DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on May 4, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on December 20, 2022.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 8, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Some of the compounds in the specification, particularly those starting on page 49 are low resolution and difficult to discern.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula 1 in claim 7 of the ‘112 patent, as evidenced by at least compound HTH-23 in claim 8 of the ‘112 patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/297,173 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the copending ‘173 application, as evidenced by at least compound 1-62 in claim 5 of the copending ‘173 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 17/446,810 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the copending ‘810 application, as evidenced by at least compound 4 in claim 13 of the copending ‘173 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 1 and refers to “Formula 1-1.” However, there is not Formula 1-1 in claim 1. Therefore, claim 6 lacks antecedent basis. Furthermore, claim 6 describes a moiety represented by
, wherein the * indicate a binding site to a neighboring atom. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unceear if the amine group is meant to read on the carbazole group or if it is meant to require an amine group substituent on the ring in addition to R3. A similar issue is present in claim 10.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as reading on either of the above interpretations.
As per claim 11, the claim is worded as in Formula 1: condition i); condition ii); condition iii); condition iv); or condition v); or in Formula 2…. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how many limitations need to be met by the compound. One interpretation is that the compound needs to meet conditions i) – iv) OR condition v) OR the last limitation. Another interpretation is that the compound only needs to meet one of conditions i) – v) or meet the last limitation.
For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as only requiring one of the claimed conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Um (US20220112163A1).
As per claims 1 – 11, Shin teaches:
A condensed cyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Um teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0006]). A specific compound of Formula 1 taught by Um is compound 5
([0102]). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 is represented by Formula 2, namely a group represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 2; R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; R2 – R5, R7 and R8 are hydrogen; R6 is a C6 aryl group, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 4 and b6 is an integer of 3. The compound is represented by Formula 1-1 in claim 5, Formula 1B-3 and 1D-2 in claim 6, Formula 1-13 in claim 7; Formula 1D-2 in claim 8. The compound is represented by Formula 1-22 in claim 9 and Formula 1B-3 in claim 10. The compound meets conditions i) – v) in claim 11.)
As per claims 12 – 14, and 16, Um teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the emission layer comprises a host and a dopant, the host and dopant are different from each other, the compound of host is greater than an amount of the dopant, and the host comprises the condensed cyclic compound, wherein the dopant is a phosphorescent dopant (In the device of Example 2, prepared as described in [0410 – 0412], a device is formed with an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer and a cathode, in that order. Compound 5 is used as the host material for an Ir(pmp)3 dopant and the composition was provided in a weight ratio of 92:8 so that the host is present in a larger amount than the dopant. Ir(pmp)3 is a phosphorescent dopant.)
As per claim 15, Um teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits blue light (As shown in Table 2, the device of Example 2 emits light at 457 nm, which is interpreted as blue light.)
As per claim 20, Um teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an organic light emitting device is an electronic apparatus, Um anticipates claim 20.)
Claims 1 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fleetham (US20230329089A1).
As per claims 1 – 11, Fleetham teaches:
A condensed cyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Fleetham teaches compounds of Formula I
(Abstract). A specific compound within the scope of Formula I taught by Fleetham is
This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 is represented by Formula 2, namely a group represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 2; R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; R2 – R5, R7 and R8 are hydrogen; R6 is a C6 aryl group, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 4 and b6 is an integer of 1. The compound is represented by Formula 1-1 in claim 5, Formula 1B-3 and 1D-3 in claim 6, Formula 1-13 in claim 7; Formula 1D-3 in claim 8. The compound is represented by Formula 1-23 in claim 9 and Formula 1B-3 in claim 10. The compound meets conditions i) – v) in claim 11.)
Claims 1 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US20220135601A1).
