand the explanation, What-If Explanations: Understand how changes in anomalous tuple to explain 151 may or may not cause same anomaly score 12 , and Model-Agnostic Explanations: Explanations treat anomaly detector 160 as a black box, instead of using internal properties from anomaly detector 160 to guide the explanation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Seyfi with regards to the explainability module the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern in order to aid the interpretation of complex ML and deep learning model and (Seyfi ¶0006-0007 & ¶0030-0035) .
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ), Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ), Seyfi et al. (US PGPub No. 20230376366-A1), and Kobayashi et al. (US PGPub No. 20230419169-A1) .
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Seyfi teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), but does not disclose wherein the explainability module corresponds to an attribution based classifier configured to determine a class of anomaly based on attribution scores corresponding to the input data.
However, Kobayashi teaches wherein the explainability module corresponds to an attribution based classifier (¶0058:As seen in Figure 1, explanation 180 is an attribute-based explanation (ABX). To generate explanation 180, the explainer may analyze the three reconstruction errors of respective feature F1-F3 as shown in reconstruction error 110 for anomalous tuple 160.) configured to determine a class of anomaly based on attribution scores corresponding to the input data. (¶0063-0069: As seen in Figure 2, Step 204 automatically generates explanation 180 that correctly or incorrectly identifies an identified feature as a cause of anomalous tuple 140 being anomalous. During steps 202-204, tuples 120 and 140 are identical except for their respective values of perturbed feature F2. For example during steps 202-204, tuples 120 and 140 have a same first value for feature F1 and a same second value for feature F3.).
Although Seyfi teaches an explainability module configured to predict a class of anomaly as disclosed in ¶0035-0041 but does not explicitly disclose the explainability module corresponding to an attribute-based classifier, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Kobayashi with regards to the attribution-based classifier the method of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, and Seyfi in order to identify corrupted features of the system (Kobayashi : ¶0005-0011 & ¶0021-0023).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ), Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ), Seyfi et al. (US PGPub No. 20230376366-A1), Kobayashi et al. (US PGPub No. 20230419169-A1), and Tate et al. (US PGPub No. 20220138490-A1 ).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, Seyfi, and Kobayashi teaches the method of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above) , but does not disclose wherein the second neural network is configured to determine the attribution scores corresponding to the input data.
However, Tate teaches wherein the second neural network is configured to determine the attribution scores corresponding to the input data. ( ¶0057 & 0125: As seen in Figure 2, the attribute determination unit 205 includes the likelihood determination units 205a to 205g serving as discriminators each of which is learned in advance so as to determine the likelihood of each attribute. As each discriminator, for example, a linear support vector machine (SVM) can be used. In step S111, the attribute determination unit 205 generates the attribute score map 208 (determining attribution scores)).
Although Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, Seyfi, and Kobayashi teaches a second neural network but does not explicitly disclose the second neural network is configured to determine rather the explainability module configured to the second neural network is used to determine the attribution scores. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of with regards the second neural network the method of Hu in view of Andoni, Sern, Seyfi, and Kobayashi in order to reduce the cost in calculation and by offering a relatively low calculation cost, a detailed result from the attribute score maps with low resolutions. This point is particularly emphasized since this is one of features of this embodiment in which the plurality of attributes are determined and integrated to recognize a target. (Tate: ¶0004-0005 & 0090-0095).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PGPub No. 20220301689-A1 ) in view of Andoni et al. (US PGPub No. 20190228312-A1 ), Sern et al. (US PGPub No. 20220070195-A1 ), and Blake et al. (US PGPub No. 20110274352-A1) .
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern teaches the method of claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above) but does not disclose wherein the input data corresponds to internet proxy log data, image data, video data, and audio data.
However, Blake teaches wherein the input data corresponds to internet proxy log data, image data, video data, and audio data. (¶0078: The computing-based device 1700 comprises one or more inputs 1706 which are of any suitable type for receiving media content, Internet Protocol (IP) input, images, videos, user input, audio input, or other types of input.).
Although, Hu teaches input data corresponding image data as seen in ¶0031 wherein the discriminator D may be a convolutional neural network with adversarial objective of distinguishing between real or generated images, but Hu does explicitly not disclose that the input data corresponds to internet proxy log data, video data, and audio data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the known teachings of Blake with regard to input data to the method of Hu in view of Andoni and Sern in order to provide flexibility of inputs for the method to evaluate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hida et al. (US PGPub No. 20210374928-A1) discloses wherein neural network is configured (i.e. its adjustable weights and parameters modified) in dependence upon the loss values calculated by the loss calculator 350. Further Hida teaches loss function calculator may calculate a combination of loss function values and each loss has its own weight.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.P.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/MENG LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437