DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-14.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al., US 20220311095.
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al., teaches a lithium-ion battery cell (abstract) comprising: a positive electrode (0017) including a positive electrode active material (0125); a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material (0111); a polymer-containing layer interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (0017), the polymer-containing layer including a polymeric composition having a melting point from about 80 0C to about 170 °C (100 deg C to 130 deg C; 0032); and an electrolyte (0137-0138) contacting the positive electrode and the negative electrode (0137-0138), the electrolyte including lithium ions that are transported between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (0111; 0143).
In claim 1, the statement, “lithium ion transport is stopped upon melting of the polymeric composition” is a product-by-process limitation.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al., teaches wherein the polymer-containing layer is coated onto the negative electrode (0111; 0139).
Regarding claim 3, Choi et al., teaches wherein the lithium-ion battery cell does not include a separator (“reduction of the separator area”; (0092)).
Regarding claim 4, Choi et al., teaches further comprising a separator interposed between the polymer-containing layer and the positive electrode (0092; 0143).
Regarding claim 5, Choi et al., teaches wherein the melting point of the polymeric composition is from about 110 0C to about 130 C (100 deg C to 130 deg C; abstract; 0012).
Regarding claim 6, Choi et al., teaches wherein the polymer-containing layer has a thickness from 0.1 microns to 30 microns (0.1 microns to 5 microns; 0094; 0101).
Regarding claim 7, Choi et al., teaches wherein the polymer-containing layer includes polymeric microspheres (spherical particles; 0030; 0058) (plate-shaped; 0045; 0058).
Regarding claim 8, Choi et al., teaches wherein the polymeric composition includes a polyolefin (0102-0104).
Regarding claim 9, Choi et al., teaches wherein the polymer-containing layer further includes ceramic particles (0029; 0040).
Regarding claim 10, Choi et al., teaches wherein the ceramic particles have an average particle size from 0.1 micron to 2 micron (1 um to 20 um; 0040).
Regarding claim 11, Choi et al., teaches wherein the ceramic particles include a component selected from the group consisting of alumina (0031; 0037), boehmite (0012; 0029-0031) and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Choi et al., teaches wherein the polymer-containing layer further includes a binder (0029; 0051-0052).
Regarding claim 13, Choi et al., teaches wherein the binder includes a component selected from the group consisting of carboxymethyl cellulose (0096; 0159), styrene- butadiene rubber (0096), poly(vinyl alcohol) (0096), polyvinylpyrrolidone (0096), acrylics (0070-0072), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Choi et al., teaches lithium-ion battery cell (0143) of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode current collector (0125) and a positive electrode active layer (0125-0127) disposed over the positive electrode current collector (0125) and the negative electrode (0111) comprises a negative electrode current collector (0111) and a negative electrode active layer disposed over the negative electrode current collector (0159).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727