DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 2 and 12 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the lower end of the pad body" on line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Previously the claim defines “a lower end of the pad” (line 2).
The limitation of line 4 is interpreted to have been intended to read "the lower end of the pad".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0009457, hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a cell assembly (100). The cell assembly comprises a plurality of battery cells (paragraphs [0055-0057, 0072] and figure 1).
A cooling member (200, “pad”) is disposed between the plurality of battery cells (paragraphs [0055-0057, 0072] and figure 1).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) includes a first pad surface and a second pad surface positioned opposite the first pad surface (figure 2).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) includes a plate body (230) with elasticity and formed in a plate shape (paragraphs [0036, 0038, 0075] and figure 2).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) further includes a groove (240) recessed from a surface of the plate body (230) and extended from an edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) to an opposite edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) (paragraphs [0021, 0076] and figure 2).
A cooling conduit (210) and thermally conductive fixing members (300) are coupled to the plate body (230) while filling the groove and connected from the edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) to the opposite edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) (paragraphs [0076, 0077] and figure 2).
The cooling conduit (210) and the thermally conductive members (300) have thermal conductivity (paragraphs [0026, 0039]) and together are considered the instantly claimed “heat conduction part” and are formed on at least one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface (paragraph [0032]).
The “heat conduction part” and the surface of the plate (“pad”) body form at least one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface (paragraph [0032]).
The at least one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface formed by the “heat conduction part” and the surface of the plate (“pad”) body is flat.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches that the “heat conduction part” extends from an edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”), which forms one end of the cooling member (200, “pad”) to an opposite edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”), which forms another end of the cooling member (200, “pad”) (paragraphs [0021, 0076] and figure 2).
Absent a reference point, the designations “upper” and “lower” do not have an absolute meaning.
In the present case, the cooling member (200, “pad”) could be rotated such that the “heat conduction part” is a “vertical heat conduction pad” extending upwardly from a “lower” end of the cooling member (200, “pad”) to an “upper” end of the cooling member (200, “pad”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches that the “heat conduction part” changes direction on its away from the one edge to the other edge (figure 2).
As such, in the rotated state, the “heat conduction part” would include a horizontal heat conduction part extending in a direction crossing the vertical conduction part.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches that the “heat conduction part” changes direction on its away from the one edge to the other edge (figure 2).
As such, in the rotated state, the vertical heat conduction part includes a plurality of vertical heat conduction parts spaced apart from each other. The horizontal heat conduction part connects respective ends of the vertical heat conduction parts.
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches that the “heat conduction part” changes direction on its away from the one edge to the other edge (figure 2).
As such, in the rotated state, the horizontal heat conduction part intersects the vertical heat conduction part.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that the plate body (230) includes a first groove (240) of a recessed shape in the first pad surface (paragraphs [0021, 0076] and figure 2).
The “heat conduction part” includes a first heat conduction part that is positioned in the first groove (240) and forms a portion of the first pad surface.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches that the plate body (230) includes a second groove (240) of a recessed shape in the second pad surface (paragraphs [0021, 0075, 0076] and figure 2).
The “heat conduction part” includes a second heat conduction part that is positioned in the second groove (240) and forms a portion of the second pad surface.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Lee teaches that the first groove (240) includes a plurality of segments (“first grooves”) (figure 2).
The first heat conduction part includes a plurality of segments (“first heat conduction parts”) respectively positioned in the plurality of groove segments (“first grooves”) (figure 2).
The second heat conduction part is positioned at a point between two adjacent “first heat conduction parts” at a position where a point between the two adjacent first conduction parts is projected onto the second pad surface.
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches that the “heat conduction part” includes an inlet which extends from the first pad surface. The coolant is introduced through the inlet and flows on both sides of the plate body (paragraph [0062]). Therefore, the inlet “leads” to the second pad surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0009457, hereinafter Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0011059, hereinafter Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a “heat conduction part” including a coolant conduit (210).
Lee fails to teach that the “heat conduction part” includes a silicone-based resin or a polyurethane resin.