As per claims 1 – 11, Lee teaches:
A condensed cyclic compound represented by Formula 1
(Lee teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0007]). A particular compound within the scope of Formula 1 taught by Lee is compound 1
([0113]). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X1 is represented by Formula 2, namely a group represented by Formula 2-1 in claim 2; R1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; R2 – R8 are all hydrogen. The compound is represented by Formula 1-1 in claim 5, Formula 1B-3 and 1D-3 in claim 6, Formula 1-13 in claim 7; Formula 1D-3 in claim 8. The compound is represented by Formula 1-23 in claim 9 and Formula 1B-3 in claim 10. The compound meets conditions i) – v) in claim 11.)
As per claims 12 – 14, and 16, Lee teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the emission layer comprises a host and a dopant, the host and dopant are different from each other, the compound of host is greater than an amount of the dopant, and the host comprises the condensed cyclic compound, wherein the dopant is a phosphorescent dopant (In the device of Example 1, prepared as described in [0478 – 04483], a device is formed with an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer and a cathode, in that order. Compound 1 is used as the host material for an Ir(pmp)3 dopant and the composition was provided in a weight ratio of 92:8 so that the host is present in a larger amount than the dopant. Ir(pmp)3 is a phosphorescent dopant.)
As per claim 15, Lee teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits blue light (As shown in Table 2, the device of Example 1 emits blue light.)
As per claim 20, Lee teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an organic light emitting device is an electronic apparatus, Lee anticipates claim 20.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 12 – 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham (US20230329089A1) as applied to claims 1 – 11 above.
As per claims 12 – 14 and 16, Fleetham does not specifically teach the use of the compound in a device. Fleetham teaches:
An organic light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer, wherein the emissive layer comprises a host and a dopant, the host and dopant are different from each other, the host comprises the condensed cyclic compound, and the dopant is a phosphorescent dopant ([0168 – 0170]: “In some embodiments, an organic light-emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode; a cathode; and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode is provided. In some embodiments, the organic layer comprises a compound of Formula I or Formula VI as described herein…. In some embodiments, the compound may be a host, and the first organic layer may be an emissive layer that comprises a phosphorescent material.”)
An amount of the host is greater than an amount of the dopant (In the Examples, Fleetham teaches emission layers with only 12% of the emitting component [0295].)
Fleetham teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Fleetham as Fleetham demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 15, Fleetham teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits blue light ([0008]: “Silane substituted bimbim containing hosts can further increase the triplet energy of these hosts to support high efficiency blue OLEDs.”)
As per claim 20, Fleetham teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the organic light-emitting device ([0203]: “In yet another aspect, the present disclosure also provides a consumer product comprising an organic light-emitting device (OLED).”)
Claims 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham (US20230329089A1) as applied to claims 1 – 16 and 20 above, and further in view of Kwak (US20200006676A1).
As per claims 17 and 19, Fleetham teaches:
Wherein the emission layer comprises a host, a dopant, and a sensitizer, the host, the dopant and the sensitizer are different from each other, the host comprises the condensed cyclic compound and the dopant is a phosphorescent dopant ([0193]: “In some embodiments, the compound is a host and the OLED comprises an acceptor that is an emitter and a sensitizer selected from the group consisting of a delayed fluorescence material, a phosphorescent material, and combinations thereof.”)
Fleetham does not teach:
An amount of the host is greater than an amount of the sensitizer
The amount of the sensitizer is greater than an amount of the dopant
Kwak teaches an organic light-emitting device including an emission layer with a host, a dopant and a sensitizer (Abstract). This is similar to the emission layer composition of Fleetham. In Table 1 on page 292, Kwak teaches that the host is present as the majority compound, and that in the minority portion, the sensitizer is present in an amount higher than the dopant.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the emission layer with a host amount in a greater amount than the sensitizer and the sensitizer in a greater amount than that of the dopant because Kwak teaches that this was a known to be a predictably suitable composition for emissions layer with a host, dopant, and sensitizer (Page 292).
As per claim 18, Fleetham teaches:
Wherein the emission layer emits blue light ([0008]: “Silane substituted bimbim containing hosts can further increase the triplet energy of these hosts to support high efficiency blue OLEDs.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20110278552A1 teaches carbazole based compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented. US20240101537A1 teaches carbazole based compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented. ‘537 is eligible as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789