DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicants' communication filed on December 20, 2022. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on December 20, 2022 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ART-05-2016-GA Nr 723390 TransAID D5.3 Protocols for reliable V2X message exchange (herein “Coll-Perales”).
Consider claim 1, Coll-Perales a system (see Coll-Perales Pages 29-30, Congestion Control for enhanced V2X reliability ETSI DCC Framework) comprising:
a memory configured to store a first message (see Coll-Perales note Fig. 15, pages 29-30, memory is inherent to the DCC architecture to perform the functions therein); and
a gateway processor operably coupled with the memory (see Coll-Perales note Fig. 15, pages 29-30, processor is inherent to the DCC architecture to perform the functions therein), and configured to:
coordinate communications among an autonomous vehicle components boundary domain, a vehicle components boundary domain, and an oversight server (see Coll-Perales pages 5, 7-8, 29-30, Fig. 15, note the DCC architecture components (management, security, facilities, transport & network, and access modules) acting as a gatekeeper for connecting automated vehicles with infrastructure);
receive the first message from the oversight server, wherein: the first message is associated with one of the autonomous vehicle components boundary domain, the vehicle components boundary domain, or a security domain; and the security domain comprises a third set of components configured to facilitate authentication of received messages (see Coll-Perales pages 5, 7-8, 29-30 note the DCC architecture modules (management, security, facilities, transport & network, and access modules) operate control the traffic transmitted on the channel);
determine a priority level associated with the first message, wherein the priority level associated with the first message indicates a scheduling requirement associated with the first message (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class/category, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy);
identify a domain tag data associated with the first message, wherein the domain tag data indicates that the first message is associated with a particular domain from among the autonomous vehicle components boundary domain, the vehicle components boundary domain, or the security domain (see Coll Perales pages 29-30, note transmitting a V2X destination differentiated by the ID or origin);
identify a destination data associated with the first message, wherein the destination data indicates that the first message is designated to a particular component within the particular domain (see Coll Perales page 18 target station ID);
schedule the first message to be transmitted to the particular domain based at least in part upon the priority level associated with the first message and the identified domain tag data (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class/category, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy); and
route the first message to the particular component based at least in part upon the destination data (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class/category, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy to transmit the packets).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 1.
Consider claim 2, Coll-Perales wherein the particular component is an internal software component with respect to the gateway processor (see Coll-Perales page 29-30, the DCC components inherently function as an software).
Consider claim 3, Coll-Perales wherein the particular component is an external hardware component with respect to the gateway processor (see Coll-Perales page 29-30, the DCC components inherently include external hardware components to store the instructions to perform the functions discussed herein, such as controlling the traffic effectively transmitted to the channel).
Consider claim 4, Coll-Perales teaches wherein the priority level of the first message further indicates whether a priority of the first message is low, medium, or high (see Coll-Perales page 30 note prioritization).
Consider claim 5, Coll-Perales teaches wherein scheduling the first message to be transmitted to the particular domain based at least in part upon the priority level associated with the first message and the identified domain tag data comprises moving the first message to a top of a scheduling queue comprising a plurality of messages associated with various priority levels in response to determining that the priority level associated with the first message is high, wherein the priority level is determined to be high when the priority level is more than a threshold value (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class/category, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy).
Consider claim 6, Coll-Perales teaches wherein scheduling the first message to be transmitted to the particular domain based at least in part upon the priority level associated with the first message and the identified domain tag data comprises moving the first message to a scheduling queue dedicated for messages with high priority levels in response to determining that the priority level associated with the first message is high, wherein the priority level is determined to be high when the priority level is more than a threshold value (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class/category and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy)..
Consider claim 7, Coll-Perales teaches wherein scheduling the first message to be transmitted to the particular domain based at least in part upon the priority level associated with the first message and the identified domain tag data comprises moving the first message to a scheduling queue dedicated for messages with medium priority levels in response to determining that the priority level associated with the first message is medium, wherein the priority level is determined to be medium when the priority level is between a first threshold value and a second threshold value (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class/category and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy).
Consider claim 8, Coll-Perales teaches wherein scheduling the first message to be transmitted to the particular domain based at least in part upon the priority level associated with the first message and the identified domain tag data comprises moving the first message to a scheduling queue dedicated for messages with low priority levels in response to determining that the priority level associated with the first message is low, wherein the priority level is determined to be low when the priority level is less than a threshold value (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy).
Consider claim 10, Coll-Perales teaches wherein: the autonomous vehicle components boundary domain comprises a first set of components configured to facilitate autonomous operations of an autonomous vehicle; the first set of components comprises at least one of: one or more autonomous drive compute units; a memory associated with the autonomous vehicle; a controller area network controller; or a timing synchronization component (see Coll-Perales Fig. 15, note facilities, transport and network, and access modules).
Consider claim 11, Coll-Perales teaches the vehicle components boundary domain comprises a second set of components configured to facilitate non-autonomous operations of an autonomous vehicle; and the second set of components comprises at least one of: a modem; vehicle component controller; a human machine interface; a break unit; a power distribution unit; a camera array; a microphone array; or a speaker array (see Coll-Perales Fig. 15, note facilities, transport and network, and access modules).
Consider claim 12, Coll-Perales teaches wherein the third set of components comprises at least one of: an authentication software component; or one or more security keys used to establish secured communication paths between any two combination of the autonomous vehicle components boundary domain, the vehicle components boundary domain, and the security domain (see Coll-Perales Fig. 15, note security module of the DCC architecture for transmission control by each vehicle to the radio channel).
Consider claim 13, Coll-Perales teaches further comprising establishing a trusted communication path between the autonomous vehicle components boundary domain and the vehicle components boundary domain (see Coll-Perales page 30 note control the traffic effectively transmitted to the channel).
Consider claim 16, Coll-Perales teaches wherein scheduling the first message to be transmitted to the particular domain based at least in part upon the priority level associated with the first message and the identified domain tag data comprises: determining that the particular domain is the security domain; and in response to determining that the particular domain is the security domain, routing the first message to the security domain (see Coll-Perales page 30 note DCC architecture with security module packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy).
Consider claim 17, Coll-Perales teaches determining the priority level associated with the first message comprises determining that the first message is associated with a priority level tag data that indicates the priority level associated with the first message (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy).
Consider claim 18, Coll-Perales teaches wherein determining the priority level associated with the first message comprises determining that the first message is associated with a particular internet protocol (IP) address that is associated with the priority level associated with the first message (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class and queuing the messages based on the packet priority and/or traffic class, then each queue following a FIFO scheduling policy).
Consider claim 19, Coll-Perales wherein: in response to determining that the first message is associated with a first IP address, determine that the priority level associated with the first message is a high priority level; in response to determining that the first message is associated with a second IP address, determine that the priority level associated with the first message is a medium priority level; and in response to determining that the first message is associated with a third IP address, determine that the priority level associated with the first message is a low priority level (see Coll-Perales page 30 note packets classified into four different priorities based on traffic class, DP0, DP1, DP2, and DP3).
Consider claim 20, Coll-Perales teaches wherein the first message comprises one of: a command to engage the autonomous operations; map data that comprises a virtual map of an area where an autonomous vehicle is traveling; an autonomous software algorithm update; or a minimal risk maneuver command that comprises instructions to pull the autonomous vehicle over or stop the autonomous vehicle (see Coll-Perales pages 29-30 exchange channel load information among vehicles).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647