It is well-known in the art to include a thermally conductive material such as silicone to fill any gaps between a battery and a coolant conduit cooling the battery – see, e.g. Hashimoto (paragraphs [0056, 0057, 0064] and figures 8A and 8B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include silicone at an interface between the coolant conduit (210) in the groove (240) and the battery for the purpose of improving the thermal coupling between the coolant conduit and the adjacent battery.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0009457, hereinafter Lee in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0107664, hereinafter Lee’664.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches a battery module assembly (100). The battery module assembly (100) comprises a battery group including a plurality battery cells (paragraphs [0055-0057, 0072] and figure 1).
A cooling member (200, “pad”) is disposed between the plurality of battery cells (paragraphs [0055-0057, 0072] and figure 1).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) includes a first pad surface and a second pad surface positioned opposite the first pad surface (figure 2).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) includes a plate body (230) with elasticity and formed in a plate shape (paragraphs [0036, 0038, 0075] and figure 2).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) further includes a groove (240) recessed from a surface of the plate body (230) and extended from an edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) to an opposite edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) (paragraphs [0021, 0076] and figure 2).
A cooling conduit (210) and thermally conductive fixing members (300) are coupled to the plate body (230) while filling the groove and connected from the edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) to the opposite edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) (paragraphs [0076, 0077] and figure 2).
The cooling conduit (210) and the thermally conductive members (300) have thermal conductivity (paragraphs [0026, 0039]) and together are considered the instantly claimed “heat conduction part” and are formed on at least one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface (paragraph [0032]).
The “heat conduction part” and the surface of the plate (“pad”) body form at least one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface (paragraph [0032]).
The at least one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface formed by the “heat conduction part” and the surface of the plate (“pad”) body is flat.
Lee fails to teach a housing accommodating the battery group.
It is well-known in the art to accommodate battery groups in housings – see, e.g. Lee ‘664. Lee ‘664 is commonly owned and shares inventors with Lee and is directed to a battery group accommodated in a case (120) (paragraph [0057]). As in Lee, the battery group is cooled through a plurality of coolant conduits (142) and the case (120) includes manifolds (150), which serve to supply and discharge coolant (paragraphs [0065,0066]).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to accommodate Lee’s battery group within a housing for the purpose of providing environmental protection to the battery cells and to provide a means for supplying and discharging coolant from the coolant conduits (250).
Regarding claim 13, Lee as modified by Lee’664 teaches that the housing includes a wall including a manifold (150), which is used to discharge coolant (Lee ‘664’s paragraph [0066] and figures 1 and 10).
In the combination of Lee and Lee ‘664 the edge of the cooling member (200, “pad”) would face the wall with the manifold.
Absent a reference point, the designation “bottom” does not have an absolute meaning.
In the present case, the assembly could be rotated such that the wall with the manifold is a “bottom plate” and is positioned “under” the cooling member (200, “pad”).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches a coolant outlet port (270, “heat transfer part”) (paragraph [0075]).
In the combination of Lee and Lee ‘664, the coolant outlet port (270, “heat transfer part”) would be positioned between the cooling member (200, “pad”) and the wall with the manifold (“bottom plate”) and would be configured to couple the cooling member (200, “pad”) to the wall with the manifold (“bottom plate”).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches that the cooling member (200, “pad”) is disposed between two adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0055, 0056]).
A portion of the heat generated in at the two adjacent battery cells is transferred to the coolant flowing through the “heat conduction part” (paragraphs [0055, 0056]).
A portion of the heat transferred to the “heat conduction part” is transferred to the coolant outlet port (224, “heat transfer part”) via the coolant.
A portion of the heat transferred to the coolant outlet port (224, “heat transfer part”) is transferred to the manifold of the “bottom plate” via the coolant.
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches that the cooling member (200, “pad”) is disposed between two adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0055, 0056]).
The cooling member (200, “pad”) cools the battery cells – therefore its first surface is at least thermally coupled to one of the two adjacent battery cells and its second surface is at least thermally coupled to the other of the two adjacent battery cells.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0009457, hereinafter Lee and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0107664, hereinafter Lee’664 as applied to claims 12 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0011059, hereinafter Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches a “heat conduction part” including a coolant conduit (210) (paragraph [0075]).
Lee fails to teach that the “heat conduction part” includes a silicone-based resin or a polyurethane resin.
It is well-known in the art to include a thermally conductive material such as silicone to fill any gaps between a battery and a coolant conduit cooling the battery – see, e.g. Hashimoto (paragraphs [0056, 0057, 0064] and figures 8A and 8B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include silicone at an interface between the coolant conduit (210) in the groove (240) and the battery for the purpose of improving the thermal coupling between the coolant conduit and the adjacent battery.
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches that the cooling member (200, “pad”) is disposed between two adjacent battery cells (paragraphs [0055, 0056]). Lee teaches that the “heat conduction part” includes a coolant conduit (210) (paragraph [0075]).
Lee fails to teach that the “heat conduction part” in a liquid state is injected into between the two adjacent battery cells.
It is well-known in the art to include a thermally conductive material such as silicone to fill any gaps between a battery and a coolant conduit cooling the battery – see, e.g. Hashimoto (paragraphs [0056, 0057, 0064] and figures 8A and 8B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include silicone at an interface between the coolant conduit (210) in the groove (240) and the battery for the purpose of improving the thermal coupling between the coolant conduit and the adjacent battery.
The examiner notes that the claim recites a product, but also includes a limitation directed to a particular method for obtaining the structure of the claimed product. Specifically, claim 17 recites that the heat conduction part is formed by being injected in a liquid state and then hardened. Patentability of product-by-process claims is based on the product itself. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. MPEP 2113 citing In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the present case, the silicone (“heat conduction part”) meets all of the structural limitations of the claim. Further, silicone (“heat conduction part”) is capable of being injected in a liquid state and subsequently hardened in place.
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches that the cooling member (200, “pad”) is disposed between two adjacent battery cells and includes a groove (240) formed in one of the first pad surface and the second pad surface (paragraphs [0055, 0056, 0076]).
Lee further teaches that the “heat conduction part” including a coolant conduit (210) (paragraph [0075]).
Lee fails to teach that the “heat conduction part” in a liquid state is injected into between the two adjacent battery cells.
It is well-known in the art to include a thermally conductive material such as silicone to fill any gaps between a battery and a coolant conduit cooling the battery – see, e.g. Hashimoto (paragraphs [0056, 0057, 0064] and figures 8A and 8B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include silicone at an interface between the coolant conduit (210) in the groove (240) and the battery for the purpose of improving the thermal coupling between the coolant conduit and the adjacent battery.
The examiner notes that the claim recites a product, but also includes a limitation directed to a particular method for obtaining the structure of the claimed product. Specifically, claim 18 recites that the heat conduction part is formed by being injected in a liquid state and then hardened. Patentability of product-by-process claims is based on the product itself. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. MPEP 2113 citing In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the present case, the silicone (“heat conduction part”) meets all of the structural limitations of the claim. Further, silicone (“heat conduction part”) is capable of being injected in a liquid state and subsequently hardened in place.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0009457, hereinafter Lee and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0107664, hereinafter Lee’664 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0012259, hereinafter Lin and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0212731, hereinafter Lim.
Regarding claim 20, Lee as modified by Lee’664 teaches that the housing surrounds the battery group and is made of metal (Lee’664’s paragraph [0036]). The housing is thus understood to include a bottom wall and side walls (“plates”).
Lee as modified by Lee’664 does not specify the type of metal.
Lee as modified by Lee’664 fails to teach that: 1) the bottom plate is formed of a material including aluminum; and 2) that the side walls (“plates”) are formed of a material including a thermal insulation material.
Regarding 1), aluminum is a common metal used for constructing a battery housing - see, e.g. Lin, who teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells (1) and housing walls made of aluminum (paragraph [0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select aluminum as the metal of the housing without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding 2), it is known in the art to coat metal housing walls with an insulator – see e.g. Lim who teaches coating metal end plates (110 and 120) of a battery module (100) with a polyester-melamine resin (paragraphs [0053, 0054]). Melamine is a thermal insulator.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to coat the metal walls of the housing with an insulator such as polyester-melamine for the purpose of insulating the housing walls from the battery cells.
Conclusion
/LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA/
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724